DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/886,845 filed on 09/16/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. 20210259010, Aug. 19, 2021) in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. 20220174715, Jun. 2, 2022).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) to provide first uplink control information (UCI) (page 15, par (0128), line 1-5, in the uplink, such control information referred to more generally as uplink control information (UCI)),
the method comprising determining a first priority for a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and a second priority for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein the first priority is different than the second priority, and the first PUCCH includes the first UCI, determining that a transmission of the first PUCCH would overlap in time with a transmission of the first PUSCH (page 16, par (0136), line 1-20, if PUSCH collides with another PUCCH, a UE piggyback the UCI of the PUCCH on the PUSCH transmission and transmit the PUSCH, if two uplink channels of different priorities collide(first priority is different than the second priority), the UE drop the channel with the lower priority, for a high priority PUSCH colliding with a low priority PUSCH, the low priority PUSCH is dropped or canceled, and the high priority PUSCH is transmitted);
transmitting the first PUSCH when the second priority is larger than the first priority (page 8, par (0073), line 1-20, if the two overlapping transmissions are of different priorities (e.g., if a high priority PUSCH (second priority) and a low priority PUSCH (second priority is larger than the first priority)), and transmitting the first PUCCH when the first priority is larger than the second priority (page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Yang discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the first PUSCH includes the first UCI when the first UCI is first acknowledgement information and the first PUSCH does not include the first UCI when the first UCI is first channel state information.
Zhang is the same field of invention teaches wherein the first PUSCH includes the first UCI when the first UCI is first acknowledgement information(page 3, par (0042), line 1-20, where the first transmission is a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (abbreviated as PUSCH) including an NR HARQ-ACK) and the first PUSCH does not include the first UCI when the first UCI is first channel state information (page 3, par (0042), line 1-20, the second transmission does not include the NR HARQ-ACK, it is determined by the transmitting terminal to transmit the first transmission and cancel the second transmission).
Yang and Zhang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify based on the first UCI is first acknowledgement information and the first PUSCH does not include the first UCI when the first UCI is first channel state information Yang the teaching of determined by the transmitting terminal to transmit the first transmission and cancel the second transmission Zhang because it is providing a specified rule, where the DCI is used for scheduling or activating the first transmission and the second transmission.
Regarding Claim 3, Yang discloses receiving an indication to include a UCI
in a PUSCH when a priority associated with the UCI is different than a priority associated with the PUSCH(page 16, par (0136), line 1-20, if PUSCH collides with another PUCCH, a UE piggyback the UCI of the PUCCH on the PUSCH transmission and transmit the PUSCH, if two uplink channels of different priorities collide(first priority is different than the second priority), the UE drop the channel with the lower priority, for a high priority PUSCH colliding with a low priority PUSCH).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang discloses determining the second priority for a second PUSCH; determining that the transmission of the first PUCCH would overlap in time with a transmission of the second PUSCH; and transmitting the first PUCCH(page 8, par (0073), line 1-20, if the two overlapping transmissions are of different priorities (e.g., if a high priority PUSCH (second priority) and a low priority PUSCH (second priority is larger than the first priority)), wherein: the first PUSCH is on a first cell, the second PUSCH is on a second cell that is different from the first cell, the first PUCCH is on a third cell, and the first priority is larger than the second priority(page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang discloses the transmission of the first PUSCH is scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format, and the DCI format indicates the second priority(page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang discloses the transmission of the first PUSCH is configured by higher layer signaling, and the higher layer signaling indicates the second priority(page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising a processor configured to determine a first priority for a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and a second priority for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein the first priority is different than the second priority, and the first PUCCH includes a first uplink control information (UCI), and that a transmission of the first PUCCH would overlap in time with a transmission of the first PUSCH(page 16, par (0136), line 1-20, if PUSCH collides with another PUCCH, a UE piggyback the UCI of the PUCCH on the PUSCH transmission and transmit the PUSCH, if two uplink channels of different priorities collide(first priority is different than the second priority), the UE drop the channel with the lower priority, for a high priority PUSCH colliding with a low priority PUSCH, the low priority PUSCH is dropped or canceled, and the high priority PUSCH is transmitted);
and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to transmit the first PUSCH when the second priority is larger than the first priority (page 8, par (0073), line 1-20, if the two overlapping transmissions are of different priorities (e.g., if a high priority PUSCH (second priority) and a low priority PUSCH (second priority is larger than the first priority)),
and the first PUCCH when the first priority is larger than the second priority (page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Yang discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first PUSCH includes the first UCI when the first UCI is first acknowledgement information, and the first PUSCH does not include the first UCI when the first UCI is first channel state information.
Zhang is the same field of invention teaches the first PUSCH includes the first UCI when the first UCI is first acknowledgement information (page 3, par (0042), line 1-20, where the first transmission is a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (abbreviated as PUSCH) including an NR HARQ-ACK),
and the first PUSCH does not include the first UCI when the first UCI is first channel state information (page 3, par (0042), line 1-20, the second transmission does not include the NR HARQ-ACK, it is determined by the transmitting terminal to transmit the first transmission and cancel the second transmission).
Yang and Zhang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify based on the first UCI is first acknowledgement information and the first PUSCH does not include the first UCI when the first UCI is first channel state information Yang the teaching of determined by the transmitting terminal to transmit the first transmission and cancel the second transmission Zhang because it is providing a specified rule, where the DCI is used for scheduling or activating the first transmission and the second transmission.
