DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 8, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 states “a dam compound disposed between the adhesive and the inactive area of the image sensor package, wherein the dam compound was configured to adhere an image sensor coverglass to the image sensor package, and wherein the camera no longer includes the image sensor coverglass”. In one instance the applicant has claimed that “the dam compound was configured to adhere an image sensor coverglass to the image sensor package” for having a coverglass to the image sensor package, and then turns around and states that “the camera no longer includes the image sensor coverglass” and now longer includes the image sensor coverglass in the image sensor package. One skilled in the art would not understand how the camera no longer includes the image sensor coverglass when an image sensor coverglass is used to allow the dam compound to adhere an image sensor coverglass to the image sensor package. For purposes of examination the claim 2 limitation of “a dam compound disposed between the adhesive and the inactive area of the image sensor package, wherein the dam compound was configured to adhere an image sensor coverglass to the image sensor package, and wherein the camera no longer includes the image sensor coverglass” is taken to be “a dam compound disposed between the adhesive and the inactive area of the image sensor package, wherein the dam compound was configured to adhere an image sensor coverglass to the image sensor package”.
The term “substantially” in claims 5, 8, 16, and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 should depend form claim 2, not claim 1, for having the claimed “dam compound”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 4 - 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang US Publication 2021/0214468 in view of Bardagjy et al US Patent 11,445,096.
Regarding claim 1 Liang discloses of Fig. 1 – 12E of applicant’s a camera (paragraph 0017 camera) comprising: an image sensor package including an array, support circuitry disposed around the image pixel array (paragraph 0021 an image sensor in Chip Scale Package includes (paragraph 0046) imaging module array where (paragraph 0030 - 0032) imaging module includes camera module 200, in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. In FIG. 3, flex circuit layer 380 is electrically coupled to printed circuit board (PCB) layer 240 of camera module 200, with RGB pixel information in camera module 200, and connector 385 is electrically coupled to flex circuit layer 380. Image sensor 220 receives electrical power from connector 385 via flex circuit layer 380. Connector 385 delivers image signals of images captured by image sensor 220 to processing logic for image processing where through-hole vias in PCB layer 240 are used to deliver an image acquisition initiation signal to image sensor 220 that actives image sensor 220 to capture one or more images such that image sensor Chip Scale package including an imaging module array, PCB layer 240 has support circuitry disposed around the image pixel imaging module array);
Liang further discloses of applicant’s a lens assembly including a lens barrel disposed around lens elements configured to focus image light to the array (paragraph 0028 lens assembly 250 includes a plurality of lenses 251, 252, and 253 to focus image light 289 to image sensor 220 with (paragraph 0032) RGB pixel information in camera module 200A); and an adhesive adhering to the lens barrel to bond the lens barrel to the support circuitry in an inactive area of the image sensor package (paragraph 0027 lens assembly 250 is adhered to molding compound 263 by an adhesive layer 265 directly to CSP 201 and PCB layer 240 such that an adhesive layer 265 adheres to the lens barrel 250 to bond the lens barrel 250 to the support circuitry of PCB layer 240 in an inactive area on molding compound 263 of the image sensor package 201);
Liang discloses an imager circuit with an imaging module array but does not expressively disclose an image sensor package including an image pixel array;
Bardagjy et al teaches an image sensor package with and image sensor pixel array. Bardagjy et al teaches of Fig. 1 – 3F of applicant’s an image sensor package including an image pixel array (column 2, line 66, and 67 to line 1 – 26 in column 3 camera assembly 200 including a lens assembly 250 disposed over image sensor module 201, as a chip scale package image sensor, to focus image light onto an image pixel array 121 of image sensor 120 such that image sensor module 201 is an image sensor package including an image pixel array 121). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the circuitry of Liang in a manner similar to Bardagjy et al. Doing so would result improving Liang invention in a similar way as Bardagjy et al - namely the ability to provide an image sensor package with and image sensor pixel array, in Bardagjy et al invention, to the an imager circuit with an imaging module array in Liang invention.
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein the adhesive is added to bond the lens assembly directly to the image sensor package (Liang in paragraph 0027 lens assembly 250 is adhered to molding compound 263 by an adhesive layer 265 directly to CSP 201 and PCB layer 240).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein the adhesive is disposed on substantially all of the inactive area of the image sensor package (Liang in paragraph 0027 lens assembly 250 is adhered to molding compound 263 by an adhesive layer 265 directly to CSP 201 and PCB layer 240 where the adhesive i265 s disposed on substantially all of the inactive area of the molding compound 263 of the image sensor package 201).
