DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment received 06/09/2026.
In the response to the Non-Final Office Action 03/13/2026, the applicant states that claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 12, 14, 17, and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 12, 14, 17, and 20 are amended. In summary, claims 1-20 are pending in current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding to claim 1, the applicant argues that the combination of Godwin and Thomas fails to describe or make obvious an extended reality apparatus comprising at least one processor configured to, at least, "receive, from a remote sensor having a point of view different from a point of view of a camera of the extended reality apparatus, information associated with a target area of a real environment in which the extended reality apparatus is located," "modify, based on information associated with the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus, the virtual representation of the target area to correspond to the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus," "render the modified virtual representation of the target area from the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus," and "output the rendered modified virtual representation of the target area from the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus for display by the extended reality apparatus," as recited in amended claim 1. The arguments have been fully considered. The argument according “modify, based on information associated with the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus, the virtual representation of the target area to correspond to the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus” is persuasive. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claim 1 is hereby withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in a newly applied art. The argument according to rest claim limitations are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
Godwin discloses “receive, from a remote sensor having a point of view different from a point of view of a camera of the extended reality apparatus, information associated with a target area of a real environment”. For example, in Fig. 5 and paragraph [0073], Godwin teaches the wireless interfaces 106 communicates with the UAV 50 to receive and relay data. In Fig. 6 and paragraph [0079], Godwin teaches the UAV 50 and the mobile device 100 collects data associated with the cell site components 14; Godwin further teaches receiving and performing various aspects of the cell site audit 40 with the UAV 50 and the mobile device 100. In Fig. 8 and paragraph [0104-0105], Godwin teaches the UAV 50 with cameras takes a circular or 360-degree flight pattern about the cell tower 12, including flying up as well as around the cell tower 12; Godwin further teaches the view of camera sensors of the UAV 50 is 360 degree and is different from view of a camera of the extended reality apparatus of the user;
. In Fig. 21, Fig. 13, and paragraph [0111], Godwin teaches a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of received 2D photos taken from the UAV 50. In paragraph [0115], Godwin teaches receiving and process the plurality of photographs to define a three dimensional (3D) model of the cell site based on the associated with one or more location identifiers and one or more objects of interest in the plurality of photographs. In paragraph [0117], Godwin teaches the photo data are captured through head-mounted cameras, and the like. In paragraph [0124], Godwin teaches the processor receives, via the network interface, a plurality of photographs of a cell site from remote devices. In paragraph [0125], Godwin teaches receiving the photographs from remote devices.
Godwin further discloses “render the modified virtual representation of the target area from the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus”. For example, in paragraph [0055], Godwin teaches the engineer clicks on an Air Conditioning (AC) panel and a photo is overlaid in the environment showing the engineer the spaces available for additional breakers or the sizes of breakers being used. In Fig. 3 and paragraph [0067], Godwin teaches the GUI 60 provides a real-time view to the engineer/technician piloting the UAV 50.
. In Fig. 12 and paragraph [0110], Godwin teaches forming a 3D model based on multiple 2D photos. In Fig. 13 and paragraph [0111], Godwin teaches a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of 2D photos taken from the UAV 50;
; Godwin further teaches the 3D model is displayed on a computer. In Figs. 14-19, paragraph [0112], and paragraph [0113], Godwin teaches the 3D model measures and maps the cell site 10 and surrounding geography along with the cell tower 12. In paragraph [0125], Godwin teaches defining a three dimensional (3D) model of the cell site based on one or more objects of interest of the user; Godwin further teaches rendering a Graphical User Interface of the 3D model for remote performance of a site survey of the cell site.
Godwin further more discloses “output the rendered modified virtual representation of the target area from the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus for display by the extended reality apparatus”. For example, in paragraph [0055], Godwin teaches the engineer clicks on an Air Conditioning (AC) panel and a photo is overlaid in the environment showing the engineer the spaces available for additional breakers or the sizes of breakers being used. In Fig. 3 and paragraph [0067], Godwin teaches the GUI 60 provides a real-time view to the engineer/technician piloting the UAV 50.
