DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 09/16/2024.
Claims 1-41 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2025, 12/31/2025 and 02/092026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8,12, 17-19, 22-23 and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (US 20260106705 A1) (hereinafter “Ko”) in view of Zhang et al (US 20250071694 A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses an apparatus for wireless communications (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication), comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions (see Fig. 23 (1690), para. [0397] discloses device includes memory); and
one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1690), para. [0397] discloses device includes processor), individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions (see para. [0009],[0013] discloses memory connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions executed by processor) and cause the apparatus to:
obtain a configuration indicating one or more transmission parameters associated with full duplex (FD) symbols and non-FD symbols (see Fig. 21 (S2110), para. [0007], [0367] discloses UE in wireless communication system receiving control information with specific time duration in which half duplex (HD) and full duplex (FD) is possible), wherein the one or more transmission parameters indicate at least one of:
power control parameters (This part is optional) or a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) (see Fig. 21 (S2120), para. [0007],[0367] discloses control information including information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state); and
output one or more uplink channels for transmission, in accordance with the obtained configuration (see Fig. 13, para [0165]-[0166] discloses base station designates a source of a TCI-state in the HD time duration and designates TCI-state in the FD time duration; Fig. 13 shows for SBFD in which frequency resources are for use of DL and UL purposes).
Zhang is added here to clarify the limitation wherein the one or more transmission parameters indicate at least one of:
power control parameters or a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) (see Fig. 6 (TCI indication), Fig. 7 (702, Unified TCI states indicated to UE), para. [0033]-[0036] discloses include receiving set of one or more unified TCI states from base station. At least one power control parameter associated with the unified TCI state).
Ko and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the unified TCI as described by Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 2, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication), wherein at least one of:
the FD symbols comprise sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbols and the non-FD symbols comprise non-SBFD symbols (see Fig. 12, (SBFD, HD), para. [0028],[0129], discloses structure with resource operating in HD (half duplex) and FD (full duplex), SBFD or SSFD (non-SBFD) coexist).
Ko does not disclose but Zhang teaches the unified TCI indicates a joint uplink and downlink TCI state (see para. [0028] discloses joint unified TCI state can be used to provide a beam indication for both DL and UL channels) or separate uplink and downlink TCI states (This part is optional); or
the power control parameters comprise at least one of a received power target value (This part is optional),
a power control factor value (see para. [0036] discloses power control parameters such as default P0 and alpha), or
a closed-loop power control value (see para. [0036],[0037] discloses a close-loop power control factor associated with unified TCI).
Ko and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the unified TCI and the power control parameters as described by Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 3, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication), wherein:
the one or more transmission parameters further indicate different sets of the power control parameters (see para. [0260]-[0261] discloses UE transmit or receive physical channel within the slot under certain conditions, depending on whether or not there are same or different parameters e.g. power control).; and
the one or more uplink channels are outputted for transmission via the FD symbols and via the non-FD symbols in accordance with the different sets of the power control parameters (see para. [0260]-[0262] discloses UE transmit or receive physical channel within the slot under certain conditions, conditions depending on whether or not there are same or different parameters e.g. power control applied to SBFD and non-SBFD symbols).
Regarding claim 4, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication), wherein:
the one or more transmission parameters further indicate a single set of the power control parameters and a power control offset value (see para. [0274] discloses for SRS, PUCCH, PUSCH on SBFD and non-SBFD symbols in different slots, it may be beneficial to have separated resources, UL power control parameters and/or beam/spatial relation); and
the one or more uplink channels are outputted for transmission via the FD symbols in accordance with the single set of the power control parameters and via the non-FD symbols in accordance with the single set of the power control parameters and the power control offset value (see para. [0274] discloses for SRS, PUCCH, PUSCH on SBFD and non-SBFD symbols in different slots, it may be beneficial to have separated resources, UL power control parameters and/or beam/spatial relation).
Regarding claim 5, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication), wherein:
the one or more transmission parameters further indicate a same downlink and uplink beam associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols (see para. [0177] discloses the in TDD the UE can find a Rx beam suitable for DL and can use the receive beam as a UL transmission beam using the reciprocity characteristics of DL and UL); and
the one or more uplink channels are outputted for transmission via the FD symbols and via the non-FD symbols by using the same downlink and uplink beam (see para. [0177] discloses the in TDD the UE can find a Rx beam suitable for DL and can use the receive beam as a UL transmission beam using the reciprocity characteristics of DL and UL).
Regarding claim 6, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication).
