DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statements (PTO-1449) filed 09/16/2024, 11/22/2024, 12/20/2024, 05/30/2025, 12/16/2025, 01/23/2026 and 05/11/2026. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claim 2, line 15, recites “a proximal variable focus optical element and a distal variable focus optical element”. It is unclear in relation to what (“transparent emissive display”, “first occluder”, “second occluder”, etc.) or to whom (“user”) the variable focus optical elements are proximal and distal to. For the purpose of continuing examination, the proximal and distal variable focus optical elements are interpreted as two variable focus optical elements.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 7, 12, 13 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 10, 11, 15, 16, 19 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,733,516. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter for the head-mounted display system of the current application is similarly presented in the claimed subject matter of the referenced patent (see below).
Current Application
USP No. 11,733,516
Claim 2. A head-mounted display system configured to project light to an eye of a user to display augmented reality image content in a vision field of the user, the head-mounted display system comprising: a frame configured to be supported on a head of the user; an eyepiece disposed on the frame at a location in front of the eye of the user when the head mounted display is mounted on to the head of the user, the eyepiece including: a transparent emissive display comprising a plurality of emitters, the transparent emissive display configured to emit light into the eye of the user to display augmented reality image content in a vision field of the user, the transparent emissive display being transparent and emissive over an area, the transparent emissive display disposed at a location in front of the eye of the user when the head-mounted display is mounted on to the head of the user such that the transparent emissive display transmits light from an environment in front of the user through the transparent emissive area to the eye of the user to provide a view of the environment in front of the user; a proximal variable focus optical element and a distal variable focus optical element, each of the proximal variable focus optical element and the distal variable focus optical element comprising a plurality of electrical inputs configured to control an optical power of the optical element by varying divergence of light projected from the transparent emissive display to the user; a first occluder comprising a first spatial light modulator configured to receive an electrical input to cause one or more pixels of the first spatial light modulator to transmit light while other one or more pixels of the first spatial light modulator are opaque; a second occluder comprising a second spatial light modulator configured to receive an electrical input to cause one or more pixels of the second spatial light modulator to transmit light while other one or more pixels of the second spatial light modulator are opaque; and electronics coupled to the transparent emissive display and to the first and second occluder, wherein the electronics are configured to coordinate operation of the transparent emissive display and the first and second occluder to control an opacity of the one or more pixels of the first and second spatial light modulator, at a frequency greater than that which can be detected by human eyes, while simultaneously controlling a light emission of at least one of the emitters that is aligned with the one or more pixels.
Claim 16. The system of claim 2, wherein the eyepiece further comprises a distal occluder on a distal side of the transparent emissive display between the transparent emissive display and the environment in front of the user.
Claim 1. A head mounted display system configured to project light to an eye of a user to display augmented reality image content in a vision field of said user, said head-mounted display system comprising: a frame configured to be supported on a head of the user; an eyepiece disposed on the frame, at least a portion of said eyepiece being transparent and disposed at a location in front of the user's eye when the user wears said head-mounted display such that said transparent portion transmits light from the environment in front of the user to the user's eye to provide a view of the environment in front of the user, the eyepiece including: a transparent emissive display comprising a plurality of emitters, said transparent emissive display further comprising electrodes comprising transparent conductive material, said transparent emissive display configured to emit light into said user's eye to display augmented reality image content to the user's vision field, said transparent emissive display being transparent and emissive over an area, said transparent emissive display disposed at a location in front of the user's eye when the user wears said head-mounted display such that said transparent emissive display transmits light from the environment in front of the user through said transparent emissive area to the user's eye to provide a view of the environment in front of the user; and at least one occluder comprising a spatial light modulator configured to receive electrical input to cause one or more pixels of the spatial light modulator to be transmissive while other pixels of the spatial light modulator are opaque, wherein the at least one occluder comprises a distal occluder disposed in an optical path between the transparent emissive display and the environment; a first distal lens disposed in an optical path between the transparent emissive display and the environment and a second distal lens disposed in an optical path between the transparent emissive display and the environment, wherein the distal occluder is between the first lens and the second lens; and electronics coupled to the transparent emissive display and to the at least one occluder, wherein the electronics are configured to coordinate operation of the transparent emissive display and the at least one occluder to control an opacity of the one or more pixels of the spatial light modulator, at a frequency greater than that which can be detected by human eyes, while simultaneously controlling a light emission of at least one of the emitters that is aligned with the one or more pixels.