. In Fig. 13 and paragraph [0111], Godwin teaches a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of 2D photos taken from the UAV 50;
; Godwin further teaches the 3D model is displayed on a computer. In Figs. 14-19 and paragraph [0112], Godwin teaches various screenshots illustrate GUIs associated with a 3D model of a cell site based on photos taken from the UAV 5;
. In Fig. 18, Fig. 19, and paragraph [0113], Godwin teaches the 3D model and associated photos on the right side; Godwin further teaches click anywhere on the 3D model and bring up corresponding 2D photos; Godwin further more teaches the 3D model measures and maps the cell site 10 and surrounding geography along with the cell tower 12;
; in addition, Godwin suggests form a comprehensive 3D model. In paragraph [0139], Godwin teaches the first model and the second model; Godwin further teaches each of models include a three-dimensional model of the cell site, displayed in a Graphical User Interface (GUI). In Fig. 36 and paragraph [0184], Godwin teaches updating the displaying based on the navigation commands, wherein the navigation commands comprise one or more of movement at the cell site and zoom of a current view.
Claim 12 is not allowable due to a newly applied art and similar reasons as discussed above.
The dependent claims are not allowable due to the newly applied art and similar reasons as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification describes “point of view of the extended reality apparatus” in paragraph [0006] and paragraph [0008]. However, the specification does not describe “point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus”. Therefore, the language “point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus” is new matter.
Claims 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph due to dependency of claim 1. Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph due to dependency of claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godwin (US 20180075649 A1) in view of Thomas (US 20190325569 A1), and further in view of Kellogg (US 20190026948 A1).
Regarding to claim 1 (Currently Amended), Godwin discloses an extended reality apparatus ([0053]: augmented reality systems and methods; a cell tower and the like are virtually placed in an augmented reality view; [0110]: once the UAV 50 has completed taking photos of the cell site 10, the photos are post-processed to form a 3D model; Fig. 13; [0111]: a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of 2D photos taken from the UAV 50; [0235]: the augmented reality systems and methods allow a user to experience 3D digital objects through a digital camera such as on a mobile device, tablet, laptop, etc.; [0238]: the method 2900 enables the creation of a 3D model of a virtual object which are placed in a virtual environment for augmented reality; Fig. 5; [0071]: the mobile device 100 is a digital device), comprising:
a memory (Fig. 5; [0071-0072]: memory; [0074]: RAM, such as DRAM, SRAM, SDRAM; [0205]: memory); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Fig. 5; [0071-0072]: commercially available processor, a central processing unit; CPU; the processor 102 executes software stored within the memory 110, to communicate data to and from the memory 110, and to generally control operations of the mobile device 100 pursuant to the software instructions; [0205]: a network interface, a data capture device, and a processor communicatively coupled to one another; memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to determine fiber connectivity at or near the cell site based on feedback from the data capture device):
receive, from a remote sensor having a point of view different from a point of view of a camera of the extended reality apparatus, information associated with a target area of a real environment (Fig. 5; [0073]: the wireless interfaces 106 communicates with the UAV 50 to receive and relay data; Fig. 6; [0079]: the UAV 50 and the mobile device 100 collects data associated with the cell site components 14; receive and perform various aspects of the cell site audit 40 with the UAV 50 and the mobile device 100; Fig. 8; [0104-0105]: the UAV 50 with cameras takes a circular or 360-degree flight pattern about the cell tower 12, including flying up as well as around the cell tower 12; the view of camera sensors of the UAV 50 is 360 degree and is different from view of a camera of the extended reality apparatus of the user;
; Fig. 21; Fig. 13; [0111]: a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of received 2D photos taken from the UAV 50; [0115]: receive and process the plurality of photographs to define a three dimensional (3D) model of the cell site based on the associated with one or more location identifiers and one or more objects of interest in the plurality of photographs; [0117]: the photo data are captured through head-mounted cameras, and the like; HMD; [0124]: the processor receives, via the network interface, a plurality of photographs of a cell site from remote devices; [0125]: subsequent receives the photographs from remote devices);
generate a virtual representation of the target area using the received information (Fig. 12; [0110]: the photos are post-processed to form a 3D model; Fig. 13; [0111]: a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of 2D photos taken from the UAV 50;
; [0124]: provide a Graphical User Interface of the 3D model for remote performance of a site survey of the cell site utilizing the 3D model; [0125]: render a Graphical User Interface of the 3D model for remote performance of a site survey of the cell site);
