DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because figures 1 and 5 fail to have proper labels for all the rectangular boxes as required by 37 CFR 1.83(a), and as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the second electrodes" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 41 recites the limitation "the second electrodes" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 33 recites the limitation “a lossy dielectric medium” in line 11. In order to expedite the prosecution of the case and to be consistent with the limitations in the claims, Examiner suggests to the Applicant’s representative to change the limitations “a lossy dielectric medium” to “the lossy dielectric medium” because the specification mentions only one lossy dielectric medium.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 34-44 are objected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 21-24, 27-28, 33-34, 37-38 and 40-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer (US 2004/0008124 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US2016/0285316A1), and further in view of Shanjun et al. (WO2018/052820A1) hereafter Shanjun.
Regarding claim 21, Schaefer discloses a device for transmitting an electrical signal through a lossy dielectric medium ([0039]: The present invention is based on the creation of an electric field within an imperfectly-conducting medium. The electric field can also be created adjacent to a boundary of the imperfectly-conducting medium., [0040] electrical signal), the device comprising:
a transmitter (Fig. 3:301; [0047] Transmitting station 310: System 300 includes a transmitting station 310 and a receiving station 311. Transmitting station 310 includes a transmitter 301), comprising:
a first electrode (Conductor T1, fig 3:303b; par[0047]: Transmitter 301 generates electrical signals on leads 302a and 302b. Leads 302a and 302b are preferably insulated to minimize conduction of current from other than the intended conductors 303a and 303b. Conductors 303a and 303b create an electric field in the imperfectly-conducting medium 309) positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body (par[0049]: Conductors 303a and 303b create an electric field in the imperfectly-conducting medium 309), and
at least one second electrode (Conductor T2, fig 3:303b; par[0047]: Transmitter 301 generates electrical signals on leads 302a and 302b. Leads 302a and 302b are preferably insulated to minimize conduction of current from other than the intended conductors 303a and 303b. Conductors 303a and 303b create an electric field in the imperfectly-conducting medium 309); and
a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode (par[0047]: Transmitter 301 generates electrical signals on leads 302a and 302b. Leads 302a and 302b are preferably insulated to minimize conduction of current from other than the intended conductors 303a and 303b.).
Schaefer does not explicitly disclose the device wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode; and the power source comprises an electric inverter configured to shape an input power waveform from the power source into an electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter.
Zhang discloses the device wherein the power source comprises an electric inverter (fig 1:11; par[0069]: The inverter circuit 11 receives electric energy and provides an AC current Vac with a self-inductance resonance frequency in accordance with an inverter control signal.) configured to shape an input power waveform from the power source into an electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter (fig 1:13; par[0073], [0074]: the inverter circuit may be directly coupled to the transmitter-side resonant circuit to output the AC current Vac in other alternative embodiments. The transmitter-side resonant circuit 13 includes a transmitting coil L1 for receiving the AC current Ip and transmitting electric energy.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer and Zhang references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the mounting of the inverting feature as disclosed by Zhang to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing clean, high-quality power that improves transmitter efficiency and signal integrity, reduces interference, and protects sensitive components.
Schaefer in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the device wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode.
Shanjun discloses the device wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode (fig 1(a):101&102; par[0022]: Fig.2 shows a graph of current amplitude distribution on the casing 105 around the source 100 located at a depth 3000 meters. The spacing between electrode 101 and electrodel02 is 1 meter.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang and Shanjun references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the device of Schaefer with the spacing feature as disclosed by Shanjun to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of allowing the electric current to penetrate deeper into the surrounding formation, determining the true resistivity of the rock and groundwater, whereas short-spacing tools are more influenced by the drilling mud or borehole wall damage, identifying thick resistive beds, water-bearing layers, and deep geological structure correlations, whereas short-spacing tools might just show small-scale details or noise.
Regarding claim 22, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the lossy dielectric medium is a terrestrial body (Schaefer fig 3:309; par[0047]: As shown in FIG. 3, System 300 is preferably contained within imperfectly conducting medium 309 technically equivalent to the terrestrial body. Exemplary imperfect conducting mediums include water and earth).
Regarding claim 23, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the transmitter is configured to be installable in the lossy dielectric medium such that at least one of the second electrodes is spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode (Shanjun fig 1(a):101&102; par[0022]: Fig.2 shows a graph of current amplitude distribution on the casing 105 around the source 100 located at a depth 3000 meters. The spacing between electrode 101 and electrodel02 is 1 meter.) and (Schaefer fig. 5, 504a vs. 504b, par[0053]: a broadside alignment. Strong signals are also present when the conductors are aligned in a broadside manner. FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram illustrating a broadside alignment of conductors. In FIG. 5, transmitter conductors 504a and 504b are shown in broadside orientation with respect to receiver conductors 506a and 506b).
Regarding claim 24, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun disclose the device wherein the transmitter comprises at least two second electrodes (Shaefer fig 3:Conductor T1 and T2, par[0051]: The distance between the conductors 303a and 303b and between conductors 308a and 308b also affects performance of a transmission system according to the present invention. For a portable system, the distance between conductors 303a and 303b, and the distance between conductors 308a and 308b is preferably 3 meters.).
Regarding claim 27, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the electric wave signal comprises a plurality of pulses (Schaefer par[0070]: Transceiver 1301 preferably transmits and detects pulsed signals to enable it to detect objects. Alternatively, transceiver 1301 can transmit and detect continuous waves (CW).).
Regarding claim 28, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the electric wave signal has a frequency of between 60 Hz and 1000 kHz (Schaefer par[0055]: FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of a transmitter 700 according to an embodiment of the present invention. A desired communication signal or other input signal is applied to input connection 703. A signal generator 701 generates a carrier signal. Preferably, the carrier signal has a carrier frequency in the range from 10 Hz to 100 MHz).
