DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao et al (US 2021/0160855).
Regarding claim 1: Gao discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
determining one or more uplink control informations (UCIs) (disclosed throughout; see [0064]–[0065], for example, which disclose that UCI for transmission in repeated slots is determined; see also Figure 2, for example);
obtaining one or more allocations of transmission resources for corresponding physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (disclosed throughout; see the PUSCH allocations in Figures 2, 3, and 5-9, for example), wherein:
a first period of a first allocation of the one or more allocations overlaps a second period during which at least a first UCI of the UCIs is to be transmitted (disclosed throughout; see [0065], for example, which describes the situation that Gao’s solution is solving: “when a PUCCH with repeated transmission collides with a PUSCH in the same slot, there is no clear method on how to transmit the UCI”; see also [0108], which discloses “As can be seen from FIGS. 5-6, there is a time-domain overlapping between the PUSCH and the repeatedly transmitted PUCCH in slot n+3”; the portion of slot n+3 allocated for the repeatedly transmitted PUCCH is the second period during which a first UCI is to be transmitted and the portion of slot n+3 allocated for the PUSCH is the first period of the first allocation),
the first period and the second period are different (as indicated in Figures 5 and 6, for example, the first and second periods are different; see [0110] and [0124], which disclose two different examples where the start symbol of each of the PUCCH and PUSCH are in different relative positions), and
the first UCI of the UCIs is to be transmitted with repetition in a plurality of the second periods (disclosed throughout; see [0064], for example, which discloses “The current NR communication system supports the repeated PUCCH transmission, that is, the PUCCH occupies multiple slots for transmission, where the same UCI is transmitted in each slot”; see also Figures 5 and 6, for example); and
transmitting the first UCI of the UCIs with repetition during the plurality of the second periods (disclosed throughout; see the example, in Figure 6, for example, which indicates that the UCI is transmitted on the second periods (the PUCCHs) in slots n+3 to n+6).
Regarding claim 7: Gao discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (see memory 1001 of Figure 10 as well as [0168]–[0171], for example); and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to (see processor 1000 of Figure 10 as well as [0168]–[0171], for example):
determine one or more uplink control informations (UCIs) (disclosed throughout; see [0064]–[0065], for example, which disclose that UCI for transmission in repeated slots is determined; see also Figure 2, for example);
obtain one or more allocations of transmission resources for corresponding physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (disclosed throughout; see the PUSCH allocations in Figures 2, 3, and 5-9, for example), wherein:
a first period of a first allocation of the one or more allocations overlaps a second period during which at least a first UCI of the UCIs is to be transmitted (disclosed throughout; see [0065], for example, which describes the situation that Gao’s solution is solving: “when a PUCCH with repeated transmission collides with a PUSCH in the same slot, there is no clear method on how to transmit the UCI”; see also [0108], which discloses “As can be seen from FIGS. 5-6, there is a time-domain overlapping between the PUSCH and the repeatedly transmitted PUCCH in slot n+3”; the portion of slot n+3 allocated for the repeatedly transmitted PUCCH is the second period during which a first UCI is to be transmitted and the portion of slot n+3 allocated for the PUSCH is the first period of the first allocation),
the first period and the second period are different (as indicated in Figures 5 and 6, for example, the first and second periods are different; see [0110] and [0124], which disclose two different examples where the start symbol of each of the PUCCH and PUSCH are in different relative positions), and
the first UCI of the UCIs is to be transmitted with repetition in a plurality of the second periods (disclosed throughout; see [0064], for example, which discloses “The current NR communication system supports the repeated PUCCH transmission, that is, the PUCCH occupies multiple slots for transmission, where the same UCI is transmitted in each slot”; see also Figures 5 and 6, for example); and
transmit the first UCI of the UCIs with repetition during the plurality of the second periods (disclosed throughout; see the example, in Figure 6, for example, which indicates that the UCI is transmitted on the second periods (the PUCCHs) in slots n+3 to n+6).
Regarding claim 13: Gao discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (see memory 1001 of Figure 10 as well as [0168]–[0171], for example), comprising:
instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus, cause the apparatus to (see processor 1000 and memory 1001 of Figure 10 as well as [0168]–[0171], for example):
determine one or more uplink control informations (UCIs) (disclosed throughout; see [0064]–[0065], for example, which disclose that UCI for transmission in repeated slots is determined; see also Figure 2, for example);
obtain one or more allocations of transmission resources for corresponding physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (disclosed throughout; see the PUSCH allocations in Figures 2, 3, and 5-9, for example), wherein:
a first period of a first allocation of the one or more allocations overlaps a second period during which at least a first UCI of the UCIs is to be transmitted (disclosed throughout; see [0065], for example, which describes the situation that Gao’s solution is solving: “when a PUCCH with repeated transmission collides with a PUSCH in the same slot, there is no clear method on how to transmit the UCI”; see also [0108], which discloses “As can be seen from FIGS. 5-6, there is a time-domain overlapping between the PUSCH and the repeatedly transmitted PUCCH in slot n+3”; the portion of slot n+3 allocated for the repeatedly transmitted PUCCH is the second period during which a first UCI is to be transmitted and the portion of slot n+3 allocated for the PUSCH is the first period of the first allocation),
the first period and the second period are different (as indicated in Figures 5 and 6, for example, the first and second periods are different; see [0110] and [0124], which disclose two different examples where the start symbol of each of the PUCCH and PUSCH are in different relative positions), and
the first UCI of the UCIs is to be transmitted with repetition in a plurality of the second periods (disclosed throughout; see [0064], for example, which discloses “The current NR communication system supports the repeated PUCCH transmission, that is, the PUCCH occupies multiple slots for transmission, where the same UCI is transmitted in each slot”; see also Figures 5 and 6, for example); and
transmit the first UCI of the UCIs with repetition during the plurality of the second periods (disclosed throughout; see the example, in Figure 6, for example, which indicates that the UCI is transmitted on the second periods (the PUCCHs) in slots n+3 to n+6).