Claim 10. The system of claim 1, further comprising a proximal variable focus optical element disposed on a proximal side of the transparent emissive display such that said proximal variable focus optical element is between the transparent emissive display and the user's eye.
Claim 11. The system of claim 10, wherein said proximal variable focus optical element has an electrical input configured to receive an electrical signal to alter a state of the variable focus optical element and a focus of said variable focus optical element.
Claim 15. The system of claim 10, further comprising a distal variable focus optical element disposed on a distal side of the transparent emissive display such that said distal variable focus optical element is between the transparent emissive display and the environment in front of the user.
Claim 16. The system of claim 15, wherein said distal variable focus optical element has an electrical input configured to receive an electrical signal to alter a state of the distal variable focus optical element and a focus of said distal variable focus optical element.
Claim 19. The system of claim 18, wherein said at least one occluder comprises first and second spatial light modulators each including a plurality of pixels, said first and second spatial light modulators having an electrical input configured to receive an electrical signal to selectively alter a transmissive state of the pixels.
Claim 20. The system of claim 19, wherein the electronics are electrically coupled to said electrical input of said first and second spatial light modulators to cause one or more pixels on said first spatial light modulator to be transmissive while surrounding pixels are opaque and one or more of said pixels on said second spatial light modulator to be transmissive while surrounding pixels on said second spatial light modulator are opaque such that light of a certain angular direction that is emitted from certain emitters of the transparent emissive display propagates both through said transmissive pixels of said first spatial light modulator and through said transmissive pixels of said second spatial light modulator.
Claim 7. The system of claim 2, wherein the transparent emissive display is an organic light emitting diode (OLED) film.
Claim 2. The system of claim 1, wherein said transparent emissive display comprises an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display.
Claim 12. The system of claim 2, wherein the eyepiece further comprises at least one lens array comprising a plurality of lenses, wherein a lens of the plurality of lenses is associated with two or more emitters of a plurality of emitters.
Claim 3. The system of claim 1, wherein the eyepiece includes at least one lens array comprising a plurality of lenses, wherein a lens of the plurality of lenses is associated with two or more emitters of a plurality of emitters, and wherein the at least one lens array comprises a proximal lens array disposed on a proximal side of the transparent emissive display such that said proximal lens array is between the transparent emissive display and the user's eye.
Claim 13. The system of claim 2, wherein a first portion of light emissions from the plurality of emitters of the transparent emissive display is blocked by one or more opaque pixels of the first spatial light modulator and the second spatial light modulator, and a second portion of light emissions from the plurality of emitters of the transparent emissive display passes through the first spatial light modulator and the second spatial light modulator to the proximal variable focus optical element at a specific angle.
Claim 20. The system of claim 19, wherein the electronics are electrically coupled to said electrical input of said first and second spatial light modulators to cause one or more pixels on said first spatial light modulator to be transmissive while surrounding pixels are opaque and one or more of said pixels on said second spatial light modulator to be transmissive while surrounding pixels on said second spatial light modulator are opaque such that light of a certain angular direction that is emitted from certain emitters of the transparent emissive display propagates both through said transmissive pixels of said first spatial light modulator and through said transmissive pixels of said second spatial light modulator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 3, 5-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lapstun (USPG Pub No. 2016/0139402).
