DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to the application filed September 16, 2024.
3. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shuman et al. (US 2014/0241354 A1).
INDEPENDENT:
As per claim 1, Shuman teaches a control device comprising:
at least one processor (see Shuman, [0023]: “It will be recognized that various actions described herein can be performed by specific circuits (e.g., an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)), by program instructions being executed by one or more processors, or by a combination of both”);
a cellular network interface configured to communicatively couple the control device to a cellular network (see Shuman, [0030]: “In such a case, the IoT devices 110-120 can communicate with each other directly over the air interface 108 and/or the direct wired connection 109.”; [0047]: “While external appearances and/or internal components can differ significantly among IoT devices, most IoT devices will have some sort of user interface, which may comprise a display and a means for user input. IoT devices without a user interface can be communicated with remotely over a wired or wireless network, such as air interface 108 in FIGS. 1A-B”; and [0049]: “The platform 202 can receive and execute software applications, data and/or commands transmitted over a network interface, such as air interface 108 in FIGS. 1A-B and/or a wired interface. The platform 202 can also independently execute locally stored applications. The platform 202 can include one or more transceivers 206 configured for wired and/or wireless communication (e.g., a Wi-Fi transceiver, a Bluetooth transceiver, a cellular transceiver, a satellite transceiver, a GPS or SPS receiver, etc.) operably coupled to one or more processors 208”);
a network interface configured to communicatively couple the control device to a local area network (LAN) (see Shuman, [0044]: “For example, IoT devices such as a toaster, a computer, and a hairdryer may communicate with each other over a Bluetooth communication interface to regulate their use of electricity (the resource 180).”; and [0049]: “The platform 202 can receive and execute software applications, data and/or commands transmitted over a network interface, such as air interface 108 in FIGS. 1A-B and/or a wired interface. The platform 202 can also independently execute locally stored applications. The platform 202 can include one or more transceivers 206 configured for wired and/or wireless communication (e.g., a Wi-Fi transceiver, a Bluetooth transceiver, a cellular transceiver, a satellite transceiver, a GPS or SPS receiver, etc.) operably coupled to one or more processors 208”); and
at least one tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the control device is configured (see Shuman, [0060]: “the hardware and/or software by which the respective configured logic performs its functionality can overlap in part. For example, any software used to facilitate the functionality of the configured logics of 305 through 325 can be stored in the non-transitory memory associated with the logic configured to store information 315, such that the configured logics of 305 through 325 each performs their functionality (i.e., in this case, software execution) based in part upon the operation of software stored by the logic configured to store information 315”) to:
communicate, to one or more remote servers, via the cellular network, a request to allow the control device to control a media playback system (see Shuman, [0065]: “while televisions, Blu-ray players, DVRs, etc. may all be considered media devices, etc.” and [0078]: “when media is being output by the projector onto the projection screen 815, and the device organizer may determine to implement the lighting control function whenever the device organizer detects that the projector is outputting the media”), wherein the request includes an identifier of the media playback system (see Shuman, [0008]: “wherein a server may communicate with the designated group owners in each IoT group to further coordinate the inter-group communication and/or the designated group owners in each IoT group may communicate peer-to-peer to coordinate the inter-group communication”; [0030]: “Referring to FIG. 1A, an IoT server 170 is shown as connected to the Internet 175. The IoT server 170 can be implemented as a plurality of structurally separate servers, or alternately may correspond to a single server.”; [0032]: “that are configured to communicate with an access point 125 over an air interface 108 and/or a direct wired connection 109, a computer 120 that directly connects to the Internet 175 and/or connects to the Internet 175 through access point 125, and an IoT server 170 accessible via the Internet 175”; [0034]: “The supervisor device 130 may have a wired or wireless connection to the Internet 175 and optionally to the IoT server 170 (shown as a dotted line). The supervisor device 130 may obtain information from the Internet 175 and/or the IoT server 170 that can be used to further monitor or manage attributes, activities, or other states associated with the various IoT devices 110-120.”; and [0073]: “For example, in one embodiment, the independent communication channel can correspond to a Bluetooth channel, a Wi-Fi channel, a shared channel attached to communications associated with a group identifier that corresponds to the independent device group, etc., wherein the independent communication channel may vary among independent device groups based on the particular attributes associated with the individual IoT devices that make up each independent device group.”); and
following reception, from the one or more remote servers, via the cellular network, of first configuration information including information enabling the control device to control the media playback system (see Shuman, [0034]: “The supervisor device 130 may have a wired or wireless connection to the Internet 175 and optionally to the IoT server 170 (shown as a dotted line). The supervisor device 130 may obtain information from the Internet 175 and/or the IoT server 170 that can be used to further monitor or manage attributes, activities, or other states associated with the various IoT devices 110-120.”; and [0037]: “In this manner, any suitable physical object may communicate its identity and attributes and become part of the wireless communication system 100B and be observed, monitored, controlled, or otherwise managed with the supervisor device 130”):