render the modified virtual representation of the target area from the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus (Fig. 12; [0110]: the photos are post-processed to form a 3D model; Fig. 13; [0111]: a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of 2D photos taken from the UAV 50;
; the 3D model is displayed on a computer; Figs. 14-19; [0112]; [0113]: the 3D model measures and maps the cell site 10 and surrounding geography along with the cell tower 12; [0125]: render a Graphical User Interface of the 3D model for remote performance of a site survey of the cell site); and
output the rendered modified virtual representation of the target area from the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus for display by the extended reality apparatus (Fig. 13; [0111]: a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of 2D photos taken from the UAV 50;
; the 3D model is displayed on a computer; Figs. 14-19; [0112]: various screenshots illustrate GUIs associated with a 3D model of a cell site based on photos taken from the UAV 5;
; Fig. 18; Fig. 19; [0113]: the 3D model and associated photos on the right side; click anywhere on the 3D model and bring up corresponding 2D photos; the 3D model measures and maps the cell site 10 and surrounding geography along with the cell tower 12;
; form a comprehensive 3D model; Fig. 36; [0184]: update the displaying based on the navigation commands, wherein the navigation commands comprise one or more of movement at the cell site and zoom of a current view).
Godwin fails to explicitly disclose:
in which the extended reality apparatus is located;
modify, based on information associated with the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus, the virtual representation of the target area to correspond to the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus.
In same field of endeavor, Thomas teaches:
in which the extended reality apparatus is located ([0020]: provide the viewer of the , e.g., augmented, 3-D representation of the room with a visual and audio recreation of what occurred within the room during a particular period of time; [0068]: superimpose the individual's face on the head of the generic avatar body; [0083]: if the user desires to go forward from a particular time, the user may see the one or more first images and the one or more second images being overlaid over the 3-D representation in chronological order; Fig. 4A-4C; [0084]: the enhanced 3-D modeling application displays a first image 406 received from a first user and a second image 408 received from a second user;
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Godwin to include in which the extended reality apparatus is located as taught by Thomas. The motivation for doing so would have been to generate a virtual reality representation of a particular location; to provide the viewer of the 3D augmented representation of the room with a visual and audio recreation of what occurred within the room during a particular period of time; to generate a virtual reality representation of the particular location by superimposing the first 3-D video image and the second 3-D video image over the 3-D representation of the particular location; to display a first image 406 received from a first user and a second image 408 received from a second user as taught by Thomas in paragraphs [0005], 0020], [0062], and [0084].
Godwin in view of Thomas fails to explicitly disclose:
modify, based on information associated with the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus, the virtual representation of the target area to correspond to the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus.
In same field of endeavor, Kellogg teaches:
modify, based on information associated with the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus, the virtual representation of the target area to correspond to the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus ([0001]: Augmented reality; AR; Fig. 1; [0016]: an AR-HMD; overlay or project holographic images on the user's view of his or her real-world environment; [0019]: cause the AR device 102 to overlay, i.e. modify, or otherwise superimpose, i.e. modify, the AR content on a user's view; [0039]: the AR system 100 computes an estimated position and/or orientation of the target 3D model to properly project or overlay, i.e. modify, AR content onto a current view of the use; [0039]: the AR system 100 renders AR content based on the position and/or orientation of the matched target 3D model; to properly project or overlay AR content onto a current view of the user; [0040]: the AR system 100 renders AR content based thereon and project or overlay AR content to align with a corresponding real world object within the user's current view; [0045]: the AR system 100 computes an estimated position and/or orientation of the target 3D model to properly project or overlay AR content onto a current view of the user.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Godwin in view of Thomas to include modify, based on information associated with the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus, the virtual representation of the target area to correspond to the point of view of the camera of the extended reality apparatus as taught by Kellogg. The motivation for doing so would have been to superimpose virtual content over the user's real-world view; to cause the AR device 102 to overlay, or otherwise superimpose, the AR content on a user's view; to render AR content based on the position and/or orientation of the matched target 3D model; to properly project or overlay AR content onto a current view of the user as taught by Kellogg in paragraph [0001], [0019], and [0039].
