DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
None of the instant claims invoke U.S.C. 112(f).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,096,502 B2 to Cui et al. (“Cui”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are genus to those of the species to Cui. Essentially, the independent claims of Cui recite an additional limitation “wherein the request comprises a request for communication resources to establish the replacement macrocell communication link with the other network equipment.” Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
See the table below for claim mappings, with differences underlined.
Instant application Cui
1. A method comprising: detecting, by base station equipment comprising a processor, a failure in a macrocell communication link between the base station equipment and macrocell equipment, wherein the macrocell equipment is communicatively connected to core network equipment that is part of a core network; based on satisfying a criterion applied to a signal strength associated with other network equipment, other than the macrocell equipment and the core network equipment, selecting, by the base station equipment, the other network equipment that is communicatively connected to the core network equipment for establishment of a replacement macrocell communication link to replace the macrocell communication link; and facilitating, by the base station equipment, transmitting to the other network equipment, a request to establish the replacement macrocell communication link.
1. A method, comprising: detecting, by base station equipment comprising a processor, a failure in a macrocell communication link between the base station equipment and macrocell equipment, wherein the macrocell equipment is communicatively connected to core network equipment that is part of a core network; based on satisfying a criterion applied to a signal strength associated with other network equipment, other than the macrocell equipment and the core network equipment, selecting, by the base station equipment, the other network equipment that is communicatively connected to the core network equipment for establishment of a replacement macrocell communication link to replace the macrocell communication link; and facilitating, by the base station equipment, transmitting to the other network equipment, a request to establish the replacement macrocell communication link, wherein the request comprises a request for communication resources to establish the replacement macrocell communication link with the other network equipment.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wired link.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wired link.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wireless link.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wireless link.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting the other network equipment comprises identifying the other network equipment based on a communication received from relay controller equipment that identified the other network equipment based on the signal strength and tuning of the other network equipment.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting the other network equipment comprises identifying the other network equipment based on a communication received from relay controller equipment that identified the other network equipment based on the signal strength and tuning of the other network equipment.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the base station equipment comprises a millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises backhaul equipment, and wherein the base station equipment and the backhaul equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wired link.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the base station equipment comprises a millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises backhaul equipment, and wherein the base station equipment and the backhaul equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wired link.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the base station equipment comprises a first millimeter wave transmit and receive point, and wherein the macrocell equipment comprises a second millimeter wave transmit and receive point
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the base station equipment comprises a first millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises a second millimeter wave transmit and receive point, and wherein the base station equipment and the macrocell equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wireless link.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the base station equipment and the macrocell equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wireless link.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the base station equipment comprises a first millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises a second millimeter wave transmit and receive point, and wherein the base station equipment and the macrocell equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wireless link.
8. Base station equipment comprising: a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: detecting a failure in a macrocell communication link between the base station equipment and macrocell equipment, wherein the macrocell equipment is communicatively connected to core network equipment that is part of a core network; based on satisfying a criterion applied to a signal strength associated with other network equipment, other than the macrocell equipment and the core network equipment, selecting the other network equipment that is communicatively connected to the core network equipment for establishment of a replacement macrocell communication link to replace the macrocell communication link; and facilitating transmitting to the other network equipment, a request to establish the replacement macrocell communication link.
8. Base station equipment comprising: a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: detecting a failure in a macrocell communication link between the base station equipment and macrocell equipment, wherein the macrocell equipment is communicatively connected to core network equipment that is part of a core network; based on satisfying a criterion applied to a signal strength associated with other network equipment, other than the macrocell equipment and the core network equipment, selecting the other network equipment that is communicatively connected to the core network equipment for establishment of a replacement macrocell communication link to replace the macrocell communication link; and facilitating transmitting to the other network equipment, a request to establish the replacement macrocell communication link, wherein the request comprises a request for communication resources to establish the replacement macrocell communication link with the other network equipment.
9. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wired link.
9. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wired link.
10. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wireless link.
10. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wireless link.
11. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the selecting the other network equipment comprises identifying the other network equipment based on a communication received from relay controller equipment that identified the other network equipment based on the signal strength and tuning of the other network equipment.
11. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the selecting the other network equipment comprises identifying the other network equipment based on a communication received from relay controller equipment that identified the other network equipment based on the signal strength and tuning of the other network equipment.
12. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the base station equipment comprises a millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises backhaul equipment, and wherein the base station equipment and the backhaul equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wired link.
12. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the base station equipment comprises a millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises backhaul equipment, and wherein the base station equipment and the backhaul equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wired link.
13. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the base station equipment comprises a first millimeter wave transmit and receive point, and wherein the macrocell equipment comprises a second millimeter wave transmit and receive point.
13. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the base station equipment comprises a first millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises a second millimeter wave transmit and receive point, and wherein the base station equipment and the macrocell equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wireless link.
14. The base station equipment of claim 13, wherein the base station equipment and the macrocell equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wireless link.
13. The base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the base station equipment comprises a first millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises a second millimeter wave transmit and receive point, and wherein the base station equipment and the macrocell equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wireless link.
15. A non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of base station equipment, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: detecting a failure in a macrocell communication link between the base station equipment and macrocell equipment, wherein the macrocell equipment is communicatively connected to core network equipment that is part of a core network; based on satisfying a criterion applied to a signal strength associated with other network equipment, other than the macrocell equipment and the core network equipment, selecting the other network equipment that is communicatively connected to the core network equipment for establishment of a replacement macrocell communication link to replace the macrocell communication link; and facilitating transmitting to the other network equipment, a request to establish the replacement macrocell communication link.
15. A non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of base station equipment, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: detecting a failure in a macrocell communication link between the base station equipment and macrocell equipment, wherein the macrocell equipment is communicatively connected to core network equipment that is part of a core network; based on satisfying a criterion applied to a signal strength associated with other network equipment, other than the macrocell equipment and the core network equipment, selecting the other network equipment that is communicatively connected to the core network equipment for establishment of a replacement macrocell communication link to replace the macrocell communication link; and facilitating transmitting to the other network equipment, a request to establish the replacement macrocell communication link, wherein the request comprises a request for communication resources to establish the replacement macrocell communication link with the other network equipment.
16. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wired link.
16. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wired link.
17. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wireless link.
17. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wireless link.
18. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the selecting the other network equipment comprises identifying the other network equipment based on a communication received from relay controller equipment that identified the other network equipment based on the signal strength and tuning of the other network equipment.
18. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the selecting the other network equipment comprises identifying the other network equipment based on a communication received from relay controller equipment that identified the other network equipment based on the signal strength and tuning of the other network equipment.
19. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the base station equipment comprises a millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises backhaul equipment, and wherein the base station equipment and the backhaul equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wired link.
19. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the base station equipment comprises a millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises backhaul equipment, and wherein the base station equipment and the backhaul equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wired link.
20. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the base station equipment comprises a first millimeter wave transmit and receive point, and wherein the macrocell equipment comprises a second millimeter wave transmit and receive point.
20. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the base station equipment comprises a first millimeter wave transmit and receive point, wherein the macrocell equipment comprises a second millimeter wave transmit and receive point, and wherein the base station equipment and the macrocell equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wireless link.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0092784 A1 to Hampel et al. (“Hampel”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0337931 A1 to Wang et al. (“Wang”).
As to claims 1-3, 5-7, see similar rejections to claims 8-10, 12-14, respectively.
