Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “port for attachment of a data and/or power connection to the chassis module” (Claim 20, ln. 8), “first protrusion” (Claim 15, ln. 2), “first clip mechanism of the spine” (Claim 15, ln. 3), “second protrusion” (Claim 15, ln. 5), “second clip mechanism of the spine” (Claim 15, ln. 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Candelora et al. (US 20220224084 A1, and Candelora hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Candelora discloses a chassis module for a chassis, the chassis module comprising:
an insertion element (10, fig. 5) configured to slide into one of a plurality of receiving compartments (76, fig. 6) of a spine of the chassis (22, fig. 4), the insertion element comprising:
a first electrical contact (18, fig. 5) on a first side of the insertion element (right side, fig. 7) and configured to physically contact a first bus bar of the spine (20, fig. 2-4); and
a second electrical contact (24, fig. 5) on a second side of the insertion element opposite the first side (fig. 5), the second electrical contact configured to contact a second bus bar of the spine (26, fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 2, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 1, wherein the chassis is an electrical panel (22, fig. 4), and the chassis module is an electrical component for the electrical panel (figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 5, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 1, further comprising a first portion on the first side of the insertion element (fig. 1: portion of 10 that houses, and including, 18), the first portion including the first electrical contact (fig. 1), the first portion configured to receive the first bus bar of the spine and directly couple to the first bus bar (figs 2-3).
Regarding Claim 6, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 5, further comprising a second portion on the second side of the insertion element (fig. 5: portion of 10 that houses, and including, 24), the second portion including the second electrical contact (fig. 5), the second portion configured to receive the second bus bar of the spine and directly couple to the second bus bar (fig. 6 and “electrical clip 24 is connected to a main electrical supply bus 26 in the electrical panel 22”, [0024]).
Regarding Claim 7, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 6, wherein the insertion element further comprises a third portion between the first portion and the second portion (fig. 5: bottom portion of 10 located between 24 and 18), the third portion configured to, when the insertion element is in one of the plurality of receiving compartments, be between the first bus bar and the second bus bar of the spine (figs. 4 and 6-8).
Regarding Claim 8, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 1, wherein the first electrical contact is arranged to physically contact a top surface of the first bus bar of the spine when the insertion element is in one of the plurality of receiving compartments (fig. 2: 32 contacts top surface of 20).
Regarding Claim 9, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 1, wherein the insertion element further comprises:
a track indentation (annotated figure I below) configured to engage with a guiding structure of the spine (82, fig. 6) (a) to guide placement of the insertion element into one of the plurality of receiving compartments (fig. 6) and (b) to retain the insertion element in the one of the plurality of receiving compartments after placement (fig. 6, since 82 restricts lateral motion of the insertion element 10 once it is placed in the receiving compartment, 82 functionally retains the insertion element).
Regarding Claim 10, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 9, wherein the track indentation extends along a sliding direction of the receiving compartment (annotated figure I above and figs. 5-6, sliding direction being towards/away from 82 shown in fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 9, wherein the insertion element includes a plurality of track indentations including the track indentation (left and right instances of track indentation, annotated figure I above).
Regarding Claim 12, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 9, wherein the track indentation is part of an outer surface of the insertion element (annotated figure I above).
Regarding Claim 13, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 6, wherein the first portion and the second portion each form a hole (fig. 5, hole portions of 10 that house 18 and 24) configured to receive a fastener (fig. 5, 18 and 24) that fastens the insertion element to the respective bus bar (figs. 6-8).
Regarding Claim 14, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 1, wherein the insertion element further comprises:
a first clip mechanism on the first side of the insertion element (fig. 5, 18), the first clip mechanism configured to engage with a first portion of the spine to hold the first electrical contact in physical contact to the first bus bar (figs. 7-8); and
a second clip mechanism on the second side of the insertion element (fig. 5: 24), the second clip mechanism configured to engage with a second portion of the spine to hold the second electrical contact in physical contact to the first bus bar (fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 15, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 1, wherein the insertion element further comprises:
a first protrusion on the first side of the insertion element (56, fig. 7), the first protrusion configured to engage with a first clip mechanism of the spine to hold the first electrical contact in physical contact to the first bus bar (figs. 7-8, combination of 20, and structure under it that houses and retains 56 and 18, acts effectively as a clipping mechanism); and
a second protrusion on the second side of the insertion element (24, fig. 5), the second protrusion configured to engage with a second clip mechanism of the spine to hold the second electrical contact in physical contact to the second bus bar (fig. 6, clipping contact between 24 and 26, effectively constitutes a clipping mechanism).
Claims 1, 16-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hancock (US 5343356 A, and Hancock hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Hancock discloses a chassis module for a chassis, the chassis module comprising:
an insertion element (including 34, fig. 2) configured to slide into one of a plurality of receiving compartments (fig. 1: regions where instances 34 and 36 are inserted) of a spine of the chassis (fig. 1: 30 without 32 and 40), the insertion element comprising:
a first electrical contact on a first side of the insertion element and configured to physically contact a first bus bar of the spine (fig.2: portion of 34 corresponding to 182 of fig. 18, in view of “182 for direct attachment of the A-phase load terminal of a main breaker”, Col. 8, ln. 25-27); and
a second electrical contact on a second side of the insertion element opposite the first side, the second electrical contact configured to contact a second bus bar of the spine fig.2: portion of 34 corresponding to 186 of fig. 18, in view of “182 for direct attachment of the A-phase load terminal of a main breaker”, Col. 8, ln. 25-27).
