DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are generally of poor quality, not legible, and include hand written notes. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wu (CN107364311A).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a dual mode heat energy collector (see 5; Fig. 4) comprising: a base (14 & 17) comprising a first surface (bottom of 5) arranged to provide heat energy to a heat energy consuming object and a second surface (top of 5); and heat energy absorbing fins (19) attached to and extending from the second surface; wherein the base further comprises at least one liquid channel (16) arranged between the first surface and the second surface, the at least one liquid channel defined by one or more walls (see walls forming channels 16 & fins 18) forming a heat conducting connection between the second surface and the first surface.
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Wu further discloses the heat energy absorbing fins (19) define gas flow channels between them (air – Page 6).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Wu further discloses the heat energy absorbing fins (19) are located across an area of the second surface; and the liquid channels (walls of 16 & 18) and walls are arranged within the base at locations corresponding to the area of the second surface.
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further discloses the heat energy absorbing fins (19) comprise a plurality of parallel fins; and the walls (walls of 16 & 18) extend parallel to the fins.
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further discloses
the dual mode heat energy collector is arranged to be operable in a first mode in which heat energy is collected by the dual mode heat energy collector from gas (outside air – Page 6) flowing past the heat energy absorbing fins or in a second mode in which heat energy is collected by the dual mode heat energy collector from liquid (water – Page 6) flowing through the at least one liquid channel; and a rate of heat transfer from the gas in the first mode is substantially the same as a rate of heat transfer from the liquid in the second mode (Wu is capable of operating in such a manner).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further discloses
the at least one liquid channel comprises a plurality of parallel liquid channels (16).
Regarding claim 20, Wu discloses a method (see Fig. 1 & 4) of providing heat energy to a heat energy consuming object (7), the method comprising: providing a dual mode heat energy collector (5) comprising: a base (14 & 17) comprising a first surface (bottom thereof) and a second surface (top thereof); and heat energy absorbing fins (19) attached to and extending from the second surface; wherein the base further comprises at least one liquid channel (16) arranged between the first surface and the second surface, the at least one liquid channel defined by one or more walls (see walls defining 16 & fins 18) forming a heat conducting connection between the second surface and the first surface; arranging the first surface of the dual mode heat energy collector in contact with a heat energy consuming object (7); and providing at least one of: a gas (air – Page 6) flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; and a liquid (water – Page 6) flow through the at least one liquid channel.
Regarding claim 21, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 21, and Wu further discloses the method comprises either: providing the gas flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; or providing the liquid flow through the at least one liquid channel (air & water – Page 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Royal (US4401155).
Regarding claim 5, . The dual mode heat energy collector of claim 4, wherein: the heat energy absorbing fins have a pitch equal to, or an integer multiple of, a pitch of the walls; and each heat energy absorbing fin is aligned with a respective wall.
Wu is silent to the heat energy absorbing fins have a pitch equal to, or an integer multiple of, a pitch of the walls; and each heat energy absorbing fin is aligned with a respective wall.
Royal teaches (see Fig. 1) the heat energy absorbing fins (14) have a pitch equal to, or an integer multiple of, a pitch of the walls (18); and each heat energy absorbing fin is aligned with a respective wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the fin and wall configuration of Royal, in order to provide a configuration which provides high reliability and pressure resistance (Col. 1, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Wu does not teach the base and heat energy absorbing fins comprise aluminum.
Royal teaches the base and heat energy absorbing fins comprise aluminum (aluminum – Col. 8, lines 15-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the aluminum of Royal, in order to provide a material of superior heat transfer properties (Col. 8, lines 15-16).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Liu (CN108161002A).
Regarding claims 8-10, Wu does not teach the base and the heat energy absorbing fins are integrally formed; the walls and the first and second surfaces of the base are integrally formed; and the dual mode heat energy collector is produced by additive manufacturing.
Liu teaches (see Fig. 1-3) the base (11) and the heat energy absorbing fins (12) are integrally formed; the walls and the first and second surfaces of the base are integrally formed; and the dual mode heat energy collector is produced by additive manufacturing (Page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the integrally manufacturing of Liu, in order to provide a precisely manufactured heat exchanger (Page 3).
Claim(s) 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of KR19990024929A, hereinafter FOR1.
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches a heat energy collecting system (see 5; Fig. 4) comprising: a dual mode heat energy collector (5) comprising: a base (14 & 17) comprising a first surface (bottom thereof) and a second surface (top thereof); and heat energy absorbing fins (19) attached to and extending from the second surface; wherein the base further comprises at least one liquid channel (16) arranged between the first surface and the second surface, the at least one liquid channel defined by one or more walls (see walls forming 16 & fins 18) forming a heat conducting connection between the second surface and the first surface; a heat energy consuming object in thermal contact with the first surface;
Wu does not teach at least one of: a gas flow generator arranged to produce a gas flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; and a liquid flow generator arranged to produce a liquid flow through the at least one liquid channel.
FOR1 teaches a gas flow generator (fan 30; Fig. 6) arranged to produce a gas flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; and a liquid flow generator (pump 14; Fig. 1) arranged to produce a liquid flow through the at least one liquid channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the fan and pump of FOR1, in order to improve heat transfer (Page 6).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches wherein the system comprises either: the gas flow generator arranged to produce the gas flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; or the liquid flow generator arranged to produce the liquid flow through the at least one liquid channel (as modified above).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the dual mode heat energy collector is arranged so that a rate of heat transfer from the gas flow is substantially the same as a rate of heat transfer from the liquid flow (14 & 30, as modified above).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the gas flow generator comprises a fan (30, as modified above).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the gas flow comprises air (as modified above).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the liquid flow generator comprises a pump (14) and a heat exchanger (13) (as modified above).
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the liquid flow comprises water (water – Page 6).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Korin (US20020078696A1).
Regarding claim 19, . The heat energy collecting system of claim 12, wherein the heat energy consuming object is an evaporator.
Korein teaches wherein the heat energy consuming object is an evaporator or the cold end of a thermoelectric device (¶[0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the evaporator of Korin, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763