DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 09/16/2024. Claims 1-17 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “one or more blades attached to said arbor used to form a undercut in said stone slab” in claim 1 should read as “one or more blades attached to said arbor used to form [[a]]the undercut in said stone slab”
The limitation “said pivot pin extends upward through mounting plate at an offset location thereby enabling said mounting plate to rotate over said guide plate” in claim 1, should read as “said pivot pin extends upward through said mounting plate at an offset location thereby enabling said mounting plate to rotate over said guide plate”.
The limitation “A method of forming an undercut on the edge of a stone slab using a guide plate with a longitudinal aligned fence with a rolling surfacing and a sliding surface” in claim 17, should read as “A method of forming an undercut on the edge of a stone slab using a guide plate with a longitudinal aligned fence with a rolling surface and a sliding surface”.
The limitation “h. simultaneously pushing said wheels against said fence and sliding said guide plate over said sliding surface on said fence plate to form an undercut on said edge of said stone slab” in claim 17, should read as “h. simultaneously pushing said wheels against said fence and sliding said guide plate over said sliding surface on said fence plate to form [[an]]the undercut on said edge of said stone slab”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “said guide plate includes a longitudinal axis and two wheels spaced apart and aligned with said longitudinal axis” is indefinite because the term “aligned with” is unclear. The term “aligned with” when referencing the wheels is confusing because the wheels could be aligned axially, which would change the function of the wheels on the fence and/or could even change the direction of the longitudinal axis, or the wheels could be aligned with each other to form the longitudinal axis, which would produce a substantially different result than an axial alignment. Where this becomes confusing is because the term “with” is so broad that substantial differences of function that makes the limitation confusing as to where the four corners of the limitation actually are. For purposes of examination the Office will interpret the limitation to read as “said guide plate includes a longitudinal axis and two wheels spaced apart and being aligned to travel together along
Claims 2-16 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the following limitations are indefinite:
The limitation “b. … said guide plate extending forward from said mounting plate and includes a sliding surface configured to slide over said glide surface on said fence plate” is indefinite because the term “sliding surface” is already used by fence. Further the term “said glide surface” lacks proper antecedent basis within the claim. Is the “glide surface” a new surface or is this supposed to reference the “sliding surface” of the fence? For purposes of examination the Office will interpret the limitation to read as “b. … said guide plate extending forward from said mounting plate and includes a glide surface configured to slide over said sliding surface on said fence plate”.
The limitation “rotating said mounting plate on said guide plate so that said blade on said arbor is positioned to cut an undercut on said edge of said stone slab at a desired depth” is indefinite because the term “said blade” is confusing because there are “one or more blades”, so which blade is being referenced back to? For purposes of examination the Office will interpret the limitation to read as “rotating said mounting plate on said guide plate so that said one or more blades on said arbor is positioned to cut an undercut on said edge of said stone slab at a desired depth”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11, 13, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knecht et al (US PGPUB No. 2021/0323111) in view of Jorgensen (US Patent No. 8,162,726), hereinafter referred to as Knecht and Jorgensen, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Knecht discloses a back grind attachment [Knecht, fig 3, 100] for a hand grinder [Knecht, fig 5a, 111] used to make an undercut on the edge of a stone slab [The Office interprets this limitation to be an intended use limitation as being a part of the preamble and that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II). In the instant case, the apparatus of Knecht is capable of rotating to undercut the workpiece] said hand grinder that includes a grinder body, a motor located inside said grinder body, a head, and an arbor [Knecht, fig 8b, showing 111 comprises the body or shell, the motor within the shell, a head and an arbor to connect to 117], and one or more blades attached to said arbor used to form a undercut in said stone slab [Knecht, figs 8b, 117 which is capable of undercutting the workpiece], said back grind attachment comprising:
a. a mounting plate attached to and extending forward from said head [Knecht, fig 4, 130], said mounting plate includes a center axis, a front edge, a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge [Knecht, fig 4, 130 includes a center axis, a front edge and left and right edges]:
b. a guide plate extending forward from the said mounting plate [Knecht, fig 4, 120];
c. a pivot pin connected to said guide plate [Knecht, fig 4, 113, where 113 meets the limitation of a pivot pin by at least comprising a pin and then by being used to pivot the assembly 120], said pivot pin extends upward through mounting plate at an offset location thereby enabling said mounting plate to rotate over said guide plate [Knecht, fig 4, 113 extends upwards through 120, and is offset from 101, and page 4, pp 0087, teaching that when 113 is rotated that the assembly 120 is pivoted about curved arm 102]; and,
d. a clamping lever configured to lock said mounting plate at a fixed location over said guide plate [Knecht, fig 4, and page 4, pp 0089, 121].
Knecht does not explicitly disclose a fence plate mounted on the top surface and adjacent to an edge of said stone slab, said fence plate includes a straight edge, a slide surface and a longitudinally aligned upward extending fence, the arbor coupled to said motor and extending perpendicularly from said head, and said guide plate includes a longitudinal axis and two wheels spaced apart and aligned with said longitudinal axis.
Jorgensen teaches a back grind attachment for a hand grinder [Jorgensen, fig 11, 22], said fence plate includes a straight edge [Jorgensen, fig 1, 90 includes straight edge 94], a slide surface and a longitudinally aligned upward extending fence [Jorgensen, fig 1, 92], said hand grinder [Jorgensen, fig 2, 10] that includes a grinder body [Jorgensen, fig 2, 16], a motor located inside said grinder body [Jorgensen, col 2, lines 63-65, 14], a head [Jorgensen, fig 2, 12], and arbor coupled to said motor and extending perpendicularly from said head [Jorgensen, fig 2, 18], and one or more blades attached to said arbor used to form a undercut in said stone slab [Jorgensen, fig 2, 19/6], said back grind attachment comprising:
b. a guide plate extending forward from the said mounting plate [Jorgensen, fig 3, 45], said guide plate includes a longitudinal axis and two wheels spaced apart and aligned with said longitudinal axis [Jorgensen, fig 3, 52 and 56 are wheel and are positioned along a longitudinal axis].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the back grinding attachment of Knecht to be used with a grinder that has an arbor that extends perpendicular to the motor as taught by Jorgensen because per Knecht, the tool is for sanding or polishing as required by the workpiece [Knecht, page 1, pp 0014, summarized] where the predictable result is that an angle grinder like that of Jorgensen is able to be attached in the same manner as the grinder shown in Knecht as being attached at the head to allow the arbor and disk to stick through to the workpiece.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a fence and the two wheels on the guide plate to the device of Knecht as taught by Jorgensen because this allows for the grinder to be moved smoothly over the surface of the work [Jorgensen, col 2, lines 3-22, summarized].
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Knecht as modified further discloses the back grind attachment, as recited in Claims 1 and 5, respectfully, further includes a plurality of markings located between said mounting plate and said guide plate that indicates the angle said mounting plate is positioned to said guide plate [Knecht, page 2, pp 0030].
Regarding claim 3, Knecht as modified further discloses the back grind attachment, as recited in Claim 1, further includes a rub (or rubbing) plate attached to said guide plate [Knecht, fig 7, 115].
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Knecht as modified further discloses the back grind attachment, as recited in Claims 1 and 3, respectfully, but may not explicitly disclose further includes a water valve and water nozzle attached to said mounting plate.
Jorgensen further teaches the device further includes a water valve and water nozzle attached to said mounting plate [Jorgensen, figs 3-4, 35 and col 3, line 61 – col 4, line 8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Knecht to include the water valve and water nozzle as taught by Jorgensen because enables water to be continuously or intermittently sprayed on the surface of the ground edge of the surface during the grinding process [Jorgensen, col 2, lines 23-26], which allows to cool the surface and to further prevent hazardous dust from being inhaled by the operator.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Knecht as modified further discloses the back grind attachment, as recited in Claims 4 and 1, respectfully, but may not explicitly disclose further includes a spray shield attached to said mounting plate.
Jorgensen further teaches the device further includes a spray shield attached to said mounting plate [Jorgensen, fig 11 and col 3, lines 21-30, 40].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Knecht to include the spray shield attached to the mounting plate as taught by Jorgensen because this shield prevents water over spray during use [Jorgensen, col 3, lines 21-30, summarized].
Regarding claim 13, Knecht as modified further discloses the back grind attachment, as recited in Claim 1, wherein said fence on said fence plate has a vertical rolling surface [Jorgensen, fig 1, vertical surface of 94], and each said wheel has a vertical outer edge configured to roll against said vertical rolling surface [Jorgensen, fig 1, each wheel is vertical and configured to roll against 94].
Regarding claim 15, Knecht as modified further discloses the back grind attachment, as recited in Claim 1, further includes an adapter plate located between the head of said grinder and said mounting plate [Knecht, fig 4, 132 and 131 form the adapter plate].
