CTNF 18/886,981 CTNF 90515 DETAILED ACTION The action is responsive to the Application filed on 09/16/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-34 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12093506 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are an obvious variant of the claim set from the '506 patent only including minor differences in structure and presenting a set of menu icons and a rotating touch, see chart below where bolded portions are similar. It would have been obvious to present a set of menu icons so that more functions could be supported by the menu and presented to the user. It would have been obvious to use a rotating interaction to select and present a shaped menu so that the user could adjust the layout of icons to his or her liking resulting in greater ease of use for the user . Application No. 18/886981 U.S. Patent No. 12093506 B2 1. A method comprising: presenting a set of menu icons at a location on a touchscreen device; detecting, by a processor , a rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device; selecting, based on the rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device, a menu icon from the set of menu icons comprising different menu options; presenting, by the processor, additional menu icons as a group of menu icons adjacent to the location of the menu icon , wherein the additional menu icons comprise a first menu icon to perform a first operation on a screen of the touchscreen device, and a second menu item to perform a second operation on the screen of the touchscreen device; detecting, by the processor, a selection of the first menu icon of the additional menu icons; performing the first operation on the screen of the touchscreen device; detecting a selection of the second menu icon of the additional menu icons; and performing the second operation on the screen of the touchscreen device. 2. The method of claim 1 further comprising: hiding the menu icon before an interaction is sensed by the touchscreen device; and revealing the menu icon after an interaction is sensed by the touchscreen device. 3. The method of claim 1 further comprising presenting, adjacent to a location of the touched first menu icon, expanded menu options of the touched first menu icon, the expanded menu options comprising one or more of different brush types, different colors, different pen types or different pattern types. 4. The method of claim 1 wherein selecting the menu icon comprises selecting the menu icon based on a selection type of a user. 5. The method of claim 1 further comprising displaying a document on the touchscreen device, wherein the document is a collaborative document that is concurrently displayed on a second touchscreen device. 6. The method of claim 5 wherein the menu icon of the touchscreen device is different from a menu icon of the collaborative document on the second touchscreen device. 7. The method of claim 6 wherein the menu icon of the touchscreen device is based on an access control list for the document. 1. A method comprising: presenting a menu icon at a location on a touchscreen device; detecting, by a processor , a size of a touch related to the menu icon at the location on the touchscreen device; selecting, based on the size of the touch related to the menu icon , additional menu icons from a set of menu icons comprising different menu options , wherein the additional menu icons comprise a first menu icon to draw on a screen of the touchscreen device, and a second menu item to erase content from the screen of the touchscreen device; presenting, by the processor, the additional menu icons as a group adjacent to the location of the menu icon; detecting, by the processor, a touch of the first menu icon of the additional menu icons; presenting, adjacent to a location of the touched first menu icon, expanded menu options of the touched first menu icon, the expanded menu options comprising different brush types and different colors; performing a drawing function to draw an object corresponding to at least one of the expanded menu options on the screen of the touchscreen device; detecting a touch of the second menu icon of the additional menu icons; and performing an erasing function to erase the drawn object from the screen of the touchscreen device. 2. The method of claim 1 further comprising: hiding the menu icon before an interaction is sensed by the touchscreen device; and revealing the menu icon after an interaction is sensed by the touchscreen device. 3. The method of claim 1 wherein the expanded menu options further comprise different pen types and different pattern types. 4. The method of claim 1 wherein selecting the additional menu icons comprises selecting the additional menu icons based on a selection type of a user. 5. The method of claim 1 further comprising displaying a document on the touchscreen device, wherein the document is a collaborative document that is concurrently displayed on a second touchscreen device. 6. The method of claim 5 wherein the menu icon of the touchscreen device is different from a menu icon of the collaborative document on the second touchscreen device. 7. The method of claim 6 wherein the menu icon of the touchscreen device is based on an access control list for the document . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 20080163053 A1, hereinafter Hwang) in view of Nordenhake et al. (US 20100283744 A1, hereinafter Nordenhake) . As to claim 1 , Hwang discloses a method comprising: presenting a set of menu icons at a location on a touchscreen device (Hwang Figure 12 121; “The menu set may include at least one menu icon indicating at least one menu item, and a control icon to input a control command relating to display of the menu set,” Hwang paragraph 0011) ; detecting, by a processor, an interaction associated with the touchscreen device (Hwang Figure 12 122; “In FIG. 4A, a size of the lattice touched by the user U may become larger than those of other lattices,” Hwang paragraph 0102) ; selecting, based on the interaction associated with the touchscreen device, a menu icon from the set of menu icons comprising different menu options (Hwang Figure 12 122; “In FIG. 4A, a size of the lattice touched by the user U may become larger than those of other lattices,” Hwang paragraph 0102) ; presenting, by the processor, additional menu icons as a group of menu icons adjacent to the location of the menu icon, wherein the additional menu icons comprise a first menu icon to perform a first operation on a screen of the touchscreen device, and a second menu item to perform a second operation on the screen of the touchscreen device (“If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106; “The ‘menu icons’ refer to icons indicating menu items (that is, icons used to input commands to execute commands corresponding to menu items), and the menu icons of FIG. 3A include icons indicating search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and digital multimedia broadcasting (DMB) menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0090) ; detecting, by the processor, a selection of the first menu icon of the additional menu icons (“If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106) ; performing the first operation on the screen of the touchscreen device (“If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106) ; detecting a selection of the second menu icon of the additional menu icons (“The ‘menu icons’ refer to icons indicating menu items (that is, icons used to input commands to execute commands corresponding to menu items), and the menu icons of FIG. 3A include icons indicating search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and digital multimedia broadcasting (DMB) menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0090) ; and performing the second operation on the screen of the touchscreen device (“The ‘menu icons’ refer to icons indicating menu items (that is, icons used to input commands to execute commands corresponding to menu items), and the menu icons of FIG. 3A include icons indicating search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and digital multimedia broadcasting (DMB) menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0090; “If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106) . However Hwang does not appear to explicitly disclose: detecting, by a processor, a rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device; and selecting, based on the rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device, a menu icon from the set of menu icons comprising different menu options. Nordenhake teaches: detecting, by a processor, a rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device (“Other configurations of generally continuous stroke inputs can be used to define other icon configurations. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 8A-8B, a relatively small circular input 12H can be used to arrange the icons 20H in a small circular configuration. As illustrated in FIGS. 9A-9B, a relatively large circular input 121 can be used to arrange the icons 201 in a larger or circular configuration. In some embodiments, the icons 201 may be larger than the icons 20H based either on the relative sizes of the circular inputs 12H and 12I and/or on the area size of the thumbs 18,” Nordenhake paragraph 0045) ; and selecting, based on the rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device, a menu icon from the set of menu icons comprising different menu options (“Other configurations of generally continuous stroke inputs can be used to define other icon configurations. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 8A-8B, a relatively small circular input 12H can be used to arrange the icons 20H in a small circular configuration. As illustrated in FIGS. 9A-9B, a relatively large circular input 121 can be used to arrange the icons 201 in a larger or circular configuration. In some embodiments, the icons 201 may be larger than the icons 20H based either on the relative sizes of the circular inputs 12H and 12I and/or on the area size of the thumbs 18,” Nordenhake paragraph 0045) . Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to display a shaped menu in response to various shape gestures such as a rotating touch as taught by Nordenhake. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could adjust the layout of icons to his or her liking resulting in greater ease of use for the user. As to claim 2 , Hwang as modified by Nordenhake further discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: hiding the menu icon before an interaction is sensed by the touchscreen device (“Alternatively, if the user U does not perform any manipulation for a predetermined period of time in a situation when the semi-transparent menu set is displayed on the touch screen 100 as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the semi-transparent menu set may disappear from the touch screen 100,” Hwang paragraph 0114) ; and revealing the menu icon after an interaction is sensed by the touchscreen device ((“If the user U touches regions on the touch screen 100 in which the menu blocks and menu set are not displayed, the menu blocks together with the menu set may also disappear,” Hwang paragraph 0117)) . As to claim 4 , Hwang as modified by Nordenhake further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein selecting the menu icon comprises selecting the menu icon based on a selection type of a user (Hwang Figure 5A, Hwang Figure 5B; “For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106; Hwang Figure 7A; Hwang Figure 7B “For example, if the user U touches the icon