DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species B in the reply filed on 3/12/26 is acknowledged. Claims 3 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “the outer perimeters of the orthodontic placement device” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 4 recites “the second one of the first plurality of layers to form the upper surface, wherein the first of the first plurality of layers and the second of the plurality of layers”. This limitation is indefinite for two reasons. First, It is not clear how the second one of the first plurality of layer can form the upper surface of the body (as recited in claim 1). The body comprises both the first plurality of layer AND the second plurality of layers. In such context, the uppermost layer of the second plurality of layers would form the upper surface of the body. Second, it’s not clear to which previously recited layer and plurality of layers “the second of the plurality of layers” refers.
In claim 8, the limitation “the plurality of platforms” lacks proper antecedent basis.
The terms “high” and “lower” in claim 11 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The term terms “high” and “lower” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodkin et al. (US 6322728) with support from US 5340656 (incorporated by reference), in view of John et al. US (2011/0101570), and further in view of Wen (US 2006/0093987)
As to claim 1, Brodkin discloses a method of manufacturing an orthodontic placement device, comprising: directly fabricating an orthodontic placement device (C3, L25-27) comprising a first (at least two lowermost layers and a second (at least two uppermost layer) plurality of layers of resin to form a body (C2, L40-45; C3, L60 – C4, 12) comprising a lower substantially planar (fig 2d, 8 of US Patent No. 5340656, hereby incorporated by reference (C3, L17-24)) surface and an upper surface by: forming a first (lowermost layer deposited) layer of the first plurality of layers of resin on a build plate (support for powder/resin – C3, L63 – C4, 12), the first layer of the of first plurality of layers forming the lower substantially planar surface, and wherein at least the first layer of the first plurality of layers is cured (C4, L40-41) to a first strength (C2, L40-45; C3, L60 – C4, 41), wherein at least a second one of the first plurality of layers is formed, and forming the plurality of layers (C2, L40-45; C3, L60 – C4, 41).
Brodkin does not disclose that the curing of the first layer of the of first plurality of layers comprises: applying a first cure dose via a first mask including outer perimeters for forming the orthodontic placement device and a first area of infill having an infill pattern; determining a second cure dose and second mask for the first of the first plurality of layers of resin to compensate for warpage, the second mask including a second area of infill; and curing the first of the first plurality of layers with a second cure dose with the second mask, wherein the first and second cure doses cure at least the first of the first plurality of layers, and wherein at least the second one of the first plurality of layers is cured to a second strength to inhibit warpage of the body.
John discloses a method of curing a first photopolymer layer of a plurality of layers (para 53, 27), with a first cure dose with a first mask (bitmap 1) including perimeters and a first area of infill pattern (fig 3, 4, para 63); determining a second cure dose and second mask (bitmap 2) for the first of the plurality of layers of resin on the build plate to compensate for warpage (para 29-31, 41-44, 63-65, the second mask including a second area of infill curing (fig 3-4, para 63); and curing the first of the plurality of layers on the build plate with the second cure dose with the second mask, wherein the first and second cure doses cure at least the first of the plurality of layers to a first strength (figs 3A-3B, 4; para 39-44, 56-63). Additionally, John discloses at least the second one of the plurality of layers is cured to a second strength to inhibit warpage of the body (para 40-48 – use of “Additional” bitmaps will yield controlled hardening beyond first layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Brodkin such that the curing of the first layer of the of first plurality of layers comprises: applying a first cure dose via a first mask including outer perimeters for forming the orthodontic placement device and a first area of infill having an infill pattern; determining a second cure dose and second mask for the first of the first plurality of layers of resin to compensate for warpage, the second mask including a second area of infill; and curing the first of the first plurality of layers with a second cure dose with the second mask, wherein the first and second cure doses cure at least the first of the first plurality of layers, and wherein at least the second one of the first plurality of layers is cured to a second strength to inhibit warpage of the body as taught by John as doing such increases the quality, hardness, tolerance and accuracy of the device (para 44).
Brodkin and John do not disclose a plurality of registration structures shaped to engage a surface of a patient's detention extending between the lower substantially planar surface and the upper surface.