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein the adhesive is disposed on an indented portion of the inactive area of the image sensor package, and wherein a width of the lens assembly is disposed inside the indented portion of the inactive area of the image sensor package (Bardagjy et al in column 2, line 66 and 67 to column 3, line 1 – 26 of a side view of an example trench 233 extending a depth 292, coverglass 211 is bonded to image sensor 120 by adhesive layer 228 where lens assembly 250 includes assembly body 205 such that the adhesive 228 is disposed on an indented portion of the inactive area of the image sensor package of image sensor 120 and wherein a width of the lens 250 assembly body 205 is disposed inside the indented portion of the inactive area of the image sensor package of image sensor 120 as seen in Fig. 2B where the lens 250 assembly body 205 is inside of image sensor package of image sensor 120).
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein a ball grid array of the image sensor package is configured to be the sole mechanical support of the lens assembly between a circuit board and the lens assembly (Bardagjy et al in column 2, line 44 – 65 camera module 100 including a lens assembly 150 disposed over image sensor module 101 in Fig. 1. Solder ball grid array 130 electrically couples image sensor 120 to electrical pads (not illustrated) of the printed circuit board (PCB) layer 140 such that solder ball grid array 130 is a ball grid array of the image sensor package 120 is configured to be the sole mechanical support of the lens assembly 150 between a printed circuit board layer 140 and the lens assembly 150).
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein the lens barrel is sized substantially similar to a length and width of the image sensor package (Liang in in paragraph 0028, FIG. 2A, the molding compound 263 disposed around CSP 201 is substantially a same width as lens assembly 250 so that lens assembly 250 does not add unnecessary width to camera module 200 such that the lens barrel 250 is sized substantially similar to a length and width of the image sensor package CSP 201 as seen in Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein the image sensor package has a length and a width, and wherein the lens barrel is sized no larger than 10% more than an area of the length multiplied by the width of the image sensor package (Liang in in paragraph 0028, FIG. 2A, the molding compound 263 disposed around CSP 201 is substantially a same width as lens assembly 250 so that lens assembly 250 does not add unnecessary width to camera module 200 such that the image sensor package 201 has a length and a width, and wherein the lens barrel 250 is sized no larger than 10% more than an area of the length multiplied by the width of the image sensor package 201 because image sensor package 201 and the lens barrel 250 are shown to be the same size).
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein the adhesive is configured to block ambient light from becoming incident on the image pixel array (Liang in paragraph 0026 – 0028 lens assembly 250 is adhered to molding compound 263 by an adhesive layer 265. CSP 201 is soldered to PCB layer 240, molding compound 263 is formed on an outside of CSP 201 to shield ambient light from becoming incident onto image sensor 220. FIG. 2A, the molding compound 263 disposed around CSP 201 is substantially a same width as lens assembly 250 so that lens assembly 250 does not add unnecessary width to camera module 200 such that the adhesive 265 on the molding compound 263 is configured to block ambient light from becoming incident on the image pixel array 121 of Bardagjy et al in column 2, line 66, and 67 to line 1 – 26 in column 3 camera assembly 200 including a lens assembly 250 disposed over image sensor module 201, as a chip scale package image sensor, to focus image light onto an image pixel array 121 of image sensor 120).
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein the lens assembly is not adhered to a molding configured to protect the image sensor package (Liang in paragraph 00026 - 0027 lens assembly 250 is adhered to molding compound 263 by an adhesive layer 265 such that lens assembly 250 is adhered to molding compound 263 but it is not disclosed in Liang invention that the lens assembly 250 is not adhered to a molding compound 263 that is configured to protect the image sensor package CSP 201).
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein the image pixel array is an active region of the image sensor package and the support circuitry is an inactive area of the image sensor package (Liang in paragraph 0021 an image sensor in Chip Scale Package includes (paragraph 0046) imaging module array where (paragraph 0030 - 0032) imaging module includes camera module 200, in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. In FIG. 3, flex circuit layer 380 is electrically coupled to printed circuit board (PCB) layer 240 of camera module 200, with RGB pixel information in camera module 200, and connector 385 is electrically coupled to flex circuit layer 380. Image sensor 220 receives electrical power from connector 385 via flex circuit layer 380. Connector 385 delivers image signals of images captured by image sensor 220 to processing logic for image processing where through-hole vias in PCB layer 240 are used to deliver an image acquisition initiation signal to image sensor 220 that actives image sensor 220 to capture one or more images. Bardagjy et al in column 2, line 66, and 67 to line 1 – 26 in column 3 camera assembly 200 including a lens assembly 250 disposed over image sensor module 201, as a chip scale package image sensor, to focus image light onto an image pixel array 121 of image sensor 120 such that the image pixel array 121, in Bardagjy et al invention, is an active region of the image sensor package 201 and the PCB layer 240 support circuitry is an inactive area of the image sensor package 201 in Liang invention).
