DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/886,658 filed on September 16, 2024. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11-13, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4-6, 11-13, and 18-19, none of the art cited discloses in response to the operation of determining that the first network node has been rendered inoperable, initiating a script, wherein the script is configured to automatically cause performance of the operations of retrieving the list of TACs, transmitting the list of TACs to the third network node, and causing the second network node to clear its cache.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, the claims recite the limitation, “retrieving a list of tracking area codes (TACs), the list of TACs corresponding to one or more network components serviced by the first network node via a second network node …” (Emphasis added). It is unclear where the list of TACs is being retrieved from, and by which network component. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the limitation to indicate that the list of TACs is being retrieved by the second network node.
Regarding claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20, claims 2-7 each depend on independent claim 1, claims 9-14 each depend on independent claim 8, and claims 16-20 each depend on independent claim 15 and therefore, inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220022062, hereinafter, “Zhu”) in view of Arunachalam et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240340976, hereinafter, “Arunachalam”), and further in view of Gu et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250358709, hereinafter, “Gu”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches:
A method of managing network function routing in a telecommunications network, the method comprising (Zhu: [0107] … in a case where a main SMF fails, an NRF sends a notification message to a backup SMF to notify that the main SMF fails …):
determining that a first network node has been rendered inoperable, wherein the first network node is associated with a first Session Management Function (SMF) (Zhu: [0051] … the embodiments of the present disclosure provide technical solutions for implementing disaster recovery. In a case where an SMF [i.e., first network node, first SMF] is down due to failure, a backup SMF can perform batch session migration to implement load sharing while keeping an original session or original sessions uninterrupted ...).
Although Zhu teaches implementing a disaster recovery in a case where an SMF is down due to failure, a backup SMF can perform batch session migration, Zhu does not explicitly teach:
retrieving a list of tracking area codes (TACs), the list of TACs corresponding to one or more network components serviced by the first network node via a second network node, wherein the second network node is associated with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF);
transmitting the list of TACs to a third network node, wherein the third network node is associated with a second SMF; and
causing the second network node to clear its cache.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Arunachalam teaches:
retrieving a list of tracking area codes (TACs), the list of TACs corresponding to one or more network components serviced by the first network node via a second network node, wherein the second network node is associated with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF); transmitting the list of TACs to a third network node, wherein the third network node is associated with a second SMF (Arunachalam: [0094] At operation 702, an AMF (e.g., AMF 130) may receive an access request (e.g., a request for access to a network using a particular protocol (e.g., PDN-Type) from a gNodeB (e.g., gNodeB 120). The access request may have originated at a user device (e.g., UE 110). The access request may include or indicate a TAC associated with the gNodeB [i.e. TACs corresponding to one or more network components] and/or a PDN-Type associated with the originating user device … [0095] At operation 704, the AMF may transmit a request (e.g., SMF query 131) for SMF data to an NRF (e.g., NRF 140). This request may include or indicate the gNodeB's TAC … [0097] At operation 708, the AMF may select an SMF [i.e., first network node/first SMF] for use in establishing a communications session for the user device associated with the access request received at operation 702 … [0102] If, at operation 714, the AMF [i.e., second network node] determines that the session establishment operation(s) initiated at operation 712 were unsuccessful ... The AMF may then proceed to select another SMF [i.e., third network node, second SMF] at operation 720 … [0103] … if, at operation 714, the AMF determines that the session establishment operation(s) initiated at operation 712 were successful ... The AMF may then, at operation 716, provide data indicating one or more UPFs and/or any other type of session data to the gNodeB from which the request was received at operation 702 … Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhu to include the features as taught by Arunachalam above in order to improve the performance and increase the efficiency of both network and user resources. (Arunachalam, ¶ [0031]).
Although Zhu-Arunachalam teaches implementing a disaster recovery in a case where an SMF is down due to failure, a backup SMF can perform batch session migration, and the AMF may transmit a request for SMF data to an NRF, which may include or indicate the gNodeB's TAC, Zhu-Arunachalam does not explicitly teach:
causing the second network node to clear its cache.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gu teaches:
causing the second network node to clear its cache (Gu: [0212] 4. When the change is detected, the SMF 200 transfers cache-required information marked as n2CacheRequired=False to the AMF 100 in order to delete the SR context stored in the AMF 100. [0213] 5. The AMF 100 identifies n2CacheRequired=false in the received cache-required information and deletes the pre-stored SR context. Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhu-Arunachalam to include the features as taught by Gu above in order to make the service request procedure more efficient. (Gu, ¶ [0014]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu teaches:
A telecommunications network comprising (Zhu: [0107] … in a case where a main SMF fails, an NRF sends a notification message to a backup SMF to notify that the main SMF fails …):
at least one processor in communication with a network management node; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network management node to (Zhu: [0306] An embodiment of the present disclosure provides a UPF, including a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor. The computer program, when executed by the processor, performs any one of the methods for implementing disaster recovery executed by the UPF …):
determine that a first network node has been rendered inoperable, wherein the first network node is associated with a first Session Management Function (SMF) (Zhu: [0051] … the embodiments of the present disclosure provide technical solutions for implementing disaster recovery. In a case where an SMF [i.e., first network node, first SMF] is down due to failure, a backup SMF can perform batch session migration to implement load sharing while keeping an original session or original sessions uninterrupted ...).
