DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 04/28/2025. Claims 1-3, 5-13 & 15-17 are currently pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-13 & 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,945. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claim 1, patent claims 1 & 4 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 2-10, patent claim 2-10 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 11, patent claims 11 & 14 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 12, patent claims 1, 3 & 12 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 13, patent claims 11 & 13 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 15, patent claims 11 & 15 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 16, patent claims 11 & 16 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 17, patent claims 11 & 17 recite the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 & 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Poon et al. (US 2022/0395376).
Regarding Claim 11, Poon teaches a glenoid implant system (Figs 10-12B) for a reverse shoulder implant system, comprising:
an angled baseplate (1000) comprising a bone facing surface (1001) to face an implant site prepared in a glenoid region of a patient, and an implant facing surface (1005) to face and engage a glenoid implant, wherein the implant facing surface being at an angle of approximately 1 degree to 40 degrees (as shown in annotated Fig 13), inclusive, with respect to a centerline of the bone facing surface (shown); and
a glenoid implant (116) having a center post (110); wherein the implant facing surface (1005) defining a slot (shown) to receive the center post of the glenoid implant, the slot starting at an outer periphery (shown) of the implant facing surface and ending at a center region (shown) of the implant facing surface, the slot to guide the glenoid implant toward the center region of the implant facing surface.
Regarding Claim 15, Poon teaches wherein the angled baseplate is fully capable of being rotated about the centerline axis so that the implant facing surface is facing anteriorly of the midline of the glenoid.
Regarding Claim 16, Poon teaches wherein the angled baseplate is fully capable of being rotated about the centerline axis so that the implant facing surface is facing posteriorly of the midline of the glenoid.
Regarding Claim 17, Poon teaches wherein the angled baseplate is fully capable of being rotated about the centerline axis so that the implant facing surface is facing generally facing distally and laterally and along the midline of the glenoid.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 & 5-10 would be allowable if a timely filed terminal disclaimer(s) in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is filed to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, which is the most pertinent art found, fails to teach and/or fairly suggest the instant invention.
Regarding Claim 1, Cardon et al. (US 2014/0025173 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Cardon teaches a glenoid implant system for a reverse shoulder implant system, comprising:
a glenoid implant (10);
an angled baseplate (20) comprising a bone facing surface (22) to face an implant site prepared in a glenoid region of a patient, and an implant facing surface (21) to face and engage the glenoid implant (10), wherein the implant facing surface (21) being at an angle with respect to a centerline of the bone facing surface ([0034] and Fig 7); and
an anchor (40 & 50) to be installed in the implant site, the anchor including a bone-engaging portion (70) and a head portion (40): wherein the bone facing surface (22) defining a slot (30) to receive the head portion of the anchor to affix the angled baseplate to the anchor (Fig 6), the slot starting at an outer periphery (21) of the bone facing surface and ending at a center region of the bone facing surface (Fig 1), the slot (30) to guide the angled baseplate on the implant site.
However, the prior art either individually or in combination, does not teach or render obvious wherein the glenoid implant comprises a center post and wherein the implant facing surface receives said center post.
Claims 12 & 13 are rejected, but would be allowable if: (1) rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.; and (2) a timely filed terminal disclaimer(s) in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is filed to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774