DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the Application filed on 09/16/2024 claims 1-30 are pending wherein claims of which 1, 16, 29 are recited in independent form.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, without importing limitations from the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is only limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked and is otherwise given the broadest reasonable interpretation. The Examiner has not identified any language which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, therefore the limitations will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation, without importing limitations from the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claims recites limitations which reflect the functionality of determining an estimated distance from the wireless communication device to the RFID tag based on a plurality of measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal. The language of the claim fails to particularly point out or distinctly claim that which the Applicant regards as the invention as this language is unclear which measurements are carried out on the
continuous backscatter signal in order to estimate the distance. It appears to the Examiner from the title and the field of disclosure that the distance measurements are based on phase measurements. The same objection applies to the corresponding features of the corresponding
independent method claim 16 and independent computer-readable medium claim 29. The features of claims 2-15, 17-28 and 30 depend from claims 1, 16, 29 and add not features which materially address the issue with the limitations noted above. Therefore the claims are also rejected for the same reasons as claims 1, 16, 29, due to inheriting the limitations by virtue of dependence thereon.
Regarding claims 2, and 17, the claims recite limitations which reflect the continuous backscatter signal is indicative of a plurality of preamble symbols included in a response transmitted from the RFID tag to the wireless communication device. The limitation reflects the functionality of that in a response transmitted from the RFID tag to the wireless communication device used in this feature leads to confusion, since it makes unclear whether the backscatter signal is the response transmitted or said response is a further transmitted signal, whose transmission time is unknown to the reader. From the limitations noted above one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of the claims because it is unclear whether backscatter signal being indicative of a plurality of symbols means that it comprises the plurality of symbols.
Regarding claims 14, and 28 as to the limitation “The wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein: relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal; the pilot tone is a single pilot tone transmitted between the wireless communication device and the RFID tag; and the at least one processor is configured to obtain the plurality of relative phase measurements within a single pilot tone period associated with the single
pilot tone.” This limitation of claim 1 defines that the pilot tone is transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies. The language of the claim fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim how is possible that the pilot tone is a single pilot tone. The same Rejection applies to the corresponding features of the corresponding
method claim 28 as similar limitations are also present in claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 10-13, 15-16, 19-20, 25-27, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2019190903 to Li et al (hereinafter d1) in view of US-7830262 to Diorio et al (hereafter d2).
Regarding claim 1, as to the limitations “A wireless communication device for wireless communications, the wireless communication device comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:” d1 discloses the wireless communication device comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (fig. 1, 110; p.13, lines 10-14) for wireless communications, the wireless communication device comprising: at least one memory (fig. 11, 1102); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (fig. 11, 1101), method (see d1 Figs. 3, 8) and computer readable medium (see d1 p.9 lines 18-24).
As to the limitation “determine a frequency hopping configuration corresponding to a plurality of frequency hops between a plurality of carrier frequencies; transmit a continuous carrier signal to a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, wherein the continuous carrier signal comprises a pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies; receive, from the RFID tag, a continuous backscatter signal including a corresponding reflection of the pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies; and determine an estimated distance from the wireless communication device to the RFID tag based on a plurality of measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal”d1 discloses A wireless communication device (fig. 1, 110; p.13, lines 10-14) for wireless communications, the wireless communication device comprising: at least one memory (fig. 11, 1102); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (fig. 11, 1101) and configured to: determine a frequency hopping configuration (obvious from p. 12 line 28-p.13 line 2) corresponding to a plurality of frequency hops between a plurality of carrier frequencies; transmit (p.13 line 15-23) a continuous carrier signal to a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag (120-1), wherein the continuous carrier signal comprises a pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies (p.14 line 30-p.15 line 5); receive (p.13 lines 10-14: 'For purposes of clarity, hereinbelow the functionality of RFID detectors 100 will generally be presumed to be only within such RFID detectors 100. However, one of ordinary skill in the art will readily recognize that such functionality may be implemented as well in RFID reader 110. For purposes herein, such RFID reader 110, when employing the functionality of RFID detector 100, may be considered to be one of RFID detectors 100. From the RFID tag, a continuous backscatter signal including a corresponding reflection of the pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies (p.14 lines 25-29); and determine (p.19 lines 16-18; p.25 lines 1-29) an estimated distance from the wireless communication device to the RFID tag based on a plurality of measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal. The disclosure appears to meet all the limitations of the claim question under BRI of the limitations.