indicating the music menu item when the moving image player together with the menu set are displayed on the touch screen 100 as illustrated in FIG. 7A, an audio player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to the selection of the music menu item as illustrated in FIG. 7B,” Hwang paragraph 0123) . As to claim 8 , Hwang discloses a system comprising: a memory (“These computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner,” Hwang paragraph 0036) ; and a processor, coupled to the memory, to perform operations (“It is understood that each block of the block diagrams and/or flowchart illustrations, and combinations of blocks in the block diagrams and/or flowchart illustrations, can be implemented by computer program instructions. These computer program instructions may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, and/or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer and/or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions/acts specified in the block diagrams and/or flowchart block or blocks,” Hwang paragraph 0035) comprising: presenting a set of menu icons at a location on a touchscreen device (Hwang Figure 12 121; “The menu set may include at least one menu icon indicating at least one menu item, and a control icon to input a control command relating to display of the menu set,” Hwang paragraph 0011) ; detecting an interaction associated with the touchscreen device (Hwang Figure 12 122; “In FIG. 4A, a size of the lattice touched by the user U may become larger than those of other lattices,” Hwang paragraph 0102) ; selecting, based on the interaction associated with the touchscreen device, a menu icon from the set of menu icons comprising different menu options (Hwang Figure 12 122; “In FIG. 4A, a size of the lattice touched by the user U may become larger than those of other lattices,” Hwang paragraph 0102) ; presenting additional menu icons as a group of menu icons adjacent to the location of the menu icon, wherein the additional menu icons comprise a first menu icon to perform a first operation on a screen of the touchscreen device, and a second menu item to perform a second operation on the screen of the touchscreen device (“If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106; “The ‘menu icons’ refer to icons indicating menu items (that is, icons used to input commands to execute commands corresponding to menu items), and the menu icons of FIG. 3A include icons indicating search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and digital multimedia broadcasting (DMB) menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0090) ; detecting a selection of the first menu icon of the additional menu icons (“If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106) ; performing the first operation on the screen of the touchscreen device (“If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106) ; detecting a selection of the second menu icon of the additional menu icons (“The ‘menu icons’ refer to icons indicating menu items (that is, icons used to input commands to execute commands corresponding to menu items), and the menu icons of FIG. 3A include icons indicating search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and digital multimedia broadcasting (DMB) menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0090) ; and performing the second operation on the screen of the touchscreen device (“The ‘menu icons’ refer to icons indicating menu items (that is, icons used to input commands to execute commands corresponding to menu items), and the menu icons of FIG. 3A include icons indicating search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and digital multimedia broadcasting (DMB) menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0090; “If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106) . However Hwang does not appear to explicitly disclose: detecting, by a processor, a rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device; and selecting, based on the rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device, a menu icon from the set of menu icons comprising different menu options. Nordenhake teaches: detecting, by a processor, a rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device (“Other configurations of generally continuous stroke inputs can be used to define other icon configurations. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 8A-8B, a relatively small circular input 12H can be used to arrange the icons 20H in a small circular configuration. As illustrated in FIGS. 9A-9B, a relatively large circular input 121 can be used to arrange the icons 201 in a larger or circular configuration. In some embodiments, the icons 201 may be larger than the icons 20H based either on the relative sizes of the circular inputs 12H and 12I and/or on the area size of the thumbs 18,” Nordenhake paragraph 0045) ; and selecting, based on the rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device, a menu icon from the set of menu icons comprising different menu options (“Other configurations of generally continuous stroke inputs can be used to define other icon configurations. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 8A-8B, a relatively small circular input 12H can be used to arrange the icons 20H in a small circular configuration. As illustrated in FIGS. 9A-9B, a relatively large circular input 121 can be used to arrange the icons 201 in a larger or circular configuration. In some embodiments, the icons 201 may be larger than the icons 20H based either on the relative sizes of the circular inputs 12H and 12I and/or on the area size of the thumbs 18,” Nordenhake paragraph 0045) . Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang to display a shaped menu in response to various shape gestures such as a rotating touch as taught by Nordenhake. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could adjust the layout of icons to his or her liking resulting in greater ease of use for the user. As to claim 9 , it is substantially similar to claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above. As to claim 11 , it is substantially similar to claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above. As to claim 15 , Hwang discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions that cause a processor to perform operations comprising: presenting a set of menu icons at a location on a touchscreen device (Hwang Figure 12 121; “The menu set may include at least one menu icon indicating at least one menu item, and a control icon to input a control command relating to display of the menu set,” Hwang paragraph 0011) ; detecting an interaction associated with the touchscreen device (Hwang Figure 12 122; “In FIG. 4A, a size of the lattice touched by the user U may become larger than those of other lattices,” Hwang paragraph 0102) ; selecting, based on the interaction associated with the touchscreen device, a menu icon from the set of menu icons comprising different menu options (Hwang Figure 12 122; “In FIG. 4A, a size of the lattice touched by the user U may become larger than those of other lattices,” Hwang paragraph 0102) ; presenting additional menu icons as a group of menu icons adjacent to the location of the menu icon, wherein the additional menu icons comprise a first menu icon to perform a first operation on a screen of the touchscreen device, and a second menu item to perform a second operation on the screen of the touchscreen device (“If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106; “The ‘menu icons’ refer to icons indicating menu items (that is, icons used to input commands to execute commands corresponding to menu items), and the menu icons of FIG. 3A include icons indicating search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and digital multimedia broadcasting (DMB) menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0090) ; detecting a selection of the first menu icon of the additional menu icons (“If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106) ; performing the first operation on the screen of the touchscreen device (“If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106) ; detecting a selection of the second menu icon of the additional menu icons (“The ‘menu icons’ refer to icons indicating menu items (that is, icons used to input commands to execute commands corresponding to menu items), and the menu icons of FIG. 3A include icons indicating search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and digital multimedia broadcasting (DMB) menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0090) ; and performing the second operation on the screen of the touchscreen device (“The ‘menu icons’ refer to icons indicating menu items (that is, icons used to input commands to execute commands corresponding to menu items), and the menu icons of FIG. 3A include icons indicating search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and digital multimedia broadcasting (DMB) menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0090; “If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106) . However Hwang does not appear to explicitly disclose: detecting, by a processor, a rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device; and selecting, based on the rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device, a menu icon from the set of menu icons comprising different menu options. Nordenhake teaches: detecting, by a processor, a rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device (“Other configurations of generally continuous stroke inputs can be used to define other icon configurations. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 8A-8B, a relatively small circular input 12H can be used to arrange the icons 20H in a small circular configuration. As illustrated in FIGS. 9A-9B, a relatively large circular input 121 can be used to arrange the icons 201 in a larger or circular configuration. In some embodiments, the icons 201 may be larger than the icons 20H based either on the relative sizes of the circular inputs 12H and 12I and/or on the area size of the thumbs 18,” Nordenhake paragraph 0045) ; and selecting, based on the rotating interaction associated with the touchscreen device, a menu icon from the set of menu icons comprising different menu options (“Other configurations of generally continuous stroke inputs can be used to define other icon configurations. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 8A-8B, a relatively small circular input 12H can be used to arrange the icons 20H in a small circular configuration. As illustrated in FIGS. 9A-9B, a relatively large circular input 121 can be used to arrange the icons 201 in a larger or circular configuration. In some embodiments, the icons 201 may be larger than the icons 20H based either on the relative sizes of the circular inputs 12H and 12I and/or on the area size of the thumbs 18,” Nordenhake paragraph 0045) . Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of Hwang to display a shaped menu in response to various shape gestures such as a rotating touch as taught by Nordenhake. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could adjust the layout of icons to his or her liking resulting in greater ease of use for the user. As to claim 16 , it is substantially similar to claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 20080163053 A1, hereinafter Hwang) in view of Nordenhake et al. (US 20100283744 A1, hereinafter Nordenhake) in further view of Gottsacker et al. (US 20040135805 A1, hereinafter Gottsacker) . As to claim 3 , Hwang as modified by Nordenhake further discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising a document program (“The menu set may include a control icon and menu icons indicating the uppermost menu items. Accordingly, the menu items identified by the menu icons of the menu set, for example search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and DMB menu items, may be the uppermost menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0120) and presenting, adjacent to a location of the touched first menu icon, expanded menu options of the touched first menu icon (“If the user U touches a menu icon, a command corresponding to a menu item identified by the menu icon may be executed. For example, if the user U touches a movie menu icon as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the movie menu item may be actuated, and a moving image player may appear on the touch screen 100 in response to selection of the movie menu item, as illustrated in FIG. 5B,” Hwang paragraph 0106; Hwang Figure 5B “Back”, “Play” and “Bookmark” expanded menu options displayed in a container box that is adjacent to the touched icon from Fig. 5A) . However neither Hwang nor Nordenhake appear to explicitly disclose the expanded menu options comprising one or more of different brush types, different colors, different pen types or different pattern types. Gottsacker teaches the expanded menu options comprising one or more of different brush types, different colors, different pen types or different pattern types (“Also, standard toolbar buttons provide easy navigation and selection of functions, such as New, Open, Save, Print, Print Preview (contained in the drop-down File toolbar), Spell-Check, Cut, Copy, Paste, Undo/Redo, Fonts, and Font Size, which are collectively referred to toolboxes 246. Other word processing functions of the toolboxes 246 include Bold, Italic, Underline, Left Justification, Right Justification, Smooth Wrap, Border, Shade, Paragraph, and color of fonts,” Gottsacker paragraph 0175) . Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to display a color menu option for documents as taught by Gottsacker. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could adjust the document to his or her liking resulting in better control in editing the document and greater utility. As to claim 10 , it is substantially similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above. As to claim 17 , it is substantially similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 20080163053 A1, hereinafter Hwang) in view of Nordenhake et al. (US 20100283744 A1, hereinafter Nordenhake) in further view of Lee (US 20150341399 A1) . As to claim 5 , Hwang as modified by Nordenhake discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising a document program (“The menu set may include a control icon and menu icons indicating the uppermost menu items. Accordingly, the menu items identified by the menu icons of the menu set, for example search, game, recording, music, movie, photograph, document and DMB menu items, may be the uppermost menu items,” Hwang paragraph 0120) . However neither Hwang nor Nordenhake appear to explicitly disclose displaying a document on the touchscreen device, wherein the document is a collaborative document that is concurrently displayed on a second touchscreen device. Lee teaches a limitation displaying a document on the touchscreen device, wherein the document is a collaborative document that is concurrently displayed on a second touchscreen device (Lee Figure 19 same document 370, 470 and 570 displayed concurrently on devices 300, 400, 500) . Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to allow Hwang’s menus to be used with collaborative documents as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that Hwang’s menu could support more kinds of programs and documents. As to claim 12 , it is substantially similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above. As to claim 18 , it is substantially similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6, 7, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 20080163053 A1, hereinafter Hwang) in view of Nordenhake et al. (US 20100283744 A1, hereinafter Nordenhake) in further view of Lee (US 20150341399 A1) in further view of Gottsacker et al. (US 20040135805 A1, hereinafter Gottsacker) . As to claim 6 , Hwang as modified by Nordenhake and Lee further discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the access rights of the touchscreen is different from access rights of the collaborative document on the second touchscreen device (“On the user interface screen 360 of the first user terminal 300, the first user may select a ‘Collaboration’ menu in the menu bar 363 between the address window 361 and the ribbon menu bar 365 and then ‘Create group’ in a displayed submenu,” Lee paragraph 0189; “Selecting ‘Create group’ displays a Create Group window 362 on the user interface screen 360 of the first user terminal 300. In order to create a group, the first user may enter appropriate values in group name, accessibility, password, and default authority and press a complete button. As shown in FIG. 17, the first user may select and enter ‘Group 1’, ‘Private’, ‘****’ (not displayed so that other users cannot view it), and ‘Read/Write’ in the group name, accessibility, password, and default authority, respectively,” Lee paragraph 0190, users can be given read or read/write access to the document) However neither Hwang nor Nordenhake nor Lee appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the menu icon of the touchscreen is different from a menu icon of the collaborative document on the second touchscreen device. Gottsacker teaches a limitation wherein the menu icon of the touchscreen is different from a menu icon of the collaborative document on the second touchscreen device (“The grouping of the marketing users 46, the