Regarding claim 33, Schaefer discloses a system for transmitting an electrical signal through a lossy dielectric medium ([0039]: The present invention is based on the creation of an electric field within an imperfectly-conducting medium. The electric field can also be created adjacent to a boundary of the imperfectly-conducting medium., [0040] electrical signal), the system comprising:
a transmitter assembly comprising:
a transmitter (Fig. 3:301; [0047] Transmitting station 310: System 300 includes a transmitting station 310 and a receiving station 311. Transmitting station 310 includes a transmitter 301), comprising a first electrode (Conductor T1, fig 3:303b; par[0047]: Transmitter 301 generates electrical signals on leads 302a and 302b. Leads 302a and 302b are preferably insulated to minimize conduction of current from other than the intended conductors 303a and 303b. Conductors 303a and 303b create an electric field in the imperfectly-conducting medium 309) positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body (par[0049]: Conductors 303a and 303b create an electric field in the imperfectly-conducting medium 309), and at least one second electrode (Conductor T2, fig 3:303b; par[0047]: Transmitter 301 generates electrical signals on leads 302a and 302b. Leads 302a and 302b are preferably insulated to minimize conduction of current from other than the intended conductors 303a and 303b. Conductors 303a and 303b create an electric field in the imperfectly-conducting medium 309); and
a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode (par[0047]: Transmitter 301 generates electrical signals on leads 302a and 302b. Leads 302a and 302b are preferably insulated to minimize conduction of current from other than the intended conductors 303a and 303b.); and
a receiver assembly (fig 3:306, par[0048]: Receiving station 311 comprises a receiver 306. Receiver 306 receives input signals via leads 307a and 307b. Leads 307a and 307b are preferably of the same type as leads 302a and 302b. The leads 307a and 307b are connected to receiver conductors 308a and 308b) operable to detect the electric wave signal when propagated through a lossy dielectric medium (par[0049], [0070]: wherein the pulses are transmitted. Conductors 303a and 303b create an electric field in the imperfectly-conducting medium 309. Conductors 308a and 308b detect an electric field in the imperfectly-conducting medium 309, due to the potential difference caused by the field at the locations of conductors 308a and 308b. Generally, as the surface area of the conductors increases, the strength of the generated and/or received signal also increases. The conductors can be made of highly-conductive materials such as metals. One such metal that can be used in the present invention is aluminum. Alternatively, less well-conducting substances can be used. Alternatively, a separate transmitter, such as transmitter station 310, or a separate receiver station, such as receiver station 311, each of which is described above with reference to FIG. 3, could be used. Transceiver station 1305 includes a transceiver 1301. Transceiver 1301 is connected to conductors 1303a and 1303b through leads 1302a and 1302b respectively. An electrical field 1306 is created by conductors 1303a and 1303b. The presence of an object 1304 causes a change in the electric field 1306. This change, in turn, causes a change in electric field 1306 sensed by conductors 1303a and 1303b. The change is reflected in the signal detected in the receiver section of transceiver 1301.) over a distance of at least 3 m (par[0051]: The distance between the conductors 303a and 303b and between conductors 308a and 308b also affects performance of a transmission system according to the present invention. For a portable system, the distance between conductors 303a and 303b, and the distance between conductors 308a and 308b is preferably 3 meters, technically that’s the distance between the propagating of the electric wave signal from the transmitter 301 and the receiver 306 that detects the electric wave signal).
Schaefer does not explicitly disclose the system wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode; and the power source comprises an electric inverter configured to shape an input power waveform from the power source into an electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter.
Zhang discloses the device wherein the power source comprises an electric inverter (fig 1:11; par[0069]: The inverter circuit 11 receives electric energy and provides an AC current Vac with a self-inductance resonance frequency in accordance with an inverter control signal.) configured to shape an input power waveform from the power source into an electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter (fig 1:13; par[0073], [0074]: the inverter circuit may be directly coupled to the transmitter-side resonant circuit to output the AC current Vac in other alternative embodiments. The transmitter-side resonant circuit 13 includes a transmitting coil L1 for receiving the AC current Ip and transmitting electric energy.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer and Zhang references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the mounting of the inverting feature as disclosed by Zhang to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing clean, high-quality power that improves transmitter efficiency and signal integrity, reduces interference, and protects sensitive components.
Schaefer in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the device wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode.
Shanjun discloses the device wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode (fig 1(a):101&102; par[0022]: Fig.2 shows a graph of current amplitude distribution on the casing 105 around the source 100 located at a depth 3000 meters. The spacing between electrode 101 and electrodel02 is 1 meter.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang and Shanjun references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the device of Schaefer with the spacing feature as disclosed by Shanjun to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of allowing the electric current to penetrate deeper into the surrounding formation, determining the true resistivity of the rock and groundwater, whereas short-spacing tools are more influenced by the drilling mud or borehole wall damage, identifying thick resistive beds, water-bearing layers, and deep geological structure correlations, whereas short-spacing tools might just show small-scale details or noise.
Regarding claim 34, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the receiver assembly comprises:
a first receiver electrode (Schaefer fig 3:308a, par[0048]: Receiving station 311 comprises a receiver 306. Receiver 306 receives input signals via leads 307a and 307b. Leads 307a and 307b are preferably of the same type as leads 302a and 302b. The leads 307a and 307b are connected to receiver conductors 308a and 308b); and
at least one second receiver electrode spaced from the first receiver electrode (fig 3:308b, par[0048]: Receiving station 311 comprises a receiver 306. Receiver 306 receives input signals via leads 307a and 307b. Leads 307a and 307b are preferably of the same type as leads 302a and 302b. The leads 307a and 307b are connected to separated and spaced receiver conductors 308a and 308b).
Regarding claim 37, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the receiver assembly is further operable to transmit a receiver transmission signal through the lossy dielectric medium in response to receiving the electric wave signal (Schaefer fig 13; par[0069], [0070]: An electrical field 1306 is created by conductors 1303a and 1303b. The presence of an object 1304 technically equivalent to a receiver assembly causes a change in the electric field 1306. This change, in turn, causes a change in electric field 1306 sensed by conductors 1303a and 1303b. The change is reflected in the signal detected in the receiver section of transceiver 1301, wherein the reflection is the return electrical signal. Transceiver 1301 preferably transmits and detects pulsed signals wherein these pulsed signals are reflected and returned to enable it to detect objects. Alternatively, transceiver 1301 can transmit and detect continuous waves (CW). One use of the present invention for detection of objects, is to detect objects under water. Technically equivalent to the feature of propagating, via the receiver assembly, a return electric wave signal through the terrestrial body and detecting, via the transmitter, the return electric wave signal)).
