DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species II, figures 3 & 4 and claims 24, 26-28, 30-33, and 38-46 in the reply filed on 8/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner has not identified claim limitations that would yield patentably distinct search or examination paths beyond routine variations expected within the same device architecture, that the separate embodiments aren’t distinct inventions and that no serious search or examination burden exists. This is not found persuasive because at the outset the separate species are distinct and do not share the same device platform, rotatable support frame assembly, foldable dispensing line or even the same reciprocating displacement between use and transport positions. Each of these throughout the species is conceptually and structurally different as evidenced by both applicant’s specification and figures. The idea that these structures can share the same generically sounding designation does not change the fact that the folding boom structure in figures 1 and 2 is entirely different from the folding boom structure in figures 3 and 4 or the folding boom structure in figures 5-7. This is also readily demonstrated in the art as the prior art demonstrated does not teach all of these concepts under one general invention which further demonstrates the existence of a serious search and examination burden. Lastly, the idea of claim 24 being generic also doesn’t change the existence of the distinct species that exist and the dependent claims that are directed to those distinct species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 25, 29 and 34-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33, 39 & 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 33 recites “wherein a plurality of further frame assembly portions…” however claim 32, from which 33 depends, already recites “and further frame assembly portions” and as such it’s unclear if the limitation of claim 33 is meant to refer back to the same “further frame assembly portions” or if these are separate “further frame assembly portions” being recited. As such one having ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is rendered indefinite.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the distance" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the distance” of claim 39 is meant to refer back to “a height” as recited in claim 38 or if this is meant to be an entirely separate aspect of the claimed invention. As such one having ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is rendered indefinite.
Claim 39 recites “the nozzles are held by the downpipes at a height at which said nozzles maintain a spacing of at least 20% of the distance (D) between he lowermost point of the support frame assembly and the surface to be irrigated, measured in the vertical direction from the lowermost point of the support frame assembly and the land area to be irrigated” however the limitation does not make clear what the 20% is in relation to. Specifically, it is unclear if the spacing of at least 20% of the distance between the lowermost point of the support frame assembly and the surface to be irrigated is relative to the support frame assembly or relative to the ground. For example, if the distance between the frame assembly and the ground was to be 5 feet, 20% would be 1 foot, and it is unclear if the nozzles need to be 1 foot down from the frame assembly or 1 foot up from the ground. Stating that this is “measured in the vertical direction from the lowermost point of the support frame assembly and the land area to be irrigated” does not make this clear as the 1 foot from the provided example would be measured as such regardless. As such one having ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is rendered indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 42 recites the broad recitation “below a value of 3 bar,” and the claim also recites “in particular below a value of 2 bar” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24, 26-28, 32 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eriksen et al. (DE 4013992 A1).
Re claim 24, Eriksen et al. show a self-propelled device (Figs. 1-7) for irrigating land areas comprising of a: frame (2/6);
a running gear (4);
a drive device (8);
a water supply (col. 2, lines 41-43) which has a supply hose (14) which is at least partially wound on a rotatably mounted hose drum (12) and which is connected to a water inlet at a first end, and to a dispensing line (32/32’) that is rotatably mounted and connected to the water supply at a second end, and having a number of nozzles (34) for irrigating land areas, which are connected to the dispensing line (32/32’) and disposed at a mutual spacing, wherein the dispensing line (32/32’) is designed to be foldable (col. 2, lines 48-57) and is fastened to a support frame assembly (16) which is designed to be foldable (col. 2, lines 48-57) and is mounted (at 18) on the self-propelled device and rotatably connected (col. 2, lines 48-57) to the self-propelled device, the support frame assembly (16) in the use position (Figs. 6 & 7) being held in a plane above (Fig. 7) the hose drum (12), the dispensing line (32/32’) and the support frame assembly (16) being displaceable in a reciprocating manner between a use position (Figs. 6 & 7) and a transport position (Fig. 1), and the support frame assembly (16) for driving being operatively connected to a drive (82) by way of which the support frame assembly (16) is able to be rotationally driven.
Re claim 26, Eriksen et al. show the hose drum (12) is mounted so as to be rotatable a rotational axis which is aligned transversely to the direction of movement of the device in the frame (2/6) of the device.
Re claim 27, Eriksen et al. show the hose drum (12) for driving is operatively connected to a motorized drive (8/38).
Re claim 28, Eriksen et al. show the dispensing line (32/32’) is designed as a flexible hose.
Re claim 32, Eriksen et al. show the support frame assembly (16) so as to be distributed across its working width has a plurality of frame assembly portions (16, 16’, 50, 52, 54) which are connected to one another by joints (18/70), the support frame assembly (16) having a central frame assembly portion (50, 52) which extends at least approximately parallel to and spaced apart from the rotational axis of the hose drum (12), the width of said central frame assembly portion (50, 52) corresponding at least approximately to the width of the hose drum (12), and further frame assembly portions (16, 16’) which in their transport position (Fig. 1) rest laterally on the hose drum (12) in an alignment which is parallel to the direction of travel of the device adjoining the sides of the central frame assembly portion (50, 52) in the direction of transverse extent of the support frame assembly (16).
Re claim 38, Eriksen et al. show the dispensing line (32/32’) by way of branch line connections (72) is connected to a plurality of nozzles (34), which are disposed so as to be distributed across the length of the dispensing line (32/32’), a downpipe (see annotated figure) being in each case disposed between the branch line connections (72) and the respective nozzles (34) connected thereto, by way of which downpipe (see annotated figure) the nozzle (34) connected thereto is held at a height that is located between the lowermost point of the support frame assembly (16) and the land area to be irrigated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksen et al. (DE 4013992 A1) in view of Ivemy (GB 2056239 A).
