DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Application filed on 09/16/2024
Application is a CON of PCT/JP2022/048142 12/27/2022
Application claims a FP date of 03/30/2022
Claims 1, 13 and 15 are independent
Claims 1-15 are pending
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because Claim 14 recites, inter alia, "A program causing a computer to execute each of the recognition step …" After close inspection of the specification, the Examiner interprets the “program” to potentially be stored as a transitory propagating signal and therefore the claims must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. However, the Examiner respectfully submits a claims drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim. Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. For additional information, please see the Patents' Official Gazette notice published February 23, 2010 (1351 OG 212). A suggested preamble might include “a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program, executable by a computer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 13 recites “accessory information” which has an English meaning of “a thing that can be added to something in order to make it useful”. The boundaries of “accessory” has not been defined in the claim and therefore us unclear what is included and what is not. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered in the claim. Therefor the claims are "indefinite". See MPEP 2173.05(g) for more information.
Claim 9 recites “search subject in a first frame is present in a second frame before the first frame among the plurality of frames…”. It is unclear what the applicant is trying to claim by including “before the first frame among the plurality of frames” and therefor the claim is "indefinite". See MPEP 2173.05(g) for more information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tojo et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2009/0324086 A1) in view of Kinjo (U. S. Patent Number 7,421,154 B2).
Regarding Claim 13, Tojo discloses a recording device that records accessory information in a frame of moving image data including a plurality of frames (Tojo’s invention is about a video camera device for detecting and storing human face patterns. In ¶0036, Tojo also discloses that the moving image data acquired by the moving image input unit is recorded in the moving image storing unit 202 as a moving image file), the recording device comprising:
a processor (Fig 2 – image processing apparatus 100), wherein the processor is configured to execute:
recognition processing of recognizing a plurality of recognition subjects in the plurality of frames (In ¶0037 and throughout, Tojo discloses that the face detection unit 203 detects the human face pattern from a predetermined frame in the moving image data acquired by the moving image input unit 201);
search processing of searching for the accessory information which is able to be recorded for search subjects based on search items, the search subjects being at least some of the plurality of recognition subjects (In the flow chart of Fig 6 and in ¶0058- ¶0064, Tojo discloses that the face tracing unit 204 sets a search region in the subsequent frames for searching the human face pattern based on region information about the human face pattern detected by the face detection unit 203. Further in step S520, Tojo discloses that the face tracing unit 204 traces the human face pattern based on a correlation between the image cut from the search region and the human face pattern to be searched – and sets out correlation between brightness distribution; also see ¶0122; Examiner would like to state on the record that “accessory information” is not defined in the claim. However, since Tojo discloses searching using position information as disclosed in ¶0056-¶0059, Tojo discloses this limitation of the claim);
a setting step of setting the search items different from each other for each of the search subjects in a case where a plurality of the search subjects are present (In ¶0124 - ¶0136, Tojo discloses the similarity determination unit 1102 that determines whether a degree of similarity between the feature amount of the face is greater than or equal to a predetermined value); and
recording processing of recording at least some of the search items as the accessory information based on a result of the search processing (In ¶0036 Tojo discloses that the image storing unit 202 records and stores the moving image as a moving image file).
Tojo discloses “setting process” However, Tojo fails to clearly disclose a setting step of setting the search items different from each other for each of the search subjects and recording processing of recording at least some of the search items as the accessory information based on a result of the search processing.
Instead in a similar endeavor, Kinjo discloses a setting step of setting the search items different from each other for each of the search subjects (Kinjo teaches this in the “setting section” 338 where he teaches that the setting subsection sets from the specific information extracted from the extracting subsection or the related information for the recognized specific information – the related information including the position, size, direction, color, presence or absence and direction.); and
recording processing of recording at least some of the search items as the accessory information based on a result of the search processing (In page 29 and in lines 1-15, Kinjo further teaches that the image processing section 320 transfers the image data of the image of interest together with the accessory information from the setting subsection 338 to the DB 308 where the image data and the accessory information are as such stored)
Tojo and Kinjo are combinable because both are related to image searching and image processing methods for recognizing specific information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the setting section as taught by Kinjo in the imaging module disclosed by Tojo.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “utilize image searching method capable of efficient image detection or search using a key specific information such as the shape of subjects” as disclosed by Kinjo in the Abstract.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tojo and Kinjo to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding Claim 1, this claim is a methods claim that has limitation similar to claim 13. Claim 1 is rejected on the same grounds as Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 2, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses wherein the search step is executed for the search subject selected by a predetermined condition (Tojo: Tojo discloses this in Fig 6 – step S510 and in ¶0058 where he discloses that a search region is set for searching human face pattern based on region information about human face pattern detected. Kinjo: Kinjo also teaches in step 501 and in Col 13 that the designated searching pattern 20 is input as a searching condition).
Regarding Claim 3, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses wherein the condition is a condition based on image quality information or size information of the search subject in the frame (Kinjo: In Col 15, Kinjo teaches that the position, size, direction are designated as searching pattern 20 used as search condition to make comparison and verification with the accessory information).