(a) communicate, via the cellular network, one or more commands to control one or more playback devices of the media playback system to play back media content (see Shuman, [0049]: “The platform 202 can receive and execute software applications, data and/or commands transmitted over a network interface, such as air interface 108 in FIGS. 1A-B and/or a wired interface… The platform 202 can include one or more transceivers 206 configured for wired and/or wireless communication (e.g., a Wi-Fi transceiver, a Bluetooth transceiver, a cellular transceiver, a satellite transceiver, a GPS or SPS receiver, etc.) operably coupled to one or more processors 208, such as a microcontroller, microprocessor, application specific integrated circuit, digital signal processor (DSP), programmable logic circuit, or other data processing device, which will be generally referred to as processor 208.”; [0069]: “In another example, a local neighborhood may include a closed sprinkler controller IoT device group that can share weather information and coordinate operational times (e.g., the group owner or another suitable ranking member in the sprinkler controller IoT device group may subscribe to weather forecasts and inform all other members in the group about upcoming weather forecasts to coordinate when and/or how long the sprinklers should enter an operational state).”; and [0073]: “For example, in one embodiment, the independent communication channel can correspond to a Bluetooth channel, a Wi-Fi channel, a shared channel attached to communications associated with a group identifier that corresponds to the independent device group, etc., wherein the independent communication channel may vary among independent device groups based on the particular attributes associated with the individual IoT devices that make up each independent device group.”); and
(b) communicate, via the LAN, second configuration information to configure one or more operations of the one or more playback devices (see Shuman, [0026]: “Referring to FIG. 1A, IoT devices 110-118 are configured to communicate with an access network (e.g., an access point 125) over a physical communications interface or layer, shown in FIG. 1A as air interface 108 and a direct wired connection 109.”; [0030]: “Alternatively, or additionally, some or all of IoT devices 110-120 may be configured with a communication interface independent of air interface 108 and direct wired connection 109”; [0049]: “The platform 202 can receive and execute software applications, data and/or commands transmitted over a network interface, such as air interface 108 in FIGS. 1A-B and/or a wired interface… The platform 202 can include one or more transceivers 206 configured for wired and/or wireless communication (e.g., a Wi-Fi transceiver, a Bluetooth transceiver, a cellular transceiver, a satellite transceiver, a GPS or SPS receiver, etc.) operably coupled to one or more processors 208, such as a microcontroller, microprocessor, application specific integrated circuit, digital signal processor (DSP), programmable logic circuit, or other data processing device, which will be generally referred to as processor 208.”; and [0073]: “For example, in one embodiment, the independent communication channel can correspond to a Bluetooth channel, a Wi-Fi channel, a shared channel attached to communications associated with a group identifier that corresponds to the independent device group, etc., wherein the independent communication channel may vary among independent device groups based on the particular attributes associated with the individual IoT devices that make up each independent device group.”).
As per claim 8, Shuman teaches a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media having program instructions stored therein, wherein the program instructions, when executed by one or more processors, cause a control device to perform functions comprising:
communicating, to one or more remote servers, via a cellular network, a request to allow the control device to control a media playback system, wherein the request includes an identifier of the media playback system; and
following reception, from the one or more remote servers, via the cellular network, of first configuration information including information enabling the control device to control the media playback system:
(a) communicating, via the cellular network, one or more commands to control one or more playback devices of the media playback system to play back media content; and
(b) communicating, via a local area network (LAN), second configuration information to configure one or more operations of the one or more playback devices (see Claim 1 rejection above).
As per claim 15, Shuman teaches a method comprising:
communicating, to one or more remote servers, via a cellular network, a request to allow a control device to control a media playback system, wherein the request includes an identifier of the media playback system; and
following reception, from the one or more remote servers, via the cellular network, of first configuration information including information enabling the control device to control the media playback system:
(a) communicating, via the cellular network, one or more commands to control one or more playback devices of the media playback system to play back media content; and
(b) communicating, via a local area network (LAN), second configuration information to configure one or more operations of the one or more playback devices (see Claim 1 rejection above).
DEPENDENT:
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, which respectively depend on claims 1, 8, and 15, Shuman further teaches wherein the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the control device is configured to:
receive, from the one or more remote servers, via the cellular network, the first configuration information (see Shuman, [0032]: “that are configured to communicate with an access point 125 over an air interface 108 and/or a direct wired connection 109, a computer 120 that directly connects to the Internet 175 and/or connects to the Internet 175 through access point 125, and an IoT server 170 accessible via the Internet 175”; and Claim 1 rejection above).