Ko fails to disclose but Zhang teaches wherein:
the one or more transmission parameters further indicate at least one of (see para. [0028] discloses base station can configure a set of power parameters associated with UL of joint TCI states):
separate downlink beams respectively associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols or separate uplink beams respectively associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols (see para. [0028] discloses base station can configure a set of power parameters associated with UL of joint TCI states. A joint unified TCI state can provide a beam indication for both DL and UL channels); and
the one or more uplink channels are outputted for transmission via the FD symbols and via the non-FD symbols by using the at least one of the separate downlink beams or the separate uplink beams (see para. [0028] discloses an UL unified TCI state can be used to provide a beam indication for UL channels).
Ko and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the parameters and beams as described by Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 7, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication), wherein the one or more transmission parameters further indicate different TCI state types associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols (see para. [0007] discloses control information of downlink or uplink within specific time duration in HD or FD, control information including information on a TCI state).
Regarding claim 8, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication), wherein each of the different TCI state types indicates separate uplink and downlink TCI states or a joint uplink and downlink TCI state (see para. [0007],[0380] discloses control information of downlink or uplink within specific time duration in HD or FD, control information including information on a TCI state).
Regarding claim 12, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication), wherein:
the one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1660), para. [0400] discloses processor to implement operation of the UE), individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to output capability information indicating a capability to support separate power control parameters with a same beam associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols (see para. [0141] discloses capability in which the UE recognizes that a base station performs a FD operation or a new TDD configuration); and
the one or more transmission parameters are based on the capability information (see para. [0141] discloses capability in which the UE recognizes that a base station performs a FD operation or follow a new TDD configuration).
Regarding claim 17, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication), further comprising at least one transceiver configured to receive the configuration and transmit the one or more uplink channels (see Fig. 23 (1680), para. [0388] discloses second device includes transceiver), wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0389] discloses second device as UE).
Regarding claim 18, Ko discloses an apparatus for wireless communications (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication), comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions (see Fig. 23 (1640), para. [0010];[0384] discloses memory configured to store instructions ;device for wireless communication includes memory (1640); and one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)), individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
output a configuration indicating one or more transmission parameters associated with full duplex (FD) symbols and non-FD symbols (see para. [0265] discloses two CSI-ReportConfigs where one is associated with SBFD symbols, and the other associated with non-SBFD symbols), wherein the one or more transmission parameters indicate at least one of:
power control parameters (This part is optional) or a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) (see Fig. 21 (S2120), para. [0007],[0367] discloses control information including information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state); and
obtain one or more uplink channels, in accordance with the outputted configuration (see Fig. 13, para [0165]-[0166] discloses base station designates a source of a TCI-state in the HD time duration and designates TCI-state in the FD time duration; Fig. 13 shows for SBFD in which frequency resources are for use of DL and UL purposes).
Zhang is added here to clarify the limitation wherein the one or more transmission parameters indicate at least one of:
power control parameters or a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) (see Fig. 6 (TCI indication), Fig. 7 (702, Unified TCI states indicated to UE), para. [0033]-[0036] discloses include receiving set of one or more unified TCI states from base station. At least one power control parameter associated with the unified TCI state).
Ko and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the unified TCI as described by Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 19, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication), wherein at least one of:
the FD symbols comprise sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbols and the non-FD symbols comprise non-SBFD symbols (see Fig. 12, (SBFD, HD), para. [0028],[0129], discloses structure with resource operating in HD (half duplex) and FD (full duplex), SBFD or SSFD (non-SBFD) coexist).
Ko does not disclose but Zhang teaches the unified TCI indicates a joint uplink and downlink TCI state or separate uplink and downlink TCI states (see para. [0028] discloses joint unified TCI state can be used to provide a beam indication for both DL and UL channels); or
the power control parameters comprise at least one of a received power target value (This part is optional),
a power control factor value (see para. [0036] discloses power control parameters such as default P0 and alpha),
or a closed-loop power control value (see para. [0036],[0037] discloses a close-loop power control factor associated with unified TCI).