Regarding Claim 16, Hancock discloses the chassis module of claim 1, wherein:
the chassis (30, fig. 1) is an electrical panel (“A panelboard (30) for distribution of electrical power”, Abstract Section) ;
the chassis module is an electrical component for the electrical panel (fig. 2); and
the chassis module is a mains module (“main breaker 34”, Col. 7, ln. 16) that connects main feeder wires to the electrical panel (“main breaker-type panelboard in the field and easy selective top or bottom feed of power cables into the panelboard”, Col. 7, ln. 21-23 and “A panelboard (30) for distribution of electrical power from a feed line to branch power lines,” Abstract section).
Regarding Claim 17, Hancock discloses the chassis module of claim 16, wherein the mains module comprises at least one of:
a main breaker for the electrical panel (“main breaker 34”, Col. 7, ln. 16); or
a microgrid interconnection device.
Regarding Claim 18, Hancock discloses the chassis module of claim 16, wherein the mains module is configured to provide overcurrent protection and a disconnect for the electrical panel (“As can be readily understood by those skilled in the art, the present invention as claimed herein can be practiced in ways which differ from the precise exemplary embodiments shown and described in this specification yet which fall within the scope of the claims. For example, the main breaker 34 can be replaced with a fused switch as the circuit protection device”, Col. 9, ln. 20-28).
Regarding Claim 19, Hancock discloses a chassis module for a chassis, the chassis module comprising:
an insertion element (including 34 and 36, fig. 2) configured to slide into one of a plurality of receiving compartments (fig. 1: regions where instances 34 and 36 are inserted) of a spine of the chassis (fig. 1: 30 without 32 and 40), the insertion element comprising:
a first electrical contact on a first side of the insertion element and configured to physically contact a first bus bar of the spine (fig.2: portion of 34 corresponding to 182 of fig. 18, in view of “182 for direct attachment of the A-phase load terminal of a main breaker”, Col. 8, ln. 25-27), wherein the first side of the insertion element forms a first hole configured to receive a first fastener that holds the first electrical contact in physical contact to the first bus bar (figs. 2 and 18 portion of 34 that allows fastener 188 corresponding to 182 to pass through); and
a second electrical contact on a second side of the insertion element opposite the first side, the second electrical contact configured to contact a second bus bar of the spine (fig.2: portion of 34 corresponding to 186 of fig. 18, in view of “182 for direct attachment of the A-phase load terminal of a main breaker”, Col. 8, ln. 25-27); wherein the second side of the insertion element forms a second hole configured to receive a second fastener that holds the second electrical contact in physical contact to the second bus bar (figs. 2 and 18 portion of 34 that allows fastener 188 corresponding to 186 to pass through).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Candelora in view of Mascarenhas et al. (US 20190140439 A1, and Mascarenhas hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 3, Candelora discloses the chassis module of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a port for attachment of a data and/or power connection to the chassis module.
Mascarenha discloses a chassis module comprising a port (62, figs. 5 and 10) for attachment of a data and/or power connection to the chassis module (“transmit operating conditions data stored on the memory device to analysis device 44 through communications port 62”, [0041).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chassis module of Candelora to incorporate the teachings of Mascarenha so that it further comprises a port for attachment of a data and/or power connection to the chassis module, in order to send information about the operating conditions to external analysis devices (“the processing device operable to collect operating conditions data from the circuit protection device, the operating conditions data including the sensed operating conditions and a trip indication that indicates whether the circuit protection device has opened the at least one current path”, Abstract section of Mascarenhas).
Regarding Claim 4, Candelora/Mascarenhas discloses the chassis module of claim 3, wherein the port is accessible for attachment of the data and/or power connection after the chassis module is at the receiving compartment (fig. 10 of Mascarenhas).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hancock in view of Mascarenhas.
Regarding Claim 20, Hancock discloses a chassis module (including 34 and 36, figs. 1-2) configured for installation at any of a plurality of receiving compartments of a spine of a chassis (fig. 1: regions where instances 34 and 36 are inserted), the spine comprising two bus bars (fig. 4: busbars 46 and 50 corresponding to A and C phases), the chassis module comprising:
two bus bar contacts on a bottom of the chassis module (fig.2: portion of 34 corresponding to 182 and 186 of fig. 18, in view of “182 for direct attachment of the A-phase load terminal of a main breaker… B and C phases also have respective holes 184 and 186 for attachment thereto of the respective B- and C-phase load terminals of the main breaker with fasteners 188.”, Col. 8, ln. 25-32), where each of the two bus bar contacts physically contact the corresponding bus bar of the spine (Col. 8, ln. 25-32), and the bus bar contacts and the bus bars have hole patterns for attachment of the chassis module to the spine at the receiving compartment (figs. 2 and 18).
Hancock does not explicitly discloses a port for attachment of a data and/or power connection to the chassis module.
Mascarenha discloses a chassis module including a port (81, fig. 8) for attachment of a data and/or power connection to the chassis module (figs. 4 and 8 and “First communications port 81 … communicatively coupled to the processing unit … operable to transmit operating conditions data to analysis device 44”, [0048]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hancock to incorporate the teachings of Mascarenha so that it further comprises a port for attachment of a data and/or power connection to the chassis module, in order to send information about the operating conditions to external analysis devices (“the processing device operable to collect operating conditions data from the circuit protection device, the operating conditions data including the sensed operating conditions and a trip indication that indicates whether the circuit protection device has opened the at least one current path”, Abstract section of Mascarenhas).
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2841