DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed 6/11/2026 are accepted.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 19 be found allowable, claim 23 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 5-7, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wu (CN107364311A).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a dual mode heat energy collector (see 5; Fig. 4) comprising: a base (14 & 17) comprising a first surface (bottom of 5) arranged to provide heat energy to a heat energy consuming object and a second surface (top of 5); and heat energy absorbing fins (19) attached to and extending from the second surface; wherein the base further comprises at least one liquid channel (16) arranged between the first surface and the second surface, the at least one liquid channel defined by one or more walls (see walls forming channels 16 & fins 18) forming a heat conducting connection between the second surface and the first surface, the dual mode heat energy collector is arranged to be operable in a first, gas mode in which heat energy is collected by the dual mode heat energy collector from gas (outside air – Page 6) flowing past the heat energy absorbing fins or in a second, liquid mode in which heat energy is collected by the dual mode heat energy collector from liquid (water – Page 6) flowing through the at least one liquid channel; and a rate of heat transfer from the gas in the first mode is substantially the same as a rate of heat transfer from the liquid in the second mode (Wu is capable of operating in such a manner).
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Wu further discloses the heat energy absorbing fins (19) define gas flow channels between them (air – Page 6).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Wu further discloses the heat energy absorbing fins (19) are located across an area of the second surface; and the liquid channels (walls of 16 & 18) and walls are arranged within the base at locations corresponding to the area of the second surface.
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further discloses the heat energy absorbing fins (19) comprise a plurality of parallel fins; and the walls (walls of 16 & 18) extend parallel to the fins.
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further discloses
the at least one liquid channel comprises a plurality of parallel liquid channels (16).
Regarding claim 20, Wu discloses a method (see Fig. 1 & 4) of providing heat energy to a heat energy consuming object (7), the method comprising: providing a dual mode heat energy collector (5) comprising: a base (14 & 17) comprising a first surface (bottom thereof) arranged to provide heat energy to a heat energy consuming object (cold side of heat pump 6) and a second surface (top thereof); and heat energy absorbing fins (19) attached to and extending from the second surface; wherein the base further comprises at least one liquid channel (16) arranged between the first surface and the second surface, the at least one liquid channel defined by one or more walls (see walls defining 16 & fins 18) forming a heat conducting connection between the second surface and the first surface; arranging the first surface of the dual mode heat energy collector in contact with a heat energy consuming object (7); and providing at least one of: a gas (air – Page 6) flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; and a liquid (water – Page 6) flow through the at least one liquid channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Royal (US4401155).
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 4, and Wu does not teach wherein: the heat energy absorbing fins have a pitch equal to, or an integer multiple of, a pitch of the walls; and each heat energy absorbing fin is aligned with a respective wall.
Wu is silent to the heat energy absorbing fins have a pitch equal to, or an integer multiple of, a pitch of the walls; and each heat energy absorbing fin is aligned with a respective wall.
Royal teaches (see Fig. 1) the heat energy absorbing fins (14) have a pitch equal to, or an integer multiple of, a pitch of the walls (18); and each heat energy absorbing fin is aligned with a respective wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the fin and wall configuration of Royal, in order to provide a configuration which provides high reliability and pressure resistance (Col. 1, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Wu does not teach the base and heat energy absorbing fins comprise aluminum.
Royal teaches the base and heat energy absorbing fins comprise aluminum (aluminum – Col. 8, lines 15-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the aluminum of Royal, in order to provide a material of superior heat transfer properties (Col. 8, lines 15-16).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Liu (CN108161002A).
Regarding claims 8-10, Wu does not teach the base and the heat energy absorbing fins are integrally formed; the walls and the first and second surfaces of the base are integrally formed; and the dual mode heat energy collector is produced by additive manufacturing.
Liu teaches (see Fig. 1-3) the base (11) and the heat energy absorbing fins (12) are integrally formed; the walls and the first and second surfaces of the base are integrally formed; and the dual mode heat energy collector is produced by additive manufacturing (Page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the integrally manufacturing of Liu, in order to provide a precisely manufactured heat exchanger (Page 3).
Claim(s) 12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of KR19990024929A, hereinafter FOR1.
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches a heat energy collecting system (see 5; Fig. 4) comprising: a dual mode heat energy collector (5) comprising: a base (14 & 17) comprising a first surface (bottom thereof) arranged to provide heat energy to a heat energy consuming object and a second surface (top thereof); and heat energy absorbing fins (19) attached to and extending from the second surface; wherein the base further comprises at least one liquid channel (16) arranged between the first surface and the second surface, the at least one liquid channel defined by one or more walls (see walls forming 16 & fins 18) forming a heat conducting connection between the second surface and the first surface; a heat energy consuming object in thermal contact with the first surface;
Wu does not teach at least one of: a gas flow generator arranged to produce a gas flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; and a liquid flow generator arranged to produce a liquid flow through the at least one liquid channel.
FOR1 teaches a gas flow generator (fan 30; Fig. 6) arranged to produce a gas flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; and a liquid flow generator (pump 14; Fig. 1) arranged to produce a liquid flow through the at least one liquid channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the fan and pump of FOR1, in order to improve heat transfer (Page 6).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the dual mode heat energy collector is arranged so that a rate of heat transfer from the gas flow is substantially the same as a rate of heat transfer from the liquid flow (14 & 30, as modified above).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the gas flow generator comprises a fan (30, as modified above).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the gas flow comprises air (as modified above).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the liquid flow generator comprises a pump (14) and a heat exchanger (13) (as modified above).
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the liquid flow comprises water (water – Page 6).
Claim(s) 19, 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Korin (US20020078696A1).
Regarding claim 19/22/23/24, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 1/12/20, wherein the heat energy consuming object is an evaporator.
Korein teaches wherein the heat energy consuming object is an evaporator or the cold end of a thermoelectric device (¶[0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the evaporator of Korin, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143), namely replacing a cold side heat pump (thermoelectric) with a cold side heat pump (vapor compression).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Wu teaches a cold side heat exchanger 5 that has water channels 16, but does not disclose a dual mode heat energy collector, which is operable in a first mode to collect heat from gas and second mode to collect heat from liquid, wherein the rate of heat transfer in both modes is substantially the same.
Examiner contends, Wu’s cold side heat exchanger 5 teaches collecting heat from either air (via fins 19) or liquid (via water channels 16), and thus is capable of operating in the manner recited (see MPEP 2114(II)).
For at least the reasons stated above, Applicant’s arguments are found unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763