This office action is responsive to the Amendment and Remarks filed 15 January 2026, wherein claims 2 and 16-20 were canceled. Subsequently, claims 1 and 3-15 are pending and presently under consideration in this application.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 16 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as respectively set forth in paragraphs 7 and 8 of the previous office action on the merits, is hereby withdrawn in view of applicant’s cancellation of the same.
The rejection of claims 1 and 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as respectively set forth in paragraphs 4 and 7 of the previous office action on the merits, are hereby withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments to the same.
Applicant’s amendments have failed to satisfactorily address the rejection of claims 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as respectively set forth in paragraphs 5/6 and 8 of the previous office action on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 January 2026 in response to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as set forth in paragraphs 5, 6 and 8 of the previous office action on the merits, said arguments to the effect that claims have been amended to satisfactorily address the rejections therein, have been considered, but are not persuasive. Please see paragraphs 11-16 for additional comments.
Applicant's arguments filed 15 January 2026 in response to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Sato et al. as set forth in paragraph 12 of the previous office action on the merits, said arguments to the effect that Sato et al. fails to disclose that the liquid crystal composition is characterized by comprising a combination of a monofunctional polymerizable compound and a polyfunctional polymerizable compound, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, as applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims as presently written.
Applicant's arguments filed 15 January 2026 in response to the rejection of claims on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, as set forth in paragraph 14 of the previous office action on the merits, said arguments to the effect that said rejection “will be held in abeyance until any of the pending claims is deemed to be allowable”, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when it recites “a liquid crystal composition including at least one polymerizable liquid crystal compound, wherein the polymerizable liquid crystal compound comprises a monofunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound, the polymerizable liquid crystal compound further comprises a polyfunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound”; the scope of the protection sought is not clear. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, amended claim 1 recites the broad recitation “liquid crystal composition including at least one polymerizable liquid crystal compound”, and the amended claim also recites “wherein the polymerizable liquid crystal compound comprises a monofunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound, the polymerizable liquid crystal compound further comprises a polyfunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Amended claim 1 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the minimum number of polymerizable liquid crystal compounds required in the liquid crystal composition in line 2.
Amended claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when it recites “the polymerizable compound further comprises a polyfunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound having two or more polymerizable groups”(emphasis added); the scope of the protection sought is not clear. Initially, how can the polymerizable compound ”further comprise” another compound? Amended claim 1 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the contents of the claimed liquid crystal diffraction element, i.e., that the liquid crystal composition (of line 2) comprises a combination of at least one monofunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound and at least one polyfunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound. Also, a polyfunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound by definition contains at least two polymerizable groups.
Amended claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when it recites “both of Expressions (1) and (2) are satisfied in an infrared absorbance spectrum of the optically-anisotropic layer when a measurement sample obtained by powdering the optically-anisotropic layer is measured by Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy” (emphasis added); the scope of the protection sought by an expression “satisfied in an infrared absorbance spectrum” by an arbitrary “measurement sample” is not clear. For convenience, the dictionary definition of satisfied is include with this office action. The claim is drawn to a liquid crystal diffraction element, and yet the expression(s) recited as limitation for the claimed element are based on (satisfied in ?) a (arbitrary) measurement sample obtained by powdering the optically-anisotropic layer and measuring the infrared absorbance spectrum. Claim 1 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the contents of the claimed liquid crystal diffraction element.
Amended claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when it recites “where an area of a peak having a maximum absorption point in a range of 2200 cm-1 to 2230 cm-1 is represented by A (cm-1), an area of a peak having a maximum absorption point in a range of 1630 cm-1 to 1640 cm-1 is represented by B (cm-1)” (emphasis added); the scope of the protection sought is not clear. Claim 1 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the area of the peak in each of “A”, “B” and subsequently “Expression (1)” and “Expression (2)” for the claimed liquid crystal diffraction element, much less the contents of the claimed liquid crystal diffraction element.
Amended claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when it recites “a mass of the measurement sample is represented by M (mg)” (emphasis added); the scope of the protection sought is not clear. The arbitrary “a measurement sample” is “obtained” by “powdering the optically-anisotropic layer, and yet the claim is drawn to a liquid crystal diffraction element. Amended claim 1 is not a product by process claim, so as such the recited actions of obtaining, measuring, and/or powdering are not clear. Claim 1 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim “M”, i.e., the mass of the measurement sample in each of “Expression (1)” and “Expression (2)” for the claimed liquid crystal diffraction element, much less the contents of the claimed liquid crystal diffraction element.
Amended claim 4 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when it recites “wherein Expression (3) is satisfied in the absorbance spectrum” (emphasis added), and “Expression (3)”; the scope of the protection sought is not clear, in part as the definition of the expression is based on a measurement obtained by powdering the optically-anisotropic layer and the claim itself is drawn to a liquid crystal diffraction element. Claim 1 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim each of “A”, “M” and subsequently “Expression (3)” in the claimed liquid crystal diffraction element, much less the contents of the claimed liquid crystal diffraction element.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,271,096. Although the claims at issue are not identical, the Examiner notes that they are obvious variants thereof each other, and that they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a liquid crystal diffraction element and corresponding use thereof said liquid crystal diffraction element in each of an optical element containing a silicon oxide layer, an image display unit, a head-mounted display, a beam steering, and a sensor, characterized in that said liquid crystal diffraction element comprises an optically-anisotropic layer that is formed of a liquid crystal composition including a polymerizable liquid crystal compound which encompasses both a monofunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound and a polyfunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound, and chiral agent, wherein the optically-anisotropic layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which an orientation of an optical axis derived from the polymerizable liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating in at least one in-plane direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sato et al. (WO 2022/050321 A1; for applicant’s convenience, reference is made to the English language equivalent U.S. Patent No. 12,271,096).
Sato et al. teaches a liquid crystal diffraction element and corresponding use thereof said liquid crystal diffraction element in each of an optical element containing a silicon oxide layer, an image display unit, a head-mounted display, a beam steering, and a sensor, characterized in that said liquid crystal diffraction element comprises:
an optically-anisotropic layer that is formed of a liquid crystal composition including a polymerizable liquid crystal compound, wherein said polymerizable liquid crystal compound is represented by formula I (column 31, line 63)
, which encompasses both a monofunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound and a polyfunctional polymerizable liquid crystal compound, and chiral agent (column 34, line 10),
wherein the optically-anisotropic layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which an orientation of an optical axis derived from the polymerizable liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating in at least one in-plane direction.
Sato et al. teaches that infrared light (column 22, line 65) may be used depending on the application for the liquid crystal diffraction element (column 22, line 48). Sato et al. discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, i.e., comparable to the presently claimed Expressions, and the Examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP §§ 2112 - 2112.02. Although Sato et al. does not specify the claimed Expressions, since a composition of matter is claimed, and Sato et al. discloses the claimed components as well as the fact that the optically-anisotropic layer of the liquid crystal diffraction element has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which an orientation of an optical axis derived from the polymerizable liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating in at least one in-plane direction, it is asserted that the liquid crystal diffraction element of Sato et al. inherently possesses the recited Expressions, and that the claimed liquid crystal diffraction element lacks novelty, absent object evidence to the contrary. Assuming arguendo that the liquid crystal diffraction element of Sato et al. does not inherently possess the recited Expressions, then Sato et al. is also relied upon under 35 U.S.C. § 103 because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the components therein with reasonable expectation of achieving the advantages generally taught therein, absent object evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Geraldina Visconti whose telephone number is (571)272-1334. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
GERALDINA VISCONTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/GERALDINA VISCONTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737