DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 13-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-11, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being disclosed by Trivedi et al US 2023/0107968(hereinafter Trivedi).
Regarding claim10, Trivedi discloses a method, comprising: presenting audio video (AV) content at a device; receiving a command to replay a portion of the AV content(fig. 10, [0130], receive a command to replay a portion of a content item); and responsive to receiving the command, replaying the portion of the AV content from a previous playback position and also taking at least one other action related to presentation of the AV content from the previous playback position, wherein the command is a command to revert to playback of the AV content a preset number of time increments before a current playback position([0130], [0136], playback setting applied to portion of the content to be replayed at a slower playback speed and user consumes the portion at the set playback speed, fig. 10 step 1050,1060).
Regarding claim11, Trivedi discloses the method of claim10, comprising: receiving input from a microphone ([0076], user may utter instruction); based on the input, identifying speech, from a user, indicating a lack of understanding about spoken words from audio of the AV content([0021], [0048], the user's proficiency level is tied to the command to replay a segment); and based on identifying the speech, taking the at least one other action related to presentation of the AV content from the previous playback position([0048], after a replay command, the content can be replayed back in English and/or the English subtitles can be displayed).
Regarding claim13, Trivedi discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein the at least one other action comprises presenting text corresponding to spoken words from audio of the AV content ([0023], [0161], system generates for display text associated with portion of the content item).
Regarding claim15, Trivedi discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein the at least one other action comprises slowing down presentation of the AV content from a real-time playback speed to a slower playback speed0([136], playback setting applied to portion of the content to be replayed at a slower playback speed and user consumes the portion at the set playback speed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trivadi as applied to claims 10-11, 13, 15 above, and further in view of Aoki et al US 2010/0254551(hereinafter Aoki).
Regarding claim16 ,Trivedi teaches all the limitation of claim10 above but does not teach and Aoki teaches wherein the at least one other action comprises boosting the volume of audio of the AV content in frequencies that are in one or more human voice frequency ranges, the boosting being from a first volume level at which audio in the one or more human voice frequency ranges was presented prior to receipt of the command to a second volume level that is higher than the first volume level([0087], the audio signal output is adjusted
by volume increase/decrease and/or inclination increase/decrease of high/low boost (high/low frequency boosting) frequency characteristic reference lines).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to boost the volume of the audio as in Aoki in order to make human voice frequency range more clearly hearable.
Claim18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trivedi et al US 2023/0107968 in view of Wexler et al US 2023/0042310(hereinafter Wexler).
Regarding claim18, Trivedi teaches a method, comprising: presenting audio video (AV) content at a device; receiving a command to replay a portion of the AV content(fig. 10, [0130], receive a command to replay a portion of a content item); and responsive to receiving the command, replaying the portion of the AV content from a previous playback position and also taking at least one other action related to presentation of the AV content from the previous playback position ([0130], [0136], playback setting applied to portion of the content to be replayed at a slower playback speed and user consumes the portion at the set playback speed, fig. 10 step 1050,1060),wherein the at least one other action comprises the use of neural network processing to separate speech from background noise ([0056-0057], classification model used to classify or categorize sound such as loud background noise) but does not teach and Wexler teaches use of neural network processing to separate speech from background noise, and to output the processed speech([0176], pre-trained neural network receives the noisy audio and speakers signature and output an audio of the speaker as extracted from the noisy audio, separated from the other speech or background noise).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to separate from background noise and output the separated speech as in Wexler in order to make the speech easier to listen and understand.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims1-7, 9, 14, 19 are allowed.
GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484