Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1 - 4 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1 - 4 of copending Application No. 18/746,587 (US 2024/0336020). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Figge et al (US Patent 4,194,938).
With regards to claim 1, Figge discloses an assembly for forming a thermoplastic part (Abstract) comprising:
A mold tool having a mold surface (Figure 1 item 10)
A plurality of attachment frames located around a perimeter of the mold surface and configured to couple a thermoplastic layer to the mold tool such that the thermoplastic layer is spaced apart from the mold surface, where the attachment frames are raised with respect to the mold surface (Figure 1 item 4)
A vacuum configured to evacuate air from over the mold surface (Figure 1 item 11)
A fiber dispensing assembly configured to deposit a plurality of fiber strips over the mold surface (Figure 1 items 12 and 14).
With regards to claim 2, the teachings of Figge are presented above. Additionally, Figge teaches that the assembly further comprises a heating element configured to heat a thermoplastic layer to a pliable forming temperature (Figure 1 item 8).
With regards to claims 3 and 4, the teachings of Figge are presented above. Additionally, Figge discloses that the heating element comprises a plurality of heater units that are substantially-equally spaced form the mold surface (Figure 1 item 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mentzer et al (US Patent 4,957,802) in view of Wadsworth (US 2021/0394467).
With regards to claim 1, Mentzer discloses an assembly for forming a thermoplastic part (Abstract) comprising:
A mold tool having a mold surface (Figure 1 item 10)
A plurality of attachment frames located around a perimeter of the mold surface and configured to couple a thermoplastic layer to the mold tool such that the thermoplastic layer is spaced apart from the mold surface, where the attachment frames are raised with respect to the mold surface (Figure 1 item 14)
A vacuum configured to evacuate air from over the mold surface (Figure 1 item 16)
Mentzer fails to explicitly disclose that the assembly comprises a fiber dispensing assembly configured to deposit a plurality of fiber strips over the mold surface.
Wadsworth discloses an assembly for forming thermoplastic parts (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Mentzer, where Wadsworth discloses that the assembly comprises a fiber dispensing assembly configured to deposit a plurality of fiber strips over a mold surface (Figure 1 items 118 and 120, paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have added a fiber dispensing assembly, as disclosed in Wadsworth, in Mentzer’s assembly. The rationale being that, as stated by Wadsworth, it provides fibers that can provide improved strength properties, reduce shrinkage, greater wear resistance, UV resistance, impact toughness, higher modulus, improved sand-ability, reduced CTE, increased dielectric strength and other desirable properties (paragraph 30).
With regards to claim 2, the teachings of Mentzer and Wadsworth are presented above. Additionally, Mentzer teaches that the assembly further comprises a heating element configured to heat a thermoplastic layer to a pliable forming temperature (Figure 5 item 50).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mentzer et al (US Patent 4,957,802) in view of Wadsworth (US 2021/0394467) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Figge et al (US Patent 4,194,938).
With regards to claims 3 and 4, the teachings of Mentzer and Wadsworth are presented above. While Mentzer discloses a heating element (Figure 5 item 50), Mentzer and Wadsworth fail to explicitly disclose that the heating element comprises a plurality of heating units.
Figge discloses an assembly for forming a thermoplastic part (Figure 1), in the same field of endeavor as Mentzer, where Figge discloses that the heating element comprises a plurality of heater units that are substantially-equally spaced form the mold surface (Figure 1 item 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a plurality of heater units, as suggested by Figge, in Mentzer’s assembly as modified by Wadsworth. The rationale being that one of ordinary skills in the art would appreciate that multiple heating units allows for better control of the heating process over the thermoplastic part. Additionally, the duplication of parts does not have patentable weight as per In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Conclusion
/JOSHEL RIVERA/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746