DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 2-16 in the reply filed on November 12, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 17-21 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 5, it is unclear if claim 5 is depending on claim 3 or claim 4.
Double Patenting
Claim 2, 6-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,844. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘844 anticipates:
Claim 2. A system for treating fat tissue, comprising: at least one ultrasound applicator, comprising: at least one ultrasound transducer configured to generate and direct ultrasonic waves to a selected tissue volume comprising fat tissue; a control unit, comprising: a memory storing at least one fat reduction protocol; a control circuitry electrically connected to said at least one ultrasound transducer, wherein said control circuitry is configured to activate said at least one ultrasound transducer to heat said selected tissue volume according to said fat reduction protocol (claims 1 and 3, note that Applicant’s protocol includes claim temperature 45-70 degree.).
Claim 6. A system according to claim 2, wherein said ultrasonic waves comprise unfocused ultrasonic waves (claim 1).
Claim 7. A system according to claim 6, wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer is configured to generate said unfocused ultrasonic waves in a frequency selected from a range of 1-10 Mhz (claim 1).
Claim 8. A system according to claim 6, wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer is configured to generate said unfocused with intensity values selected from a range of 5 - 90 W/cm^2 (claim 1).
Claim 9. A system according to claim 2, wherein said control circuitry is configured to activate said at least one ultrasound transducer to generate said ultrasonic waves with parameter values selected to heat said selected tissue volume to a temperature between 450C and 700C (claim 3).
Claim 10. A system according to claim 9, wherein said control circuitry is configured to activate said at least one ultrasound transducer to generate said ultrasonic waves with parameter values selected to heat said selected tissue for a time period of at least 2 seconds (claim 1).
Claim 11. A system according to claim 2, wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer comprises a piezoelectric (PZT) plate configured to generate said ultrasonic waves and a coating disposed on said PZT plate, wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer contacts a skin surface indirectly via said coating (claim 1).
Claim 12. A system according to claim 2, wherein an overall thickness of said at least one ultrasound transducer is between 0.1 mm and 7 mm (claim 1).
Claim 13. A system according to claim 2, wherein said at least one ultrasound applicator comprises at least one cooling element attached to said at least one ultrasound transducer, wherein said at least one cooling element is configured to cool a skin layer of a tissue contacting the at least one applicator during the generation of said ultrasonic waves (claim 8).
Claim 14. A system according to claim 13, wherein a temperature of said cooling element is in a range of -15°C to -5°C (claim 9).
Claim 15. A system according to claim 13, wherein said at least one cooling element comprises at least one thermoelectric cooler (TEC), and wherein a cold surface of said TEC is attached to a surface of said at least one ultrasound transducer or to a surface of at least one thermal conducting transducer holder contacting the at least one ultrasound transducer (claim 10).
Claims 3-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,844 in view of Gertner et al. (US 2012/0065492, hereinafter Gertner ‘492).
In re claims 3-5, ‘844 fails to teach: claim 3, comprising a fastener mechanically coupled to said at least one applicator, wherein said fastener is shaped and sized to fasten said at least one applicator and said at least one ultrasound transducer to a skin surface at a treatment region; claim 4, wherein said fastener comprises a strap or a belt; claim 5, wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer comprises a plurality of ultrasound transducers arranged side by side, and wherein said fastener is configured to fasten said plurality of ultrasound transducers arranged side-by-side to the skin surface.
Gertner ‘492 teach: claim 3, comprising a fastener mechanically coupled to said at least one applicator (0437, 0439, 0468), wherein said fastener is shaped and sized to fasten said at least one applicator and said at least one ultrasound transducer to a skin surface at a treatment region (0437, 0439, 0468); claim 4, wherein said fastener comprises a strap or a belt (0437, 0439, 0468); claim 5, wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer comprises a plurality of ultrasound transducers (0319, 0324, array is more than one transducers) arranged side by side (0319, linear array is at least side by side), and wherein said fastener is configured to fasten said plurality of ultrasound transducers arranged side-by-side to the skin surface (0319, 0437, 0439, 0468).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of ‘844 to include the features of Gertner ‘492 in order to help stabilize the treatment region.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,844 in view of Emery et al. (US 2017/0028227, hereinafter Emery ‘227).
In re claim 16, ‘844 fails to wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer is configured to generate said ultrasonic waves with parameter values selected to cause apoptosis of fat cells in said selected tissue volume.
Emery ‘227 teaches wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer is configured to generate said ultrasonic waves with parameter values selected to cause apoptosis of fat cells in said selected tissue volume (0095, 0144, 0146).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of ‘844 to include the features of Emery ