DETAILED ACTION
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84 because:
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Note that if the color drawings are replaced by black-and-white drawings, ¶39 of the specification would been to be amended.
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to under 37 CFR 1.71(a) because of the following informalities:
In ¶6, line 6, "exiting" should be replaced by --existing--.
In ¶6, line 10, "altogether" should be replaced by --all together--.
In ¶40, line 3, "4101" should be replaced by --410--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 11 is/are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 because of the following informalities:
In line 6, "bandpass processor" should be replaced by --baseband processor--. See Fig. 10 and ¶62.
In line 8, "bandpass processor" should be replaced by --baseband processor--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazaheri (mmTag: A Millimeter Wave Backscatter Network) in view of Mazaheri (A Millimeter Wave Network for Billions of Things).
Mazaheri (mmTag) discloses a millimeter wave (mmWave) backscatter network access point (AP) (mmWave AP, Fig. 2; section 3) comprising:
a waveform generator configured to generate a transmit signal;
a transmit antenna (section 3, ¶1; section 4, ¶1-2);
a first receive antenna (section 3, ¶1; section 4, ¶1-2); and
a second receive antenna (section 3, ¶1; section 4, ¶1-2).
Mazaheri (mmTag) fails to disclose the first receive antenna connected to a first low noise amplifier (LNA), which is connected to a first mixer, which is connected to a first band pass filter (BPF), which is connected to a bandpass processor; and the second receive antenna connected to a second LNA, which is connected to a second mixer, which is connected to a second BPF, which is connected to the bandpass processor.
a second receive antenna connected to a second LNA, which is connected to a second mixer, which is connected to a second BPF, which is connected to the bandpass processor.
Mazaheri (Billions) teaches an AP with a receive antenna for a mmWave node connected to a LNA (LNA, Fig. 3b), which is connected to a mixer (Mixer, Fig. 3b), which is connected to a BPF (Filter, Fig. 3b), which is connected to a baseband processor (Baseband Processor, Fig. 3b) [where the claim does not require direction connection].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to implement the details of the AP in Mazaheri (mmTag).
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the AP in Mazaheri (mmTag) is implemented.
In the combination, the first receive antenna is connected to a first low noise amplifier (LNA), which is connected to a first mixer, which is connected to a first band pass filter (BPF), which is connected to a bandpass processor; and the second receive antenna is connected to a second LNA, which is connected to a second mixer, which is connected to a second BPF, which is connected to the bandpass processor.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazaheri (mmTag: A Millimeter Wave Backscatter Network) in view of Neophytou (Simultaneous User Localization and Identification Using Leaky-Wave Antennas and Backscattering Communications).
Mazaheri (mmTag) discloses:
a node (Node, Fig. 2) and an access point (mmWave AP, Fig. 2) in a mmWave backscatter network (Fig. 2; section 3);
transmitting a signal from an access point (AP) to a node Fig. 2);
receiving a signal reflected back from the node to the AP (Fig. 2; section 3);
extracting a reflected signal from the received signal (Fig. 2; section 3)[; and
where communication data rate is a function of distance (Fig. 13)].
Mazaheri (mmTag) fails to disclose the signal includes a chirp signal; and estimating time-of-flight and distance from the node to the AP using the extracted signal.
Neophytou teaches transmitting a signal includes a chirp signal (p. 37099, section III, ¶1; chirp illustrated to far left, Fig. 7); and
estimating time-of-flight and distance from the node using an extracted reflected signal (p. 37099, section III, ¶1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine the communication data rate that the AP can use when communicating with the node.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the appropriate data rate is used by the AP in communicating with the node.
The following reference(s) is/are also found relevant:
Soltanaghaei (Millimetro: mmWave Retro-Reflective Tags for Accurate, Long Range Localization), which discloses a mmWave backscatter network using chirps for distance finding (Fig. 4; section 3, ¶1; section 3, final ¶).
Adib (3D Tracking via Body Radio Reflections), teaches transmitting a signal includes a chirp signal Fig. 2); and estimating time-of-flight and distance from the node using an extracted reflected signal (section 3.1; equations (1) and (4)).
Younis (US 2016/0054440 A1), which teaches that a frequency scanned retro-directive reflector and an unscanned retro-reflective radar reflectors are known alternatives (¶31; ¶33), where a frequency scanned retro-directive reflector can be a frequency scanned antenna (¶89), where the reflector may have multiple antennas (Fig. 9; ¶181).
Applicant is encouraged to consider these documents in formulating their response (if one is required) to this Office Action, in order to expedite prosecution of this application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-14 is/are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance/Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance/allowable subject matter:
The references cited, alone or in combination, do not teach or make obvious the following limitation(s):
quoted from claim 1, in combination with the claim as a whole:
"measure strength and determine frequency of a received signal that is received by a first port of the FSA".
quoted from claim 13, in combination with the claim as a whole:
"determining orientation of the node with respect to the AP based upon the identified frequencies".
quoted from claim 14, in combination with the claim as a whole:
"measuring a delay between times receiving the highest power within the received signal; and estimating orientation based on the delay".
Fred H. Mull
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/F. H. M./
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648