However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication, further suggests Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) systems typically include RFID tags and RFID readers. RFID readers are also known as RFID reader/writers or RFID interrogators. RFID systems can be used in many ways for locating and identifying objects to which the tags are attached. RFID systems are particularly useful in product-related and service-related industries for tracking objects being processed, inventoried, or handled. In such cases, an RFID tag is usually attached to an individual item, or to its package. In principle, RFID techniques entail using an RFID reader to interrogate one or more RFID tags. The reader transmitting a Radio Frequency (RF) wave performs the interrogation. The RF wave is typically electromagnetic, at least in the far field. The RF wave can also be predominantly electric or magnetic in the near field. A tag that senses the interrogating RF wave responds by transmitting back another RF wave. The tag generates the transmitted back RF wave either originally, or by reflecting back a portion of the interrogating RF wave in a process known as backscatter. Backscatter may take place in a number of ways (see col. 4 lines 39-46). In operation, a signal is received by the antenna, and communicated to IC 224. IC 224 both harvests power, and responds if appropriate, based on the incoming signal and its internal state. In order to respond by replying, IC 224 modulates the reflectance of the antenna, which generates the backscatter from a wave transmitted by the reader. Coupling together and uncoupling the antenna ports of IC 224 can modulate the reflectance, as can a variety of other means. In terms of actual technical behavior, during interval 312, reader 110 talks to tag 120 as follows. According to block 352, reader 110 transmits wave 112, which was first described in FIG. 1. At the same time, according to block 362, tag 120 receives wave 112 and processes it, to extract data and so on. Meanwhile, according to block 372, tag 120 does not backscatter with its antenna, and according to block 382, reader 110 has no wave to receive from tag 120. During interval 326, tag 120 talks to reader 110 as follows. According to block 356, reader 110 transmits a Continuous Wave (CW), which can be thought of as a carrier signal that ideally encodes no information. As discussed before, this carrier signal serves both to be harvested by tag 120 for its own internal power needs, and also as a wave that tag 120 can backscatter. Indeed, during interval 326, according to block 366, tag 120 does not receive a signal for processing. Instead, according to block 376, tag 120 modulates the CW emitted according to block 356, so as to generate backscatter wave 126. Concurrently, according to block 386, reader 110 receives backscatter wave 126 and processes it. It was described above how reader 110 and tag 120 communicate in terms of time. In addition, communications between reader 110 and tag 120 may be restricted according to frequency. One such restriction is that the available frequency spectrum may be partitioned into divisions that are called channels. Different partitioning manners may be specified by different regulatory jurisdictions and authorities (e.g. FCC in North America, CEPT in Europe, etc.). Reader 110 typically transmits with a transmission spectrum that lies within one channel. In some regulatory jurisdictions the authorities permit aggregating multiple channels into one or more larger channels, but for all practical purposes an aggregate channel can again be considered a single, albeit larger, individual channel. Tag 120 can respond with a backscatter that is modulated directly onto the frequency of the reader's emitted CW, also called baseband backscatter. Alternatively, tag 120 can respond with a backscatter that is modulated onto a frequency, developed by tag 120, that is different from the reader's emitted CW, and this modulated tag frequency is then impressed upon the reader's emitted CW. This second type of backscatter is called subcarrier backscatter. The subcarrier frequency can be within the reader's channel, can straddle the boundaries with the adjacent channel, or can be wholly outside the reader's channel. A driver 830 can send to its respective antenna 840 a driving signal that is in the RF range, which is why connector 835 is typically but not necessarily a coaxial cable. The driving signal causes the antenna 840 to transmit an RF wave 812, which is analogous to RF wave 112 of FIG. 1. In addition, RF wave 826 can be backscattered from the RFID tags, analogous to RF wave 126 of FIG. 1. Backscattered RF wave 826 then ultimately becomes a signal sensed by unit 820. Unit 820 also has other components 850, such as hardware and/or software and/or firmware, which may be described in more detail later in this document. Components 850 control drivers 830, and as such cause RF wave 812 to be transmitted, and the sensed