DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This action is in response to the original filing dated 16 September 2024 which claims priority to a U.S. provisional application, dated 15 September 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 December 2024 and 13 April 2026 have been received, entered into the record, and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Independent claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1 and 11 are directed to the abstract idea of scanning and identifying items, as explained in detail below. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
Claims 1 and 11 recite, in part, “a user to perform a first scan of one or more first items at a first location … identifying the one or more first items based on the first scan” These steps describe the concept of scanning and identifying items which, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. Nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by one or more processors” language, “scan and identify” in the context of these claims encompasses the user manually identifying items. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. As such, the description in claims 1 and 11 of scanning and identifying items is an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites an additional element – using one or more processors to perform the steps. The processor in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, these claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claims recite the additional limitations of “processors,” and “updating interfaces/files.” Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities (e.g. see references cited) amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Thus, taken alone or in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
Further, the additional elements found in dependent claims 3 and 13, considered both individually and as an ordered combination along their dependency trees with their respective independent claims, also do not appear to be drawn to a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, dependent claims 3 and 13 are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gravelle et al. (US 2020/0279217 A1).
As for independent claim 1, Gravelle discloses a method comprising:
providing, by one or more processors via one or more graphical user interfaces, a first instruction to a user to perform a first scan of one or more first items at a first location [(e.g. Gravelle paragraphs 0134, 0137, 0240) ”the facility management subsystem 204 is configured to command automated or human selection and retrieval of an environmentally compatible SCS bin 224a on an on-demand basis, where only once the case from the supply shipment has been scanned, and the environmental data of the product concerned thus retrieved from the central database 203, does the facility management subsystem 204 command automated retrieval or human selection and retrieval of an on-site SCS bin 224a that is both empty and environmentally compatible … guides such picking and placement of the required product(s) by a human worker using a human-machine interface borne by the human worker or installed at the order-picking workstation 705. In the case of a human worker, in an embodiment, the human-machine interface employs pick-to-light guidance at the pick port 705b for each arriving MCS bin 224b and put-to-light guidance at the put port 705a where the PO bin 224c being filled resides, to visually instruct the human worker to pick the proper product(s) from the respective product-specific compartment(s) of the MCS bin 224b and place the picked product(s) in the respective order-specific compartment of the PO bin 224c. In an embodiment, on-screen pick and placement instructions are displayed on a display monitor or a head-mounted display of the human-machine interface … a case from the supply shipment has its Case_ID detected or inputted to the facility management subsystem 204, for example, by using an automated scanner or a worker-operated scanner to scan a code”].
receiving, by the one or more processors, the first scan of the one or more first items [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraphs 0134, 0146) ”a case from the supply shipment has its Case_ID detected or inputted to the facility management subsystem 204, for example, by using an automated scanner or a worker-operated scanner to scan a code … mixed-case supply shipments employ such initial scanning of the Case_ID from the LPN barcode, followed by subsequent scanning or other inputting of the vendor or global Product_ID from the individual eaches found in the mixed case, for example, by scanning a universal product code (UPC) or a stock keeping unit (SKU) code on the eaches as they are placed in the SCS bin 224a”].
identifying, by the one or more processors, the one or more first items based on the first scan [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraph 0135) ”the Product_ID(s) of the product type supplied in the scanned case and the quantity thereof, as identified from the shipment details table 318 using the scanned Case_ID”].
updating, by the one or more processors, the one or more graphical user interfaces, based on the identified one or more first items [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraphs 0146, 0215, 0218, 0240) ”the SCS bin 224a has a dedicated onboard accounting of its contents, and the vendor's product catalogue 305 in the central database 203 is updated to include those contents and the Bin_ID of the SCS bin in which they are stored, whereby subsequent querying of the vendor's stocked inventory table 304 in the central database 203 for any catalogued product decanted from a supply shipment in the forgoing manner will report the Bin_IDs of any SCS bins 224a holding that product, the quantity of product in each such SCS bin 224a, the facility at which that SCS bin 224a resides, and the storage location in which that SCS bin 224a resides … the determination of which particular SCS bin(s) to pull from storage is left to the facility management subsystem 204 based on a query of its local on-hand inventory record(s) for the Product_ID(s) of the needed product type(s) … the facility management subsystem 204 instructs or commands a human or robotic worker at the kitting workstation 607 to pick a quantity of product from the first SCS bin 224a at the pick port 607b according to the quantity specified for that SCS bin's 224a product type in the bin configuration data set, and to place the picked quantity of the product type into a respective compartment of the MCS bin 224b at the put port 607a … on-screen pick and placement instructions are displayed on a display monitor or a head-mounted display of the human-machine interface”].
