DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2023/0072177) in view of Hong et al. (US 2023/0389101).
For Claims 1 and 6, Guo teaches a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, and a receiving multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the receiving MLD comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and a processor being operatively connected to the memory and the transceiver (see paragraphs 33, 34), the method comprising:
transmitting, by a receiving multi-link device (MLD), a Multi-Link (ML) probe request frame to a transmitting MLD through a first link (see abstract); and
receiving, by the receiving MLD, an ML probe response frame from the transmitting MLD through the first link (see paragraphs 10, 109),
wherein the transmitting MLD includes a first transmitting station (STA) operating on the first link and a second transmitting STA operating on a second link (see Figures 3a-b, paragraphs 87-88),
wherein the receiving MLD includes a first receiving STA operating on the first link and a second receiving STA operating on the second link (see Figures 3a-b, paragraphs 87-88),
wherein the ML probe request frame includes a first frame body and a probe request ML element (see paragraphs 119, 162), and
wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body includes a first request element, and the probe request ML element does not include a profile subelement of the second transmitting STA (see paragraphs 159, 161-162: outside MLE, all APs indicated by bitmap, not individually identified).
Guo as applied above is not explicit as to, but Hong teaches requesting the same partial information for all transmitting STAs (see paragraphs 201, 207: information for all links, partial (not redundant) information).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to avoid transmitting redundant information as in Hong when implementing the method of Guo. The motivation would be to reduce overhead.
For Claim 7, Guo teaches a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
receiving, by a transmitting multi-link device (MLD), a Multi-Link (ML) probe request frame from a receiving MLD through a first link (see abstract); and
transmitting, by the transmitting MLD, an ML probe response frame to the receiving MLD through the first link (see paragraphs 10, 109),
wherein the transmitting MLD includes a first transmitting station (STA) operating on the first link and a second transmitting STA operating on a second link (see Figures 3a-b, paragraphs 87-88),
wherein the receiving MLD includes a first receiving STA operating on the first link and a second receiving STA operating on the second link (see Figures 3a-b, paragraphs 87-88),
wherein the ML probe request frame includes a first frame body and a probe request ML element (see paragraphs 119, 162), and
wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body includes a first request element, and the probe request ML element does not include a profile subelement of the second transmitting STA (see paragraphs 159, 161-162: outside MLE, all APs indicated by bitmap, not individually identified).
Guo as applied above is not explicit as to, but Hong teaches requesting the same partial information for all transmitting STAs (see paragraphs 201, 207: information for all links, partial (not redundant) information).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to avoid transmitting redundant information as in Hong when implementing the method of Guo. The motivation would be to reduce overhead.
For Claims 2 and 8, Guo as modified by Hong above further teaches the method, wherein the transmitting MLD further includes a third transmitting STA operating on a third link (see paragraphs 85, 98: more links and stations),
wherein the receiving MLD further includes a third receiving STA operating on the third link (see paragraphs 85, 98: more links and stations),
wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same partial information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body includes the first request element, and the probe request ML element does not include a profile subelement of the third transmitting STA (see paragraphs 159, 161-162: outside MLE, all APs indicated by bitmap, not individually identified; with redundancy avoided as in Hong).
For Claims 3 and 9, Guo as applied above is not explicit as to, but Hong teaches the method, wherein the ML probe response frame includes a second frame body and a basic ML element (see paragraph 201),
wherein the second frame body includes a second request element (see paragraph 201),
wherein the second request element includes a value for partial information requested by the first request element (see paragraph 201).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide for efficient transmission of information as in Hong when implementing the method of Guo. The motivation would be to reduce overhead.
For Claims 4 and 10, Guo as applied above is not explicit as to, but Hong teaches the method, wherein the basic ML element includes profile subelements of the second and third transmitting STA (see paragraph 201: per STA provides provided),
wherein the profile subelement of the second transmitting STA includes a value for the partial information requested by the first request element (see paragraph 201: per STA provides provided),
wherein the profile subelement of the third transmitting STA includes a value for the partial information requested by the first request element (see paragraph 201: per STA provides provided).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide for efficient transmission of information as in Hong when implementing the method of Guo. The motivation would be to reduce overhead.