backscattered RF wave 826 to be interpreted. Optionally and preferably there is a communication link 825 to other equipment, such as computers and the like, for remote operation of system 810. Another possible communication parameter whose value is thus established can be the backscatter link frequency, designated as LF or BLF. In communication protocols that are consistent with the Gen2 Spec v.1.1.0 in that regard, the BLF can assume values between 40 kHz and 640 kHz. Another communication parameter whose value can thus be established can be a true/false value of whether or not a pilot tone will also be backscattered. For example, one of the communication parameters can include a pilot tone indication, which indicates whether or not one of the replies should be preceded by a pilot tone. In those cases, the true/false value can be the pilot tone indication. Accordingly, one of the backscattered replies can be preceded by a pilot tone or not, in accordance with the pilot tone indication. In some protocols, the true/false value is a parameter TRextend, which can be defined consistently with the TRext of the Gen2 Spec v.1.1.0 in that regard. One more possible communication parameter whose value is thus established can relate to the duration of symbols. For example, the inventorying commands from the reader can be encoded in terms of at least a first symbol for data-0, and a second symbol for data-1. So, in some embodiments, one of the communication parameters can indicate the duration of the first or the second symbol. In some embodiments, one of the communication parameters can indicate a ratio of durations between the first and the second symbols. These communication parameters can be established in any number of ways. In many embodiments, they are communicated by the reader to the tag according to the applicable protocol. For example, they can be either in a preamble, or in an explicit command. These communication parameters are used by either the commands ultimately transmitted by a reader, as will be explained with reference to operation 1130, or by the replies backscattered by the tags, as will be explained with reference to operation 1140, or both (see d2 col 5 lines 11-31; col. 5 lines 65- col. 6 line 35; col. 8 lines 15-55; col 13 line 3-col. 14 line 2), which are similarly mapped to the limitations of claim 1. Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an manner obvious to a POSITA, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (RFID communication) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve interrogation speed (see d2 col. 2 lines 23-25). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved network performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (RFID implementation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, as to the limitation “The wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the frequency hopping configuration includes timing information for performing the plurality of frequency hops, wherein each frequency hop is between a first carrier frequency and a second carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least includes timing information for performing the plurality of frequency hops, wherein each frequency hop is between a first carrier frequency and a second carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies which is obvious from d1 p.14 line 30-p. 15 line 5 suggesting FHSS, dwell time).
Regarding claim 5, as to the limitation “The wireless communication device of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform each frequency hop at a time associated with a symbol boundary between consecutive symbols included in preamble modulated onto the continuous backscatter signal by the RFID tag” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least to perform each frequency hop at a time associated with a symbol boundary between consecutive symbols included in preamble modulated onto the continuous backscatter signal by the RFID tag which is obvious from the disclosure of d1 regarding alignment of preamble symbols of the backscatter signals with the frequency hops (see d1 p.17 lines 13-29) also discloses the coding of the backscattering signals.
Regarding claim 10, as to the limitation “The wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of measurements comprises a plurality of relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least a plurality of relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal which obvious in the disclosure of phase measurement and backscatter (see d1 p.23 lines 4-67).
Regarding claim 11, as to the limitation “The wireless communication device of claim 10, wherein the estimated distance is determined using phase-based ranging and the plurality of relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least distance determined using phase-based ranging and the plurality of relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal in the disclosure of d1 p. 19 lines 16-18, p. 25 lines 1-29.