Although Zhu teaches implementing a disaster recovery in a case where an SMF is down due to failure, a backup SMF can perform batch session migration, Zhu does not explicitly teach:
retrieve a list of tracking area codes (TACs), the list of TACs corresponding to one or more network components serviced by the first network node via a second network node, wherein the second network node is associated with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF),
transmit the list of TACs to a third network node, wherein the third network node is associated with a second SMF, and
cause the second network node to clear its cache.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Arunachalam teaches:
retrieve a list of tracking area codes (TACs), the list of TACs corresponding to one or more network components serviced by the first network node via a second network node, wherein the second network node is associated with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), transmit the list of TACs to a third network node, wherein the third network node is associated with a second SMF (Arunachalam: [0094] At operation 702, an AMF (e.g., AMF 130) may receive an access request (e.g., a request for access to a network using a particular protocol (e.g., PDN-Type) from a gNodeB (e.g., gNodeB 120). The access request may have originated at a user device (e.g., UE 110). The access request may include or indicate a TAC associated with the gNodeB [i.e. TACs corresponding to one or more network components] and/or a PDN-Type associated with the originating user device … [0095] At operation 704, the AMF may transmit a request (e.g., SMF query 131) for SMF data to an NRF (e.g., NRF 140). This request may include or indicate the gNodeB's TAC … [0097] At operation 708, the AMF may select an SMF [i.e., first network node/first SMF] for use in establishing a communications session for the user device associated with the access request received at operation 702 … [0102] If, at operation 714, the AMF [i.e., second network node] determines that the session establishment operation(s) initiated at operation 712 were unsuccessful ... The AMF may then proceed to select another SMF [i.e., third network node, second SMF] at operation 720 … [0103] … if, at operation 714, the AMF determines that the session establishment operation(s) initiated at operation 712 were successful ... The AMF may then, at operation 716, provide data indicating one or more UPFs and/or any other type of session data to the gNodeB from which the request was received at operation 702 … Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhu to include the features as taught by Arunachalam above in order to improve the performance and increase the efficiency of both network and user resources. (Arunachalam, ¶ [0031]).
Although Zhu-Arunachalam teaches implementing a disaster recovery in a case where an SMF is down due to failure, a backup SMF can perform batch session migration, and the AMF may transmit a request for SMF data to an NRF, which may include or indicate the gNodeB's TAC, Zhu-Arunachalam does not explicitly teach:
cause the second network node to clear its cache.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gu teaches:
cause the second network node to clear its cache (Gu: [0212] 4. When the change is detected, the SMF 200 transfers cache-required information marked as n2CacheRequired=False to the AMF 100 in order to delete the SR context stored in the AMF 100. [0213] 5. The AMF 100 identifies n2CacheRequired=false in the received cache-required information and deletes the pre-stored SR context. Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhu-Arunachalam to include the features as taught by Gu above in order to make the service request procedure more efficient. (Gu, ¶ [0014]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhu teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a network management node in a telecommunications network, cause the network management node to perform operations comprising (Zhu: [0306] An embodiment of the present disclosure provides a UPF, including a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor. The computer program, when executed by the processor, performs any one of the methods for implementing disaster recovery executed by the UPF …):
determining that a first network node has been rendered inoperable, wherein the first network node is associated with a first Session Management Function (SMF) (Zhu: [0051] … the embodiments of the present disclosure provide technical solutions for implementing disaster recovery. In a case where an SMF [i.e., first network node, first SMF] is down due to failure, a backup SMF can perform batch session migration to implement load sharing while keeping an original session or original sessions uninterrupted ...).
