DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 17: “a control unit configure to product…close” (no corresponding structure)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 15, the phrases "in particular" and “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claim 17, claim limitation “control unit configured to produce…close” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evobend (DE 202020002598).
With regards to claim 1, Evobend discloses a method for producing a seam on a workpiece made of flat material using a bending machine, the bending machine comprising:
a first clamping jaw (22);
a second clamping jaw (24) that is mounted movably relative to the first clamping jaw and configured to clamp, together with the first clamping jaw, the workpiece; and
a bending unit (26) that is arranged on one of the clamping jaws and has a bending tool (30, 31), the bending unit being configured to bend a portion of the workpiece by moving the bending tool relative to the associated clamping jaw,
the method comprising:
producing a pre-seam on the workpiece, comprising forming a first fold, as seen in at least Figures 7-10; and
closing the pre-seam to form the seam by closing the first fold with the bending unit in a state in which the other of the clamping jaws is spaced from the seam, as seen in at least Figures 13-14.
With regards to claim 2, Evobend discloses wherein the step of closing the pre-seam is performed in a state in which the first clamping jaw or the second clamping jaw is spaced from the workpiece as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 3, Evobend discloses wherein the step of closing the pre-seam is performed in a state in which the workpiece rests on the first or second clamping jaw as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 4, Evobend discloses wherein the step of closing the pre-seam is performed in a state in which the workpiece is not clamped between the clamping jaws as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 5, Evobend discloses wherein, in the step of producing the pre-seam, the first fold is formed by the bending machine, as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 6, Evobend discloses wherein, in the step of closing the pre-seam, the first fold is closed by retracting the bending tool relative to the first clamping jaw or the second clamping jaw, as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 7, Evobend discloses wherein, in the step of closing the pre-seam, the first fold is closed by extending the bending tool relative to the first clamping jaw or the second clamping jaw, as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 8, Evobend discloses wherein the step of closing the pre-seam comprises closing the first fold completely to form a U bend, as seen in at least Figures 7-10,
With regards to claim 9, Evobend discloses further comprising, after the step of producing the pre-seam, moving the first clamping jaw or the second clamping jaw away from the workpiece, as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 10, Evobend discloses wherein producing a pre-seam on the workpiece comprises forming a plurality of folds, as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 11, Evobend discloses wherein the bending tool comprises a hook-shaped bending portion (30, 31) having an inner surface and an outer surface, and wherein the step of closing the pre-seam is performed by moving the inner surface of the hook-shaped bending portion toward the first or second clamping jaw, as seen in at least Figures 10-14.
With regards to claim 12, Evobend discloses wherein the bending machine comprises a further bending unit that is arranged on the other of the clamping jaws and has a further bending tool, the further bending unit being configured to bend a portion of the workpiece by moving the further bending tool relative to the associated clamping jaw and to form a fold, wherein, in the step of producing the pre-seam, one of the plurality of folds is formed by bending with the further bending tool, as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 13, Evobend discloses wherein producing the pre-seam further comprises forming a second fold as a standing seam, the second fold being different from the first fold, as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 14, Evobend discloses wherein producing the pre-seam further comprises forming a third fold as a U bend, the third fold being different from the first fold , as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 15, Evobend discloses further comprising producing a standing seam (U-bend) by bending a portion of the workpiece about a second fold which is different from the first fold, wherein, when producing the pre-seam, the standing seam is bent about the first fold relative to a clamped portion of the workpiece, and wherein, when closing the pre-seam, the standing seam projects from the associated clamping jaw toward the spaced clamping jaws, as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 16, Evobend discloses wherein the seam comprises a closed seam, wherein the flat material comprises sheet metal, and wherein the bending machine comprises a long folding machine [Abstract].
With regards to claim 17, Evobend discloses bending machine for producing a seam on a workpiece made of flat material, comprising:
a first clamping jaw (22);
a second clamping jaw (24) that is mounted movably relative to the first clamping jaw and configured to clamp, together with the first clamping jaw, the workpiece;
a bending unit (26) that is arranged on one of the clamping jaws and has a bending tool (30, 31), the bending unit being configured to bend a portion of the workpiece by moving the bending tool relative to the associated clamping jaw to form a fold; and
a control unit (82) configured to: produce a pre-seam on the workpiece comprising a first fold; and close the pre-seam to form the seam by closing the first fold with the bending unit in a state in which the other of the clamping jaws is spaced from the seam.
With regards to claim 18, Evobend discloses wherein the bending tool comprises a hook-shaped bending portion (30, 31) having an inner surface and an outer surface, as seen in at least Figure 10.
With regards to claim 19, Evobend discloses further comprising a further bending unit that is arranged on the other of the clamping jaws and has a further bending tool, the further bending unit being configured to bend a portion of the workpiece by moving the further bending tool relative to the associated clamping jaw to form a fold, as seen in at least Figures 7-10.
With regards to claim 20, Evobend discloses wherein the seam comprises a closed seam, wherein the flat material comprises sheet metal, and wherein the bending machine comprises a long folding machine [Abstract].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US Patent 9,314,829.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725