Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 9, 13 – 22, 24 – 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by
Volkerink US PGPub: US 2022/0300892 A1 Sep. 22, 2022.
Regarding claim 1, 21, 30, Volkerink discloses,
a method and an apparatus of a tracker device (Fig. 22), the tracker device comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions thereon which are executable by one or more processors (a method for detecting the usage of assets includes attaching a tracking device to each asset of a plurality of assets. An identifier associated with the asset is stored on a memory of the tracking device. After an asset has been used or is empty, the asset is physically grouped with other used or empty assets. Using the tracking devices, it is detected that an asset that the tracking device is attached to has been grouped with other assets. The tracking devices associated with the group of assets determine a manifest of asset identifiers for each asset in the group of used or empty assets – ABSTRACT, Figs. 1A – 10E, 20B, 20C, paragraphs 0004 – 0008. A tracking device on a container asset may determine whether a nearby tracking device is adjacent to the tracking device in a horizontal or a vertical direction. In some embodiments, a tracking device on a container asset may use beam steering to detect other tracking devices that are proximal to the container asset in a specific direction – paragraph 0173) comprising; and configured to; and to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
obtaining first sensor data from a plurality of sensors included in a tracker device configured with a first sensor operation mode, the tracker device included in a plurality of tracker devices (an asset tracking system includes assets that are tracked by retrofitting the assets with a tracking device. In some embodiments, the tracking device is an adhesive tape platform, a smart label, or a tracking device with a thin, rigid label form factor. In a further embodiment, the asset is a reusable supply or storage asset - e.g., a pallet. In an embodiment, the tracking device includes a weight sensor integrated into the tracking device, and the tracking device can determine the weight of items stored on the asset. The tracking device can wirelessly communicate with the asset tracking system to provide updates on the weight of the items stored on the asset. The asset tracking system notifies users of the current inventory of items based on the measured weights of the items stored on the assets – paragraph 0004.
The assets may be vertically stacked when empty. The tracking devices on the assets detect the arrangement and determine a manifest of asset identifiers for each asset in the arrangement – paragraph 0005.
A sensing transducers 94 include a capacitive sensor, an altimeter, a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a temperature sensor, a strain sensor, a pressure sensor, a piezoelectric sensor, a weight sensor, an optical or light sensor - e.g., a photodiode or a camera, an acoustic or sound sensor - e.g., a microphone, a smoke detector, a radioactivity sensor, a chemical sensor - e.g., an explosives detector, a biosensor - e.g., a blood glucose biosensor, odor detectors, antibody based pathogen, food, and water contaminant and toxin detectors, DNA detectors, microbial detectors, pregnancy detectors, and ozone detectors, a magnetic sensor, an electromagnetic field sensor, and a humidity sensor – paragraph 0061. A tracking device on an asset may detect the presence of another asset using various methods. The methods may include detecting magnetic fields associated with another asset. One type of tape node may be configured to senses if there's a nearby magnetic field present. This is referred to as an “active” tape node. Other tape nodes have permanent magnets and are referred to as “passive” tape nodes or assets, retrofitted so that it is detectable – paragraphs 0169, 0177);
determining neighbor context information for the tracker device, the neighbor context information indicative of a placement of the tracker device relative to one or more additional tracker devices included in the plurality of tracker devices (some of the tracking devices may include magnets or magnetic field transmitters that can be detected by the magnetic sensors when the container assets are stacked on top of each other. Thus, a tracking device attached to an associated container asset may detect that other container assets are stacked on the associated container based on detected magnetic field signals – paragraph 0134. Detecting 2110 two or more assets as being grouped - e.g., stacked based on data from one or more tracking devices associated with at least one of the assets. An order of the grouped assets is determined 2120, the order representing relative positions of the assets in the group – paragraph 0144. The tracking devices may be used to determine a height of the stack based on sensors onboard the tracking device or based on wireless communications between tracking devices on the assets. For example, the tracking devices may communicate with each other to identify how many assets are stacked on top of each other and a height of the stack may be determined based on the identified number of assets in the stack – paragraph 0154), wherein the neighbor context information is determined based on passive sensing data included in the first sensor data (techniques for sensing asset groupings may include. include: techniques based on wireless communication – i.e., Bluetooth or other short-range communications between tracking devices, LoRa communications between tracking devices and/or gateway devices, techniques based on detecting physical contact or connection between adjacent and/or stacked assets. Other techniques may include a wire network, wherein tracking devices include circuitry and/or physical contacts that complete a closed circuit when the assets are stacked or grouped in a particular way. For example, the tracking devices line up in a specific orientation when assets are stacked such that electrical contacts and/or leads make a mechanical/electrical connection when the assets are stacked. In some embodiments, magnetic sensors and magnets are used. Tracking devices may include magnetic sensors and/or magnets for detecting proximity to another tracking device on an nearby asset, based on detecting a magnetic field that corresponds to the tracking devices being in proximity to one another. In another embodiment: Tracking device on a container asset includes a weight sensor for measuring weight of cargo assets stored on the container asset. For example, a tracking device on a pallet may measure the weight of items stored on the pallet or may measure the weight of other pallets stacked on top of the pallet – paragraph 0157);
determining an updated sensor operation mode for the tracker device in response to one or more changes in the neighbor context information for the tracker device (the tracking system is able to extend battery life of tracking devices by automatically and selectively initiating a hibernation mode or a lower power usage mode in tracking devices. If the tracking system detects that a group of tape nodes are grouped together at the same location, then the tracking system may infer that the container assets associated with the tape nodes are likely no longer transporting or holding products or cargo. Thus, the tape nodes in the group don't require high-granularity updates, and they can rely on updates from a single tape node in the group rather than having each and every member of the group perform redundant functions, such as reporting location of the assets – paragraph 0171), wherein the updated sensor operation mode is different from the first sensor operation mode (one tape node may assume the role of communicator or master. The other tape nodes in the group can hibernate or reduce the number or intensity of functions being performed. Roles for the tape nodes in the group can swap on the fly based on battery life, rearranging of the stack, removal or addition of assets to the stack, etc., - paragraph 0172); and
obtaining second sensor data from the plurality of sensors configured with the updated sensor operation mode (the tracking device can wirelessly communicate with the asset tracking system to provide updates on the weight of the items stored on the asset – paragraphs 0004, 0005, 0007. In response to the current total weight of the cargo assets being lower than a threshold value, one of the at least one tracking device transmits 1348 an alert to a user notifying the user of the current total weight of the cargo assets – paragraphs 0129, 0139).
Regarding claims 2, 22, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein sensor data obtained by the tracker device is associated with a virtual group corresponding to the plurality of tracker devices, the association based on the neighbor context information (In the embodiments of FIG. 14A-14B, 15, and 16, the tracking devices are configured to detect the other tracking devices in the grouping of container assets and determine a manifest of container assets in the grouping. The manifest is updated as container assets are added and removed from the grouping of the container assets – paragraph 0132)
Regarding claims 2, 24, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein: the first sensor data includes respective passive sensing data obtained from each sensor of the plurality of sensors included in the tracker device (a tracking device on an asset may detect the presence of another asset using various methods. The methods may include detecting magnetic fields associated with another asset. One type of tape node may be configured to senses if there's a nearby magnetic field present. This is referred to as an “active” tape node. Other tape nodes have permanent magnets and are referred to as “passive” tape nodes or assets, retrofitted so that it is detectable – paragraphs 0169, 0177. Long range tape node 480 collects information from medium range and short range tape nodes, and communicates information to server 404 – Fig. 8, paragraphs 0092 - 0094).