Regarding to claim 2 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the extended reality apparatus of claim 1, wherein the remote sensor is included in a drone (Godwin; [0053]: an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle; [0058]: Unmanned Aerial Vehicles, i.e., UAVs, is referred to as “drones”).
Regarding to claim 6 (Currently Amended), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the extended reality apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to generate the virtual representation of the target area (same as rejected in claim 1), the at least one processor is configured to:
generate a first local mesh based on an image captured by the camera of the extended reality apparatus (Godwin; Fig. 3; [0067]: the cell site 10 is shown with the cell site components 14 in the view of the screen 62; Fig. 8; [0101]: these location identifiers are used with objects of interest identified in the photo during post-processing to create the 3D model; [0143]: the sparse point cloud is processed into a point cloud and a first local mesh; [0239]: process the captured data to create a 3D point cloud; [0240]: generate a 3D mesh of point, and edit the 3D mesh object if needed); and
generate a global mesh based on the first local mesh and the information associated with the target area (Godwin; [0086]: GPS; global address; Fig. 8; [0101]: GPS; these location identifiers are used with objects of interest identified in the photo during post-processing to create the 3D model; [0102]: provide further accuracy for the location identifiers; [0240]: generate a 3D global mesh of point, and edit the 3D mesh object if needed).
Regarding to claim 7 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the extended reality apparatus of claim 6, wherein the information associated with the target area comprises a 3-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the target area based on an image captured by a camera of the remote sensor (Godwin; [0056]: the system generates the 3-D representation of the particular location; receive the 3-D representation of the particular location from a 3-D camera; ; Fig. 13; [0111]: a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of 2D photos taken from the UAV 50; Fig. 14; [0112]: various screenshots illustrate GUIs associated with a 3D model of a cell site based on photos taken from the UAV 50;
; one can click on two points such as the top and bottom of the cell tower and the 3D model can provide a measurement; [0228]: the environment is reconstructed virtually into a point cloud model using photogrammetry software; [0229]: once the data capture is obtained, a 3D model is created based on processing the data capture).
Regarding to claim 8 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the extended reality apparatus of claim 7, wherein the 3D reconstruction of the target area comprises a second local mesh (Godwin; Fig. 14; [0112]: various screenshots illustrate GUIs associated with a 3D model of a cell site based on photos taken from the UAV 50;
; one can click on two points such as the top and bottom of the cell tower and the 3D model can provide a measurement; [0143]: the sparse point cloud is processed into a point cloud and a second local mesh; [0143]: the sparse point cloud is processed into a point cloud and mesh; [0239]: process the captured data to create a 3D point cloud; [0240]: generate a 3D mesh of point, and edit the 3D mesh object if needed).
Regarding to claim 10 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the extended reality apparatus of claim 1, wherein the remote sensor comprises a plurality of sensors distributed in the real environment (Godwin; Fig. 31; [0168]: the multiple camera apparatus 2000 includes a post 2002 with a plurality of cameras 2004 disposed or attached to the post 2002; [0170]: the multiple camera apparatus 2000 ensures the photo capture is sufficient to accurately develop the 3D model,).
Regarding to claim 11 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the extended reality apparatus of claim 1, wherein the target area of the real environment is obstructed from at least one sensor of the extended reality apparatus (Godwin; [0117]: fixed cameras, heads-up displays (HUD), head-mounted cameras; the UAV 50 is difficult to obtain photos inside the buildings, i.e., the shelter or cabinet 52; the building 902 houses equipment associated with the cell site 10; [0119]: the photo data capture is performed by a fixed, rotatable camera 930 located in the interior 900; [0138]: trees obstruct a cell tower).