Regarding claim 12, as to the limitation “The wireless communication device of claim 11, wherein each relative phase measurement of the plurality of relative phase measurements comprises a phase change measurement between a transmitted phase associated with the pilot tone transmitted on a particular carrier frequency and a received phase associated with the reflection of the pilot tone transmitted on the particular carrier frequency” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least a phase change measurement between a transmitted phase associated with the pilot tone transmitted on a particular carrier frequency and a received phase associated with the reflection of the pilot tone transmitted on the particular carrier frequency by the disclosure of d1 p. 19 lines 16-18, p. 25 lines 1-29.
Regarding claim 13, as to the limitation “The wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the continuous carrier signal, the at least one processor is configured to successively transmit the pilot tone on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies” d1 in view of d2 suggests successively transmit the pilot tone on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies which is obvious from the disclosure of d1 in p.14 lines 30 p. 15 line 15,
Regarding claim 15, as to the limitation “The wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication device comprises an RFID reader device configured to transmit and receive RFID signals” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least RFID reader device configured to transmit and receive RFID signals (see d1 fig.1, 110; p.13 lines 10-14).
Regarding claim 16, as to the limitations “A method for wireless communications, the method comprising:” d1 discloses the wireless communication device comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (fig. 1, 110; p.13, lines 10-14) for wireless communications, the wireless communication device comprising: at least one memory (fig. 11, 1102); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (fig. 11, 1101), method (see d1 Figs. 3, 8) and computer readable medium (see d1 p.9 lines 18-24).
As to the limitation “determining a frequency hopping configuration corresponding to a plurality of frequency hops between a plurality of carrier frequencies; transmitting a continuous carrier signal to a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, wherein the continuous carrier signal comprises a pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies; receiving, from the RFID tag, a continuous backscatter signal including a corresponding reflection of the pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies; and determining an estimated distance from a wireless communication device to the RFID tag based on a plurality of measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal”d1 discloses A wireless communication device (fig. 1, 110; p.13, lines 10-14) for wireless communications, the wireless communication device comprising: at least one memory (fig. 11, 1102); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (fig. 11, 1101) and configured to: determine a frequency hopping configuration (obvious from p. 12 line 28-p.13 line 2) corresponding to a plurality of frequency hops between a plurality of carrier frequencies; transmit (p.13 line 15-23) a continuous carrier signal to a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag (120-1), wherein the continuous carrier signal comprises a pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies (p.14 line 30-p.15 line 5); receive (p.13 lines 10-14: 'For purposes of clarity, hereinbelow the functionality of RFID detectors 100 will generally be presumed to be only within such RFID detectors 100. However, one of ordinary skill in the art will readily recognize that such functionality may be implemented as well in RFID reader 110. For purposes herein, such RFID reader 110, when employing the functionality of RFID detector 100, may be considered to be one of RFID detectors 100. From the RFID tag, a continuous backscatter signal including a corresponding reflection of the pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies (p.14 lines 25-29); and determine (p.19 lines 16-18; p.25 lines 1-29) an estimated distance from the wireless communication device to the RFID tag based on a plurality of measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal. The disclosure appears to meet all the limitations of the claim question under BRI of the limitations.