As per claims 3, 10, and 17, which respectively depend on claims 1, 8, and 15, Shuman further teaches wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the control device is configured to communicate, via the cellular network, one or more commands to control one or more playback devices of the media playback system to play back media content comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the control device is configured to:
communicate, to the one or more remote servers, via the cellular network, the one or more commands to control the one or more playback devices of the media playback system to play back the media content (see Shuman, [0034]: “The supervisor device 130 may have a wired or wireless connection to the Internet 175 and optionally to the IoT server 170 (shown as a dotted line). The supervisor device 130 may obtain information from the Internet 175 and/or the IoT server 170 that can be used to further monitor or manage attributes, activities, or other states associated with the various IoT devices 110-120.”; [0049]: “The platform 202 can receive and execute software applications, data and/or commands transmitted over a network interface, such as air interface 108 in FIGS. 1A-B and/or a wired interface… One or more input/output (I/O) interfaces 214 can be configured to allow the processor 208 to communicate with and control from various I/O devices such as the display 226, power button 222, control buttons 224A and 224B as illustrated, and any other devices, such as sensors, actuators, relays, valves, switches, and the like associated with the IoT device 200A.”; and [0069]: “In another example, a local neighborhood may include a closed sprinkler controller IoT device group that can share weather information and coordinate operational times (e.g., the group owner or another suitable ranking member in the sprinkler controller IoT device group may subscribe to weather forecasts and inform all other members in the group about upcoming weather forecasts to coordinate when and/or how long the sprinklers should enter an operational state).”).
As per claims 4, 11, and 18, which respectively depend on claims 1, 8, and 15, Shuman further teaches wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the control device is configured to communicate, via the LAN, second configuration information to configure one or more operations of the one or more playback devices comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the control device is configured to:
communicate, to the one or more playback devices, via the LAN, the second configuration information to configure the one or more operations of the one or more playback devices (see Shuman, [0030]: “the IoT devices 110-120 can communicate with each other directly over the air interface 108 and/or the direct wired connection 109. Alternatively, or additionally, some or all of IoT devices 110-120 may be configured with a communication interface independent of air interface 108 and direct wired connection 109. For example, if the air interface 108 corresponds to a Wi-Fi interface, one or more of the IoT devices 110-120 may have Bluetooth or NFC interfaces for communicating directly with each other or other Bluetooth or NFC-enabled devices.”; [0049]: “The platform 202 can receive and execute software applications, data and/or commands transmitted over a network interface, such as air interface 108 in FIGS. 1A-B and/or a wired interface.”; and [0055]: “if the communication device 300 corresponds to a wireless communications device (e.g., IoT device 200A and/or passive IoT device 200B), the logic configured to receive and/or transmit information 305 can include a wireless communications interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi Direct, Long-Term Evolution (LTE) Direct, etc.) such as a wireless transceiver and associated hardware (e.g., an RF antenna, a MODEM, a modulator and/or demodulator, etc.).”).
As per claims 5, 12, and 19, which respectively depend on claims 1, 8, and 15, Shuman further teaches wherein the second configuration information configures the one or more playback devices to operate as a synchrony group of playback devices (see Shuman, [0068]: “In particular, the peer-to-peer IoT group communication may enable an originating IoT device to ping a manager IoT device within a target IoT group to find the members associated with the target IoT group. As such, the originating IoT device may then communicate with the various members in the target IoT group peer-to-peer.”).
As per claims 6, 13, and 20, which respectively depend on claims 5, 12, and 19, Shuman further teaches wherein the first configuration information received via the cellular network specifies the synchrony group (see Shuman, [0073]: “For example, in one embodiment, the independent communication channel can correspond to a Bluetooth channel, a Wi-Fi channel, a shared channel attached to communications associated with a group identifier that corresponds to the independent device group, etc.,”; [0068]: “In particular, the peer-to-peer IoT group communication may enable an originating IoT device to ping a manager IoT device within a target IoT group to find the members associated with the target IoT group. As such, the originating IoT device may then communicate with the various members in the target IoT group peer-to-peer.”; and [0081]: “For example, the independent channel can correspond to a Bluetooth channel, a Wi-Fi channel, a group identifier attached to communications over a shared channel, etc.”).
As per claims 7 and 14, which respectively depend on claims 5 and 12, Shuman further teaches wherein the first configuration information received via the cellular network specifies a particular playback device of the synchrony group (see Shuman, [0024]: “For example, the independent channel can correspond to a Bluetooth channel, a Wi-Fi channel, a group identifier attached to communications over a shared channel, etc.”; [0068]: “In particular, the peer-to-peer IoT group communication may enable an originating IoT device to ping a manager IoT device within a target IoT group to find the members associated with the target IoT group. As such, the originating IoT device may then communicate with the various members in the target IoT group peer-to-peer.”; and [0071]: “the device attribute information can include general device capability information that may be generic to the associated IoT device type (e.g., capabilities to output sound, present video, emit light, measure temperature, etc.) or IoT device-specific device capability information (e.g., capabilities to heat or cool a particular indoor space, output sound in a particular direction or with particular acoustic effects, emit between 200-300 lumens of light on a particular section of a wall in a conference room, etc.).”).
Conclusion
5. For the reasons above, claims 1-20 have been rejected and remain pending.
/Michael Won/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443