Ko and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the unified TCI and the power control parameters as described by Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 22, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication), with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein the one or more processors individually or collectively (see Fig. 14 (1001)), para [0292] discloses processor 1001), are configured to execute the instructions (see para. [0295] discloses program on memory and processor, processor performs operations) and cause the apparatus to output different medium access control – control elements (MAC-CEs) to activate or indicate different TCI states associated with at least one of the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols (see para. [0138] discloses TCI states may be activate by MAC-CE).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the TCI indicated by MAC-CE described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 23, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication),
Ko fails to disclose but Zhang teaches wherein a value of a first reserved bit in each of the different MAC-CEs indicates that a particular MAC-CE is to activate or indicate the different TCI states associated with the at least one of the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols (see para. [0089] discloses MAC CE is used for TC activation, where a new field can be introduced to indicate the selected power control parameter set and or pathloss reference signals).
Ko and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the MAC CE field as described by Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 39, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication), wherein the one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)), individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to output (see Fig. 23 (1640), para. [0010];[0384] discloses memory configured to store instructions; device for wireless communication includes memory (1640)), via a medium access control – control element (MAC-CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) (see para. [0230] discloses UL and DL reception across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols include Multi-PUSCH/PDSCH scheduled by a single DCI), separate uplink TCI states associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols (see para. [0230] discloses UL and DL reception across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols include Multi-PUSCH/PDSCH scheduled by a single DCI).
Regarding claim 40, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication), further comprising at least one transceiver (see Fig. 23 (1630)), configured to transmit the configuration and receive the one or more uplink channels (see Fig. 1 (channels), Fig. 23 (1630), para. [0017];[0384] discloses physical channels used in the system ; transceiver), wherein the apparatus is configured as a network entity (see para. [0387] discloses configure to implement operation as Base Station (network entity)).
Regarding claim 41, Ko discloses a method for wireless communications at a wireless node (see para. [0007],[0008], [0011]-[0015] discloses method of operating UE and base station in a wireless system), comprising:
obtaining a configuration indicating one or more transmission parameters associated with full duplex (FD) symbols and non-FD symbols (see Fig. 21 (S2110), para. [0007], [0367] discloses UE in wireless communication system receiving control information with specific time duration in which half duplex (HD) and full duplex (FD) is possible), wherein the one or more transmission parameters indicate at least one of:
power control parameters (This part is optional) or a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) (see Fig. 21 (S2120), para. [0007],[0367] discloses control information including information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state); and
outputting one or more uplink channels for transmission, in accordance with the obtained configuration (see Fig. 13, para [0165]-[0166] discloses base station designates a source of a TCI-state in the HD time duration and designates TCI-state in the FD time duration; Fig. 13 shows for SBFD in which frequency resources are for use of DL and UL purposes).
Zhang is added here to clarify the limitation wherein the one or more transmission parameters indicate at least one of:
power control parameters or a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) (see Fig. 6 (TCI indication), Fig. 7 (702, Unified TCI states indicated to UE), para. [0033]-[0036] discloses include receiving set of one or more unified TCI states from base station. At least one power control parameter associated with the unified TCI state).
Ko and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the unified TCI as described by Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (US 20260106705 A1) (hereinafter “Ko”) in view of Zhang et al (US 20250071694 A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”) as applied in claim 8 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al (US 20240129858 A1) (hereinafter “Matsumura1”).
Regarding claim 9, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein at least one of:
the separate uplink and downlink TCI states indicate an uplink TCI state and a downlink TCI state (see para. [0150] discloses one UL TCI state and one DL TCI state are separately instructed. One UL TCI state applies to UL, one DL TCI state is applied to DL);
the joint uplink and downlink TCI state and the downlink TCI state are associated with different TCI pools (see para. [0136] discloses UE may assume same TCI state (joint TCI pool) for each DL and UL); or
the joint uplink and downlink TCI state and the downlink TCI state are associated with a same TCI pool (see para. [0136] discloses UE may assume different TCI state (separated TCI pool) for each DL and UL).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the separated and joint DL and UL TCI state described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Claims 10-11, 13-16, 20, 24, 28-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (US 20260106705 A1) (hereinafter “Ko”) in view of Zhang et al (US 20250071694 A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”) as applied in claim 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al (US 20240129858 A1) (hereinafter “Matsumura1”).
Regarding claim 10, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication).
