DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are pending in the present application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/19/2025 and 7/24/2026 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the phrase “the rear housing”. For the purpose of examination, the phrase has been read as “a rear housing”.
Regarding claim 5, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the phrase “the arcuate outer profile of the at least one runner plate”. For the purpose of examination, the phrase has been read as “an arcuate outer profile of the at least one runner plate”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhevelev et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0318595 A1, hereinafter Zhevelev).
Regarding claim 1, Zhevelev teaches a wall mount for a tamper-proof sensor assembly (see Fig. 1C and 5A-B; see also [0034]-[0035], [0042], [0079], and [0086]-[0088], wall mount 14 for a tamper-proof sensor assembly 12 shown and described), the wall mount comprising: a wall plate housing adapted to be removably mounted to a wall (see Fig. 1B and 5A-B, wall plate housing 68 adapted to be removable mounted to a wall 45), the wall plate housing having: at least one runner plate disposed in a cutaway portion of the wall plate housing and connected to the wall plate housing using at least one frangible bridge (see Fig. 5A-B and [0088], wall plate housing 68 has a runner plate 58 formed by cutaway portions 58C and connected to the wall plate 68 via frangible bridge connections formed by reduced material between the runner plate 58 and the wall plate housing 68 as shown and described), the at least one runner plate affixed to the wall, wherein upon exertion of a dismantling force on the wall plate housing, the at least one frangible bridge is adapted to break to separate the wall plate housing from the at least one runner plate such that the at least one runner plate remains affixed to the wall (see Fig. 5A-B and [0079], when the wall plate housing 68 has a force exerted on it, the frangible bridges (areas of reduced thickness of material) are adapted to break to separate the wall plate housing 68 from the runner plate 58 such that the runner plate 58 stays affixed to the wall as described).
Regarding claim 2, Zhevelev above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Zhevelev teaches that a rear housing of the tamper-proof sensor assembly is adapted to be mounted on the wall mount (see Fig. 1B-C, rear housing 19 of the tamper-proof sensor assembly 12 shown).
Regarding claim 3, Zhevelev above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Zhevelev teaches that a rear housing of the tamper-proof sensor assembly is rotatable relative to the wall mount (see Fig. 1B and [0020], rear housing 19 of the tamper-proof sensor assembly 12 may rotate as shown and described).
Regarding claim 6, Zhevelev above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Zhevelev teaches that the at least one runner plate is disposed symmetrically about a central axis (X-X’) passing through the wall mount (see Fig. 1C, runner plate 58 is symmetric about central axis 39 passing through the wall mount 14 when viewed from the front).
Regarding claim 7, Zhevelev above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Zhevelev teaches that the at least one runner plate is disposed asymmetrically about the central axis (X-X’) passing through the wall mount (see Fig. 1C, runner plate 58 is symmetric about central axis 39 passing through the wall mount 14 when viewed from the side).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhevelev.
Regarding claim 4, Zhevelev above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Zhevelev fails to specifically teach that the at least one runner plate has an arcuate outer profile.
However, Zhevelev does teach that the at least one runner plate is designed to interface with an arcuate outer profile of a rear housing of the tamper-proof sensor assembly (see Fig. 4, runner plate 58 includes ridges which interface with the arcuate outer profile of a rear housing of the tamper-proof sensor assembly 12 as shown).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the runner plate such that it includes an arcuate outer profile to match the arcuate outer profile of the rear housing. This would allow for the magnet to be covered while allowing for minimal distance between the magnet and the sensor module within the rear housing.
Regarding claim 8, Zhevelev above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Zhevelev fails to specifically teach that the at least one of the wall plate housing, the at least one frangible bridge, and the at least one runner plate are made of a plastic material.
However, Zhevelev does teach that the tamper-proof sensor assembly is made of plastic and wherein the runner plate 58 is provided via reduced material (see Fig. 1C and [0036] and [0088], sensor assembly 12 made of plastic as described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the wall plate housing, frangible bridge, and runner plate were made of plastic similar to the sensor housing. This would allow for a lightweight structure and well-known ability to create reduced material sections as required by the formation of the runner plate of Zhevelev.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Zhevelev in view of Cole et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0219405 A1, hereinafter Cole) represents the best art of record. However, Zhevelev in view of Cole fails to encompass all of the limitations of dependent claim 5 as best understood.