However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication, further suggests Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) systems typically include RFID tags and RFID readers. RFID readers are also known as RFID reader/writers or RFID interrogators. RFID systems can be used in many ways for locating and identifying objects to which the tags are attached. RFID systems are particularly useful in product-related and service-related industries for tracking objects being processed, inventoried, or handled. In such cases, an RFID tag is usually attached to an individual item, or to its package. In principle, RFID techniques entail using an RFID reader to interrogate one or more RFID tags. The reader transmitting a Radio Frequency (RF) wave performs the interrogation. The RF wave is typically electromagnetic, at least in the far field. The RF wave can also be predominantly electric or magnetic in the near field. A tag that senses the interrogating RF wave responds by transmitting back another RF wave. The tag generates the transmitted back RF wave either originally, or by reflecting back a portion of the interrogating RF wave in a process known as backscatter. Backscatter may take place in a number of ways (see col. 4 lines 39-46). In operation, a signal is received by the antenna, and communicated to IC 224. IC 224 both harvests power, and responds if appropriate, based on the incoming signal and its internal state. In order to respond by replying, IC 224 modulates the reflectance of the antenna, which generates the backscatter from a wave transmitted by the reader. Coupling together and uncoupling the antenna ports of IC 224 can modulate the reflectance, as can a variety of other means. In terms of actual technical behavior, during interval 312, reader 110 talks to tag 120 as follows. According to block 352, reader 110 transmits wave 112, which was first described in FIG. 1. At the same time, according to block 362, tag 120 receives wave 112 and processes it, to extract data and so on. Meanwhile, according to block 372, tag 120 does not backscatter with its antenna, and according to block 382, reader 110 has no wave to receive from tag 120. During interval 326, tag 120 talks to reader 110 as follows. According to block 356, reader 110 transmits a Continuous Wave (CW), which can be thought of as a carrier signal that ideally encodes no information. As discussed before, this carrier signal serves both to be harvested by tag 120 for its own internal power needs, and also as a wave that tag 120 can backscatter. Indeed, during interval 326, according to block 366, tag 120 does not receive a signal for processing. Instead, according to block 376, tag 120 modulates the CW emitted according to block 356, so as to generate backscatter wave 126. Concurrently, according to block 386, reader 110 receives backscatter wave 126 and processes it. It was described above how reader 110 and tag 120 communicate in terms of time. In addition, communications between reader 110 and tag 120 may be restricted according to frequency. One such restriction is that the available frequency spectrum may be partitioned into divisions that are called channels. Different partitioning manners may be specified by different regulatory jurisdictions and authorities (e.g. FCC in North America, CEPT in Europe, etc.). Reader 110 typically transmits with a transmission spectrum that lies within one channel. In some regulatory jurisdictions the authorities permit aggregating multiple channels into one or more larger channels, but for all practical purposes an aggregate channel can again be considered a single, albeit larger, individual channel. Tag 120 can respond with a backscatter that is modulated directly onto the frequency of the reader's emitted CW, also called baseband backscatter. Alternatively, tag 120 can respond with a backscatter that is modulated onto a frequency, developed by tag 120, that is different from the reader's emitted CW, and this modulated tag frequency is then impressed upon the reader's emitted CW. This second type of backscatter is called subcarrier backscatter. The subcarrier frequency can be within the reader's channel, can straddle the boundaries with the adjacent channel, or can be wholly outside the reader's channel. A driver 830 can send to its respective antenna 840 a driving signal that is in the RF range, which is why connector 835 is typically but not necessarily a coaxial cable. The driving signal causes the antenna 840 to transmit an RF wave 812, which is analogous to RF wave 112 of FIG. 1. In addition, RF wave 826 can be backscattered from the RFID tags, analogous to RF wave 126 of FIG. 1. Backscattered RF wave 826 then ultimately becomes a signal sensed by unit 820. Unit 820 also has other components 850, such as hardware and/or software and/or firmware, which may be described in more detail later in this document. Components 850 control drivers 830, and as such cause RF wave 812 to be transmitted, and the sensed backscattered RF wave 826 to be interpreted. Optionally and preferably there is a communication link 825 to other equipment, such as computers and the like, for remote operation of system 810. Another possible communication parameter whose value is thus established can be the backscatter link frequency, designated as LF or BLF. In communication