Godwin in view of Thomas further discloses wherein the target area of the real environment is obstructed from at least one sensor of the extended reality apparatus (Thomas; [0016]: the image was taken when the wall was unfinished; a second particular construction element of the building; [0047]: a camera is associated with the individual's portable computing device; [0054]: other computing devices).
Regarding to claim 12 (Currently Amended), Godwin discloses a method for generating a view ([0053]: augmented reality systems and methods; a cell tower and the like are virtually placed in an augmented reality view; [0110]: once the UAV 50 has completed taking photos of the cell site 10, the photos are post-processed to form a 3D model; Fig. 13; [0111]: a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of 2D photos taken from the UAV 50; [0235]: the augmented reality systems and methods allow a user to experience 3D digital objects through a digital camera such as on a mobile device, tablet, laptop, etc.; [0238]: the method 2900 enables the creation of a 3D model of a virtual object which are placed in a virtual environment for augmented reality), comprising:
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 12.
Regarding to claim 13 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas discloses the method of claim 12,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 2 is also used to reject claim 13.
Regarding to claim 17 (Currently Amended), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the method of claim 12,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 6. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 6 is also used to reject claim 17.
Regarding to claim 18 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the method of claim 17,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 7. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 7 is also used to reject claim 18.
Regarding to claim 19 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the method of claim 18,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 8. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 8 is also used to reject claim 19.
Claims 3-5 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godwin (US 20180075649 A1) in view of Thomas (US 20190325569 A1), in view of Kellogg (US 20190026948 A1), and further in view of Fink (US 20220207834 A1).
Regarding to claim 3 (Currently Amended), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the extended reality apparatus of claim 1, wherein the information associated with the target area of the real environment comprises images of the target area (Godwin; [0105]: the UAV 50 takes various photos of different aspects of the cell site 10; [0106]: photos are taken at locations marked with circles in the satellite view; Fig. 13; [0111]: a 3D model is constructed from a plurality of 2D photos taken from the UAV 50; [0222]: the 360-degree camera takes several photos of the surrounding environment), and wherein the at least one processor (same as rejected in claim 1) is configured to:
transform the images of the target area based on a first pose of the remote sensor (Godwin; Fig. 8; [0101]: the UAV 50 obtains photos for a 3D model of the cell site; develop a 360-degree view; utilize accurate location tracking for each photo taken; Fig. 13; [0111]: a 3D model is constructed and is transformed from a plurality of 2D photos taken from the UAV 50; transformation; Fig. 14; [0112]: various screenshots illustrate GUIs associated with a 3D model of a cell site based on photos taken from the UAV 50;
; Fig. 34; Fig. 34; [0174]: the creation of a 3D model includes a point cloud; these points are usually defined by X, Y, and Z coordinates).
Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg fails to explicitly disclose:
transform the images of the target area based on a second pose associated with the camera of the extended reality apparatus; and
generate the virtual representation of the target area based on the transformed images of the target area.
In same field of endeavor, Fink teaches:
transform the images of the target area based on a second pose associated with the camera of the extended reality apparatus ([0017]: track a pose of the AR display device relative to a position of the physical object; [0022]: generate an image including a rendered 3D model of the virtual content based on a first pose of the AR display device; apply a two-dimensional transformation to the image based on a second pose to generate a transformed image; the two-dimensional transformation includes a two-dimensional shift operation, a two-dimensional rotation operation, and/or a two-dimensional scaling operation); and
generate the virtual representation of the target area based on the transformed images of the target area ([0022]: provide the transformed image to a display of the AR display device; display the transformed image to a display on the AR display device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg to include transform the images of the target area based on a second pose associated with the camera of the extended reality apparatus; and generate the virtual representation of the target area based on the transformed images of the target area as taught by Fink. The motivation for doing so would have been to generate a transformed image; to display the transformed image on a display of the AR display device; to provide an improvement to an operation of the functioning of a computer by providing latency reduction as taught by Fink in paragraphs [0022-0023].