Regarding claim 38, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun discloses the system of claim 37, wherein the transmitter assembly is further operable to detect the receiver transmission signal from the receiver assembly (Schaefer fig 13; par[0069], [0070]: An electrical field 1306 is created by conductors 1303a and 1303b. The presence of an object 1304 technically equivalent to a receiver assembly causes a change in the electric field 1306. This change, in turn, causes a change in electric field 1306 sensed by conductors 1303a and 1303b. The change is reflected in the signal detected in the receiver section of transceiver 1301, wherein the reflection is the return electrical signal. Transceiver 1301 preferably transmits and detects pulsed signals wherein these pulsed signals are reflected and returned to enable it to detect objects. Alternatively, transceiver 1301 can transmit and detect continuous waves (CW). One use of the present invention for detection of objects, is to detect objects under water. Technically equivalent to the feature of propagating, via the receiver assembly, a return electric wave signal through the terrestrial body and detecting, via the transmitter, the return electric wave signal)).
Regarding claim 40, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the lossy dielectric medium is a terrestrial body (Schaefer fig 3:309; par[0047]: As shown in FIG. 3, System 300 is preferably contained within imperfectly conducting medium 309 technically equivalent to the terrestrial body. Exemplary imperfect conducting mediums include water and earth).
Regarding claim 41, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the transmitter is configured to be installable such that at least one of the second electrodes is spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode (Shanjun fig 1(a):101&102; par[0022]: Fig.2 shows a graph of current amplitude distribution on the casing 105 around the source 100 located at a depth 3000 meters. The spacing between electrode 101 and electrodel02 is 1 meter.) and (Schaefer fig. 5, 504a vs. 504b, par[0053]: a broadside alignment. Strong signals are also present when the conductors are aligned in a broadside manner. FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram illustrating a broadside alignment of conductors. In FIG. 5, transmitter conductors 504a and 504b are shown in broadside orientation with respect to receiver conductors 506a and 506b).
Regarding claim 42, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun discloses the system wherein the transmitter comprises at least two second electrodes (Shaefer fig 3:Conductor T1 and T2, par[0051]: The distance between the conductors 303a and 303b and between conductors 308a and 308b also affects performance of a transmission system according to the present invention. For a portable system, the distance between conductors 303a and 303b, and the distance between conductors 308a and 308b is preferably 3 meters.).
2. Claims 25 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Kuckes (US2010/0155139A1) hereafter Kuckes’139.
Regarding claim 25, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein a spacing between two of the second electrodes is at least 10 m.
Kuckes’139 discloses the device wherein a spacing between two of the second electrodes is at least 10 m (fig 2; pa[0059]: The drill string includes conventional drill string sections above the electrode section 142, as illustrated at 154, and between the electrode sections 142 and 144, as illustrated at 156, the number of sections at 156 being sufficient to space the electrode sections 142 and 144 apart by about 150 meters.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Kuckes’139 references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the spacing feature as disclosed by Kuckes’139 to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing reduced interference & enhanced accuracy, increased depth of investigation by allowing for deeper, regional subsurface investigations, such as mapping geological layers, rather than just high-resolution shallow imaging, and optimal remote electrode positioning.
Regarding claim 43, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein a spacing between two of the second electrodes is at least 10 m.
Kuckes’139 discloses the system wherein a spacing between two of the second electrodes is at least 10 m (fig 2; pa[0059]: The drill string includes conventional drill string sections above the electrode section 142, as illustrated at 154, and between the electrode sections 142 and 144, as illustrated at 156, the number of sections at 156 being sufficient to space the electrode sections 142 and 144 apart by about 150 meters.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Kuckes’139 references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the spacing feature as disclosed by Kuckes’139 to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing reduced interference & enhanced accuracy, increased depth of investigation by allowing for deeper, regional subsurface investigations, such as mapping geological layers, rather than just high-resolution shallow imaging, and optimal remote electrode positioning.
3. Claim(s) 26 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Zhao et al. (US2018/0128930A1) hereafter Zhao.
Regarding claim 26, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the electric wave signal is non-linear.
Zhao discloses the device wherein the electric wave signal is non-linear (fig 1,2:32; par[0030]: As illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2, sensor array 32 may create a non-linear acoustic wave, which may be directed into surrounding tubing 12 and/or casing 14. Non-linear acoustic waves may be transmitted from sensor array 32, which may further record specific properties of non-linear acoustic waves which may be reflected from tubing 12, casing 14, and/or cement 22. Recorded non-linear acoustic waves may be used to identify characteristics of tubing 12, casing 14, and/or cement 22, referring to FIG. 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Zhao references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the non-linear feature as disclosed by Zhao to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing enhanced subsurface imaging, structural monitoring, and characterization of fluid substitutions within rock, surpassing the limitations of conventional linear techniques.
Regarding claim 35, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the wave-signal is non-linear.
Zhao discloses the system wherein the wave-signal is non-linear (fig 1,2:32; par[0030]: As illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2, sensor array 32 may create a non-linear acoustic wave, which may be directed into surrounding tubing 12 and/or casing 14. Non-linear acoustic waves may be transmitted from sensor array 32, which may further record specific properties of non-linear acoustic waves which may be reflected from tubing 12, casing 14, and/or cement 22. Recorded non-linear acoustic waves may be used to identify characteristics of tubing 12, casing 14, and/or cement 22, referring to FIG. 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Zhao references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the non-linear feature as disclosed by Zhao to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing enhanced subsurface imaging, structural monitoring, and characterization of fluid substitutions within rock, surpassing the limitations of conventional linear techniques.
4. Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Korotky (Patent 5157744).
Regarding claim 29, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the electric wave signal comprises one or more soliton waves.
Korotky discloses the device wherein the electric wave signal comprises one or more soliton waves (col 3 ln 54-57, col 6 ln 7-15: FIG. 1, there is illustrated a prior art lithium niobate (LiNbO.sub.3) high-speed amplitude modulator for modulating an optical signal with an electrical signal to form a soliton. FIG. 3 illustrates a device for generating a desired optical waveform, i.e., a soliton, using a Y junction interferometer having distributed sets of pairs of electrodes where each pair of electrodes is coupled to receive a signal having a specific frequency. In operation, in-phase electrical signals of harmonically related frequencies are applied to distributed electrodes to form solitons from a laser-generated continuous wave optical signal.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Korotky references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the soliton feature as disclosed by Korotky to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering extreme stability, high efficiency (approaching 98% in theoretical propulsion), resistance to dispersion, acting as frictionless waves, enabling efficient long-distance energy transfer, high-speed data transmission, and potential applications in advanced electronics.
5. Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Kuckes et al. (US2007/0278008A1) hereafter Kuckes.
Regarding claim 30, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter has a current of at least 0.5 A.