protocols that are consistent with the Gen2 Spec v.1.1.0 in that regard, the BLF can assume values between 40 kHz and 640 kHz. Another communication parameter whose value can thus be established can be a true/false value of whether or not a pilot tone will also be backscattered. For example, one of the communication parameters can include a pilot tone indication, which indicates whether or not one of the replies should be preceded by a pilot tone. In those cases, the true/false value can be the pilot tone indication. Accordingly, one of the backscattered replies can be preceded by a pilot tone or not, in accordance with the pilot tone indication. In some protocols, the true/false value is a parameter TRextend, which can be defined consistently with the TRext of the Gen2 Spec v.1.1.0 in that regard. One more possible communication parameter whose value is thus established can relate to the duration of symbols. For example, the inventorying commands from the reader can be encoded in terms of at least a first symbol for data-0, and a second symbol for data-1. So, in some embodiments, one of the communication parameters can indicate the duration of the first or the second symbol. In some embodiments, one of the communication parameters can indicate a ratio of durations between the first and the second symbols. These communication parameters can be established in any number of ways. In many embodiments, they are communicated by the reader to the tag according to the applicable protocol. For example, they can be either in a preamble, or in an explicit command. These communication parameters are used by either the commands ultimately transmitted by a reader, as will be explained with reference to operation 1130, or by the replies backscattered by the tags, as will be explained with reference to operation 1140, or both (see d2 col 5 lines 11-31; col. 5 lines 65- col. 6 line 35; col. 8 lines 15-55; col 13 line 3-col. 14 line 2), which are similarly mapped to the limitations of claim 1. Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an manner obvious to a POSITA, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (RFID communication) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve interrogation speed (see d2 col. 2 lines 23-25). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved network performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (RFID implementation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, as to the limitation “The method of claim 16, wherein the frequency hopping configuration includes timing information for performing the plurality of frequency hops, wherein each frequency hop is between a first carrier frequency and a second carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least includes timing information for performing the plurality of frequency hops, wherein each frequency hop is between a first carrier frequency and a second carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies which is obvious from d1 p.14 line 30-p. 15 line 5 suggesting FHSS, dwell time).
Regarding claim 20, as to the limitation “The method of claim 19, further comprising performing each frequency hop at a time associated with a symbol boundary between consecutive symbols included in preamble modulated onto the continuous backscatter signal by the RFID tag” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least to perform each frequency hop at a time associated with a symbol boundary between consecutive symbols included in preamble modulated onto the continuous backscatter signal by the RFID tag which is obvious from the disclosure of d1 regarding alignment of preamble symbols of the backscatter signals with the frequency hops (see d1 p.17 lines 13-29) also discloses the coding of the backscattering signals.
Regarding claim 25, as to the limitation “The method of claim 16, wherein the plurality of measurements comprises a plurality of relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least a plurality of relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal which obvious in the disclosure of phase measurement and backscatter (see d1 p.23 lines 4-67).
Regarding claim 26, as to the limitation “The method of claim 25, wherein the estimated distance is determined using phase-based ranging and the plurality of relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least distance determined using phase-based ranging and the plurality of relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal in the disclosure of d1 p. 19 lines 16-18, p. 25 lines 1-29.
Regarding claim 27, as to the limitation “The method of claim 26, wherein each relative phase measurement of the plurality of relative phase measurements comprises a phase change measurement between a transmitted phase associated with the pilot tone transmitted on a particular carrier frequency and a received phase associated with the reflection of the pilot tone transmitted on the particular carrier frequency” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least a phase change measurement between a transmitted phase associated with the pilot tone transmitted on a particular carrier frequency and a received phase associated with the reflection of the pilot tone transmitted on the particular carrier frequency by the disclosure of d1 p. 19 lines 16-18, p. 25 lines 1-29.
