DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of US Patent No. 12,096,258 (‘258 Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical to that of the ‘258 Patent, as noted in the chart below, they are not patentably distinct as the claim scope of the current Application is either anticipated by or would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the claim scope of the ‘258 Patent.
Current Application
‘258 Patent
1. (Currently Amended) A method for identifying a type of a source of interference received in a wireless telecommunications network, the method comprising:
receiving Operations, Administration, and Management (OAM) data of the wireless telecommunications network;
producing, using the OAM data, first per-Physical Resource Block (per-PRB) interference data for a cell of the wireless telecommunications network, the first per-PRB interference data including interference data for each of a plurality of PRBs of the cell for each of a plurality of intervals within a period of time; and
producing, using a trained machine learning (ML) model and based on the first per-PRB interference data, one or more interference source type indications.
1. A method for determining a type of a source of interference received in a wireless telecommunications network, the method comprising:
receiving Operations, Administration, and Management (OAM) data of the wireless telecommunications network;
producing, using the OAM data, first per-Physical Resource Block (per-PRB) interference data for a cell of the wireless telecommunications network, the first per-PRB interference data including interference data for each of a plurality of PRBs of the cell for each of a plurality of intervals within a period of time; and
producing, using a trained machine learning (ML) model and based on the first per-PRB interference data, one or more interference source type indications ...
2. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the first per-PRB interference data further includes metadata corresponding to the equipment of the cell comprising an indicator of a vendor of the equipment.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the first per-PRB interference data further includes metadata corresponding to equipment of the cell, metadata corresponding to an operating configuration of the cell, or both.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the metadata corresponding to the equipment of the cell includes an indicator of a vendor of the equipment.
3. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the first per-PRB interference data further includes metadata corresponding to the equipment of the cell comprising an indicator of an operator of the cell.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the first per-PRB interference data further includes metadata corresponding to equipment of the cell, metadata corresponding to an operating configuration of the cell, or both.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the metadata corresponding to the equipment of the cell includes an indicator of a vendor of the equipment, an operator of the cell, or both…
4. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the OAM data includes topology data, configuration management data, and performance management data.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the OAM data includes topology data, configuration management data, and performance management data.
5. (New) The method of claim 4, wherein the topology data comprises at least one of, for a base station of the cell: geographic coordinates of the base station, antenna azimuth, vertical and horizontal antenna beamwidth, antenna height, mechanical tilt, and electrical tilt.
Although not taught by the ‘258 Patent claims, in the same art of interference detection, Yun (US 10,605,890)(“Yun”) teaches using topology data comprises at least one of, for a base station of the cell: geographic coordinates (i.e., latitude and longitude) of the base station (i.e., “the antenna latitude and longitude of a base station”, see col. 5, lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further specify latitude/longitude values corresponding to the geographic name of the base station in Winters (see ¶0013). The obvious motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved interference detection/localization (see Yun, col. 17, lines 42-54).
6. (New) The method of claim 5, wherein the geographic coordinates of the base station comprise latitude and longitude values.
Although not taught by the ‘258 Patent claims, in the same art of interference detection, Yun teaches wherein the geographic coordinates of the base station comprise latitude and longitude values (i.e., “the antenna latitude and longitude of a base station”, see col. 5, lines 55-65).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining the claims of the ‘258 Patent and Yun in claims 5 applies equally well to claim 7.
7. (New) The method of claim 5, wherein the topology data further indicates a deployment type of the cell selected from at least an indoor deployment, an outdoor deployment, and a distributed antenna system.
Although not taught by the ‘258 Patent claims, in the same art of interference detection, Yun further teaches wherein the topology data further indicates a deployment type of the cell selected from at least an indoor deployment, an outdoor deployment, and a distributed antenna system (i.e., “site deployment type (e.g. indoor, outdoor, distributed antenna system, etc.)”, see col. 5, lines 59-60).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining the claims of the ‘258 Patent and Yun in claim 5 applies equally well to claim 7.
8. (New) The method of claim 5, further comprising: classifying an interference source type based on the topology data using the ML model.
1 … using a trained machine learning (ML) model and based on the first per-PRB interference data, one or more interference source type indications
9. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein producing the one or more interference source type indications includes: preprocessing the first per-PRB interference data to produce preprocessed data; and inputting the preprocessed data to the ML model, wherein preprocessing the first per-PRB interference data includes: when a bandwidth of the first per-PRB interference data is less than a baseline bandwidth, stretching or zero-padding the first per-PRB interference data to produce the preprocessed data having the baseline bandwidth.
1…wherein producing the one or more interference source type indications includes: preprocessing the first per-PRB interference data to produce preprocessed data; when a bandwidth of the first per-PRB interference data is less than a baseline bandwidth, stretching or zero-padding the first per-PRB interference data to produce the preprocessed data having the baseline bandwidth; inputting the preprocessed data to the ML model; and producing the one or more interference source type indications using an output of the ML model.
10. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein producing the one or more interference source type indications includes: preprocessing the first per-PRB interference data by performing contrast enhancement on the first per-PRB interference data to produce preprocessed data; and inputting the preprocessed data to the ML model.
