DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al (US 20220148475 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an electronic device (Park [0008], “an electronic device”), comprising:
a housing comprising a first housing part and a second housing part movably engaged with the first housing part (Park [0075], “housing may include a first structure 410 and a second structure 440 (first and second structure/housing).”; [0078], “the first structure 410 may be a fixed structure, and the second structure 440 may be a structure that is relatively movable with respect to the first structure”);
a flexible display comprising a display area visible from a front of the electronic device, wherein a size of the display area is enlarged or reduced according to a movement of the second housing part (Park [0009], “a flexible display”; [0077], “the first state may refer to a state in which an area (or a size) of the display 450 visually exposed in a frontward direction of the electronic device 400 is relatively reduced. The second state may refer to a state in which the area (or the size) of the display 450 exposed in a frontward direction of the electronic device 400 is relatively enlarged … in the first state, a portion (e.g., side portions 443 and 444 respectively facing in +y/−y axis directions) of the second structure 440 may be located inwardly (or outwardly) of the first structure 410, such that the second structure 440 may be in a closed state with respect to the first structure 410. In the second state, the portions 443 and 444 of the second structure 440 exit from the first structure 410 such that the second structure 440 may be in an opened state with respect to the first structure 410 (enlarged or reduced based on the second structure/housing state).”);
a memory storing instructions (Park [0106], “memory 730 may store therein … instructions”); and
a processor operatively connected to the flexible display and the memory (Park [0105], “The automatic display 710 may automatically extend or retract using the driving motor based on a specified signal created by the processor 720 (processor operatively connected to the flexible display).”; [0106], “memory 730 may store therein at least one program, at least one application, data, or instructions executed by the processor”),
wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor (Park [0106], “memory 730 may store therein at least one program, at least one application, data, or instructions executed by the processor 720 … performing at least a portion of an operation of the electronic device”), cause the electronic device to:
display a plurality of contents in the display area while the size of the display area of the flexible display is a first size (Park [0077], “the first state may refer to a state in which an area (or a size) of the display 450 visually exposed in a frontward direction of the electronic device 400 is relatively reduced (display area of the flexible display is a first size).” [0117], “electronic device 800 according to one embodiment may display the preview images 820 and 830”); and
based on the size of the display area increasing from the first size to a second size (Park [0083], “in the second state, so that a size of the exposed area of the display 450 may increase”) :
display, in a first area among areas of the display area, first content related to content selected from among the plurality of contents while the display area has the first size, wherein the areas are arranged with respect to each other (Park [0112], “The first preview image may include a first area of the selected image … The second preview image may include a second area of the selected image (the first and second areas are arranged with respect to each other).”; fig. 9, 911 exemplary first content selected from a plurality of contents comprising contents 911-913); and
display, in a second area and a third area among the areas, at least a part of second content and at least a part of third content, respectively, wherein the first area is between and adjacent to the second area and the third area, and wherein the at least the part of the second content and the at least the part of the third content are respectively displayed, while the size of the display area is increasing to the second size, around where the content that is selected was displayed while the display area has the first size (Park [0112], “when the detected state of the electronic device 700 is the first state, the processor 720 may display the first area of the selected image as a preview image, and then display the second area including the first area of the image and one area (e.g., the third area) adjacent to the first area as a preview image on the display 710.”; [0121], “the electronic device 800 may display the first area 861 of the image, and may display the third area 863 of the image in addition to the first area 861 such that the third area 863 gradually appears in the extending direction”).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first area where the first content is displayed, while the size of the display area is increasing to the second size, is larger than an area where the content, that is selected, is displayed in the display area while the display area has the first size (Park [0120], “the second preview image 830 (with larger area) may include the first area 861 of the image and one area of the image adjacent to the first area 861 of the image in an extending direction (e.g., +x direction) (display area is extending/increasing to the second size) of the display 810 in the second state of the electronic device 800”).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first area where the first content is displayed, while the size of the display area is increasing to the second size, is enlarged from an area where the content, that is selected, is displayed in the display area while the display area has the first size (Park [0120], “The aspect ratio of the second preview image 830 may correspond to an aspect ratio of an enlarged display area (enlarged in comparison to the original first area) … the second preview image 830 may include the first area 861 of the image and one area of the image adjacent to the first area 861 of the image in an extending direction (e.g., +x direction) (display area is extending/increasing to the second size) of the display”).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to obtain the first content from an external electronic device based on the content being selected (Park [0071], “the notification relay application may receive notification information (exemplary first content) from the external electronic device”).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