Kuckes discloses the device wherein the electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter has a current of at least 0.5 A (par[0033], [0037]: in FIG. 4, which will operate in conjunction with the beacon 70. Providing such an independent system for the SAGD application disclosed herein can be as simple as lowering an electrode 82 on an electrically insulated wire line 84 down the approximately vertical portion 86 of the reference well 10 and allowing the electrode to make contact with the reference well casing 58. At the earth's surface, the wire line 84 is connected to a current source 88 that is capable of injecting a digitally encoded signal of a few amperes of current at a frequency of, for example, approximately 10 Hertz into the well casing 58 by way of electrode 82, this current flowing along the casing for detection by a winding 60 in beacon 70. An electronics package 126 is carried by the beacon 102, for example in cavities 38 or 40 as described above, and includes a standard Peripheral Interface Circuit (PIC) and a field effect transistor (FET) circuit to put about 1 ampere of current into the solenoid coil 28 for about 10 seconds at a current reversal frequency of about 2 Hertz).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Kuckes references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the current feature as disclosed by Kuckes to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering improved signal integrity, higher power transmission, and robustness in industrial environments compared to low-power or voltage-based signals.
6. Claim(s) 31 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Li (CN205104122U).
Regarding claim 31, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the transmitter has a resistance of less than 1000 ohms.
Li discloses the device wherein the transmitter has a resistance of less than 1000 ohms (par[0011]: the transmitting coil preferably has a resistance of 16 to 20 ohms and a number of 800 to 1000 turns, and the coil shape is circular, elliptical, square, or the like).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Li references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the resistance feature as disclosed by Li to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering improved accuracy with long cable runs, reduced self-heating errors, superior Noise Immunity, and an easy open loop detection.
Regarding claim 44, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the receiver assembly has a resistance of less than 1000 ohms.
Li discloses the system wherein the receiver assembly has a resistance of less than 1000 ohms (par[0012]: the receiving coil is put in the box, the receiving coil preferably resistance is 4.3 to 5 ohm, the number of turns is 200 to 300 turns of the coil, the coil shape is round, oblong, or square.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Li references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the resistance feature as disclosed by Li to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering improved accuracy with long cable runs, reduced self-heating errors, superior Noise Immunity, and an easy open loop detection.
7. Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Akuzawa et al. (TW201728047A) hereafter Akuzawa.
Regarding claim 32, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the transmitter further comprises a resonant antenna comprising at least two resonant coil sections.
Akuzawa discloses the device wherein the transmitter further comprises a resonant antenna comprising at least two resonant coil sections (par[00142]: the case where the resonant transmitting antenna 2a is constituted by a single coil and the resonant transmitting antenna 2b is constituted by a single coil is shown. However, the present invention is not limited thereto, and the resonant transmitting antennas 2a and 2b may be configured by two or more coils, for example, each of the power transmitting coil and the resonant coil. The case where the resonant receiving antenna 3a is constituted by a single coil and the resonant receiving antenna 3b is constituted by a single coil is shown. However, the present invention is not limited thereto, and the resonant receiving antennas 3a and 3b may be configured by two or more coils, for example, each of the power transmitting coil and the resonant coil.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Akuzawa references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the resonance feature as disclosed by Akuzawa to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering improved signal transmission efficiency, enhanced sensitivity for detecting weak signals from geological formations, and the ability to operate in extremely limited space.
8. Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Lee et al. (US2017/0018954A1) hereafter Lee.
Regarding claim 36, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the receiver assembly comprises a tuned resonant circuit for receiving the electric wave signal.
Lee discloses the system wherein the receiver assembly comprises a tuned resonant circuit for receiving the electric wave signal (fig 2B; par[0109], [0113]: FIG. 2B, the electronic device (or wireless power receiver) 200 may include a power supply unit 290. The power supply unit 290 supplies power required for the operation of the electronic device (or wireless power receiver) 200. The power supply unit 290 may include a power receiving unit 291 and a Power reception control unit (or POWER RECEIVING CONTROL UNIT) 292. The power receiving unit 291, as a constituent element according to the resonance coupling method, may include a coil and a resonant circuit in which resonance phenomenon is generated by a magnetic field having a specific resonant frequency.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Lee references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the resonance feature as disclosed by Lee to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving signal reception by selecting a specific frequency while rejecting unwanted signals, acting as a bandpass filter, enhancing selectivity, and helping in achieving proper frequency alignment, often allowing for improved, cost-effective manufacturing of receiver units.
9. Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Clark et al. (US2009/0091328A1) hereafter Clark.
Regarding claim 39, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the system the system comprising at least two receiver assemblies.
Clark discloses the system comprising at least two receiver assemblies (fig 3:r1&R2; par[0047]: From the above, the three unknowns, k.sub.1, k.sub.2, and k.sub.3 can be readily derived based on measured and calculated magnetic fields. The casing attenuation factor k.sub.1 for the principal transmitter, T.sub.1 (20 in FIG. 3), can be obtained from measurements using the array 110 that includes the principal transmitter, an auxiliary transmitter, and two auxiliary receivers. The transmitter attenuation factor, previously denoted by k.sub.i (in Eq. 6), and here denoted by k.sub.1, is the casing attenuation factor seen by a distant receiver, for example cross-well receiver 24 in FIG. 4 (located in wellbore 102). Effectively, based on a number of measurements made by plural receivers of the array 110 in the casing 101, the casing effect of the principal transmitter 20 (represented by k.sub.1 or k.sub.i) can be derived.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang, Shanjun and Clark references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the reception feature as disclosed by Clark to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of determining correction factors representing effects of different portions of a lining structure using measurements from an array having at least one transmitter and plural receivers.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 21-23, 26 and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over of U.S. Patent No. US12107636 hereafter Co-1 in view of in view of Zhang and Shanjun.
Instant Application # 18886596
Patent # Co-1
21. (New) A device for transmitting an electrical signal through a lossy dielectric medium, the device comprising:
a transmitter comprising:
a first electrode, and
at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode; and
a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode, wherein the power source comprises an electric inverter configured to shape an input power waveform from the power source into an electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter.