Regarding to claim 4 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas, Kellogg, and Fink discloses the extended reality apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the first pose of the remote sensor based on features of the images of the target area (Godwin; [0057]: the proper angles; Fig. 8; [0101]: take various photos during flight at different angles, orientations, heights, etc. to develop a 360-degree view; Fig. 14; [0112]: one can click on two points such as the top and bottom of the cell tower and the 3D model can provide a measurement; [0137]: process the first data to define a first model of the cell site using the associated one or more location identifiers and processing the second data to define a second model of the cell site using the associated one or more location identifiers; [0143]: perform initial processing on the input data; process the densified point cloud; [0144]: process the data capture to define a three dimensional (3D) model of the cell site based on one or more objects of interest in the data capture).
Regarding to claim 5 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas, Kellogg, and Fink discloses the extended reality apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the first pose of the remote sensor from the remote sensor (Godwin; Fig. 8; [0101]: take various photos during flight at different angles, orientations, heights, etc. to develop a 360-degree view; Fig. 14; [0112]: one can click on two points such as the top and bottom of the cell tower and the 3D model can provide a measurement;
; Fig. 34; [0174]: the creation of a 3D model includes a point cloud; these points are usually defined by X, Y, and Z coordinates).
Regarding to claim 14 (Currently Amended), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the method of claim 12,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 3 is also used to reject claim 14.
Regarding to claim 15 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas, Kellogg, and Fink discloses the method of claim 14,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 4 is also used to reject claim 15.
Regarding to claim 16 (Original), Godwin in view of Thomas, Kellogg, and Fink discloses the method of claim 14,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 5 is also used to reject claim 16.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godwin (US 20180075649 A1) in view of Thomas (US 20190325569 A1), in view of Kellogg (US 20190026948 A1), and further in view of Sadr (US 20240202987 A1).
Regarding to claim 9 (Currently Amended), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the extended reality apparatus of claim 1, wherein the information associated with the target area of the real environment comprises images of the target area (Godwin; Fig. 6; [0079]: the UAV 50 and the mobile device 100 collects data associated with the cell site components 14; receive and perform various aspects of the cell site audit 40 with the UAV 50 and the mobile device 100; Fig. 14; [0112]: one can click on two points such as the top and bottom of the cell tower and the 3D model can provide a measurement;
; Fig. 21; [0115]: receive and process the plurality of photographs to define a three dimensional (3D) model of the cell site based on the associated with one or more location identifiers and one or more objects of interest in the plurality of photographs; [0124]: the processor receives, via the network interface, a plurality of photographs of a cell site from remote devices; [0125]: subsequent receives the photographs from remote devices), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg fails to explicitly disclose:
train a neural radiance field (NeRF) model of the target area using images of the target area; and
render the modified virtual representation of the target area by querying the NeRF model of the target area based on a pose associated with the of camera the extended reality apparatus.
In same field of endeavor, Sadr teaches:
train a neural radiance field (NeRF) model of the target area using images of the target area ([0029]: train and utilize neural radiance field models for user object rendering; [0035]: train neural radiance field models on user-generated content); and
render the virtual representation of the target area by querying the NeRF model of the target area based on a pose associated with the of camera of the extended reality apparatus ([0029]: the trained neural radiance field models generate virtual catalogs of user objects; [0035]: the trained neural radiance field models generate virtual representations of user objects; [0138]: generate a virtual environment).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg to include to train a neural radiance field (NeRF) model of the target area using images of the target area; and to render the virtual representation of the target area by querying the NeRF model of the target area based on a pose associated with the of camera of the extended reality apparatus as taught by Sadr. The motivation for doing so would have been to train and utilize neural radiance field models for user object rendering; to generate virtual catalogs of user objects by using the trained neural radiance field models as taught by Sadr in paragraphs [0029], and [0035].
Regarding to claim 20 (Currently Amended), Godwin in view of Thomas and Kellogg discloses the method of claim 13,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 9. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 9 is also used to reject claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616