Ko does not disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein the one or more transmission parameters further indicate a same TCI state type (see Fig. 1 (activate TCI pool for DL and UL (joint TCI state pool)), and wherein the same TCI state type indicates separate uplink and downlink TCI states (see Fig.2A (activate TCI pool for UL (separated TCI state pool)), 2B (activate TCI pool for DL (separated TCI state pool)).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the indication of separated and joint DL and UL TCI state described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 11, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein at least one of:
the configuration is obtained via a downlink control information (DCI) message (see Fig. 3A (joint indication for DL and UL with DCI), see Fig. 3B (separate indication for DL and UL with DCI));
the one or more transmission parameters further indicate different power control parameters associated with different uplink channels (This part is optional); or
the different uplink channels are outputted in accordance with the different power control parameters (This part is optional).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the configuration with DCI described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 13, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication) with one processor (see Fig. 23 (1660), para. [0400] discloses processor to implement operation of the UE).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein:
the one or more processors (see Fig. 14 (1001-processor, [0294] discloses more than one processor), individually or collectively are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to output capability information indicating a capability to support separate power control parameters with a same downlink TCI state and separate uplink TCI states associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols (see para. [0215] discloses UE capability may indicate whether the UE supports a unified TCI, joint TCI pool for both DL and UL, and separate TCI pool for UL and DL); and
the one or more transmission parameters are based on the capability information (see para [0222] discloses UE capability may indicate the maximum number of power control parameter IDs).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the information indicating a capability as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 14, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication) with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1660), para. [0400] discloses processor to implement operation of the UE).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein:
the one or more processors (see Fig. 14 (1001-processor, [0294] discloses more than one processor), individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions (see para. [0295] discloses software (program) processor performing operations) and cause the apparatus to output capability information indicating a capability to support separate power control parameters with separate downlink and uplink TCI states associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols (see para. [0215];[0215] discloses the UE capability may indicate support for TCI pool for separated TCI for UL pool and separated TCI for DL pool; the UE capability may indicate the UE supports correspondence between TCI state ID and the power control parameter ID); and
the one or more transmission parameters are based on the capability information (see para [0222] discloses UE capability may indicate the maximum number of power control parameter IDs).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the information indicating a capability as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 15, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication), with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1660), para. [0400] discloses processor to implement operation of the UE).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to at least one of:
obtain a single transmit receive point TRP (sTRP) unified TCI framework configuration and output the capability information in accordance with the sTRP unified TCI framework configuration (see Fig. 3A, Fig. 3B, para. [0012];[0142] discloses instruction of a common TCI state for a single TRP); or
obtain a multiple TRP (mTRP) unified TCI framework configuration and output the capability information in accordance with the mTRP unified TCI framework configuration (see Fig. 3A, Fig. 3B, para. [0013],[0069] discloses instruction of a common TCI state for a multi TRP).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the sTRP and multi TRP as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 16, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1650), para. [0397]-[0398] discloses second device in UE-BS communication) with one processor (see Fig. 23 (1660), para. [0400] discloses processor to implement operation of the UE).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein:
the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to output capability information indicating a capability to support a quantity of at least one of:
downlink TCI states (see para. [0215];[0216] discloses may indicate whether or not UE supports a unified TCI pool, The common TCI pool may be a separate TCI for DL; UE capability may indicate a maximum number of TCI states),
uplink TCI states (see para. [0215];[0216] discloses may indicate whether or not UE supports a unified TCI pool, The common TCI pool may be a separate TCI for UL; UE capability may indicate a maximum number of TCI states), or
joint uplink and downlink TCI states, per at least one of the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols, per component carrier (CC) or across multiple CCs (This part is optional); and
the one or more transmission parameters are based on the capability information (see para [0222] discloses UE capability may indicate the maximum number of power control parameter IDs).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the information indicating a capability as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 20, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication) with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches, wherein:
the one or more processors (see Fig. 14 (1001)), para [0292] discloses processor 1001), individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to output a medium access control – control element (MAC-CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) indicating an adjustment of a power control offset value that indicates a difference between a first transmission power value associated with the FD symbols and a second transmission power value associated with the non-FD symbols (see para. [0077];[0087] discloses transmission power offset P0; transmission power adjustment component (offset, transmission format compensation) for the UL BWP), wherein:
the one or more uplink channels are obtained, in accordance with the adjusted power control offset value (see para. [0077];[0087] discloses transmission power offset P0; transmission power adjustment component (offset, transmission format compensation) for the UL BWP).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the TCI pools indicated by described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 24, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication),
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches, wherein a value of a second reserved bit in each of the different MAC-CEs indicates that the different TCI states are associated with a joint TCI pool that is common to a set of different joint uplink and downlink TCI states or a separate TCI pool that is common to a set of different uplink states or a set of different downlink TCI states (see para. [0136]-[0139] discloses UE may assume same or different TCI state pools activated by MAC CE).
