DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 11/17/2025 has been considered and entered. The amendment requires 0.25% to 2% of polyisobutylene which Lalla (US 2013/0096040) does not teach and which overcomes the previous rejections of claims 10 – 17 over Lalla, and which are hereby withdrawn. The amendment does not overcome the rejections of claims 1 – 9 over Brown et al. (WO 2016/061050) which are hereby maintained. Rejections of claims 4, 11 – 17 based on indefiniteness are also maintained. New grounds of rejections are made as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 10 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high molecular weight” in the claims is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the sake of examination, any propylene or ethylene is taken as meeting the limitation of high propylene or high ethylene, and the high molecular weight polyisobutylene is taken as molecular weights of from 500,000 to 3,000,000, equivalent to those of the takifier of applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (WO 2016/061050)
In regards to claims 1 – 4 (previous claims 1, 2, 1, 2), Brown teaches engine oil comprising biobased oil and Groups I to V base oil as cobasestock at up to 80% and various additives such as dispersant, detergent, corrosion inhibitor, viscosity modifiers etc. [0011 – 0021]. The oil can have a kinematic viscosity at 40C of from 12.5 to 105.5 cSt (i.e., about 68 SUS to about 492 SUS) [0039, Table 1]. Base oil (diluent) can be solvent extracted and dewaxed etc. [0060, 0061]. The oils include paraffinic oils [0038].
Viscosity modifiers (or VI improvers) which are thickeners can comprise polymeric material such as polyolefins (i.e., polybutenes etc.), polyisobutylene, olefin copolymers etc., and may be linear, radial or star polymers having molecular weights of from 100,000 to 800,000 g/mol [0067, 0068]. Thus, combinations of the VI improver to be used for the same purpose is obvious. Their use at the high molecular weights recited are also obvious and common in the prior art [for instance see 0038 of Gao et al. US 2007/0297279].
Brown teaches the composition can comprise dispersants comprising polybutene and polyisobutenes (PIB) and thus also provides the polybutenes of the claim. They include derivatives of long-chain hydrocarbon-substituted carboxylic acids such as succinic acids which are well known to include polyisobutenyl-succinic anhydrides (PIBSA) which are obvious [0070, 0071]. Since the composition comprises the claimed ingredients, it would be effective at performing the intended use of the claims.
In regards to claim 5 (previous claim 3), Brown teaches the dispersants wherein the polymeric backbone includes polybutenes having 40 to 500 carbon atoms which correlates to molecular weights of about 560 to about 7000 daltons [0070].
In regards to claims 6 – 9 (previous claims 4 – 7), Brown teaches the composition having antiwear and extreme pressure additives which can include sulfur/phosphorus oils [0079].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Brown is drawn to biobased oil while the claims are drawn to petroleum refined oil. The argument is not persuasive.
While Brown is drawn to biobased oil, Brown also teaches that the composition can comprise other Group I to V oils which are known to include petroleum refined crude oils (i.e., Groups I to III oils) and thus teach the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771