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein the image pixel array is a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image pixel array (Liang in paragraph 0026 Image sensor 220 is a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor. Bardagjy et al in column 2, line 66, and 67 to line 1 – 26 in column 3 camera assembly 200 including a lens assembly 250 disposed over image sensor module 201, as a chip scale package image sensor, to focus image light onto an image pixel array 121 of image sensor 120 such that the image pixel array 121, in Bardagjy et al invention, is a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image pixel array in Liang invention).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for being fully encompassed by the reasons found in rejected claim 1 above and where of the combination of Liang in view of Bardagjy et al, Bardagjy et al further teaches the additional claim limitation of applicant's a coverglass element configured to protect the image pixel array, wherein the coverglass element is disposed between the lens assembly and the image sensor package; and an adhesive adhering the lens barrel to the coverglass element (Bardagjy et al in column 2, line 66, and 67 to line 1 – 26 in column 3 a camera assembly 200 including a lens assembly 250 disposed over image sensor module 201 where Image sensor module 201 includes image sensor 120 and coverglass 210. Image sensor module 201 may be considered a chip scale package (CSP) image sensor. Lens assembly 250 includes assembly body 205. Fig. 2A illustrates that coverglass 210 is disposed over image sensor 120 and disposed between image sensor 120 and lens assembly 250. Coverglass 210 includes a trench. An adhesive 238 in the trench bonds the lens assembly 250 to the trench of coverglass 210. In the illustrated implementation of FIG. 2A, adhesive 238 bonds assembly body 205 to coverglass 210 such that a coverglass element 210 is configured to protect the image pixel array 121 of image sensor 120 for being around image sensor 120, wherein the coverglass element 210 is disposed between the lens assembly 250 and the image sensor package 201 and an adhesive 238 adhering the lens barrel of lens assembly 250 to the coverglass element 210).
Regarding claim 15 of applicant's wherein a ball grid array of the image sensor package is configured to be the sole mechanical support of the lens assembly between a circuit board and the lens assembly. Claim 15 is rejected for the reasons found in rejected claims 7 and 14 above.
Regarding claim 16 of applicant's wherein the lens barrel is sized substantially similar to a length and width of the image sensor package. Claim 16 is rejected for the reasons found in rejected claims 8 and 14 above.
Regarding claim 17 of applicant's wherein the image pixel array is a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image pixel array. Claim 17 is rejected for the reasons found in rejected claims 13 and 14 above.
Claim(s) 18 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang US Publication 2021/0214468 in view of Han et al US Publication No 2022/0407987.
Regarding claim 18 Liang discloses of applicant’s a fabrication method (paragraph 0042 fabrication process of camera module) comprising: receiving an image sensor package, wherein the image sensor package includes: (1) an image pixel; (2) support circuitry disposed around the image pixel; and (3) a ball grid array configured to electrically couple the support circuitry to a circuit board (paragraph 0025 of chip scale package 201, solder ball grid array 230 electrically couples image sensor 220 to electrical pads (not illustrated) of PCB layer 240. Solder ball grid array 230 may be soldered to the electrical pads of PCB layer 240. Paragraph 0032 RGB pixel information in camera module such that an image sensor package 201 is received, wherein the image sensor package 201 includes: (1) an image RGB pixel; (2) image sensor 220 has support circuitry disposed around the image RGB pixel as seen in Fig. 2A; and (3) a ball grid array 230 is configured to electrically couple the support circuitry of image sensor 220 to a PCB layer 240 circuit board);
Liang further discloses of applicant’s disposing a dam compound along an outer boundary of the support circuitry of the image sensor package (paragraph 0027 lens assembly 250 is adhered to molding compound 263 by an adhesive layer 265 in Fig. 2A where the adhesive layer 265 is a dam compound disposed along an outer boundary of the support circuitry of image sensor 220, as seen in Fig. 2A, of the image sensor package 201); and applying the dam compound to the image pixel (paragraph 0027 lens assembly 250 is adhered to molding compound 263 by an adhesive layer 265 of (paragraph 0032) RGB pixel information in camera module such that the adhesive layer 265 dam compound is applied to the image RGB pixel);
Liang discloses a fabrication process of camera module with an adhesive layer around the imager RGB pixels but does not expressively disclose a pixel array; and applying a removeable protection shield to seal the image pixel array from contaminants;
Han et al teaches a manufacturing process with a removable protective film applied to the active pixel array surface. Han et al teaches of Fig. 1 – 10 of applicant’s pixel array (paragraph 0038 active pixel array); and applying a removeable protection shield to seal the image pixel array from contaminants (paragraph 0038 protecting the active pixel array surface during the manufacturing process with a removable protective film applied at the wafer level and then removing the film prior to coupling the lens assembly 301 such that a removeable protection film shield is applied to the seal the image active pixel array from contaminants). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the circuitry of Liang in a manner similar to Han et al. Doing so would result improving Liang invention in a similar way as Han et al - namely the ability to provide a manufacturing process with a removable protective film applied to the active pixel array surface, in Han et al invention, to the fabrication process of camera module with an adhesive layer around the imager RGB pixels in Liang invention where, in combination, the removable protective film applied to the active pixel array surface, in Han et al invention, would be over the adhesive layer dam compound that is applied to the image RGB pixel.