Wen teaches a plurality of registration structures shaped to engage a surface of a patient's detention extending between the lower substantially planar surface and the upper surface (fig 1, 120; para 38, 55, fig 4, 10a-d)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Brodkin and James such that a plurality of registration structures shaped to engage a surface of a patient's detention are formed extending between the lower substantially planar surface and the upper surface as taught by Wen above as such enables proper alignment upon attaching (para 38, 55).
As to claim 2, Brodkin, discloses that the shape of the device can be a shape disclosed by US Patent No. 5340656, hereby incorporated by reference (C3, L17-24). ‘656 discloses at least one orthodontic attachment and at least one support extending between the attachment and the body, coupling the orthodontic attachment to the body (figs 2d, 8). Furthermore, Brodkin discloses that the shape of the placement device is designed based on the shape of the patient’s tooth in order to ensure proper function and fit (C3, L34-45). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood to shape the orthodontic attachment complimentary to the surface of the tooth to which it is to be bonded as suggested by C3, L34-45 of Brodkin.
Since Brodkin discloses forming all the layers of the device by directly fabricating a plurality of layers, Brodkin with support from ‘656 discloses the attachment and support and directly fabricating the layers to form the support and a plurality of attachment layers to form the orthodontic attachment.
As to claim 4, Brodkin discloses directly fabricating the second one of the first plurality of layers at the upper surface (upper layer of product), but stops short of disclosing the first of the first plurality of layers and the second of the plurality of layers are fabricated with a greater amount of polymer cross-linking than an amount of polymer cross-linking of an inner plurality of layers between the first of the first plurality of layers and the second one of the first plurality of layers.
However, John discloses that the amount of cross-linking (cure) in each layer is a design choice that can be varied, as it effects hardness, surface quality and accuracy. John further states that the difference in cure between layers is to be optimized (para 44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to fabricate the first of the first plurality of layers and the second of the plurality of layers with a greater amount of polymer cross-linking than an amount of polymer cross-linking of an inner plurality of layers between the first of the first plurality of layers and the second one of the first plurality of layers.
As to claims 5-6, one of ordinary skill would have achieved the same cross-linking in the first and second layers, and the same cross-linking among the inner layers by performing routine experimentation to achieve the optimal results.
As to claim 7, changes in dimensions are obvious absent criticality presented by the applicant. MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodkin, John and Wen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Manners (US 5965079)
As to claims 8-10, both John (para 44, 67, 68) and Brodkin (C3, L15-24) disclose varying the shape to any desired shape based on the specific requirements of the device’s purpose. However, John, Wen and Brodkin do not expressly disclose that the first layer forms a pattern of platforms extending from the build plate, wherein the pattern comprises one or more of a checkerboard pattern, a tile pattern, or a stripe pattern, and wherein the platforms to have an area between twenty-five percent and seventy-five percent of an area bounded by a perimeter of the plurality platforms.
Manners discloses a pattern of platforms at the lower surface of the object (fig 2a-2b, 7-12, discussion of said figures), wherein the pattern comprises one or more of a checkerboard pattern, a tile pattern, or a stripe pattern, and wherein the platforms to have an area between twenty-five percent and seventy-five percent of an area bounded by a perimeter of the plurality platforms (fig 18a-18b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the first layer of the first plurality of layers to form a pattern of platforms extending from the build plate, wherein the pattern comprises one or more of a checkerboard pattern, a tile pattern, or a stripe pattern, and wherein the platforms to have an area between twenty-five percent and seventy-five percent of an area bounded by a perimeter of the plurality platforms as taught by Manners above as changes in the shape are obvious absent criticality demonstrated by the applicant. MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 11, Manners discloses directly fabricating the plurality of layers of the platforms to form a taper that widens from a face of a platform towards the upper surface (fig 9a-9b).
As to claims 12-13, Manners discloses the lower surface having a checkerboard pattern, a tile pattern, or a stripe pattern comprising areas of resin having a high amount of polymer cross-linking and areas of resin having a lower amount of polymer cross-linking (col 35, l 24- col 36, l 61, figs 17a-19c, 24).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 4-13 re rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,719. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in claims 1-13 of ‘719 encompass all the limitations of the instant claims 1, 2 and 4-13. .
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746