Regarding claim 29, as to the limitations “A non-transitory computer-readable medium having code stored thereon that, when executed by an apparatus, causes the apparatus to:” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Figs. 3, 5) comprising at least devices fairly characterized as network nodes as well as network entities, wherein the nodes and entities comprise well known elements including a memory; and one or more processors implemented in circuitry, wherein the one or more processors are communicatively coupled to the memory (see d1 Fig. 10), and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node/entity to execute methods (see d1 Figs. 11 and 12);
As to the limitation “determine a frequency hopping configuration corresponding to a plurality of frequency hops between a plurality of carrier frequencies; transmit a continuous carrier signal to a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, wherein the continuous carrier signal comprises a pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies; receive, from the RFID tag, a continuous backscatter signal including a corresponding reflection of the pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies; and determine an estimated distance from the apparatus to the RFID tag based on a plurality of measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal”d1 discloses A wireless communication device (fig. 1, 110; p.13, lines 10-14) for wireless communications, the wireless communication device comprising: at least one memory (fig. 11, 1102); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (fig. 11, 1101) and configured to: determine a frequency hopping configuration (obvious from p. 12 line 28-p.13 line 2) corresponding to a plurality of frequency hops between a plurality of carrier frequencies; transmit (p.13 line 15-23) a continuous carrier signal to a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag (120-1), wherein the continuous carrier signal comprises a pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies (p.14 line 30-p.15 line 5); receive (p.13 lines 10-14: 'For purposes of clarity, hereinbelow the functionality of RFID detectors 100 will generally be presumed to be only within such RFID detectors 100. However, one of ordinary skill in the art will readily recognize that such functionality may be implemented as well in RFID reader 110. For purposes herein, such RFID reader 110, when employing the functionality of RFID detector 100, may be considered to be one of RFID detectors 100. From the RFID tag, a continuous backscatter signal including a corresponding reflection of the pilot tone transmitted on each respective carrier frequency of the plurality of carrier frequencies (p.14 lines 25-29); and determine (p.19 lines 16-18; p.25 lines 1-29) an estimated distance from the wireless communication device to the RFID tag based on a plurality of measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal. The disclosure appears to meet all the limitations of the claim question under BRI of the limitations.
However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication, further suggests Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) systems typically include RFID tags and RFID readers. RFID readers are also known as RFID reader/writers or RFID interrogators. RFID systems can be used in many ways for locating and identifying objects to which the tags are attached. RFID systems are particularly useful in product-related and service-related industries for tracking objects being processed, inventoried, or handled. In such cases, an RFID tag is usually attached to an individual item, or to its package. In principle, RFID techniques entail using an RFID reader to interrogate one or more RFID tags. The reader transmitting a Radio Frequency (RF) wave performs the interrogation. The RF wave is typically electromagnetic, at least in the far field. The RF wave can also be predominantly electric or magnetic in the near field. A tag that senses the interrogating RF wave responds by transmitting back another RF wave. The tag generates the transmitted back RF wave either originally, or by reflecting back a portion of the interrogating RF wave in a process known as backscatter. Backscatter may take place in a number of ways (see col. 4 lines 39-46). In operation, a signal is received by the antenna, and communicated to IC 224. IC 224 both harvests power, and responds if appropriate, based on the incoming signal and its internal state. In order to respond by replying, IC 224 modulates the reflectance of the antenna, which generates the backscatter from a wave transmitted by the reader. Coupling together and uncoupling the antenna ports of IC 224 can modulate the reflectance, as can a variety of other means. In terms of actual technical behavior, during interval 312, reader 110 talks to tag 120 as follows. According to block 352, reader 110 transmits wave 112, which was first described in FIG. 1. At the same time, according to block 362, tag 120 receives wave 112 and processes it, to extract data and so on. Meanwhile, according to block 372, tag 120 does not backscatter with its antenna, and according to block 382, reader 110 has no wave to receive from tag 120. During interval 326, tag 120 talks to reader 110 as follows. According to block 356, reader 110 transmits a Continuous Wave (CW), which can be thought of as a carrier signal that ideally encodes no information. As discussed before, this carrier signal serves both to be harvested by tag 120 for its own internal power needs, and also as a wave that tag 120 can backscatter. Indeed, during interval 326, according to block 366, tag 120 does