Ko and Matusmura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the MAC CE indicating TCI states as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 28, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication) with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein the one or more processors (see Fig. 8 (1001), para. [0398]-[0402] discloses one or more processors), individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions (see Fig. 8 (1001), para. [0398]-[0403] discloses one or more processors, executing operations) and cause the apparatus to output a medium access control – control element (MAC-CE) to activate or indicate different TCI states associated with at least one of the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols (see para. [0070] discloses “Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE” is used to instruct one or two TCI states for one code point in a TCI field in the DCI),
wherein a value of a reserved bit in the MAC-CE indicates that the MAC-CE comprises the different TCI states associated with the FD symbols or the TCI states associated with FD symbols and the non-FD symbols (see para. [0070] discloses “Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE” is used to instruct one or two TCI states for one code point in a TCI field in the DCI).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the MAC CE indicating TCI states as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 29, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches, wherein:
a first value of the reserved bit in the MAC-CE indicates that the MAC-CE is applicable to the different TCI states associated with the FD symbols (see para. [0070] discloses “Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE” is used to instruct one or two TCI states for one code point in a TCI field in the DCI).; and
a second value of the reserved bit in the MAC-CE indicates that the MAC-CE is applicable to the different TCI states associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols (see para. [0070] discloses “Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE” is used to instruct one or two TCI states for one code point in a TCI field in the DCI).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the MAC CE indicating TCI states as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 30, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication) with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to output a medium access control – control element (MAC-CE) to activate or indicate different TCI states associated with at least one of the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols, the MAC-CE having a multi downlink control information (mDCI)-based multi transmit receive point (mTRP) MAC-CE format (see Fig. 4A, para.[0013],[0066] discloses UE may determine the multi-TRP based on multi-DCI ).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the mTRP based multi-DCI as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 31, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein a value of a control resource set (CORESET) pool identification (ID) field in the MAC-CE indicates that the different TCI states are associated with the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols (see para. [0067]-[0068] discloses CORESET pool with indexes; in this case TCI states are instructed by MAC CE).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the CORESET pool as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization
Regarding claim 32, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches, wherein a first value of a control resource set (CORESET) pool ID field in the MAC-CE indicates that the different TCI states are associated with the FD symbols and a second value of the CORESET pool ID field in the MAC-CE indicates that the different TCI states are associated with the non-FD symbols.
(see para. [0067]-[0068] discloses CORESET pool with indexes; in this case TCI states are instructed by MAC CE).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the CORESET pool as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 33, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication), with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein the one or more processors (see Fig. 8 (1001), para. [0398]-[0402] discloses one or more processors), individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions (see Fig. 8 (1001), para. [0398]-[0403] discloses one or more processors, executing operations) and cause the apparatus to output a medium access control – control element (MAC-CE) to activate or indicate joint uplink and downlink TCI states associated with at least one of the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols, the MAC-CE having a single downlink control information (sDCI)-based multi transmit receive point (mTRP) MAC-CE format (see para. [0069] discloses multi-TRP based on single DCI, two TRPs may be replaced with two TCI states instructed by MAC CE).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the single DCI based multi TRP as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 34, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches wherein a value of a field in the MAC-CE indicates that the joint uplink and downlink TCI states are associated with the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols (see Fig. 1 (joint TCI, MAC CE), para. [0010] discloses joint TCI state).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the MAC CE indicating joint TCI states as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 35, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura1 teaches, wherein a first value of a field in the MAC-CE indicates that the joint uplink and downlink TCI states are associated with the FD symbols and a second value of the field in the MAC-CE indicates that the joint uplink and downlink TCI states are associated with the non-FD symbols (see Fig. 3A (joint TCI, MAC CE, TCI pool for DL and UL) Fig. 3B (separate active TCI pools for DL and UL), para. [0012] discloses common TCI state).
Ko and Matsumura1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the MAC CE indicating joint TCI states as described by Matsumura1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Claims 21, 25-27, 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (US 20260106705 A1) (hereinafter “Ko”) in view of Zhang et al (US 20250071694 A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”) as applied in claim 18 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al (US 20240407037 A1) (hereinafter “Matsumura2”).
Regarding claim 21, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication), with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)),
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura2 teaches wherein the one or more processors (see Fig. 8 (1001-processor), para. [0403] discloses processor), individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions (see Fig. 8 (1001-processor), para. [0403] discloses processor read program and executes operations) and cause the apparatus to:
configure multiple TCI pools under a first component carrier (CC) of a set of CCs, wherein the multiple TCI pools are associated with multiple TCI states associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols (see para. [0139] discloses TCI stat pool configured by RRC for each individual CC); and
output a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating the multiple TCI pools (see para. [0139] discloses TCI stat pool configured by RRC for each individual CC).