As to claim 8, Hampel discloses base station equipment (para. 0154, fig. 4A-H, relay device R3, 405-d; para. 0114, relay device 405 may be a base station) comprising: a processor (para. 0009, a processor); and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations (para. 0009, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor), the operations comprising: detecting a failure in a macrocell communication link between the base station equipment and macrocell equipment, wherein the macrocell equipment is communicatively connected to core network equipment that is part of a core network (para. 0115, relay 405-a (i.e. which every node is coupled to) connects to the core network, para. 0122, fig. 4A-H, relay 405-d detects the upstream RLF between relays 405-a (i.e. base station) and 405-b (i.e. microcell equipment, as para. 0045 teaches each base station (including 405-b) may provide communication coverage for a macro cell)); other network equipment other than the macrocell equipment and the core network equipment, selecting the other network equipment that is communicatively connected to the core network equipment for establishment of a replacement macrocell communication link to replace the macrocell communication link ( fig. 4A-H, para. 0124, relay 405-e (i.e. other network equipment) establishes new wireless link with relay 405-g (i.e. microcell communication link, as para. 0045 teaches each base station (including 405-g) may provide communication coverage for a macro cell), i.e. selected by 405-d as it receives RLF Msg from 405-d, 405-g is coupled to node 405-a to core network); and facilitating transmitting to the other network equipment, a request to establish the replacement macrocell communication link (fig. 4A-H, para. 0124, 405-d transmits RLF Msg (i.e. request) to 405-e, which then establishes new wireless link (i.e. microcell communication link, as para. 0045 teaches each base station (including 405-g) may provide communication coverage for a macro cell) with relay 405-g).
Hampel does not expressly disclose based on satisfying a criterion applied to a signal strength associated with other network equipment other than the macrocell equipment and the core network equipment.
Wang discloses UE 115-a may sequentially select a cell of one of the base stations 105 according to RSRP/RSRQ level, and attempt network access. If network access using the selected cell fails, the UE 115-a may move to next cell (i.e. the second network equipment as claimed) according to RSRP/RSRQ level and attempt access again, and this process may repeat until a cell is found or all cells are tested (para. 0081) and base stations 105 may interface with the core network 130 through backhaul links 132 (e.g., S1, etc.). Base stations 105 may communicate with one another over backhaul links 134 (e.g., X2, etc.) either directly or indirectly (e.g., through core network 130) (para. 0061), UE transmits access request to the base station (para. 0087).
Examiner notes that the UE of Wang may be substituted for a base station and UE relay device as in Hampel, as they perform the same functions of switching to a new base station in the event of a failure: Hampel at para. 0114 teaches that a relay device may be a base station and/or a UE.
Prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been
obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the cell selection and UE of Wang into the invention of Hampel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce a frequency of measurements for cell reselection operations based at least in part on a use of coverage enhancement techniques (Wang, para. 0049) and because simple substitution of one known element (i.e. the relay device of Hampel) for another (i.e. the UE of Wang) to obtain predictable results (i.e. the functionality of switching to a new base station in the event of a failure) is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143). Including the cell selection and UE of Wang into the invention of Hampel was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wang.
As to claim 9, Hampel and Wang further disclose the base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wired link (Hampel, para. 0039, Some wireless communications systems may be configured such that each base station has a wireline connection to the network). In addition, as the primary reference is used in teaching the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 8 applies.
As to claim 10, Hampel and Wang further disclose the base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the macrocell communication link comprises a wireless link (Hampel, para. 0029, backhaul may be wireless). In addition, as the primary reference is used in teaching the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 8 applies.
As to claim 12, Hampel and Wang further disclose the base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the base station equipment comprises a millimeter wave transmit and receive point (Hampel, para. 0004, 0038, millimeter wave frequencies), wherein the macrocell equipment comprises backhaul equipment (para. 0006, a node within the backhaul network (e.g., which may also be referred to as a relay node or relay device)), and wherein the base station equipment and the backhaul equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wired link (Hampel, para. 0029, backhaul may pertain to wireline connection). In addition, as the primary reference is used in teaching the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 8 applies.
As to claim 13, Hampel and Wang further disclose the base station equipment of claim 8, wherein the base station equipment comprises a first millimeter wave transmit and receive point, and wherein the macrocell equipment comprises a second millimeter wave transmit and receive point (Hampel, para. 0004, 0038, millimeter wave frequencies). In addition, as the primary reference is used in teaching the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 8 applies.
As to claim 14, Hampel and Wang further disclose the base station equipment of claim 13, wherein the base station equipment and the macrocell equipment are communicatively connected via the macrocell communication link that comprises a wireless link (Hampel, para. 0029, backhaul may be wireless). In addition, as the primary reference is used in teaching the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 13 applies.
As to claims 15-17, 19-20, see similar rejections to claims 8-10, 12-13, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 9,668,186 B2 discloses a UE generates an RLF report and is sent to an access device, the RLF report having A2 event indication (figs. 1-2) .
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463