Regarding Claim 4, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses wherein the condition is a condition based on a focusing position which is set by a recording device that records the moving image data or a visual line position of a user during recording of the moving image data (Kinjo: In Col 25, Kinjo teaches about depth information for various subjects in the image which can be derived using shooting position information. He also teaches that for various subjects in the image may be derived from multi-stage focused images or stereoscopic images, In Fig 14 he shows exampled for designating searching patterns 130 which contains depth information).
Regarding Claim 5, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses wherein, in the recording step, coordinate information of the focusing position or the visual line position is recorded in the frame as the accessory information (Kinjo: Kinjo teaches the use of coordinates and shown in tables 1 -3).
Regarding Claim 6, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses wherein, in the search step, the search item selected by a user is used (Kinjo: In Fig 2 and throughout, Kinjo teaches the use of searching pattern entered by the user to search through the original image).
Regarding Claim 7, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses wherein, in the setting step (Kinjo: “setting section” 338), priorities for the search subjects are set for each of the search subjects (Kinjo: In Col 7, Kinjo teaches that the image areas are searched area by area and a priority of reference in search mode is set in accordance with access frequency), and an accuracy of the search item which is set for the search subject having a higher priority is higher than an accuracy of the search item which is set for the search subject having a lower priority (Kinjo: In Col 25, Kinjo teaches about the “degree of agreement” is calculated where the degree exceeds a predetermined threshold, the characteristic value is found to “agree” with the accessory information).
Regarding Claim 8, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses wherein, in the setting step (Kinjo: “setting section” 338), an accuracy of the search item is set according to a result of the search step that is executed in the past (Kinjo: Kinjo teaches this throughout – especially in Col 1 where he teaches that the present invention relates to an image searching method which extracts the subjects of interest on the basis of the position information and uses results of extraction to search through images. Since it uses the results of extraction, it is clear that uses the steps executed in the past).
Regarding Claim 9, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses wherein, in a case where the search subject in a first frame is present in a second frame before the first frame among the plurality of frames, in the setting step, the accuracy of the search item that is set for the search subject in the first frame is set to be higher than the accuracy of the search item that is set for the search subject in the second frame (Kinjo: In Fig 9 teaches an example of the result of searching for dynamically changing images in response to the designated shape. Also See Col 17, lines 5-25. Kinjo also teaches that the areas that have been searched through are managed on the database area by area and the priority of reference in search more or the image resolution for data storage is set in accordance with access frequency).
Regarding Claim 10, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses further comprising: a receiving step (Kinjo: input section 326 that inputs the searching condition) of receiving an input of a user that is related to an item of the accessory information (Kinjo: Fig 2 teaches a designated searching pattern entered by the user to search through the original image), wherein the recording step is executed to record the accessory information corresponding to the input item in an input frame corresponding to the input of the user, among the plurality of frames (Kinjo: In Col 29, Kinjo teaches that the image data recording medium may be used to receive the image data for acquiring the accessory information in the acquiring section 310 and the image data for storing in the DB 308).
Regarding Claim 11, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses wherein, in the receiving step, an item of the accessory information is able to be received, the item being different from the search item which is set in the setting step (Kinjo: In Col 27, Kinjo teaches that the image processing section 320 transfers the image data to acquiring section 310 and receives the accessory information obtained in the acquiring section 110. The accessory information is then transferred to and stored in the DB 308 together with the image data).
Regarding Claim 12, Tojo in view of Kinjo discloses wherein the accessory information is stored in a data file different from the moving image data (Kinjo: In Col 27, Kinjo teaches that the image processing section 320 transfers the image data to acquiring section 310 and receives the accessory information obtained in the acquiring section 110. The accessory information is then transferred to and stored in the DB 308 together with the image data).
Regarding Claim 14, this claim is a program claim that has limitation similar to claim 1 and 13. Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as Claim 1 and 13.
Regarding Claim 15, this claim is a methods claim that has limitation similar to claim 1. Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as Claim 1.
Reference Cited
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ito et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2010/0287502 A1) discloses an image search device that includes target-image selecting unit that selects target image data from recorded image data; a target-image displaying unit that displays the selected target-image data on a display unit; a relevant-image selecting unit that selects relevant image data that contains a predetermined number of images each having at least one element item identical to the corresponding piece of element information assigned to the target image data in such a manner that the relevant image data contains at least one image that has combination of the element items that is different from combination of the element items assigned to the other relevant images; and a relevant-image displaying unit that displays, on the display unit, the selected relevant image data containing the predetermined number of the images.
Sugano et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0068731 A1) discloses an image processing device and a moving image data generation method capable of easily searching for 3D model data. The image processing device includes: a storage unit that stores a plurality of 3D models and a plurality of 3D model feature amounts respectively corresponding to the plurality of 3D models; a search unit that searches for a 3D model having a feature amount similar to an input feature amount of a subject on the basis of the feature amount of the subject and the 3D model feature amounts stored in the storage unit; and an output unit that outputs the 3D model searched by the search unit. The present technology can be applied to, for example, an image processing device that searches for a 3D model.
Conclusion
/PADMA HALIYUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 February 23, 2026