For Claims 5 and 11, Guo as applied above is not explicit as to, but Hong teaches the method, wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same complete information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body does not include the first request element (see paragraph 200).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide for efficient transmission of information as in Hong when implementing the method of Guo. The motivation would be to reduce overhead.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12113880. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each teaches matter found in the other.
For Claim 1, Claim 1 of 12113880 teaches a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
transmitting, by a receiving multi-link device (MLD), a Multi-Link (ML) probe request frame to a transmitting MLD through a first link; and
receiving, by the receiving MLD, an ML probe response frame from the transmitting MLD through the first link,
wherein the transmitting MLD includes a first transmitting station (STA) operating on the first link and a second transmitting STA operating on a second link,
wherein the receiving MLD includes a first receiving STA operating on the first link and a second receiving STA operating on the second link,
wherein the ML probe request frame includes a first frame body and a probe request ML element, and
wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same partial information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body includes a first request element, and the probe request ML element does not include a profile subelement of the second transmitting STA.
For Claim 2, Claim 2 of 12113880 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting MLD further includes a third transmitting STA operating on a third link,
wherein the receiving MLD further includes a third receiving STA operating on the third link,
wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same partial information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body includes the first request element, and the probe request ML element does not include a profile subelement of the third transmitting STA.
For Claim 3, Claim 3 of 12113880 teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the ML probe response frame includes a second frame body and a basic ML element,
wherein the second frame body includes a second request element,
wherein the second request element includes a value for partial information requested by the first request element.
For Claim 4, Claim 4 of 12113880 teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the basic ML element includes profile subelements of the second and third transmitting STA,
wherein the profile subelement of the second transmitting STA includes a value for the partial information requested by the first request element,
wherein the profile subelement of the third transmitting STA includes a value for the partial information requested by the first request element.
For Claim 5, Claim 5 of 12113880 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same complete information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body does not include the first request element.
For Claim 6, Claim 6 of 12113880 teaches a receiving multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the receiving MLD comprising:
a memory; a transceiver; and a processor being operatively connected to the memory and the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to:
transmit a Multi-Link (ML) probe request frame to a transmitting MLD through a first link; and
receive an ML probe response frame from the transmitting MLD through the first link,
wherein the transmitting MLD includes a first transmitting station (STA) operating on the first link and a second transmitting STA operating on a second link,
wherein the receiving MLD includes a first receiving STA operating on the first link and a second receiving STA operating on the second link,
wherein the ML probe request frame includes a first frame body and a probe request ML element, and
wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same partial information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body includes a first request element, and the probe request ML element does not include a profile subelement of the second transmitting STA.
For Claim 7, Claim 7 of 12113880 teaches a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
receiving, by a transmitting multi-link device (MLD), a Multi-Link (ML) probe request frame from a receiving MLD through a first link; and
transmitting, by the transmitting MLD, an ML probe response frame to the receiving MLD through the first link,
wherein the transmitting MLD includes a first transmitting station (STA) operating on the first link and a second transmitting STA operating on a second link,
wherein the receiving MLD includes a first receiving STA operating on the first link and a second receiving STA operating on the second link,
wherein the ML probe request frame includes a first frame body and a probe request ML element, and
wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same partial information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body includes a first request element, and the probe request ML element does not include a profile subelement of the second transmitting STA.
For Claim 8, Claim 8 of 12113880 teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the transmitting MLD further includes a third transmitting STA operating on a third link,
wherein the receiving MLD further includes a third receiving STA operating on the third link,
wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same partial information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body includes the first request element, and the probe request ML element does not include a profile subelement of the third transmitting STA.
For Claim 9, Claim 9 of 12113880 teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the ML probe response frame includes a second frame body and a basic ML element,
wherein the second frame body includes a second request element,
wherein the second request element includes a value for partial information requested by the first request element.
For Claim 10, Claim 10 of 12113880 teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the basic ML element includes profile subelements of the second and third transmitting STA,
wherein the profile subelement of the second transmitting STA includes a value for the partial information requested by the first request element,
wherein the profile subelement of the third transmitting STA includes a value for the partial information requested by the first request element.
For Claim 11, Claim 11 of 121138880 teaches the method of claim 7, wherein when the first receiving STA requests the same complete information for all transmitting STAs, the first frame body does not include the first request element.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chu et al. (US 2021/0314846) taches a system in which a multilink device uses a probe request frame to request partial information of another device.
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 7/31/2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466