Regarding claims 5, 25, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein the first sensor data includes passive sensing data obtained from one or more sensors of the plurality of sensors, and further includes active sensing data obtained from one or more additional sensors of the plurality of sensors (a tracking device on an asset may detect the presence of another asset using various methods. The methods may include detecting magnetic fields associated with another asset. One type of tape node may be configured to senses if there's a nearby magnetic field present. This is referred to as an “active” tape node. Other tape nodes have permanent magnets and are referred to as “passive” tape nodes or assets, retrofitted so that it is detectable – paragraphs 0169, 0177. Long range tape node 480 collects information from medium range and short range tape nodes, and communicates information to server 404 – Fig. 8, paragraphs 0092 – 0094).
Regarding claims 6, 26, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein the neighbor context information for the tracker device is determined without wireless communication (the tracking devices attached to the assets with the master node role 2022 assume the role of master tracking devices 2026. Here, the tracking devices are attached to the assets with the master node – i.e., without wireless communication – paragraph 0142. The network 402 includes one or more ……..wired networks and wireless networks – paragraph 0081) between the tracker device and each respective additional tracker device of the one or more additional tracker devices (a tracking device on an asset may detect the presence of another asset using various methods. The methods may include detecting magnetic fields associated with another asset. One type of tape node may be configured to senses if there's a nearby magnetic field present. This is referred to as an “active” tape node. Other tape nodes have permanent magnets and are referred to as “passive” tape nodes or assets, retrofitted so that it is detectable – paragraphs 0169, 0177. Long range tape node 480 collects information from medium range and short range tape nodes, and communicates information to server 404 – Fig. 8, paragraphs 0092 – 0094. The master tracking devices 2026 coordinate the operation and communications of the sub tracking devices 2028 and also relay communications to other members of the asset tracking system 400. The master and sub node roles may be dynamically assigned and updated throughout the use of the tracking devices – paragraph 0142).
Regarding claims 7, 27, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more additional tracker devices are neighboring tracker devices within a threshold distance from the tracker device (the tracking device on an asset measures distance from other tracking devices on other assets. The tracking device is configured to measure when another tape node is within X distance - e.g., 1 ft. By detecting that another asset is within a threshold distance, the tracking system may determine, based on this detection, that the other asset is stacked together with the asset – paragraph 0166).
Regarding claims 8, 28, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 7, wherein the threshold distance corresponds to a passive sensing range of one or more proximity sensors included in the plurality of sensors of the tracker device (the tracking device on an asset measures distance from other tracking devices on other assets. The tracking device is configured to measure when another tape node is within X distance - e.g., 1 ft. by detecting through Bluetooth or another close proximity signal. By detecting that another asset is within a threshold distance, the tracking system may determine, based on this detection, that the other asset is stacked together with the asset – paragraph 0166).
Regarding claims 9, 29, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein the updated sensor operation mode causes the tracker device to: stop collection of respective sensor information from one or more sensors included in the plurality of sensors, or reduce a sensor data collection frequency for one or more sensors included in the plurality of sensors (one tape node may assume the role of communicator or master. The other tape nodes in the group can hibernate or reduce the number or intensity of functions being performed. Roles for the tape nodes in the group can swap on the fly based on battery life, rearranging of the stack, removal or addition of assets to the stack, etc., - paragraph 0172).
Regarding claim 13, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein: the updated sensor operation mode corresponds to an updated power saving configuration for the plurality of sensors included in the tracker; and the updated power saving configuration is different from a first power saving configuration corresponding to the first sensor operation mode (one tape node may assume the role of communicator or master. The other tape nodes in the group can hibernate or reduce the number or intensity of functions being performed. Roles for the tape nodes in the group can swap on the fly based on battery life, rearranging of the stack, removal or addition of assets to the stack, etc., - paragraph 0172).