obtain a user input (Park [0105], “an input provided from the user”), and
select content, among the plurality of contents, corresponding to a position where the user input is obtained (Park [0105], “an input provided from the user … is applied to a predetermined area of the display 710 (select content … to a position where the user input is obtained) … the display 710 may automatically extend.”).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
obtain a user input requesting to enlarge the size of the display area from the first size to the second size (Park [0105], “the display 710 may extend based on an input applied to a pre-specified area (obtain a user input requesting to enlarge the size of the display area).”); and
select content located in a designated area among the plurality of contents displayed in the display area while the display area has the first size (Park [0111], “a first area (with a first size) of the selected image. The first area may be specified by a user input.”),
wherein the plurality of contents are displayed in respective areas of the display area, while the display area has the first size (Park [0119], “the first preview image 820 may include a first area 861 of the image”), and
wherein the respective areas are arranged with respect to each other (Park [0120], “The second preview image 830 may correspond to a background screen displayed in the second state of the electronic device 800. (fig. 8, in the second image, depicts areas 861 and 862 arranged with respect to each other)”).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first area includes a center position of the display area, while the display area has the second size (Park fig. 9; [0126], “the electronic device may specify the first area 911 and an area adjacent to the first area 911 (includes a center position of the display area) in another direction (e.g., −x direction or y direction) as the third area 913 (display area has a second size).”).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
move, while the size of the display area is enlarged from the first size to the second size, the at least the part of the second content and the at least the part of the third content, that are respectively arranged around the content, that is selected, such that the first area is between the second area and the third area (Park fig. 12, 1202; the electronic device 1200 in the third state 1202 may include a second area … include the first area 1221 and one area (exemplary 3rd area) adjacent to the first area 1221; first area 1221 is between 2nd area and the 3rd area).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of contents comprise one or more visual objects (Park fig. 12 - comprises one or more visual objects).
Regarding claim 10, The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the content, that is selected, is an image object, and an aspect ratio of the first area where the first content is displayed is the same as an aspect ratio of the image object (Park [0143], “An aspect ratio of the first area 1221 of the image may correspond to an aspect ratio of a display area of the display 1210 visually exposed in the first state 1201 of the electronic device 1200.”).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second content comprises a portion of one content among the plurality of contents displayed in the display area while the display area has the first size (Park fig. 8; [0118], “the first preview image 820 may include a first area 861 of the image (fig. 8, area 861 with a first size, includes second content, a hand of the child depicted in 862)”; fig. 9, 911 exemplary first content selected from a plurality of contents comprising contents 911-913).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to enlarge the first area between the second area and the third area as the size of the display area increases from the first size to the second size (Park fig. 11, 1111; [0139], “specify one area located in the extending direction (e.g., +x direction) of the display in the fourth area 1111 of the image as the sixth area 1113 (as the display area increases from first size 1112 to 1111, the first display area 1112 enlarges between second area 1111 and third area 1113)”).
Claim 13 recites a method which corresponds to the function performed by the electronic device of claim 1. As such, the mapping and rejection of claim 1 above is considered applicable to the method of claim 13.
Claim 14 recites a method which corresponds to the function performed by the electronic device of claim 6. As such, the mapping and rejection of claim 6 above is considered applicable to the method of claim 14.
Claim 15 recites a method which corresponds to the function performed by the electronic device of claim 8. As such, the mapping and rejection of claim 8 above is considered applicable to the method of claim 15.
Claim 16 recites a method which corresponds to the function performed by the electronic device of claim 12. As such, the mapping and rejection of claim 12 above is considered applicable to the method of claim 16.
Claim 17 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium which corresponds to the function performed by the electronic device of claim 1. As such, the mapping and rejection of claim 1 above is considered applicable to the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17.
Additionally, Park discloses
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program including instructions, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by a processor of an electronic device (Park [0208]).
Claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium which corresponds to the function performed by the electronic device of claim 6. As such, the mapping and rejection of claim 6 above is considered applicable to the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 18.
Claim 19 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium which corresponds to the function performed by the electronic device of claim 8. As such, the mapping and rejection of claim 8 above is considered applicable to the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 19.
Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium which corresponds to the function performed by the electronic device of claim 12. As such, the mapping and rejection of claim 12 above is considered applicable to the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 20.
Conclusion
See the notice of references cited (PTO-892) for prior art made of record, including art that is not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JITESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612