1…wherein producing the one or more interference source type indications includes: preprocessing the first per-PRB interference data to produce preprocessed data; when a bandwidth of the first per-PRB interference data is less than a baseline bandwidth, stretching or zero-padding the first per-PRB interference data to produce the preprocessed data having the baseline bandwidth; inputting the preprocessed data to the ML model; and producing the one or more interference source type indications using an output of the ML model.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein preprocessing the first per-PRB interference data includes: performing contrast enhancement on the first per-PRB interference data to produce the preprocessed data.
Claims 11-20 recite substantially identical subject matter as claims 1-10, and are therefore rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of the ‘258 Patent for the same reasons as illustrated in the table above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Winter et al. (US 2023/0088342)(“Winter”).
As per claim 1, Winter teaches a method for identifying a type of a source of interference received in a wireless telecommunications network, the method comprising:
receiving Operations, Administration, and Management (OAM) data of the wireless telecommunications network (i.e., receiving “input data” from eNB, see ¶0013, including, for example, “date and time data”, “data identifying a network device”, “interference per PRB number data”, read as OAM data);
producing, using the OAM data, first per-Physical Resource Block (per-PRB) interference data for a cell of the wireless telecommunications network, the first per-PRB interference data including interference data for each of a plurality of PRBs of the cell for each of a plurality of intervals within a period of time (i.e., “process the PRB images, with a first machine learning model, to associate labels with each of the PRB images”, see ¶0025, read as producing interference data/labels on a per-PRB basis, also see ¶0035, which describes the set of PRB images as corresponding to a plurality of intervals (e.g., 24 hourly data points), within a period of time (i.e., four days of data)); and
producing, using a trained machine learning (ML) model and based on the first per-PRB interference data, one or more interference source type indications (i.e., “may process the array of potential issues, with a second machine learning model, to determine probability scores associated with the potential issues (i.e., one or more interference source type indications).”, see ¶0044).
As per claim 4, Winter further teaches wherein the OAM data includes topology data (e.g., “data identifying a network device” and/or “a name of a geographic region in which eNB 110 is located”), configuration management data (e.g., “branch identification data”), and performance management data (e.g., “average RF interference”)(see ¶0013).
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 4 since they recite substantially identical subject matter. Any differences between the claims do not result in patentably distinct claims and all of the limitations are taught by the above cited art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter in view of Wilson (US 2015/0350940)(“Wilson”).
As per claims 2 and 12, Winter does not expressly teach wherein the first per-PRB interference data further includes metadata corresponding to the equipment of the cell comprising an indicator of a vendor of the equipment.
Nevertheless, in the same art of cellular network management/maintenance, Wilson illustrates the use and benefit of associating metadata of equipment of a cell with corresponding interference data (see for example, Figs. 8-11, i.e., “Antenna manufacturer A”, etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further associate per-PRB interference data with a relevant indicator of an equipment vendor (e.g., “Antenna manufacturer A”, etc.). The obvious motivation for doing so would have been for easier recognition of the manufacture/vendor associated with the per-PRB interference data in Winter.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter in view of Laukkanen (US 2016/0095012)(“Laukkanen”).
As per claim 3, Winter does not expressly teach wherein the first per-PRB interference data further includes metadata corresponding to the equipment of the cell comprising an indicator of an operator of the cell.
Nevertheless, in the same art of wireless network interference detection, Laukkanen teaches storing, together with interference data, an operator name of an interfering cell (see for example, ¶0079).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to similarly store together with the interference data (i.e., PRB images see ¶0025 of Winter, read as first per-PRB interference data) the name of an operator of the cell/network device corresponding to the interference data/PRB images. The obvious motivation for doing so would have been to further identify and/or notify the cell operator of wireless network issues detected by the ML model in Winter.
Claims 5-8 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter, in view of Yun et al. (US 10,605,890)(“Yun”).
As per claim 5, Winter fails to teach the topology data comprises at least one of, for a base station of the cell: geographic coordinates of the base station, antenna azimuth, vertical and horizontal antenna beamwidth, antenna height, mechanical tilt, and electrical tilt.
As per claim 6, Winter further fails to teach the geographic coordinates of the base station comprise latitude and longitude values.
Nevertheless, in the same art of interference detection, Yun teaches using topology data comprises at least one of, for a base station of the cell: geographic coordinates (i.e., latitude and longitude) of the base station (i.e., “the antenna latitude and longitude of a base station”, see col. 5, lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further specify latitude/longitude values corresponding to the geographic name of the base station in Winters (see ¶0013). The obvious motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved interference detection/localization (see Yun, col. 17, lines 42-54).
As per claim 7, Winter does not expressly teach, however, Yun further teaches wherein the topology data further indicates a deployment type of the cell selected from at least an indoor deployment, an outdoor deployment, and a distributed antenna system (i.e., “site deployment type (e.g. indoor, outdoor, distributed antenna system, etc.)”, see col. 5, lines 59-60).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Winter and Yun in claims 5-6 applies equally well to claim 7.
As per claim 8, Winter further teaches: classifying an interference source type based on the topology data using the ML model (see ¶0015, where the input data, including topology data see ¶0013, is used to classify interference).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 5-8 since they recite substantially identical subject matter. Any differences between the claims do not result in patentably distinct claims and all of the limitations are taught by the above cited art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable (over the prior art) if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO 892).
/BRENDAN Y HIGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447