Although Zhu teaches implementing a disaster recovery in a case where an SMF is down due to failure, a backup SMF can perform batch session migration, Zhu does not explicitly teach:
retrieving a list of tracking area codes (TACs), the list of TACs corresponding to one or more network components serviced by the first network node via a second network node, wherein the second network node is associated with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF); transmitting the list of TACs to a third network node, wherein the third network node is
associated with a second SMF; and
causing the second network node to clear its cache.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Arunachalam teaches:
retrieving a list of tracking area codes (TACs), the list of TACs corresponding to one or more network components serviced by the first network node via a second network node, wherein the second network node is associated with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF); transmitting the list of TACs to a third network node, wherein the third network node is associated with a second SMF (Arunachalam: [0094] At operation 702, an AMF (e.g., AMF 130) may receive an access request (e.g., a request for access to a network using a particular protocol (e.g., PDN-Type) from a gNodeB (e.g., gNodeB 120). The access request may have originated at a user device (e.g., UE 110). The access request may include or indicate a TAC associated with the gNodeB [i.e. TACs corresponding to one or more network components] and/or a PDN-Type associated with the originating user device … [0095] At operation 704, the AMF may transmit a request (e.g., SMF query 131) for SMF data to an NRF (e.g., NRF 140). This request may include or indicate the gNodeB's TAC … [0097] At operation 708, the AMF may select an SMF [i.e., first network node/first SMF] for use in establishing a communications session for the user device associated with the access request received at operation 702 … [0102] If, at operation 714, the AMF [i.e., second network node] determines that the session establishment operation(s) initiated at operation 712 were unsuccessful ... The AMF may then proceed to select another SMF [i.e., third network node, second SMF] at operation 720 … [0103] … if, at operation 714, the AMF determines that the session establishment operation(s) initiated at operation 712 were successful ... The AMF may then, at operation 716, provide data indicating one or more UPFs and/or any other type of session data to the gNodeB from which the request was received at operation 702 … Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhu to include the features as taught by Arunachalam above in order to improve the performance and increase the efficiency of both network and user resources. (Arunachalam, ¶ [0031]).
Although Zhu-Arunachalam teaches implementing a disaster recovery in a case where an SMF is down due to failure, a backup SMF can perform batch session migration, and the AMF may transmit a request for SMF data to an NRF, which may include or indicate the gNodeB's TAC, Zhu-Arunachalam does not explicitly teach:
causing the second network node to clear its cache.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gu teaches:
causing the second network node to clear its cache (Gu: [0212] 4. When the change is detected, the SMF 200 transfers cache-required information marked as n2CacheRequired=False to the AMF 100 in order to delete the SR context stored in the AMF 100. [0213] 5. The AMF 100 identifies n2CacheRequired=false in the received cache-required information and deletes the pre-stored SR context. Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhu-Arunachalam to include the features as taught by Gu above in order to make the service request procedure more efficient. (Gu, ¶ [0014]).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Zhu-Arunachalam-Gu discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 as outlined above.
Zhu further teaches:
wherein the operation of determining that the first network node has been rendered inoperable includes determining that a disaster case scenario has affected the first network node (Zhu: [0051] … the embodiments of the present disclosure provide technical solutions for implementing disaster recovery. In a case where an SMF [i.e., first network node] is down due to failure, a backup SMF can perform batch session migration to implement load sharing while keeping an original session or original sessions uninterrupted ...).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Zhu-Arunachalam-Gu discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 as outlined above.
Arunachalam further teaches:
after the operation of causing the second network node to clear its cache:
receiving a query from the second network node at a fourth network node, wherein the fourth network node is associated with a Network Repository Function (NRF) (Arunachalam: [0069] In response to the network access request 121, the AMF [i.e., second network node] 130 may transmit an SMF query 131A to the NRF 140 [i.e., fourth network node] requesting SMF data for one or more SMFs that service the area associated with the gNodeB TAC 430. The SMF query 131A may include the gNodeB TAC 430. The SMF query 131A may not indicate the UE PDN-Type 420.), and
instructing the second network node to associate with the third network node (Arunachalam: [0070] The NRF 140 may respond with an SMF response 132A that may indicate the SMFs 150 that provide service to the area associated with the gNodeB TAC 430 … [0071] The AMF 130 may then select an SMF [i.e., third network node] from among SMFs 150 indicated in the SMF response 132A …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Arunachalam is the same as the rationale and motivation for claims 1, 8, and 15.
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu-Arunachalam-Gu in view Gadalin et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230179974, hereinafter, “Gadalin”).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, Zhu-Arunachalam-Gu discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 as outlined above.
Zhu-Arunachalam-Gu does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first network node, the second network node, and the third network node are physically located within a same geographical region of the telecommunications network.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gadalin teaches:
wherein the first network node, the second network node, and the third network node are physically located within a same geographical region of the telecommunications network (Gadalin: [0147] ... The locality orchestration service 433 may select a particular instance of a network function (e.g., AMF, SMF, UPF, etc.) to process the network traffic, where the particular instance being selected from a plurality of instances of the network function in the RBN 103 based at least in part on the particular instance being within the particular geographic area 312 ... Figs. 3, 4, 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhu-Arunachalam-Gu to include the features as taught by Gadalin above in order to improve flexibility of communication networks based at least in part on data locality requirements. (Gadalin, ¶ [0023]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416