and updating, by the one or more processors, a computer file associated with the first instruction to indicate a scan of the one or more first items [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraphs 0135, 0146) ”the Product_ID(s) of the product type supplied in the scanned case and the quantity thereof, as identified from the shipment details table 318 using the scanned Case_ID; and the Facility_ID received from the facility management subsystem 204. Accordingly, the vendor's stocked inventory table 304 is automatically updated to add the product contents of that case thereto, and to identify the SCS bin 224a in which those products are found, and the facility at which that SCS bin 224a resides … scanning a universal product code (UPC) or a stock keeping unit (SKU) code on the eaches as they are placed in the SCS bin 224a, and updating the contents table 327 of the SCS bin 224a and the stocked inventory table 304 in the central database 203 based on the Product_IDs of the scanned eaches and the quantity of each Product_ID scanned, while also populating the SCS bin's product information table 328 with the corresponding record(s) from the vendor's products table 303 in the central database 203”].
As for dependent claim 2, Gravelle discloses the method as described in claim 1 and Gravelle further discloses:
further comprising: receiving, by the one or more processors, scan data of a second scan of a first label at a work location, the second scan preceding the first scan and based on the second scan, determining a process flow including a set of multiple graphical user interfaces indicating a set of multiple tasks for the work location, the set of multiple graphical user interfaces including the one or more graphical user interface [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraphs 0030, 0146, 0240) ” a full-case shipment uses a Case_ID to look up the shipment in the central database 203 and thereby identify both the vendor to whose inventory the shipment belongs and the product type and quantity found in that full case; other embodiments accommodating for mixed-case supply shipments employ such initial scanning of the Case_ID from the LPN barcode, followed by subsequent scanning or other inputting of the vendor or global Product_ID from the individual eaches found in the mixed case, for example, by scanning a universal product code (UPC) or a stock keeping unit (SKU) code on the eaches as they are placed in the SCS bin 224a, and updating the contents table 327 of the SCS bin 224a and the stocked inventory table 304 in the central database 203 based on the Product_IDs of the scanned eaches and the quantity of each Product_ID scanned, while also populating the SCS bin's product information table 328 with the corresponding record(s) from the vendor's products table 303 in the central database 203 … The CSCMS also generates task-based instructions for facilitating filling actions and order fulfillment actions at one or more of the node facilities based on the bin data. Furthermore, the CSCMS generates task-based instructions for triggering loading actions and unloading actions at one or more of the node facilities based on the bin data … guides such picking and placement of the required product(s) by a human worker using a human-machine interface borne by the human worker or installed at the order-picking workstation 705. In the case of a human worker, in an embodiment, the human-machine interface employs pick-to-light guidance at the pick port 705b for each arriving MCS bin 224b and put-to-light guidance at the put port 705a where the PO bin 224c being filled resides, to visually instruct the human worker to pick the proper product(s) from the respective product-specific compartment(s) of the MCS bin 224b and place the picked product(s) in the respective order-specific compartment of the PO bin 224c. In an embodiment, on-screen pick and placement instructions are displayed on a display monitor or a head-mounted display of the human-machine interface”].
