DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/17/2024 fails to comply with the provisions
of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because some of the cited document(s) do not have
accompanying dates(please see attached 1449 for the specific documents). It has been placed in
the application file, but some of the information referred to therein has not been considered as to
the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information
contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s)
will be date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based
on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under
37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12,124,575. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other (see table below).
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,124,575
Claim 1: A device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
capturing images generated by invoking a fiducial on the device; detecting an anomaly in the images based on a context when the fiducial is invoked; and responsive to the detecting the anomaly, providing a notification of the anomaly.
Claim 1: A device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
determining a context of a fiducial when the fiducial is invoked on a user device; capturing images generated by invoking the fiducial;
detecting an anomaly in the images based on the context; and
responsive to the detecting the anomaly, providing a notification of the anomaly.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to capturing images generated by invoking the fiducial and detecting an anomaly in the images based on the context; and only differing in that the claims of '575 patent explicitly recite determining a context of a fiducial when the fiducial is invoked on a user device. Thus, the claims of the ‘575 patent are rendered as obvious variants of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,9,11-16,18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wo et al(US 2022/0084174).
Claim 1: Wo disclose a processing system including a processor and a memory that stores executable instructions executed by the processing system in (fig.1,#120-124). Wo disclose capturing images generated by invoking a fiducial on the device in (page 2[0021]: user system captures/processes images where perspective transformation of an images may be performed using the located fiducial points on the images for reference. For example the four fiducial points located in the step maybe employed in conjunction with the getPerspectiveTransform function for the OpenCV library to perform perspective transformation on the gold images and the target images). Wo disclose detecting an anomaly in the images based on the context when the fiducial is invoked and responsive to the detecting the anomaly, providing a notification of the anomaly in (Fig.2 and page 4[0045]:system detects where a white section of pixels is an anomalous section that identifies a location of an unauthorized modification. The anomalous section of pixels is marked with a marking which is superimposed on the target image and issues alert in fig.2#212).
Claim 2: Wo disclose notification comprises highlighting the anomaly on a display of the user device in (fig.2 and fig.3[0027]).
Claim 3: Wo disclose notification comprises denoting a probability of authenticity of each object on the display in (page 3[0027[).
Claim 4: Wo disclose notification comprises a push notification sent to the user device in (page 3[0027]).
Claim 5: Wo disclose operations further comprise limiting an application on the use device responsive to detecting the anomaly in (page 2[0016-0017]).
Claim 6: Wo disclose limiting connectivity of the user device with the fiducial in (page 4[0044]).
Claim 7: Wo disclose ending an application on the user device associate with the fiducial in (page 3[0027-0028]).
Claim 9: Wo disclose analyzing a background in the images as well as an actor in the images to detect the anomaly in (page 3[003300035]).
Claim 11: Wo disclose processing system comprises a plurality of processors operating in a distributed computing environment to detect the anomaly between the images wherein the images are frame of a video in (page 1[0015]).
Claim 12: Wo disclose detecting an anomaly in images generated by a fiducial when the fiducial is launched by a user device based on the context and responsive to the detecting the anomaly, providing a notification of the anomaly to the user device in (Fig.2 and page 4[0045]:system detects where a white section of pixels is an anomalous section that identifies a location of an unauthorized modification. The anomalous section of pixels is marked with a marking which is superimposed on the target image and issue alert in fig.2#212).
Claim 13: Wo disclose notification comprises highlighting the anomaly on a display of the user device in (fig.2 and fig.3[0027]).
Claim 14: Wo disclose notification comprises denoting a probability of authenticity of each object on the display in (page 3[0027[).
Claim 15: Wo disclose notification comprises a push notification sent to the user device in (page 3[0027]).
Claim 16: Wo disclose operations further comprise limiting an application on the use device responsive to detecting the anomaly in (page 2[0016-0017]).
Claim 18: Wo disclose processing system comprises a plurality of processors operating in a distributed computing environment in (page 1[0015]).
Claim 19: Wo disclose detecting by a processing system comprising a processor, an anomaly in images generated by a user device launching a fiducial based on a context of the launching and responsive to the detecting the anomaly, sending, by the processing system a notification of the anomaly to the user device in (Fig.2 and page 4[0045]:system detects where a white section of pixels is an anomalous section that identifies a location of an unauthorized modification. The anomalous section of pixels is marked with a marking which is superimposed on the target image and issue alert in fig.2#212).
Claim 20: Wo disclose notification comprises highlighting the anomaly on a display of the user device in (fig.2 and fig.3[0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wo et al(US 2022/0084174) in view of Ribnick et al(US 2013/0202200).
Claim 8: Wo disclose comparing the context with information stored in a model repository but does not specifically disclose context comprises machine learning. Ribnick disclose this limitation in (pages 4-5[0043]). It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made to employ machine learning as taught in Ribnick with system of Wo in order to accurately identify trends and patterns for fraud activities thus enhancing overall system security against malicious attempts by the intruders.
Claim(s) 10,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wo et al(US 2022/0084174) in view of Stone et al(US 2014/0063237).
Claim 10: Wo does not specifically disclose facial recognition and motion characteristic to detect the anomaly. Stone disclose this limitation in (page 2[0018]). It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made to employ facial recognition and motion sensor as taught in Stone with system of Wo in order to ensure accurate identity verification and fraud prevention to authenticate and verify human faces to improve overall system security.
Claim 17: Wo disclose comparing the context with information stored in a model repository but does not specifically disclose context comprises machine learning. Ribnick disclose this limitation in (pages 4-5[0043]). It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made to employ machine learning as taught in Ribnick with system of Wo in order to accurately identify trends and patterns for fraud activities thus enhancing overall system security against malicious attempts by the intruders.
USPTO Contact Information
/HOSUK SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435