Regarding claim 2, Lapstun discloses a head-mounted display system (860) configured to project light to an eye of a user (250) to display augmented reality image content in a vision field of the user (see Fig. 55A, Paragraph 840), the head-mounted display system comprising: a frame configured to be supported on a head of the user (250) (see Fig. 55B); an eyepiece (200) disposed on the frame at a location in front of the eye of the user when the head mounted display is mounted on to the head of the user (see Figs. 55A, 55B, Paragraphs 839-840), the eyepiece including: a transparent emissive display (180) comprising a plurality of emitters (Paragraph 533), the transparent emissive display configured to emit light into the eye of the user to display augmented reality image content in a vision field of the user (Paragraph 836), the transparent emissive display being transparent and emissive over an area (see Fig. 54B), the transparent emissive display disposed at a location in front of the eye of the user when the head-mounted display is mounted on to the head of the user such that the transparent emissive display transmits light from an environment in front of the user through the transparent emissive area to the eye of the user to provide a view of the environment in front of the user (see Fig. 54B); a proximal variable focus optical element (406) and a distal variable focus optical element (416), each of the proximal variable focus optical element and the distal variable focus optical element comprising a plurality of electrical inputs configured to control an optical power of the optical element by varying divergence of light projected from the transparent emissive display to the user (see Figs. 14A, 14B, Paragraphs 534-536, 543); a first occluder (652) comprising a first spatial light modulator (“ferroelectric liquid crystal design”) configured to receive an electrical input to cause one or more pixels of the first spatial light modulator to transmit light while other one or more pixels of the first spatial light modulator are opaque (Paragraph 819); a second occluder (634) comprising a second spatial light modulator (“nematic liquid crystal design”) configured to receive an electrical input to cause one or more pixels of the second spatial light modulator to transmit light while other one or more pixels of the second spatial light modulator are opaque (Paragraph 819); and electronics coupled to the transparent emissive display and to the first and second occluder, wherein the electronics are configured to coordinate operation of the transparent emissive display and the first and second occluder to control an opacity of the one or more pixels of the first and second spatial light modulator, at a frequency greater than that which can be detected by human eyes, while simultaneously controlling a light emission of at least one of the emitters that is aligned with the one or more pixels (Paragraphs 534, 535, 819, 841, 848 – the “electronics” is implied which is required in order for each recited element to function and for the control of each element).
Regarding claim 3, Lapstun discloses wherein the one or more pixels of the first spatial light modulator (652) that transmit light and the one or more pixels of the second spatial light modulator (634) that transmit light are aligned along a linear optical path which receives light from the one or more emitters on the transparent emissive display (see Fig. 50B).
Regarding claim 5, Lapstun discloses wherein the first spatial modulator (652) is a liquid crystal spatial modulator (Paragraph 819).
Regarding claim 6, Lapstun discloses wherein the transparent emissive display is a transparent film spatial modulator (Paragraph 533).
Regarding claim 7, Lapstun discloses wherein the transparent emissive display is an organic light emitting diode (OLED) film (Paragraph 546).
Regarding claim 9, Lapstun discloses wherein the proximal variable focus optical element is configured to alter divergence of light emitted from the transparent emissive display to cause different image content to appear as if emitted from different distances in front of the eyepiece (Paragraphs 534-536, 543).
Regarding claim 10, Lapstun discloses wherein the proximal variable focus optical element is a switchable liquid crystal lens assembly (Paragraph 535).
Regarding claim 11, Lapstun discloses wherein the proximal variable focus optical element is configured to vary between two states that introduce different negative optical powers to vary divergence of light from the transparent emissive display (Paragraph 537).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lapstun (USPG Pub No. 2016/0139402) in view of Border et al. (USPG Pub No. 2012/0235886), hereinafter “Border”.
Regarding claim 8, Lapstun discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the transparent emissive display is a quantum-dot light-emitting diode (QLED) display. In the same field of endeavor, Border discloses wherein the transparent emissive display is a quantum-dot light-emitting diode (QLED) display (Paragraph 158). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the head-mounted display system of Lapstun with wherein the transparent emissive display is a quantum-dot light-emitting diode (QLED) display of Border for the purpose of providing a display with higher power efficiency, is brighter, and has cost efficient (Paragraph 158).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lapstun (USPG Pub No. 2016/0139402) in view of Itani (USPG Pub No. 2017/0168307).
Regarding claim 12, Lapstun discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the eyepiece further comprises at least one lens array comprising a plurality of lenses, wherein a lens of the plurality of lenses is associated with two or more emitters of a plurality of emitters. In the same field of endeavor, Itani discloses wherein the eyepiece further comprises at least one lens array comprising a plurality of lenses, wherein a lens of the plurality of lenses is associated with two or more emitters of a plurality of emitters (see Figs. 10C, 10D, Paragraph 243). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the head-mounted display system of Lapstun with wherein the eyepiece further comprises at least one lens array comprising a plurality of lenses, wherein a lens of the plurality of lenses is associated with two or more emitters of a plurality of emitters of Itani for the purpose of providing independently controlled optical effect for the displayed and transmitted optical content (Paragraph 6).
Prior Art Citations
Samec et al. (USPG Pub No. 2016/0270656) is being cited herein to show a HMD system relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 7/25/2026