As for dependent claim 3, Gravelle discloses the method as described in claim 1 and Gravelle further discloses:
further comprising: receiving, by the one or more processors, a second scan of a first carton, identifying, by the one or more processors, the first carton based on the second scan and associating, by the one or more processors, the one or more first items with the first carton based on the second scan of the first carton in the computer file [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraphs 0141, 0142) ”whether performed after, during or before steps 905 to 907, a human or robotic worker attending the induction workstation 506 places the products from the scanned supply shipment case into the empty SCS bin 224a through the put port 506a of the induction workstation 506. At step 909, it is checked whether more of the same product can be placed in the same SCS bin 224a, for example, based on human or machine-performed identification of additional remaining capacity in the SCS bin, and determination from a scanning of another arrived or approaching supply shipment case at the induction workstation 506 that this other case also contains the same product type intended for the same recipient vendor, as determined using the scanned Case_ID in the same manner disclosed above. If there is both available capacity in the SCS bin 224a and further supply of the same product in the next case of the supply shipment, then steps 905 to 908 are repeated … for each single-SKU case of the depalletized or loose case shipment, multiple eaches of the particular product in that case are deposited into one of the standardized SCS bins 224a compatible with the indexed storage array of the mega facility 10. The example above presumes that the entire contents of a case will fit within a singular SCS bin and hence uses the product quantity read from the Case_ID record in the shipment details table 318 as the quantity to add to the vendor's stocked inventory table 304 and to populate the record in the SCS bin's contents table 327”].
As for dependent claim 4, Gravelle discloses the method as described in claim 1 and Gravelle further discloses:
further comprising: displaying, by the one or more processors, a graphical user interface requesting verification of a quantity of the one or more first items based on receiving the first scan and based on receiving the verification of the quantity, displaying a subsequent task in a task list on the one or more graphical user interfaces, the task list including a pick of the one or more first items and the subsequent task including a pick of one or more second items [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraphs 0030, 0110, 0136, 0182) ”The CSCMS also generates task-based instructions for facilitating filling actions and order fulfillment actions at one or more of the node facilities based on the bin data. Furthermore, the CSCMS generates task-based instructions for triggering loading actions and unloading actions at one or more of the node facilities based on the bin data … the information read from the mobile data storage device 226 of the DSCS bin 224a comprises the Product_IDs and quantities from the contents table 327 to indicate the amount of product being inducted into the macro facility 12, for example, for use by the facility management subsystem 204 to automatically and accurately track on-hand inventory, even in the event of a communication outage with the central computing system 201 that would prevent access to the storage bin contents table 309 of the central database 203. When proper communication with the central computing system 201 is available, the aforementioned transmission of the Facility_ID and the Bin_ID of each arrived DSCS bin 224a in the acceptance signal is operable to update the central database 203 on the on-hand inventory count at that macro facility 12 for each catalogued product in the arrived DSCS bin 224a … In the event of a positive environmental match, the facility management subsystem 204 commands initiation of an automated transfer of the products from the case to the SCS bin 224a by a robotic worker of the induction workstation 506, or instead signal a human worker at the induction workstation 506 to initiate a manual transfer, for example, via audible and/or visual instructions conveyed to the human worker by a human-machine interface (HMI) that is installed at the induction workstation 506 or is borne by the human worker, for example, via a head mounted display”].
As for dependent claim 5, Gravelle discloses the method as described in claim 1 and Gravelle further discloses:
further comprising: providing, by the one or more processors via the one or more graphical user interfaces, a second instruction to the user to apply one or more labels to a first carton based on the first scan and the identified one or more first items [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraphs 0092, 0207) ”each product record in the vendor's product table 303 comprises one or more product attributes of the product concerned, for example, size, color, etc.; vendor-specific product handling data that defines particular actions or conditions that must be fulfilled for that product type while the product moves within the multi-nodal supply chain system 200; vendor-specific customization data that defines performance of one or more modifications to the product by the operating entity based on value-added services (VAS), for example, re-packaging, labeling, price tagging, security tagging, etc. … At the VAS/Returns workstation 606, once the product contents of the SCS bin 224a have been labeled, tagged, repackaged, or otherwise customized according to the vendor's specific VAS requirements defined by the customization data of the SCS bin 224a, the customized products are typically inducted into the indexed storage array of the macro facility 12”].