technical users 48, and the other users 50, collectively users, represents the ease of use advantage of the document composition system 30 of the present invention. The document composition system 30 is designed to allow users of all skill levels to be involved in the document creation process. This is accomplished by enabling the customization of the front-end GUI tool 54 to cater to the specific job, role, function, and desire of each of the end users 46, 48, and 50. Specifically, a simplistic interface may be provided for non-technical users, such as the other users 50, and more comprehensive interfaces may be provided for highly skilled technical users, such as the technical users 48. The GUI tool 54 may be adapted to track the activities of the user to create a layout for the GUI tool 54 based on the monitored activities. This tracking functionality further contributes to the ease of use of the GUI tool 54,” Gottsacker paragraph 0087) . Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to modify menus in a document for different users as taught by Gottsacker. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the menu’s ease of use could be increased (Gottsacker paragraph 0087). As to claim 7 , Hwang as modified by Nordenhake, Lee and Gottsacker further discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the menu icon is based on an access control list for the document (“The user role 84 defines the level of access to system components (components to which no access, viewing access only, or full are allowed), design information (document design, data design, and output design), and any other desired functionality,” Gottsacker paragraph 0104; The grouping of the marketing users 46, the technical users 48, and the other users 50, collectively users, represents the ease of use advantage of the document composition system 30 of the present invention. The document composition system 30 is designed to allow users of all skill levels to be involved in the document creation process. This is accomplished by enabling the customization of the front-end GUI tool 54 to cater to the specific job, role, function, and desire of each of the end users 46, 48, and 50. Specifically, a simplistic interface may be provided for non-technical users, such as the other users 50, and more comprehensive interfaces may be provided for highly skilled technical users, such as the technical users 48. The GUI tool 54 may be adapted to track the activities of the user to create a layout for the GUI tool 54 based on the monitored activities. This tracking functionality further contributes to the ease of use of the GUI tool 54,” Gottsacker paragraph 0087) . Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to modify menus in a document for different users assigned different roles in the document as taught by Gottsacker. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the menu’s ease of use could be increased (Gottsacker paragraph 0087). As to claim 13 , it is substantially similar to claim 6 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above. As to claim 14 , it is substantially similar to claim 7 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above. As to claim 19 , it is substantially similar to claim 6 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above. As to claim 20 , it is substantially similar to claim 7 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US 20190196673 A1 to Bashev et al. discloses controlling a device using a radial graphical user interface where menus are arranged in hierarchical order and touching a menu option will display additional options related to the touched menu option adjacent to the touched menu option and where the bottom level functions in the hierarchy can be any action performed in any program; US 20070094597 A1 to Rostom discloses a dynamic graphical user interface for a desktop environment where touching a menu option will additional menu options adjacent to the touched menu option; and US 20120226978 A1 to Harberts et al. discloses a graphical user interface having an orbital menu system where touching a menu option will additional menu options adjacent to the touched menu option. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL SAMWEL whose telephone number is (313)446-6549. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Thursday 8:00-6:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kieu Vu can be reached at (571) 272-4057. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 2 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 3 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 4 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 5 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 6 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 7 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 8 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 9 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 10 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 11 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 12 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 13 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 14 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 15 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 16 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 17 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 18 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 19 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 20 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 21 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 22 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 23 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 24 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,981 Page 25 Art Unit: 2171