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Liang in view of Han et al further teaches of applicant’s further comprising: placing the image sensor package onto the circuit board by electrically coupling the ball grid array to the circuit board with a surface mount technology (SMT) machine (Laing in paragraph 0025 of chip scale package 201, solder ball grid array 230 electrically couples image sensor 220 to electrical pads (not illustrated) of PCB layer 240. Solder ball grid array 230 may be soldered to the electrical pads of PCB layer 240 and Han et al in paragraph 0057 – 0058 of a coupling process to couple the substrate to an image sensor (e.g., 303), interconnects (e.g., 504) are formed between the substrate and the image sensor. The coupling process is an SMT (surface mount technology) process such that the image sensor package 201 is onto the PCB layer 240 circuit board by electrically coupling the ball grid array 230 to the PCB layer 240 circuit board with a surface mount to the PCB layer 240 using a surface mount technology process);
The combination of Liang in view of Han et al further teaches of applicant’s removing the removeable protection shield from the dam compound after the image sensor package has been placed onto the circuit board (Liang in paragraph 0027 lens assembly 250 is adhered to molding compound 263 by an adhesive layer 265 in Fig. 2A. Han et al in paragraph 0038 protecting the active pixel array surface during the manufacturing process with a removable protective film applied at the wafer level and then removing the film prior to coupling the lens assembly 301 and paragraph 0058 during the SMT process, one or more top surfaces (e.g., coupling surfaces) of the image sensor may be protected (e.g., using a removable cap or tape) to avoid contamination that may result due to the SMT process such that the removeable protection film shield is removed, in Han et al invention, from the dam compound on image sensor 220, in Liang invention, the after the active pixel array image sensor package 201 has been placed onto the PCB layer 240 circuit board because during the SMT process of connecting the ball grid array 230, in Liang invention, the image sensor is protected using a removable cap or tape on the image sensor in Han et al invention);
The combination of Liang in view of Han et al further teaches of applicant’s and bonding a lens assembly to the dam compound subsequent to the removeable protection shield being removed (Liang in paragraph 0027 lens assembly 250 is adhered to molding compound 263 by an adhesive layer 265 in Fig. 2A. Han et al in paragraph 0038 protecting the active pixel array surface during the manufacturing process with a removable protective film applied at the wafer level and then removing the film prior to coupling the lens assembly 301 such that a lens assembly 250 is boned to the adhesive layer 265 dam compound, in Liang invention, is subsequent to the removeable protection film shield being removed in Han et al invention).
Regarding claim 20 the combination of Liang in view of Han et al further teaches of applicant’s wherein a lens barrel of the lens assembly is sized substantially similar to a length and width of the image sensor package (Laing in Paragraph 0024 – 0025 camera module 200 has a CSP 201 and a molding compound 263 shielding ambient light from image sensor 220 where the molding compound 263 functions to shield ambient light from reaching image sensor 220. Paragraph 0028 the molding compound 263 disposed around CSP 201 is substantially a same width as lens assembly 250 such that a lens barrel of the lens assembly 250 is sized substantially similar to a length and width of the image sensor package 201 as seen in Fig. 2A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon or ultimately dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims if claim 2 were amended to overcome the examiners 112b rejection.
Conclusion
/MARK T MONK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637