As for dependent claim 6, Gravelle discloses the method as described in claim 1 and Gravelle further discloses:
further comprising: determining, by the one or more processors, one or more purchase orders, the one or more purchase orders identifying a set of items expected to be received in one or more shipments [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraphs 0091, 0226) ” a vendor's product table 303, a vendor's stocked inventory table 304, a facilities table 306, a transport vehicle table 307, a storage bins table 308, a storage bin contents table 309, a storage locations table 310, a picked-order bins table 311, a picker-order (PO) bin contents table 312, a finished-order (FO) bins table 313, a customer table 314, a customer order table 315, an order line items table 316, a supply shipment table 317, and a shipment details table 318. The vendor table 301 contains vendor identifiers (Vendor_IDs) and other details of subscribing vendors 302, for example, their official corporate names, addresses, and billing information … At any storage versus docking decision node in the various processes disclosed and charted herein, even if the timing data does denote an urgent priority or a short delivery deadline, a selection to move the storage bin in question to a loading dock rather than to the indexed storage is made based on the destination data alone, for example, by checking for the presence or imminently expected arrival of a transport vehicle 215b whose next destination matches or is a known relay point toward the destination facility specified by the destination data of the storage bin”].
receiving, by the one or more processors, second scan data for a second scan of one or more of a pallet label and a case label in the one or more shipments and determining, by the one or more processors, the first instruction indicating the one or more first items based on the second scan [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraphs 0116, 0207) ” the term “stock keeping unit (SKU)” is used to denote a unique product identifier, that is, a global product identifier or a vendor-specific product identifier. Therefore, a single-SKU case or a single-SKU bin refers to a case or a bin containing products of the same type, whether the equivalency of these products is based on a matching SKU, a matching universal product code (UPC), or another matching global or vendor-specific product identifier shared by those products. Full-case shipments 401a often arrive in a palletized form, that is, as pallets 402, from suppliers into the mega facility 10. Each mega facility 10, therefore, comprises at least one depalletization station for depalletizing the full-case shipments 401a. Other incoming full-case shipments 401a may be loose-case shipments rather than palletized shipments, in which case depalletization is not required, and the depalletization station(s) in the mega facility 10 may be omitted or bypassed … At the VAS/Returns workstation 606, once the product contents of the SCS bin 224a have been labeled, tagged, repackaged, or otherwise customized according to the vendor's specific VAS requirements defined by the customization data of the SCS bin 224a, the customized products are typically inducted into the indexed storage array of the macro facility 12”].
As for dependent claim 7, Gravelle discloses the method as described in claim 1 and Gravelle further discloses:
further comprising: determining, by the one or more processors, expiration information for the one or more first items using a client picking device and displaying, by the one or more processors on the one or more graphical user interfaces, handling information based on the determined expiration information [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraph 0140) ”the timing data concerning the urgency with which the product is to be conveyed through the network toward the destination is based on a priority status or a targeted delivery date for a pending customer order for that product, as identified from the shipping preferences in the customer orders table 315; or based on the nature of the product itself, for example, urgent transport of consumables with short expiration dates such as meat, dairy, etc., or other products likewise having a short shelf life, in which case the vendor's product table 303 includes a timing data field in which short-expiration products are flagged”].
As for dependent claim 8, Gravelle discloses the method as described in claim 1 and Gravelle further discloses:
wherein: the one or more graphical user interfaces providing the first instruction are displayed on portable client picking device, the portable client picking device being wirelessly communicatively coupled with a scanning device to receive scan data from the first scan [(e.g. Gravelle paragraph 0308) ”the electronic access device 212 is a scanner that reads a barcode that is displayed on a display screen of the user's mobile electronic device, for example, a smartphone, a tablet, etc., or that is found on a pickup ticket downloaded and printed by the user. In another embodiment, the access code is communicated wirelessly from the user's mobile electronic device to the electronic access device 212 of the nano facility 16, for example, by near field communication (NFC) or other short-range wireless communication technology”].