Regarding claim 14, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein the updated sensor operation mode corresponds to a different sensor data collection configuration than the first sensor operation mode, the different sensor data collection configuration corresponding to one or more of:
Regarding claim 15, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein the updated sensor operation mode corresponds to a different sensor data collection configuration than the first sensor operation mode, the different sensor data collection configuration corresponding to one or more of:
can swap on the fly based on battery life, rearranging of the stack, removal or addition of assets to the stack, etc., - paragraph 0172); or
Regarding claim 16, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein the tracker device is configured to store state history information corresponding to the neighbor context information for the tracker device (the tracking device includes a weight sensor integrated into the tracking device, and the tracking device can determine the weight of items stored on the asset. The tracking device can wirelessly communicate with the asset tracking system to provide updates on the weight of the items stored on the asset – paragraphs 0004, 0007. The master tape node 460 is configured to collect sensor data from the peripheral tape nodes and, in some embodiments, process the collected data to generate, for example, one or more histograms from the collected data – paragraph 0090. When assets are tampered with - e.g., if removal of inventory or separation of assets in a group occurs at an unexpected time - e.g., according to rules or schedule for the assets, or if grouped assets are moved in unusual ways, this may be due to tampering, theft, or vandalism. The tracking system may detect this by detecting separation of the assets in a group based on wireless communications or sensors in the tracking devices on each asset. The tracking system may remotely alert users when this occurs – paragraph 0155).
Regarding claim 17, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 16, wherein the state history information comprises state history change information corresponding to the one or more changes in the neighbor context information for the tracker device (the master tape node 460 is configured to collect sensor data from the peripheral tape nodes and, in some embodiments, process the collected data to generate, for example, one or more histograms from the collected data – paragraph 0090. When assets are tampered with - e.g., if removal of inventory or separation of assets in a group occurs at an unexpected time - e.g., according to rules or schedule for the assets, or if grouped assets are moved in unusual ways, this may be due to tampering, theft, or vandalism. The tracking system may detect this by detecting separation of the assets in a group based on wireless communications or sensors in the tracking devices on each asset. The tracking system may remotely alert users when this occurs – paragraph 0155).
Regarding claim 18, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, further comprising determining, based on analyzing at least a portion of the first sensor data, device context information corresponding to a state of the tracker device (the sub tracking devices 2028 operate in accordance with instructions and communication from the master tracking devices 2026, according to some embodiments. The sub tracking devices 2028 communicate their asset identifiers and other data - e.g., location data, battery life, etc., to other sub tracking devices 2028 and to the master tracking devices 2026 – paragraph 0142. The master node may pool sub nodes every hour, every 10 minutes, etc., to see whether anything has changed in the stack or to receive any relevant sensor data, such as acceleration data, location data, RSSI data etc., - paragraph 0180).
Regarding claim 19, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, further comprising determining, based on analyzing at least a portion of the first sensor data, motion context information corresponding to one or more movements of the tracker device.
Regarding claim 20, Volkerink discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein the tracker device comprises a smart envelope tracker device or a smart label tracker device (the tracking device is an adhesive tape platform, a smart label, or a tracking device with a thin, rigid label form factor – paragraph 0004).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims, 3, 10, 11, 12, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Hajimiri US PGPub: US 2021/0006950 A1 Jan. 7, 2021.
The tracking device receives, from a management server, configuration parameters including a first data transmission rate and a second data transmission rate. The tracking device automatically enters into an active mode of the tracking device. When operating in an active mode, the tracking device, is operative to transmit, in response to determining based on first motion sensor measurements that the asset is stationary, first location data at the first data transmission rate. In response to determining, based on second motion sensor measurements and motion definition parameters, that the asset is mobile, the tracking device is operative to transmit, second location data of the asset at the second data transmission rate.
Ding US PGPub: US 2024/0195874 A1 Jun. 13, 2024.
A low power self-organizing tracking sensor network, where a process can include receiving, from a second sensing apparatus of the self-organizing network, an indication of a first task. The process can further include retrieving a first power profile associated with the first task, determining a current battery level of the at least one battery, predicting a future battery level of the at least one battery based on the current battery level, and the first power profile associated with the first task, and transmitting, to another sensing apparatus, the predicted future battery level.
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642