DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the geogrid located in or below a particulate layer, the
geogrid comprising interconnecting mesh including elongate tensile elements, the geogrid comprising transverse bars interconnected by substantially straight oriented strands, at least some of the strands extending from one bar to the next at a substantial angle to the direction at right angles to the bars and alternate such angled strands across the width of the geogrid being angled to said direction by equal and opposite angles, and the geogrid having been stretched in at least one direction must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 47, 49, and 54 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims contain multiple periods. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claims 29, 37, 42, 44, 47-48, and 54 it is unclear if the limitations in parentheses are intended to be claimed limitations. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the particulate layer" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
With regard to claims 31-32, 41-42, 45-47, 49, 51, and 54 the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claims 33, the phrase "usefully" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claims 34, the phrase "conveniently" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 42 recites the limitation "the molecular oriented polymers" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
With regard to claim 49, the claim is towards a geogrid suitable for use in claim 1, wherein claim 1 requires a geogrid. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained.
With regard to claim 50, the claim is towards a particulate layer suitable for use in claim 1, wherein claim 1 requires a particulate layer. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained.
With regard to claim 51, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained. It is unclear what applicant is intending to claim and it unclear if the claim is an apparatus or method claim.
With regard to claim 53, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained. Claim 28 states a construction of particulate material which depends upon claim 1 which has particulate material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-35, 41, 43-45, 47-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss et al. (WO 2004/079094 A2) in view of Yongxing (CN 101153475 A).
With regard to claims 29, 48, 50-52, and 55-57, Moss discloses a geogrid engineering construction for railways (abstract) the construction comprising:
a track bed (1/2/3) which defines a track located on a track plane (fig. 1); a mass of particulate material (4) forming a layer located beneath the track plane (fig. 1); and at least one geogrid (7) located in and/or below the particulate layer (fig. 1), where the at least one geogrid is located in a plane substantially parallel to the track plane (fig. 1) and increasing the critical track velocity along rails (pg. 4, lines 3-14).
Moss discloses the invention substantially as claimed as well as depths of the components being variable (pg. 6, lines 4-13) however fails to explicitly state the average distance between the track plane and geogrid plane, measured perpendicular to both planes, and denoted herein as Dr, is greater than 0.65 meters.
Yongxing discloses a construction for railways wherein a distance between track plane and geogrid is greater than 0.65 meters (para 0024, 0029-0030).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moss and have the geogrid at least 0.65 meters deep as taught in Yongxing with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure the construction is stabilized as desired based on the design conditions at hand.
With regard to claim 30, Moss further discloses the particulate layer is located immediately beneath the track bed (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 31, Moss, as modified, further discloses the particulate layer has an average thickness less than Dr (Moss; fig. 1; pg. 6, lines 4-13).
With regard to claim 32, Moss, as modified, further discloses in which Dr is greater than or equal to 0.7 meters (Yongxing, para 0024, 0029-0030).
With regard to claim 33, Moss, as modified, further discloses Dr is less than or equal to 5 meters (Yongxing, para 0024, 0029-0030).
With regard to claim 34, Moss, as modified, further discloses Dr is from 0.65 to 5 meters (Yongxing, para 0024, 0029-0030).
With regard to claim 35, Moss, as modified, further discloses the particulate layer is additionally stabilized by at least one other mechanically stabilized layer and/or chemically stabilized layer (moss; pg. 7, polymer binder).
With regard to claim 41, Moss, as modified, further discloses the geogrid has a thickness of from 0.1 m to 5 mm (“SS40 polypropylene tensar geogrid”).
With regard to claim 43, Moss further discloses the geogrid has a tensile strength of at least 10kN/m (pg. 7, lines 10-12).
With regard to claim 44, Moss further disclose the geogrid has mesh defining elements that have a width of 2 to 100 mm, the mesh defining elements defining mesh apertures having a mean length and/or a mean width of from 5 to 400 mm (“SS40 polypropylene tensar geogrid”).
With regard to claim 45, Moss, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a Rayleigh wave velocity (Vr) therein of at least 55 ms-1. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the Rayleigh wave velocity be any desired size to include 55 ms- based on the design conditions at hand and an artisan of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant’s specification discloses these values are a result of the materials utilized and Moss discloses similar materials.
With regard to claim 47, 49, and 53-54, Moss further disclose radial secant stiffness at 2% strain (“SS40 polypropylene tensar geogrid”).
Claim(s) 36-40 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss et al. (WO 2004/079094 A2) in view of Yongxing (CN 101153475 A), as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Walsh (2013/0216773).
With regard to claims 36-38 and 40, Moss, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the geogrid is in the form of an integral, molecularly oriented, mesh, which comprises polymers which are substantially molecularly oriented in at least one or two directions or interconnecting mesh defining elements including elongate tensile elements.
Walsh discloses a geogrid (abstract) comprising an integral, molecularly oriented, mesh, which comprises polymers which are substantially molecularly oriented in at least one or two direction (paras 0015, 0027, 0041) and interconnecting mesh defining elements including elongate tensile elements (figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Moss and utilize an integral geogrid as taught in Walsh with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the reinforcement structure.
With regard to claim 39, Moss, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the geogrid comprises transverse bars interconnected by substantially straight oriented strands, at least some of the strands extending from one bar to the next at a substantial angle to the direction at right angles to the bars and alternate such angled strands across the width of the geogrid being angled to said direction by equal and opposite angles.
Walsh discloses a geogrid (abstract) comprising the geogrid comprises transverse bars interconnected by substantially straight oriented strands, at least some of the strands extending from one bar to the next at a substantial angle to the direction at right angles to the bars and alternate such angled strands across the width of the geogrid being angled to said direction by equal and opposite angles (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Moss and utilize the geogrid as taught in Walsh with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the reinforcement structure.
With regard to claim 42, Moss, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the molecular oriented polymers that comprise the polymer geogrid are oriented by the polymer grid having been stretched in at least one direction at stretch ratio of at least 2:1 .
Walsh discloses a geogrid (abstract) wherein the molecular oriented polymers that comprise the polymer geogrid are oriented by the polymer grid (paras 0015, 0027, 0041) having been stretched in at least one direction at stretch ratio of at least 2:1 (figs. 1,3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Moss and utilize the geogrid as taught in Walsh with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the reinforcement structure.
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss et al. (WO 2004/079094 A2) in view of Yongxing (CN 101153475 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mezher et al. (“Railway critical velocity – Analytical prediction and analysis”).
With regard to claim 46, Moss, as modified discloses the invention substantially as claimed as well a railway track having rails (1) however is silent regarding the rails have a critical track velocity at least 140 ms'.
Mezher discloses a railway track where the rails have a critical track velocity of at least 140 ms' (table 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Moss and utilize a critical track velocity of at least 140 ms' as taught in Mezher in with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide train speeds with current demands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
12/26/2025