Regarding claim 17, Knecht discloses a method of forming an undercut on the edge of a stone slab using a guide plate [Knecht, fig 4, 120 is a guide plate], said method comprises the following steps:
a. selecting a grinder with a grinder body, a head attached to said grinder body, an arbor extending downward from said head [Knecht, fig 8b, 111, where 111 includes a shell forming the body, a head, an arbor to attach 117], and at least one or more blades attached to said arbor configured to form said undercut [Knecht, fig 8b, 117];
b. selecting a back grind attachment that includes, a mounting plate [Knecht, fig 4, 130] and a guide plate [Knecht, fig 4, 120], said guide plate extending forward from said mounting plate [Knecht, fig 4, 120 extends forward of 130] and includes a sliding surface configured to slide over said glide surface on said fence plate [Knecht, fig 4, bottom surface of 115], said back grind attachment also includes a pivot pin attached to said guide plate and extends upward through said mounting plate at an offset location thereby enabling said mounting plate to rotate over said guide plate [Knecht, fig 4, 113, where 113 meets the limitation of a pivot pin by at least comprising a pin and then by being used to pivot the assembly 120] and a clamping lever configured to lock said mounting plate at a fixed location over said guide plate [Knecht, fig 4, and page 4, pp 0089, 121];
c. attaching said mounting plate to said head of said grinder [Knecht, figs 4 and 5a-5b, 130, specifically 131 and 132 attach to 111];
e. rotating said mounting plate on said guide plate so that said blade on said arbor is positioned to cut an undercut on said edge of said stone slab at a desired depth [Knecht, fig 11a, showing an angle of 1.5 degrees which undercuts the workpiece];
f. locking said mounting plate in a fixed position over said guide plate [Knecht, fig 11a, 121 locks the angle];
g. activating said motor [Knecht, page 1, pp 0010, operating the device]; and,
h. sliding said guide plate over said sliding surface on said fence plate to form an undercut on said edge of said stone slab [Knecht, page 2, pp 0035, teaching that device slides while engaging the workpiece].
Knecht may not explicitly disclose a longitudinal aligned fence with a rolling surfacing and a sliding surface, said guide plate being temporarily attached to said stone slab so that said rolling surface on said fence is parallel to said edge, and said guide plate also includes two wheels configured to roll over said fence, d. positioning said guide plate over said fence plate so that said wheels are positioned against said fence; and h. simultaneously pushing said wheels against said fence and sliding said guide plate over said sliding surface on said fence plate to form an undercut on said edge of said stone slab.
Jorgensen teaches a method of forming an undercut on the edge of a stone slab using a guide plate [Jorgensen, figs 1 and 3, 45 is a guide plate that is capable of undercutting the workpiece] with a longitudinal aligned fence with a rolling surfacing and a sliding surface [Jorgensen, fig 1, 20], said guide plate being temporarily attached to said stone slab so that said rolling surface on said fence is parallel to said edge [Jorgensen, fig 1, 45 is parallel to 20], said method comprises the following steps:
a. selecting a grinder with a grinder body, a head attached to said grinder body, an arbor extending downward from said head, and at least one or more blades attached to said arbor configured to form said undercut [Jorgensen, fig 1, 10];
b. selecting a back grind attachment that includes a guide plate [Jorgensen, fig 1, 45], said guide plate extending forward from said grinder [Jorgensen, fig 1, 45 extends forward from 10] and includes a sliding surface configured to slide over said glide surface on said fence plate [Jorgensen, fig 1, bottom surface of 45 slides on 20], said guide plate also includes two wheels configured to roll over said fence [Jorgensen, fig 3, 52 and fig 1, showing that 52 rolls over 94];
d. positioning said guide plate over said fence plate so that said wheels are positioned against said fence [Jorgensen, fig 1, 45 and 52 are over 20 and 52 are positioned against 94];
g. activating said motor [Jorgensen, col 2, lines 63-65]; and,
h. simultaneously pushing said wheels against said fence and sliding said guide plate over said sliding surface on said fence plate to form an undercut on said edge of said stone slab [Jorgensen, fig 1, showing that 45 and 52 slide against 94 such that 10 is capable of undercutting the workpiece].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a fence and the two wheels on the guide plate to the device of Knecht as taught by Jorgensen because this allows for the grinder to be moved smoothly over the surface of the work [Jorgensen, col 2, lines 3-22, summarized].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 10, 12, 14 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, Knecht further teaches wherein said clamping lever includes a rotating post [Knecht, fig 4, 141] and a handle attached to said post [Knecht, fig 4, 121 has a handle].
The prior art considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “said post being attached to said guide plate and extending through a curved slot formed on said mounting plate” together in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and in the independent claim. Where to include the connection as required by the claim would put greater constraints and would not allow the device to be operated as intended.
Claims 7, 10, 12 and 16 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “wherein said fence on said fence plate has an angled rolling surface and each said wheel has an angled outer edge configured to roll against said angled rolling surface” together in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and in the independent claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wendt et al (US Patent No. 6,953,394) teaches an attachment to a grinder but does not teach the fence or the angle knob between a mounting plate and the guide plate. Lupsac (US Patent No. 9,694,464) teaches an angle grinder attachment but does not teach the pivot pin extending vertically.
/ROBERT F NEIBAUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723