Re claim 30, Eriksen et al. disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach at least part of the support frame assembly is foldable from the use position downward to the transport position, and from the transport position upward back to the use position, by means of a corresponding folding device.
However, Ivemy shows a propelled device including a support frame assembly (7/8/9) where at least part of the support frame assembly is foldable from the use position downward to the transport position, and from the transport position upward back to the use position (abstract), by means of a corresponding folding device (30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the support frame assembly of Eriksen et al. foldable downward to the transport position and upward back to the use position as taught by Ivemy as Eriksen et al. already demonstrates the advantage of a height adjustable system which allows for sprinkling over areas with different heights (Eriksen – col. 3, lines 33-42).
Re claim 31, Eriksen et al. as modified by Ivemy show at least one foldable part of the support structure of the support fame assembly is foldable from its use position downward to a transport position by means of a corresponding folding device (Ivemy – 30).
Claims 39-41 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksen et al. (DE 4013992 A1) in view of Gednalske et al. (US Pub No 2014/0263730 A1).
Re claim 39, Eriksen et al. disclose a height adjustable agricultural spraying device (col. 3, lines 33-42), but does not disclose the nozzles are held by the downpipes at a height at which said nozzles maintain a spacing of at least 20% of the distance (D) between the lowermost point of the support frame assembly and the surface to be irrigated, measured in the vertical direction from the lowermost point of the support frame assembly and the land area to be irrigated.
Gednalske et al. disclose nozzles held by downpipes at a height at which said nozzles maintain a spacing between the lowermost point of the support frame assembly and the surface to be irrigated, measured in the vertical direction from the lowermost point of the support frame assembly and the land area to be irrigated (paragraphs 0089 and 0090).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the boom and downpipes of Eriksen et al. utilize the height taught by Gednalske et al. to reduce spray drift (paragraph 0090).
Further, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a spacing of at least 20% for the distance between the lowermost point of the support frame assembly and the surface to be irrigated since our reviewing courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Re claim 40, Eriksen et al. disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach the downpipes are produced from a flexible plastic material.
However, Gednalske et al. teach downpipes (Fig. 2A, 110) produced from a flexible plastic material (paragraph 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the downpipes of Eriksen et al. be produced from a flexible plastic material as taught by Gednalske et al. to allow for lower spray heights (Gednalske – paragraph 0090).
Re claim 41, Eriksen et al. disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach elastic molded elements are attached about the nozzles.
However, Gednalske et al. teach elastic molded elements (Fig. 2A, 108; paragraph 0055) are attached about the nozzles (115/116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the nozzles of Eriksen et al. include elastic molded elements as taught by Gednalske et al. to reduce wind shear (Gednalske – paragraph 0053).
Re claim 43, Eriksen et al. disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach the device has a pressure control valve by way of which the water pressure in the dispensing line is adjustable.
However, Gednalske et al. show a pressure control valve (Fig. 19, 160) by way of which the water pressure in the dispensing line (228) is adjustable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the system of Eriksen et al. include a valve as taught by Gednalske et al. to selectively vary fluid flow entering or exiting the drop nozzle (Gednalske – paragraph 0074).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksen et al. (DE 4013992 A1) in view of Heusinger et al. (US Pub No 2012/0043401 A1).
Re claim 42, Eriksen et al. disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach the water to be dispensed is ejected from the nozzles at a pressure which is below a value of 3 bar, in particular below a value of 2 bar.
However, Heusinger et al. disclose an agricultural spraying device where the liquid to be dispensed is ejected from the nozzles at a pressure which is below a value of 2 bar (paragraph 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the nozzles of Eriksen et al. set at a dispensing pressure below 2 bar as taught by Heusinger et al. to provide a fixed operating pressure that can be used especially over the entire range of operation (Heusinger – paragraph 0013).
Claims 44-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksen et al. (DE 4013992 A1) in view of Mohr et al. (US Pub No 2020/0288654 A1).
Re claim 44, Eriksen et al. show a rotary feedthrough (col. 2, lines 58-61) for transferring the water provided by the supply hose (14) into the dispensing line (32/32’) are disposed between the second end of the supply hose (14) and the dispensing line (32/32’), of which the first rotary feedthrough (col. 2, lines 58-61) is disposed between the hose drum (12) and a connecting line (26), and whereby the rotary feedthrough (col. 2, lines 58-61) has a seal for the avoidance of water loss in the region of the rotary feedthrough (abstract).
Eriksen et al. does not teach a second rotary feedthrough disposed between the connecting line and the dispensing line.
However, Mohr et al. show a rotary feedthrough (Fig. 11, 225; paragraph 0108) disposed between a connecting line (224) and a dispensing line (11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the system of Eriksen et al. include a rotary feedthrough between the connecting line and the dispensing line as taught by Mohr et al. to ensure a fluid tight connection (Mohr – paragraph 0108).
Re claim 45, Eriksen et al. disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach an electronic controller by way of which the self-propelled device is able to be operated, in particular autonomously.
However, Mohr et al. disclose an electronic controller by way of which the self-propelled device is able to be operated, in particular autonomously (paragraph 0078).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the system of Eriksen et al. include an electronic controller as taught by Mohr et al. to allow for remote control of the device (Mohr – paragraph 0078).
Re claim 46, Eriksen et al. disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach an electric motor is used as the motorized drive.
However, Mohr et al. teach an electric motor (abstract).
The substitution of one known element (motor in Eriksen) for another (electric motor as shown in Mohr) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since the substitution of the electric motor shown in Mohr et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely, a drive means in Eriksen et al. to power the device (Eriksen – col. 2, liens 65-68 through col. 3, lines 1-10).
Conclusion
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752