1. (Currently Amended) A system for transmitting electrical signals through a terrestrial body, the terrestrial body having an upper surface, the system comprising: a transmitter including a first electrode positioned near on or beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body, and at least one second electrode positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body and spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode; a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode; and a receiver assembly spaced away from the transmitter; wherein when power is supplied to the transmitter, the transmitter is operable to propagate an electric non-linear wave signal through the terrestrial body, wherein the receiver assembly is operable to detect the electric non-linear wave signal; and wherein at least one of the transmitter or the receiver assembly further comprises a resonant antenna extending above the upper surface of the terrestrial body, wherein the resonant antenna includes at least two resonant coil sections, and wherein the resonant coil sections include different resonant frequencies.
22. (New) The device of claim 21, wherein the lossy dielectric medium is a terrestrial body.
1. (Currently Amended) A system for transmitting electrical signals through a terrestrial body, the terrestrial body having an upper surface, the system comprising: a transmitter including a first electrode positioned near on or beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body, and at least one second electrode positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body and spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode; a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode; and a receiver assembly spaced away from the transmitter; wherein when power is supplied to the transmitter, the transmitter is operable to propagate an electric non-linear wave signal through the terrestrial body, wherein the receiver assembly is operable to detect the electric non-linear wave signal; and wherein at least one of the transmitter or the receiver assembly further comprises a resonant antenna extending above the upper surface of the terrestrial body, wherein the resonant antenna includes at least two resonant coil sections, and wherein the resonant coil sections include different resonant frequencies.
23. (New) The device of claim 21, wherein the transmitter is configured to be installable in the lossy dielectric medium such that at least one of the second electrodes is spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode.
1. (Currently Amended) A system for transmitting electrical signals through a terrestrial body, the terrestrial body having an upper surface, the system comprising: a transmitter including a first electrode positioned near on or beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body, and at least one second electrode positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body and spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode; a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode; and a receiver assembly spaced away from the transmitter; wherein when power is supplied to the transmitter, the transmitter is operable to propagate an electric non-linear wave signal through the terrestrial body, wherein the receiver assembly is operable to detect the electric non-linear wave signal; and wherein at least one of the transmitter or the receiver assembly further comprises a resonant antenna extending above the upper surface of the terrestrial body, wherein the resonant antenna includes at least two resonant coil sections, and wherein the resonant coil sections include different resonant frequencies.
26. (New) The device of claim 21, wherein the electric wave signal is non-linear.
1. (Currently Amended) A system for transmitting electrical signals through a terrestrial body, the terrestrial body having an upper surface, the system comprising: a transmitter including a first electrode positioned near on or beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body, and at least one second electrode positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body and spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode; a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode; and a receiver assembly spaced away from the transmitter; wherein when power is supplied to the transmitter, the transmitter is operable to propagate an electric non-linear wave signal through the terrestrial body, wherein the receiver assembly is operable to detect the electric non-linear wave signal; and wherein at least one of the transmitter or the receiver assembly further comprises a resonant antenna extending above the upper surface of the terrestrial body, wherein the resonant antenna includes at least two resonant coil sections, and wherein the resonant coil sections include different resonant frequencies.
32. (New) The device of claim 21, wherein the transmitter further comprises a resonant antenna comprising at least two resonant coil sections.
1. (Currently Amended) A system for transmitting electrical signals through a terrestrial body, the terrestrial body having an upper surface, the system comprising: a transmitter including a first electrode positioned near on or beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body, and at least one second electrode positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body and spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode; a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode; and a receiver assembly spaced away from the transmitter; wherein when power is supplied to the transmitter, the transmitter is operable to propagate an electric non-linear wave signal through the terrestrial body, wherein the receiver assembly is operable to detect the electric non-linear wave signal; and wherein at least one of the transmitter or the receiver assembly further comprises a resonant antenna extending above the upper surface of the terrestrial body, wherein the resonant antenna includes at least two resonant coil sections, and wherein the resonant coil sections include different resonant frequencies.
33. (New) A system for transmitting an electrical signal through a lossy dielectric medium, the system comprising: a transmitter assembly comprising: a transmitter comprising a first electrode, and at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode; and a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode, wherein the power source comprises an electric inverter configured to shape an input power waveform from the power source into an electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter; and a receiver assembly operable to detect the electric wave signal when propagated through a lossy dielectric medium over a distance of at least 3 m.
1. (Currently Amended) A system for transmitting electrical signals through a terrestrial body, the terrestrial body having an upper surface, the system comprising: a transmitter including a first electrode positioned on or beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body, and at least one second electrode positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body and spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode; a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode; and a receiver assembly spaced away from the transmitter; wherein when power is supplied to the transmitter, the transmitter is operable to propagate an electric non-linear wave signal through the terrestrial body, wherein the receiver assembly is operable to detect the electric non-linear wave signal; and wherein at least one of the transmitter or the receiver assembly further comprises a resonant antenna extending above the upper surface of the terrestrial body, wherein the resonant antenna includes at least two resonant coil sections, and wherein the resonant coil sections include different resonant frequencies.
34. (New) The system of claim 33, wherein the receiver assembly comprises: a first receiver electrode; and at least one second receiver electrode spaced from the first receiver electrode.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the receiver assembly comprises: a first receiver electrode positioned on or beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body; and at least one second receiver electrode positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body and spaced a vertical distance downward from the first receiver electrode, wherein the receiver assembly is operable to propagate a return electric non-linear wave signal through the terrestrial body, and wherein the transmitter is further operable to detect the return electric non-linear wave signal.
35. (New) The system of claim 33, wherein the wave-signal is non-linear.
1. (Currently Amended) A system for transmitting electrical signals through a terrestrial body, the terrestrial body having an upper surface, the system comprising: a transmitter including a first electrode positioned near on or beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body, and at least one second electrode positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body and spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode; a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode; and a receiver assembly spaced away from the transmitter; wherein when power is supplied to the transmitter, the transmitter is operable to propagate an electric non-linear wave signal through the terrestrial body, wherein the receiver assembly is operable to detect the electric non-linear wave signal; and wherein at least one of the transmitter or the receiver assembly further comprises a resonant antenna extending above the upper surface of the terrestrial body, wherein the resonant antenna includes at least two resonant coil sections, and wherein the resonant coil sections include different resonant frequencies.
37. (New) The system of claim 33, wherein the receiver assembly is further operable to transmit a receiver transmission signal through the lossy dielectric medium in response to receiving the electric wave signal.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the receiver assembly comprises a transceiver assembly operable to: detect the electric non-linear wave signal; and further transmit a receiver transmission signal in response to receiving the electric non-linear wave signal.
40. (New) The system of claim 33, wherein the lossy dielectric medium is a terrestrial body.