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 16: Gao discloses the limitations of dropping the PUSCHs during the plurality of the second periods (disclosed throughout; see Figure 6 and [0124], for example, which discloses that “At this time, the PUSCH transmission is discarded and only the PUCCH is transmitted in slot n+3, and it is determined that the first transmission of the UCI is performed on the PUCCH in slot n+3”; thus, the PUSCH is not transmitted in the second periods (the PUCCH in slots n+3 to n+6)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (US 2021/0160855) in view of Yin et al (US 2020/0404692).
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 14: Gao discloses the limitations of parent claims 1, 7, and 13 as indicated above. Gao does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 2, 8, and 14 of wherein: a plurality of second UCIs of the UCIs is to be transmitted with repetition during a plurality of third periods, at least one of the third periods overlaps at least one of the second periods, and the method further comprises: determining to transmit the first UCI based on the first UCI being a hybrid automatic retransmission request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) channel; and dropping the plurality of the second UCIs during the plurality of the third periods.
However, Yin discloses analogous art for handling collisions among different types of uplink information. In particular, Yin discloses (see [0029]) that “For a case that the first PUCCH repetitions collide with the second PUCCH repetitions, a priority for different types of uplink control information (UCI) is applied. Hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) has a higher priority than a scheduling request (SR) and channel state information (CSI)…”. In addition, Yin discloses in [0085] an approach where “In the case of collision between two PUCCH, the PUCCH with lower priority is not transmitted”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gao using the above teaching of Yin to use a priority rule when UCI/PUCCH content collides such that HARQ-ACK UCI is transmitted while other UCI is dropped. The rationale for doing so would have been to have a consistent protocol for handling a scenario where more UCI is available to transmit than the channel allocation allows. This consistent rule/protocol enables both the transmitter and receiver to understand what should be transmitted and received in these situations. Further, prioritizing HARQ-ACK information prevents latency from increasing for data that has been transmitted but not yet acknowledged.
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (US 2021/0160855) in view of Takeda et al (US 2020/0404651).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 18: Gao discloses the limitations of parent claims 1, 7, and 13 as indicated above. Gao further discloses a case (see [0110]) in which “the start symbol of the PUCCH is aligned with or ahead of the start symbol of the PUSCH”. In this case, the UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH (see [0110] – “the terminal can place the UCI configured using the PUCCH on the PUSCH for transmission”). Gao also further discloses (see [0107]) repeatedly transmitting the PUSCH in multiple periods (“also configures the PUSCH to be repeatedly transmitted in 4 slots, for example, the PUSCH starts in slot n and is repeatedly transmitted in the successive slots n, n+1 n+2 and n+3”).
However, the examples in Gao illustrate the case for overlapping in one slot (such as n+3) and thus are silent regarding all the limitations of claims 6, 12, and 18 (in particular regarding multiplexing and transmitting the UCI on the plurality of PUSCHs). Thus, Gao does not explicitly disclose all limitations of wherein: the one or more allocations of the transmission resources for the corresponding PUSCHs comprises a plurality of the first allocations for a plurality of first PUSCHs, the first PUSCHs are to be transmitted with repetition during a plurality of the first periods: multiplexing, during each of the plurality of the first periods, the at least the first UCI of the UCIs with one of the first PUSCHs; and transmitting, during each of the plurality of the first periods, the multiplexed at least the first UCI and the one of the first PUSCHs via the transmission resources of the first allocation.
However, Takeda discloses a similar system for solving the problem of transmitting UCI when the corresponding PDCCHs overlaps with multiple PDSCHs. Further, Takeda discloses an example where a plurality of PUSCHs are transmitted with repetition (see Figure 6, for example where the PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted in slots #0–#3). As indicated in [0085], in this example, the PUCCH and the PUSCH are transmitted over the same slots (Kc and Kd) and the start positions match. As indicated in [0088], in this case, “UCI on PUSCH is performed in slots #0 to #3”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gao consider the case where the PUSCH and the PUCCH are repeatedly transmitted over the same number of slots and have the same starting position as suggested by Takeda in Figure 6, for example. It would have further been obvious to modify Gao transmit the UCI on the PUSCH in this example in the case where the start symbol of the PUCCH is aligned with or ahead of the start symbol of the PUSCH for all of these slots (combining the teaching of [0110] of Gao with that in Figure 6 of Takeda). The rationale for doing so would have been to clarify the behavior of the UE and the base station in the situation where the PUSCH and PUCCH overlap in more than one slot in order to ensure both the UE and the base station handle this situation in the same way to enable them to communicate in this situation as suggested by Takeda.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 9, 11, 15, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (US 2020/0028635) discloses a method supporting multiple TTIs, multiple subcarrier intervals or multiple processing time intervals.
Papasakellariou et al (US 2016/0226649) discloses a method for multiplexing and/or prioritizing PUCCH and PUSCH transmissions.
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 September 10, 2026