not receive a signal for processing. Instead, according to block 376, tag 120 modulates the CW emitted according to block 356, so as to generate backscatter wave 126. Concurrently, according to block 386, reader 110 receives backscatter wave 126 and processes it. It was described above how reader 110 and tag 120 communicate in terms of time. In addition, communications between reader 110 and tag 120 may be restricted according to frequency. One such restriction is that the available frequency spectrum may be partitioned into divisions that are called channels. Different partitioning manners may be specified by different regulatory jurisdictions and authorities (e.g. FCC in North America, CEPT in Europe, etc.). Reader 110 typically transmits with a transmission spectrum that lies within one channel. In some regulatory jurisdictions the authorities permit aggregating multiple channels into one or more larger channels, but for all practical purposes an aggregate channel can again be considered a single, albeit larger, individual channel. Tag 120 can respond with a backscatter that is modulated directly onto the frequency of the reader's emitted CW, also called baseband backscatter. Alternatively, tag 120 can respond with a backscatter that is modulated onto a frequency, developed by tag 120, that is different from the reader's emitted CW, and this modulated tag frequency is then impressed upon the reader's emitted CW. This second type of backscatter is called subcarrier backscatter. The subcarrier frequency can be within the reader's channel, can straddle the boundaries with the adjacent channel, or can be wholly outside the reader's channel. A driver 830 can send to its respective antenna 840 a driving signal that is in the RF range, which is why connector 835 is typically but not necessarily a coaxial cable. The driving signal causes the antenna 840 to transmit an RF wave 812, which is analogous to RF wave 112 of FIG. 1. In addition, RF wave 826 can be backscattered from the RFID tags, analogous to RF wave 126 of FIG. 1. Backscattered RF wave 826 then ultimately becomes a signal sensed by unit 820. Unit 820 also has other components 850, such as hardware and/or software and/or firmware, which may be described in more detail later in this document. Components 850 control drivers 830, and as such cause RF wave 812 to be transmitted, and the sensed backscattered RF wave 826 to be interpreted. Optionally and preferably there is a communication link 825 to other equipment, such as computers and the like, for remote operation of system 810. Another possible communication parameter whose value is thus established can be the backscatter link frequency, designated as LF or BLF. In communication protocols that are consistent with the Gen2 Spec v.1.1.0 in that regard, the BLF can assume values between 40 kHz and 640 kHz. Another communication parameter whose value can thus be established can be a true/false value of whether or not a pilot tone will also be backscattered. For example, one of the communication parameters can include a pilot tone indication, which indicates whether or not one of the replies should be preceded by a pilot tone. In those cases, the true/false value can be the pilot tone indication. Accordingly, one of the backscattered replies can be preceded by a pilot tone or not, in accordance with the pilot tone indication. In some protocols, the true/false value is a parameter TRextend, which can be defined consistently with the TRext of the Gen2 Spec v.1.1.0 in that regard. One more possible communication parameter whose value is thus established can relate to the duration of symbols. For example, the inventorying commands from the reader can be encoded in terms of at least a first symbol for data-0, and a second symbol for data-1. So, in some embodiments, one of the communication parameters can indicate the duration of the first or the second symbol. In some embodiments, one of the communication parameters can indicate a ratio of durations between the first and the second symbols. These communication parameters can be established in any number of ways. In many embodiments, they are communicated by the reader to the tag according to the applicable protocol. For example, they can be either in a preamble, or in an explicit command. These communication parameters are used by either the commands ultimately transmitted by a reader, as will be explained with reference to operation 1130, or by the replies backscattered by the tags, as will be explained with reference to operation 1140, or both (see d2 col 5 lines 11-31; col. 5 lines 65- col. 6 line 35; col. 8 lines 15-55; col 13 line 3-col. 14 line 2), which are similarly mapped to the limitations of claim 1. Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an manner obvious to a POSITA, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (RFID communication) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve interrogation speed (see d2 col. 2 lines 23-25). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved network performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (RFID implementation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 30, as to the limitation “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 29, wherein the plurality of measurements comprises a plurality of relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal” d1 in view of d2 suggests at least a plurality of relative phase measurements obtained from the continuous backscatter signal which obvious in the disclosure of phase measurement and backscatter (see d1 p.23 lines 4-67).
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643