1. (Currently Amended) A system for transmitting electrical signals through a terrestrial body, the terrestrial body having an upper surface, the system comprising: a transmitter including a first electrode positioned near on or beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body, and at least one second electrode positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body and spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode; a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode; and a receiver assembly spaced away from the transmitter; wherein when power is supplied to the transmitter, the transmitter is operable to propagate an electric non-linear wave signal through the terrestrial body, wherein the receiver assembly is operable to detect the electric non-linear wave signal; and wherein at least one of the transmitter or the receiver assembly further comprises a resonant antenna extending above the upper surface of the terrestrial body, wherein the resonant antenna includes at least two resonant coil sections, and wherein the resonant coil sections include different resonant frequencies.
41. (New) The system of claim 33, wherein the transmitter is configured to be installable such that at least one of the second electrodes is spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode.
1. (Currently Amended) A system for transmitting electrical signals through a terrestrial body, the terrestrial body having an upper surface, the system comprising: a transmitter including a first electrode positioned near on or beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body, and at least one second electrode positioned beneath the upper surface of the terrestrial body and spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode; a power source operable to supply power to the first electrode and the at least one second electrode; and a receiver assembly spaced away from the transmitter; wherein when power is supplied to the transmitter, the transmitter is operable to propagate an electric non-linear wave signal through the terrestrial body, wherein the receiver assembly is operable to detect the electric non-linear wave signal; and wherein at least one of the transmitter or the receiver assembly further comprises a resonant antenna extending above the upper surface of the terrestrial body, wherein the resonant antenna includes at least two resonant coil sections, and wherein the resonant coil sections include different resonant frequencies.
Regarding claim 21, Co-1 does not explicitly disclose the device wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode; and the power source comprises an electric inverter configured to shape an input power waveform from the power source into an electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter.
Zhang discloses the device wherein the power source comprises an electric inverter (fig 1:11; par[0069]: The inverter circuit 11 receives electric energy and provides an AC current Vac with a self-inductance resonance frequency in accordance with an inverter control signal.) configured to shape an input power waveform from the power source into an electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter (fig 1:13; par[0073], [0074]: the inverter circuit may be directly coupled to the transmitter-side resonant circuit to output the AC current Vac in other alternative embodiments. The transmitter-side resonant circuit 13 includes a transmitting coil L1 for receiving the AC current Ip and transmitting electric energy.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer and Zhang references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the mounting of the inverting feature as disclosed by Zhang to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing clean, high-quality power that improves transmitter efficiency and signal integrity, reduces interference, and protects sensitive components.
Schaefer in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the device wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode.
Shanjun discloses the device wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode (fig 1(a):101&102; par[0022]: Fig.2 shows a graph of current amplitude distribution on the casing 105 around the source 100 located at a depth 3000 meters. The spacing between electrode 101 and electrodel02 is 1 meter.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Schaefer, Zhang and Shanjun references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the device of Schaefer with the spacing feature as disclosed by Shanjun to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of allowing the electric current to penetrate deeper into the surrounding formation, determining the true resistivity of the rock and groundwater, whereas short-spacing tools are more influenced by the drilling mud or borehole wall damage, identifying thick resistive beds, water-bearing layers, and deep geological structure correlations, whereas short-spacing tools might just show small-scale details or noise.
2. Claims 24, 27-28, 33-35, 37-38 and 40-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over of Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Schaefer (US 2004/0008124 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the transmitter comprises at least two second electrodes.
Schaefer discloses the device wherein the transmitter comprises at least two second electrodes (Shaefer fig 3:Conductor T1 and T2, par[0051]: The distance between the conductors 303a and 303b and between conductors 308a and 308b also affects performance of a transmission system according to the present invention. For a portable system, the distance between conductors 303a and 303b, and the distance between conductors 308a and 308b is preferably 3 meters.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the electrode feature as disclosed by Schaefer to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing crucial advantages by preventing short circuits, enabling high-voltage operation, limiting leakage current, and shaping electric fields for focused action, such as in electrosurgery or battery technologies.
Regarding claim 27, Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the electric wave signal comprises a plurality of pulses.
Schaefer discloses the device wherein the electric wave signal comprises a plurality of pulses (Schaefer par[0070]: Transceiver 1301 preferably transmits and detects pulsed signals to enable it to detect objects. Alternatively, transceiver 1301 can transmit and detect continuous waves (CW).).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the pulsing feature as disclosed by Schaefer to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing crucial advantages by preventing short circuits, enabling high-voltage operation, limiting leakage current, and shaping electric fields for focused action, such as in electrosurgery or battery technologies.
Regarding claim 28, Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the electric wave signal has a frequency of between 60 Hz and 1000 kHz.
Schaefer discloses the device wherein the electric wave signal has a frequency of between 60 Hz and 1000 kHz (Schaefer par[0055]: FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of a transmitter 700 according to an embodiment of the present invention. A desired communication signal or other input signal is applied to input connection 703. A signal generator 701 generates a carrier signal. Preferably, the carrier signal has a carrier frequency in the range from 10 Hz to 100 MHz).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the frequency feature as disclosed by Schaefer to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing crucial advantages by preventing short circuits, enabling high-voltage operation, limiting leakage current, and shaping electric fields for focused action, such as in electrosurgery or battery technologies.
Regarding claim 33, Co-1 does not explicitly disclose the system wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode; and the power source comprises an electric inverter configured to shape an input power waveform from the power source into an electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter; and a receiver assembly to detect the electric wave signal over a distance of at least 3m.
Zhang discloses the device wherein the power source comprises an electric inverter (fig 1:11; par[0069]: The inverter circuit 11 receives electric energy and provides an AC current Vac with a self-inductance resonance frequency in accordance with an inverter control signal.) configured to shape an input power waveform from the power source into an electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter (fig 1:13; par[0073], [0074]: the inverter circuit may be directly coupled to the transmitter-side resonant circuit to output the AC current Vac in other alternative embodiments. The transmitter-side resonant circuit 13 includes a transmitting coil L1 for receiving the AC current Ip and transmitting electric energy.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Co-1 and Zhang references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the mounting of the inverting feature as disclosed by Zhang to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing clean, high-quality power that improves transmitter efficiency and signal integrity, reduces interference, and protects sensitive components.
Co-1 in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the device wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode; and a receiver assembly to detect the electric wave signal over a distance of at least 3m.
