DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soliman et al (US PGPub 2022/0161201 A1), or over Soliman et al in view of Ifuku et al (US PGPub 2011/0319528 A1) and Zhu et al (PVP/Highly Dispersed AgNPs Nanofibers…, Polymers, 2022).
Soliman is directed to the publication of one of the parent applications of the instant application. The instant application is a continuation-in-part, and adds new subject matter related to ultrasonically-assisted blending of a chelating agent and a polymer. This limitation is not present in the parent applications, such that the instant claims are interpreted as having an effective filing date of 9/16/2024. As such, the Soliman publication is available as prior art under 102(a)(1) and lies outside the 1-year grace period established by 102(b)(1).
With respect to claim 1, Soliman teaches substantially the same electrospun membrane materials as those required by the instant claims; see claim 1 as published of Soliman which teaches the same membranes comprising nanofibers, PAA, PVA, electrospinning, and chelating agents [claim 1]. Further, the chelating agents may be EDTA or ethylenediamine [0017]. Further, Soliman teaches that the chelating agents are loaded by blending the agent into the polymer solution [0024].
Soliman does not teach that the blending involves ultrasound. However, the such limitations represent product-by-process limitations, as the claims are directed to a membrane (product). See MPEP 2113; such limitations are only accorded patentable weight to the extent that they imply structural differences in the product. The instant claimed membrane is claimed broadly and the reference teaches the same membranes and the same suitable functionality, and as such is sufficient to render the instant claimed membrane obvious.
Alternatively, if it is considered that the ultrasonic treatment implies a structural difference in the product, ultrasound is well known for use in assisting blending of polymer mixtures and the like. Ifuku teaches production of blended nanofibers [Abs] in which a suspended material of e.g. chitin is blended with a polymer solution including e.g. PVA, and that common blending methods may be used including mixing, stirring, or ultrasonic treatment [0044]. Additionally, within the context specifically of electrospinning, Zhu teaches improving the electrospinning of nanofiber materials which include a polymer solution and nanoparticles [Abs] in which ultrasound is used to prevent aggregation of the nanoparticles and uniform dispersion [pg. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the materials taught by Soliman to include ultrasonic blending of the chelating agent and the polymers because, as in Ifuku, ultrasonic treatment is a known, useful method of blending polymer solutions and, as in Zhu, this is useful for ensuring dispersion of materials in electrospun applications by preventing aggregation in the blended solution.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, as above Soliman teaches EDTA and ethylenediamine.
With respect to claims 4-10 , see for example reference claims 5 and 11; Soliman teaches crosslinking as well as the ability to regenerate the materials.
With respect to claims 11-14, Soliman teaches chelating agents as above but is silent to the specific concentration.
See MPEP 2144.05 II.A; "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Soliman teaches sufficient guidance as to the purpose of the chelating agents (enhanced affinity for heavy metals) [0024] and optimization of the concentration to find the optimum or workable ranges would be a matter of routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claims 15-20, see for example reference claim 12; Soliman teaches a method of removing heavy metals from water using materials with the claimed properties as further discussed above.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776