Regarding Claim 10, Yang discloses the transceiver is further configured to receive an indication to include a UCI in a PUSCH when a priority associated with the UCI is different than a priority associated with the PUSCH(page 16, par (0136), line 1-20, if PUSCH collides with another PUCCH, a UE piggyback the UCI of the PUCCH on the PUSCH transmission and transmit the PUSCH, if two uplink channels of different priorities collide(first priority is different than the second priority), the UE drop the channel with the lower priority, for a high priority PUSCH colliding with a low priority PUSCH).
Regarding Claim 11, Yang discloses determining the second priority for a second PUSCH; determining that the transmission of the first PUCCH would overlap in time with a transmission of the second PUSCH; and transmitting the first PUCCH(page 8, par (0073), line 1-20, if the two overlapping transmissions are of different priorities (e.g., if a high priority PUSCH (second priority) and a low priority PUSCH (second priority is larger than the first priority)), wherein: the first PUSCH is on a first cell, the second PUSCH is on a second cell that is different from the first cell, the first PUCCH is on a third cell, and the first priority is larger than the second priority(page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang discloses the transmission of the first PUSCH is scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format, and the DCI format indicates the second priority(page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 13, Yang discloses the transmission of the first PUSCH is configured by higher layer signaling, and the higher layer signaling indicates the second priority(page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 15, Yang discloses a base station comprising a processor configured to determine a first priority for a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and a second priority for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein the first priority is different than the second priority, and the first PUCCH includes a first uplink control information (UCI), and
that a reception of the first PUCCH would overlap in time with a reception of the
first PUSCH(page 16, par (0136), line 1-20, if PUSCH collides with another PUCCH, a UE piggyback the UCI of the PUCCH on the PUSCH transmission and transmit the PUSCH, if two uplink channels of different priorities collide(first priority is different than the second priority), the UE drop the channel with the lower priority, for a high priority PUSCH colliding with a low priority PUSCH, the low priority PUSCH is dropped or canceled, and the high priority PUSCH is transmitted);
and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to receive the first PUSCH when the second priority is larger than the first priority(page 8, par (0073), line 1-20, if the two overlapping transmissions are of different priorities (e.g., if a high priority PUSCH (second priority) and a low priority PUSCH (second priority is larger than the first priority)), and the first PUCCH when the first priority is larger than the second priority (page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Yang discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the first PUSCH includes the first UCI when the first UCI is first acknowledgement information, and the first PUSCH does not include the first UCI when the first UCI is first channel state information.
Zhang is the same field of invention teaches the first PUSCH includes the first UCI when the first UCI is first acknowledgement information (page 3, par (0042), line 1-20, where the first transmission is a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (abbreviated as PUSCH) including an NR HARQ-ACK),
and the first PUSCH does not include the first UCI when the first UCI is first channel state information (page 3, par (0042), line 1-20, the second transmission does not include the NR HARQ-ACK, it is determined by the transmitting terminal to transmit the first transmission and cancel the second transmission).
Yang and Zhang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify based on the first UCI is first acknowledgement information and the first PUSCH does not include the first UCI when the first UCI is first channel state information Yang the teaching of determined by the transmitting terminal to transmit the first transmission and cancel the second transmission Zhang because it is providing a specified rule, where the DCI is used for scheduling or activating the first transmission and the second transmission.
Regarding Claim 17, Yang discloses the transceiver is further configured to
transmit an indication to include a UCI in a PUSCH when a priority associated with the UCI is different than a priority associated with the PUSCH(page 16, par (0136), line 1-20, if PUSCH collides with another PUCCH, a UE piggyback the UCI of the PUCCH on the PUSCH transmission and transmit the PUSCH, if two uplink channels of different priorities collide(first priority is different than the second priority), the UE drop the channel with the lower priority, for a high priority PUSCH colliding with a low priority PUSCH).
Regarding Claim 18, Yang discloses determining the second priority for a second PUSCH; determining that the transmission of the first PUCCH would overlap in time with a transmission of the second PUSCH; and transmitting the first PUCCH(page 8, par (0073), line 1-20, if the two overlapping transmissions are of different priorities (e.g., if a high priority PUSCH (second priority) and a low priority PUSCH (second priority is larger than the first priority)), wherein: the first PUSCH is on a first cell, the second PUSCH is on a second cell that is different from the first cell, the first PUCCH is on a third cell, and the first priority is larger than the second priority(page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 19, Yang discloses the reception of the first PUSCH is scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format, and the DCI format indicates the second priority(page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 20, Yang discloses the reception of the first PUSCH is configured by higher layer signaling, and the higher layer signaling indicates the second priority (page 31, par (0272), line 1-10, the UE determine to drop the second uplink transmission based on a first scheduling constraint to resolve overlapping between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission, where the first scheduling constraint is based on a first priority of the first uplink transmission being greater than a second priority of the second uplink transmission).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 2 or 7 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 8 would be allowable if (i) claims 9 or 14 are incorporated into the independent claim 8.
Claim 15 would be allowable if (i) claims 16 or are incorporated into the independent claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
LI (US 20230143675, May 11, 2023) teaches Information Multiplexing Method and Apparatus and User Equipment.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464