Shanjun discloses the device wherein at least one second electrode spaced a distance of at least 1 m from the first electrode (fig 1(a):101&102; par[0022]: Fig.2 shows a graph of current amplitude distribution on the casing 105 around the source 100 located at a depth 3000 meters. The spacing between electrode 101 and electrodel02 is 1 meter.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Co-1, Zhang and Shanjun references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the device of Schaefer with the spacing feature as disclosed by Shanjun to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of allowing the electric current to penetrate deeper into the surrounding formation, determining the true resistivity of the rock and groundwater, whereas short-spacing tools are more influenced by the drilling mud or borehole wall damage, identifying thick resistive beds, water-bearing layers, and deep geological structure correlations, whereas short-spacing tools might just show small-scale details or noise.
Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the system wherein a receiver assembly to detect the electric wave signal over a distance of at least 3m.
Shaefer discloses the system wherein a receiver assembly to detect the electric wave signal over a distance of at least 3m (par[0051]: The distance between the conductors 303a and 303b and between conductors 308a and 308b also affects performance of a transmission system according to the present invention. For a portable system, the distance between conductors 303a and 303b, and the distance between conductors 308a and 308b is preferably 3 meters, technically that’s the distance between the propagating of the electric wave signal from the transmitter 301 and the receiver 306 that detects the electric wave signal).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the receiving feature as disclosed by Schaefer to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing crucial advantages by preventing short circuits, enabling high-voltage operation, limiting leakage current, and shaping electric fields for focused action, such as in electrosurgery or battery technologies.
Regarding claim 34, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the receiver assembly comprises: a first receiver electrode; and at least one second receiver electrode spaced from the first receiver electrode (Co-1 claim 3).
Regarding claim 35, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the wave-signal is non-linear (Co-1 claim 1).
Regarding claim 37, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the receiver assembly is further operable to transmit a receiver transmission signal through the lossy dielectric medium in response to receiving the electric wave signal (Co-1 claim 2).
Regarding claim 38, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer discloses the system of claim 37, wherein the transmitter assembly is further operable to detect the receiver transmission signal from the receiver assembly (Schaefer fig 13; par[0069], [0070]: An electrical field 1306 is created by conductors 1303a and 1303b. The presence of an object 1304 technically equivalent to a receiver assembly causes a change in the electric field 1306. This change, in turn, causes a change in electric field 1306 sensed by conductors 1303a and 1303b. The change is reflected in the signal detected in the receiver section of transceiver 1301, wherein the reflection is the return electrical signal. Transceiver 1301 preferably transmits and detects pulsed signals wherein these pulsed signals are reflected and returned to enable it to detect objects. Alternatively, transceiver 1301 can transmit and detect continuous waves (CW). One use of the present invention for detection of objects, is to detect objects under water. Technically equivalent to the feature of propagating, via the receiver assembly, a return electric wave signal through the terrestrial body and detecting, via the transmitter, the return electric wave signal)).
Regarding claim 40, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the lossy dielectric medium is a terrestrial body (Co-1 claim 1).
Regarding claim 41, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the transmitter is configured to be installable such that at least one of the second electrodes is spaced a vertical distance downward from the first electrode (Co-1 claim 1).
Regarding claim 42, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer discloses the system wherein the transmitter comprises at least two second electrodes (Shaefer fig 3:Conductor T1 and T2, par[0051]: The distance between the conductors 303a and 303b and between conductors 308a and 308b also affects performance of a transmission system according to the present invention. For a portable system, the distance between conductors 303a and 303b, and the distance between conductors 308a and 308b is preferably 3 meters.).
3. Claim 25 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over of Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer, and further in view of Kuckes (US2010/0155139A1) hereafter Kuckes’139.
Regarding claim 25, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer does not explicitly disclose the device wherein a spacing between two of the second electrodes is at least 10 m.
Kuckes’139 discloses the device wherein a spacing between two of the second electrodes is at least 10 m (fig 2; pa[0059]: The drill string includes conventional drill string sections above the electrode section 142, as illustrated at 154, and between the electrode sections 142 and 144, as illustrated at 156, the number of sections at 156 being sufficient to space the electrode sections 142 and 144 apart by about 150 meters.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun, Schaefer and Kuckes’139 references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the spacing feature as disclosed by Kuckes’139 to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing reduced interference & enhanced accuracy, increased depth of investigation by allowing for deeper, regional subsurface investigations, such as mapping geological layers, rather than just high-resolution shallow imaging, and optimal remote electrode positioning.
4. Claim(s) 29 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over of Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Korotky (Patent 5157744).
Regarding claim 29, Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the electric wave signal comprises one or more soliton waves.
Korotky discloses the device wherein the electric wave signal comprises one or more soliton waves (col 3 ln 54-57, col 6 ln 7-15: FIG. 1, there is illustrated a prior art lithium niobate (LiNbO.sub.3) high-speed amplitude modulator for modulating an optical signal with an electrical signal to form a soliton. FIG. 3 illustrates a device for generating a desired optical waveform, i.e., a soliton, using a Y junction interferometer having distributed sets of pairs of electrodes where each pair of electrodes is coupled to receive a signal having a specific frequency. In operation, in-phase electrical signals of harmonically related frequencies are applied to distributed electrodes to form solitons from a laser-generated continuous wave optical signal.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun and Korotky references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the soliton feature as disclosed by Korotky to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering extreme stability, high efficiency (approaching 98% in theoretical propulsion), resistance to dispersion, acting as frictionless waves, enabling efficient long-distance energy transfer, high-speed data transmission, and potential applications in advanced electronics.
5. Claim 30 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over of Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Kuckes (US2007/0278008A1).
Regarding claim 30, Schaefer in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter has a current of at least 0.5 A.
Kuckes discloses the device wherein the electric wave signal supplied to the transmitter has a current of at least 0.5 A (par[0033], [0037]: in FIG. 4, which will operate in conjunction with the beacon 70. Providing such an independent system for the SAGD application disclosed herein can be as simple as lowering an electrode 82 on an electrically insulated wire line 84 down the approximately vertical portion 86 of the reference well 10 and allowing the electrode to make contact with the reference well casing 58. At the earth's surface, the wire line 84 is connected to a current source 88 that is capable of injecting a digitally encoded signal of a few amperes of current at a frequency of, for example, approximately 10 Hertz into the well casing 58 by way of electrode 82, this current flowing along the casing for detection by a winding 60 in beacon 70. An electronics package 126 is carried by the beacon 102, for example in cavities 38 or 40 as described above, and includes a standard Peripheral Interface Circuit (PIC) and a field effect transistor (FET) circuit to put about 1 ampere of current into the solenoid coil 28 for about 10 seconds at a current reversal frequency of about 2 Hertz).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun and Kuckes references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the current feature as disclosed by Kuckes to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering improved signal integrity, higher power transmission, and robustness in industrial environments compared to low-power or voltage-based signals.
6. Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over of Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun, and further in view of Li (CN205104122U).
Regarding claim 31, Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the transmitter has a resistance of less than 1000 ohms.
Li discloses the device wherein the transmitter has a resistance of less than 1000 ohms (par[0011]: the transmitting coil preferably has a resistance of 16 to 20 ohms and a number of 800 to 1000 turns, and the coil shape is circular, elliptical, square, or the like).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun and Li references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the resistance feature as disclosed by Li to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering improved accuracy with long cable runs, reduced self-heating errors, superior Noise Immunity, and an easy open loop detection.
7. Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over of Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Shaefer, and further in view of Lee et al. (US2017/0018954A1) hereafter Lee.
Regarding claim 36, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Shaefer does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the receiver assembly comprises a tuned resonant circuit for receiving the electric wave signal.
Lee discloses the system wherein the receiver assembly comprises a tuned resonant circuit for receiving the electric wave signal (fig 2B; par[0109], [0113]: FIG. 2B, the electronic device (or wireless power receiver) 200 may include a power supply unit 290. The power supply unit 290 supplies power required for the operation of the electronic device (or wireless power receiver) 200. The power supply unit 290 may include a power receiving unit 291 and a Power reception control unit (or POWER RECEIVING CONTROL UNIT) 292. The power receiving unit 291, as a constituent element according to the resonance coupling method, may include a coil and a resonant circuit in which resonance phenomenon is generated by a magnetic field having a specific resonant frequency.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun, Schaefer and Lee references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the resonance feature as disclosed by Lee to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving signal reception by selecting a specific frequency while rejecting unwanted signals, acting as a bandpass filter, enhancing selectivity, and helping in achieving proper frequency alignment, often allowing for improved, cost-effective manufacturing of receiver units.
8. Claim 39 is on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over of Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer, and further in view of Clark et al. (US2009/0091328A1) hereafter Clark.
Regarding claim 39, Co-1 in view of Zhang and Shanjun and Schaefer does not explicitly disclose the system the system comprising at least two receiver assemblies.
Clark discloses the system comprising at least two receiver assemblies (fig 3:r1&R2; par[0047]: From the above, the three unknowns, k.sub.1, k.sub.2, and k.sub.3 can be readily derived based on measured and calculated magnetic fields. The casing attenuation factor k.sub.1 for the principal transmitter, T.sub.1 (20 in FIG. 3), can be obtained from measurements using the array 110 that includes the principal transmitter, an auxiliary transmitter, and two auxiliary receivers. The transmitter attenuation factor, previously denoted by k.sub.i (in Eq. 6), and here denoted by k.sub.1, is the casing attenuation factor seen by a distant receiver, for example cross-well receiver 24 in FIG. 4 (located in wellbore 102). Effectively, based on a number of measurements made by plural receivers of the array 110 in the casing 101, the casing effect of the principal transmitter 20 (represented by k.sub.1 or k.sub.i) can be derived.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun, Shaefer and Clark references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the reception feature as disclosed by Clark to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of determining correction factors representing effects of different portions of a lining structure using measurements from an array having at least one transmitter and plural receivers.
9. Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over of Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer, and further in view of Kuckes (US2010/0155139A1) hereafter Kuckes’139.
Regarding claim 43, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer does not explicitly disclose the system wherein a spacing between two of the second electrodes is at least 10 m.
Kuckes’139 discloses the system wherein a spacing between two of the second electrodes is at least 10 m (fig 2; pa[0059]: The drill string includes conventional drill string sections above the electrode section 142, as illustrated at 154, and between the electrode sections 142 and 144, as illustrated at 156, the number of sections at 156 being sufficient to space the electrode sections 142 and 144 apart by about 150 meters.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun, Schaefer and Kuckes’139 references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Schaefer with the spacing feature as disclosed by Kuckes’139 to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing reduced interference & enhanced accuracy, increased depth of investigation by allowing for deeper, regional subsurface investigations, such as mapping geological layers, rather than just high-resolution shallow imaging, and optimal remote electrode positioning.
10. Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over of Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer, and further in view of Li (CN205104122U).
Regarding claim 44, Co-1 in view of Zhang, Shanjun and Schaefer does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the receiver assembly has a resistance of less than 1000 ohms.
Li discloses the system wherein the receiver assembly has a resistance of less than 1000 ohms (par[0012]: the receiving coil is put in the box, the receiving coil preferably resistance is 4.3 to 5 ohm, the number of turns is 200 to 300 turns of the coil, the coil shape is round, oblong, or square.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Co-1, Zhang, Shanjun, Schaefer and Li references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Co-1 with the resistance feature as disclosed by Li to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering improved accuracy with long cable runs, reduced self-heating errors, superior Noise Immunity, and an easy open loop detection.
Conclusion
US2015/0346017A1 to LePort discloses systems and methods are disclosed for an automatic fluid composition sensor. A fluid composition sensor includes a plurality of detection elements positioned along a length of a sample chamber having a number of material interfaces, the fluid composition sensor detecting location(s) of the interface(s) and/or a composition of one or more of the materials within the chamber. A fluid level sensor generates one or more pulses and measures a time delay between a transmission of the pulses from a source and a reception of the reflected pulses from a gas/oil interface to estimate a position of the oil/gas interface and thus a height of the oil in an oil well.
US2014/0332385A1 to Frisky discloses a method and apparatus for separating drilling fluid is provided. A housing is provided with a number of vertical parallel spaced apart electrode plates within. The housing is filled with a batch of drilling fluid so that the drilling fluid fills up the spacings between the electrode plates and the drilling mud is subjected to an electro-separation cycle by placing a DC voltage across the electrode plates so that adjacent plates have opposite polarity and an electric field is created in the drilling fluid in the spacings between the electrode plates. During the electro-separation cycle, periodically subjecting the drilling fluid to a vibration cycle by inducing vibrations in the drilling fluid. When the treatment of the drilling fluid is completed, removing an upper layer of fluid from the housing.
/AMINE BENLAGSIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688