Regarding claim 5, Zhevelev teaches that the at least one runner plate is disposed in the cutaway portion of the wall plate housing (see Fig. 5A-B, runner plate 58 disposed in cutaway portions of the wall plate housing 68 as shown).
Zhevelev fails to teach that at least one tamper arm of the tamper-proof sensor assembly engages a portion of an arcuate outer profile of the at least one runner plate.
Cole teaches a meter with tamper detection (see Abstract), wherein tamper arms (see Fig. 8 and [0058], tamper arms 820 are provided for indicating tampering with the device as described) of a mounting portion (205) engage with an outer profile of a sensor assembly housing (see Fig. 9, tamper arms 810 engage with the outer profile of sensor assembly housing 210 as shown).
However, Cole also fails to specifically teach that the at least one runner plate is disposed in the cutaway portion of the wall plate housing such that at least one tamper arm of the tamper-proof sensor assembly engages a portion of an arcuate outer profile of the at least one runner plate.
Hence the best prior art or record fails to teach the invention as set forth in dependent claim 5 and the examiner can find no teachings for a wall mount for a tamper-proof sensor assembly as particularly claimed and including the above limitations, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Claims 9-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 9-17, Zhevelev in view of Cole represents the best art of record. However, Zhevelev in view of Cole fails to encompass all of the limitations of independent claim 9.
Regarding claim 9, Zhevelev teaches a tamper-proof sensor assembly (see Fig. 1C and 5A-B; see also [0034]-[0035], [0042], [0079], and [0086]-[0088], tamper-proof sensor assembly 12/14 shown and described) comprising: a wall mount comprising: a wall plate housing adapted to be removably mounted to a wall (see Fig. 1B and 5A-B, wall plate housing 68 adapted to be removable mounted to a wall 45), the wall plate housing having: at least one runner plate disposed in a cutaway portion of the wall plate housing and connected to the wall plate housing using at least one frangible bridge (see Fig. 5A-B and [0088], wall plate housing 68 has a runner plate 58 formed by cutaway portions 58C and connected to the wall plate 68 via frangible bridge connections formed by reduced material between the runner plate 58 and the wall plate housing 68 as shown and described), the at least one runner plate affixed to the wall (see [0035], runner plate 58 attached to the wall as described); and a rear housing adapted to be mounted on the wall mount such that the tamper-proof sensor assembly is rotatable relative to the wall mount (see Fig. 1B and [0020], rear housing 19 of the tamper-proof sensor assembly 12 may rotate as shown and described).
Zhevelev fails to teach a front housing removably attached to the rear housing to enclose at least one tamper arm and control circuitry comprising at least one tamper switch, wherein, upon assembling the tamper-proof sensor assembly, a first end of the at least one tamper arm is adapted to engage the at least one tamper switch and a second end of the at least one tamper arm is adapted to engage the at least one runner plate, and wherein, upon tampering with the assembled tamper-proof sensor assembly, the at least one tamper arm disengages from the at least one tamper switch to trigger a notification generated by the control circuitry.
Cole teaches a meter with tamper detection (see Abstract), wherein tamper arms (see Fig. 8 and [0058], tamper arms 820 are provided for indicating tampering with the device as described) of a mounting portion (205) engage with an outer profile of a sensor assembly housing (see Fig. 9, tamper arms 810 engage with the outer profile of sensor assembly housing 210 as shown).
However, Cole also fails to teach a front housing removably attached to the rear housing to enclose at least one tamper arm and control circuitry comprising at least one tamper switch, wherein, upon assembling the tamper-proof sensor assembly, a first end of the at least one tamper arm is adapted to engage the at least one tamper switch and a second end of the at least one tamper arm is adapted to engage the at least one runner plate, and wherein, upon tampering with the assembled tamper-proof sensor assembly, the at least one tamper arm disengages from the at least one tamper switch to trigger a notification generated by the control circuitry.
Hence the best prior art or record fails to teach the invention as set forth in independent claim 9 and the examiner can find no teachings for a tamper-proof sensor assembly as particularly claimed and including the above limitations, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855