CTNF 18/886,687 CTNF 77079 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-16 AIA Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the phrase “In described examples”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4 – 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Motz et al. (9,766,300, hereinafter Motz – See IDS dated 9/16/24). Regarding claim 1, Motz discloses an apparatus comprising a substrate (See Col. 6, lines 2 – 5), a first resistor 170 on the substrate, the first resistor in a first direction; a second resistor 180 on the substrate, the second resistor coupled to the first resistor, the second resistor in a second direction, the second direction and the first direction transversely oriented; and a device 182 on the substrate (See Fig. 1B, See Col. 5, lines 65 – 67, Col. 6, lines 1 – 67 and Col. 7, lines 1 – 16) . Regarding claim 2, a portion of the device 182 is adjacent to the first resistor 170 (See Fig. 1B). Regarding claim 4, a compensating circuit 160 is provided on the substrate and is coupled to the first resistor and the second resistor (See Fig. 1B). Regarding claim 5, the substrate comprises a piezoelectric material (See Col. 6, lines 2 – 5). Regarding claim 6, the first resistor and the second resistor form a first directional stress sensor, the circuit further comprising a second directional stress sensor on the substrate (See Col. 6, lines 23 – 36). Regarding claim 9, the first resistor 170 comprises a first segment 172 in the first direction and a second segment 174 in the first direction, the first segment coupled to the second segment (See Fig. 1B).6. Claims 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eller (5,121,064). Regarding claim 10, Eller discloses a method and apparatus comprising a first resistor 13 having a first terminal and a second terminal; a second resistor 19 having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first resistor, wherein the second resistor is trimmable; a third resistor 23 having a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is coupled to the first terminal of the first resistor, wherein the third resistor is trimmable; and a fourth resistor 27 having a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is coupled to the second terminal of the third resistor and the second terminal is coupled to the second terminal of the second resistor (See Fig. 6, See Col. 3, lines 44 – 49, Col. 9, lines 10 – 68, Col. 10, lines 1 – 65 and Col. 11, lines 1 – 5). Regarding claim 11, an operational amplifier 127 comprises a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input is coupled to the second terminal of the third resistor and the second input is coupled to the second terminal of the first resistor; a third resistor 101 having a first terminal and a second terminal is provided, the first terminal coupled to the first input of the operational amplifier and the second terminal coupled to the output of the operational amplifier; and a signal conditioner 23 is coupled to the output of the operational amplifier (See Fig. 6). Regarding claim 12, a temperature sensor is coupled to the signal conditioner (See Col. 3, lines 44 – 49 and Col. 10, lines 47 – 65). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motz in view of Nurmetov et al. (10,352,792, hereinafter Nurmetov – See IDS dated 9/16/24). Regarding claim 7, Motz discloses an apparatus comprising a substrate (See Col. 6, lines 2 – 5), a first resistor 170 on the substrate, the first resistor in a first direction; a second resistor 180 on the substrate, the second resistor coupled to the first resistor, the second resistor in a second direction, the second direction and the first direction transversely oriented; and a device 182 on the substrate (See Fig. 1B, See Col. 5, lines 65 – 67, Col. 6, lines 1 – 67 and Col. 7, lines 1 – 16). Motz fails to disclose a third resistor on the substrate, the third resistor in the first direction; and a fourth resistor on the substrate, the fourth resistor in the second direction, the fourth resistor coupled to the third resistor. However, Nurmetov discloses a method and apparatus comprising resistor pairs 712, 714 (See Fig. 7B) having a plurality of resistors (See Col. 10, lines 61 – 67 and Col. 11, lines 1 – 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Motz according to the teachings of Nurmetov for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device simplifies the determination of components of a stress applied to an integrated circuit chip (See Nurmetov, Col. 1, lines 41 – 43) . 07-21-aia AIA 10. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motz in view of Ausserlechner (7,980,138 – See IDS dated 9/16/24) . Regarding claim 13, Motz discloses an apparatus comprising a first resistor 170 configured to detect stress in a direction; a second resistor 180, and a compensation circuit 160 coupled to the first resistor and to the second resistor, the compensation circuit configured to obtain a resistance value based on the first resistor and the second resistor and produce a compensated signal based on the resistance value (See Figs. 1B and 15, See Col. 5, lines 65 – 67, Col. 6, lines 1 – 67 and Col. 7, lines 1 – 16). Motz fails to disclose that the second resistor is trimmable. However, Ausserlechner discloses an apparatus comprising resistors 108, 110 that are transversely oriented, wherein resistor 108 is trimmable (See Fig. 2, See Col. 6, lines 43 – 51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Motz according to the teachings of Ausserlechner for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device measures mechanical stress and counteracts the influence of stress on circuit parameters based on the mechanical stress (See Ausserlechner, Col. 2, lines 27 - 31). 11. Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motz and Ausserlechner, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Eller. Regarding claim 19, Motz and Ausserlechner fail to disclose an operational amplifier having an input terminal and an output terminal, the input terminal coupled to the first resistor and to the second resistor, and the output terminal coupled to the compensation circuit. However, Eller discloses a method and apparatus comprising an operational amplifier 127 having an input terminal and an output terminal, the input terminal coupled to a first resistor 135 and a second resistor 141, and the output terminal coupled to compensation devices 119, 123 (See Fig. 6, See Col. 9, lines 10 – 57 and Col. 10, lines 1 – 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Motz and Ausserlechner according to the teachings of Eller for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the calibration of a resistance bridge-type transducer (See Eller, Col. 1, lines 64 – 66). Regarding claim 20, Motz and Ausserlechner fail to disclose a current source coupled to the first resistor; an operational amplifier having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input coupled to the first resistor, and the second input coupled to the second resistor; a first transistor having a current terminal and a control terminal, the control terminal coupled to the output of the operational amplifier and the current terminal coupled to the input terminal of the operational amplifier; and a second transistor having a current terminal and a control terminal, the control terminal coupled to the output of the operational amplifier and the current terminal coupled to the compensation circuit. However, in Eller, a current source 57 is coupled to the first resistor 135; an operational amplifier 127 is provided having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input coupled to the first resistor 135, and the second input coupled to the second resistor 141; a first transistor 101 is provided having a current terminal and a control terminal, the control terminal is connected to the output of the operational amplifier and the current terminal is connected to the input terminal of the operational amplifier; and a second transistor 107 is provided having a current terminal and a control terminal, the control terminal is connected coupled to the output of the operational amplifier and the current terminal is connected to the compensation devices (See Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Motz and Ausserlechner according to the teachings of Eller for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the calibration of a resistance bridge-type transducer (See Eller, Col. 1, lines 64 – 66). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 3, 8 and 14 – 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter is that the prior art does not anticipate or make obvious the provisions of “the device is located between the first resistor and the second resistor” (referring to claim 3), “the device is between the first resistor and the second resistor, and the device is between the third resistor and the fourth resistor” (referring to claim 8) in combination with the other limitations presented in claim 1 and “the compensation circuit comprises an operational amplifier having an input and an output, the input coupled to at least one of the first resistor and the second resistor; an analog circuit; and a signal conditioner coupled to the output of the operational amplifier and to the analog circuit (referring to claim 14), “the signal conditioner is analog” (referring to claim 15), “the signal conditioner is digital” (referring to claim 16), “the signal conditioner is configured to transmit a compensated feedback signal to the analog circuit” (referring to claim 17) and “an operational amplifier having an input terminal and an output terminal; a first transistor having a current terminal and a control terminal, the control terminal coupled to the output terminal of the operational amplifier, the current terminal coupled to the second resistor and to the input terminal of the operational amplifier; and a second transistor having a current terminal and a control terminal, the control terminal coupled to the output terminal of the operational amplifier, and the current terminal coupled to the first resistor and to the compensation circuit” (referring to claim 18) in combination with the other limitations presented in claim 13. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 15. Nurmetov et al. (12,127,480) disclose on-substrate mechanical stress sensing and compensation. Motz (12,085,462) discloses a transistor based stress sensor and method for determining a gradient compensated mechanical stress component. Haroun et al. (11,653,568) disclose an integrated circuit stress sensor. Ausserlechner et al. (2016/0245668) disclose detection compensation of mechanical stresses. Wade et al. (9,003,897) disclose a temperature compensated force sensor. Elazar (3,500,674) discloses a strain gage transducer circuit. Norman (3,450,978) discloses a resistive bridge calibration circuit. Petrow (3,203,223) discloses a bridge-type transducer with absolute calibration outputs. 16. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Breene can be reached at 5712724107. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 5/1/26 Application/Control Number: 18/886,687 Page 2 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/886,687 Page 4 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/886,687 Page 5 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/886,687 Page 6 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/886,687 Page 7 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/886,687 Page 8 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/886,687 Page 9 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/886,687 Page 11 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/886,687 Page 12 Art Unit: 2855