As for dependent claim 9, Gravelle discloses the method as described in claim 1 and Gravelle further discloses:
wherein: the first instruction is displayed on a graphical user interface including a single active instruction, the one or more processors determining an operation based on the first instruction being displayed and the first scan being received [(e.g. Gravelle paragraphs 0240, 0255) ” guides such picking and placement of the required product(s) by a human worker using a human-machine interface borne by the human worker or installed at the order-picking workstation 705. In the case of a human worker, in an embodiment, the human-machine interface employs pick-to-light guidance at the pick port 705b for each arriving MCS bin 224b and put-to-light guidance at the put port 705a where the PO bin 224c being filled resides, to visually instruct the human worker to pick the proper product(s) from the respective product-specific compartment(s) of the MCS bin 224b and place the picked product(s) in the respective order-specific compartment of the PO bin 224c. In an embodiment, on-screen pick and placement instructions are displayed on a display monitor or a head-mounted display of the human-machine interface … the above disclosed decision node performed by the facility management subsystem 204 at step 1614 to select an appropriate order-packing workstation 706 to which to route the PO bin 224c further comprises checking of the handling data recorded against the respective compartment(s) of the customer order, whether retrieved from the mobile data storage device 226 or the central database 203, and comparing this handling data against the workstation information table 321 in the local facility database 207 of the facility management subsystem 204 to identify and select therefrom a workstation whose type, on-hand supplies, and category are compliant with the handling data”].
As for dependent claim 10, Gravelle discloses the method as described in claim 1 and Gravelle further discloses:
wherein: the user navigates through a workflow of graphical user interfaces by scanning external labels on one or more of a pallet, a physical location, a carton and a product [(e.g. see Gravelle paragraphs 0116, 0137, 0240) ”the facility management subsystem 204 is configured to command automated or human selection and retrieval of an environmentally compatible SCS bin 224a on an on-demand basis, where only once the case from the supply shipment has been scanned, and the environmental data of the product concerned thus retrieved from the central database 203, does the facility management subsystem 204 command automated retrieval or human selection and retrieval of an on-site SCS bin 224a that is both empty and environmentally compatible … a workflow of supply, inventory and order-filled storage bins in a forward or downstream direction through the multi-nodal supply chain system 200, according to an embodiment herein. FIG. 4A illustrates inbound and outbound transport among a string of mega, macro and micro facilities 10, 12 and 14, starting with receipt, at a mega facility 10, of incoming supply shipments 401a, 401b from manufacturers, suppliers, and/or distribution centers operated by external, partnered or contracting entities, herein referred to as “suppliers”. The multi-nodal supply chain system 200 manages the individual node facilities 10, 12, 14, and 16 and the workflow therein and therebetween in relation to supply shipments, product inventory, customer orders, and the storage and order bins used to store and transport the same throughout the multi-nodal supply chain system 200 … In the case of a human worker, in an embodiment, the human-machine interface employs pick-to-light guidance at the pick port 705b for each arriving MCS bin 224b and put-to-light guidance at the put port 705a where the PO bin 224c being filled resides, to visually instruct the human worker to pick the proper product(s) from the respective product-specific compartment(s) of the MCS bin 224b and place the picked product(s) in the respective order-specific compartment of the PO bin 224c. In an embodiment, on-screen pick and placement instructions are displayed on a display monitor or a head-mounted display of the human-machine interface”].
As for independent claim 11, Gravelle discloses a system. Claim 11 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1.
As for dependent claim 12, Gravelle discloses the system as described in claim 11; further, claim 12 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 2.
As for dependent claim 13, Gravelle discloses the system as described in claim 11; further, claim 13 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 3.
As for dependent claim 14, Gravelle discloses the system as described in claim 11; further, claim 14 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 4.
As for dependent claim 15, Gravelle discloses the system as described in claim 11; further, claim 15 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 5.
As for dependent claim 16, Gravelle discloses the system as described in claim 11; further, claim 16 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 6.
As for dependent claim 17, Gravelle discloses the system as described in claim 11; further, claim 17 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 7. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 7.
As for dependent claim 18, Gravelle discloses the system as described in claim 11; further, claim 18 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 8. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 8.
As for dependent claim 19, Gravelle discloses the system as described in claim 11; further, claim 19 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 9. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 9.
As for dependent claim 20, Gravelle discloses the system as described in claim 11; further, claim 20 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 10. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPub 2009/0276081 A1 issued to Pandit et al. on 05 November 2009. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-20 (e.g. generate instructions for a user on a handheld case scanner).
Contact Information
/CHRISTOPHER J FIBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174