Ko and Matsumura2 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the TCI pools indicated by described by Matsumura2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 25, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication) with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura2 teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to output a single medium access control – control element (MAC-CE) to activate or indicate different TCI states associated with at least one of the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols (see para. [0051];[008] discloses one or two TCI states indicated by MAC CE; one or two TCI states are configured/indicated by MAC CE).
Ko and Matusmura2 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the MAC CE indicating TCI states as described by Matsumura2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 26, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura2 teaches wherein the single MAC-CE comprises a bit field per TCI code point, and wherein the bit field indicates that the different TCI states corresponding to the TCI code point are associated with the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols (see para. [0052], [0082];[0260]-[0261] discloses in order to indicate one or two TCI states for one code point of a TCI field in DCI, and “enhanced TCI state MAC CE is used; the MAC CE includes a new field, MAC CE to indicate one or two TCI state for one TCI code point on certain CC list).
Ko and Matusmura2 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the MAC CE indicating TCI states as described by Matsumura2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 27, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication) with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura2 teaches wherein the one or more processors (see Fig. 8 (1001), para. [0398]-[0402] discloses one or more processors), individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions (see Fig. 8 (1001), para. [0398]-[0403] discloses one or more processors, executing operations) and cause the apparatus to:
obtain capability information to support a single medium access control – control element (MAC-CE) that is configured to activate sixteen TCI states associated with at least one of the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols, wherein first eight TCI states are associated with the FD symbols and other eight TCI states are associated with the non-FD symbols (see para. [0306]-[0308];[0315]-[0316] discloses UE capability indicate reception of MA CE to activate two TCI states; Application of that MAC CE to plurality of CCs (in that list). Same or different TCI state configurations across plurality of CCs in CC list); and
output the single MAC-CE, in accordance with the capability information (see para. [0306]-[0308] discloses UE capability indicate reception of MA CE to activate two TCI states).
Ko and Matusmura2 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include the MAC CE indicating TCI states as described by Matsumura2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 36, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication), with one or more processor (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura2 teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to output a medium access control – control element (MAC-CE) to activate or indicate separate uplink and downlink TCI states associated with at least one of the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols, the MAC-CE having a single downlink control information (sDCI)-based multi transmit receive point (mTRP) MAC-CE format (see para. [0044] discloses plurality of PDSCH from the multiple TRP may be schedule using one DCI (single DCI), (multiple TRP based on single DCI)).
Ko and Matsumura2 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include MAC CE having single DCI based mTRP as described by Matsumura2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 37, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication).
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura2 teaches wherein:
a value of a first field in the MAC-CE indicates that uplink TCI states are associated with the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols (see para. [0287] discloses MAC CE is applied to some CCs, configured with TCI configuration, may be update only a DL TCI state or may be update of only a UL TCI state); and
a value of a second field in the MAC-CE indicates that downlink TCI states are associated with the FD symbols or the non-FD symbols (see para. [0287] discloses MAC CE is applied to some CCs, configured with TCI configuration, may be update only a DL TCI state or may be update of only a UL TCI state).
Ko and Matsumura2 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include MAC CE indicating DL and UL TCI states as described by Matsumura2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 38, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 23 (1600), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication), with one or more processors (see Fig. 23 (1610), para. [0384] discloses device for wireless communication includes processor (1610)), individually or collectively (see Fig. 23 (1640), para. [0010];[0384] discloses memory configured to store instructions; device for wireless communication includes memory (1640)),
Ko fails to disclose but Matsumura2 teaches wherein the one or more processors (see Fig. 8 (1001), para. [0398]-[0401] discloses one or more processors), individually or collectively are configured to execute the instructions (see Fig. 8 (1001), para. [0398]-[0403] discloses one or more processors, executing operations) and cause the apparatus to output a medium access control – control element (MAC-CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) to activate or indicate TCI states associated with the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols, the FD symbols and the non-FD symbols being associated with a set of component carriers (CCs) in a CC list (see para [0233]-[0234] discloses MAC CE includes a new field to indicate MAC CE may be applied to CC list. Indication of TCI states when receiving a MAC CE on a certain CC list).
Ko and Matsumura2 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko to include MAC CE with a CC list as described by Matsumura2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient resource utilization.
Conclusion
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419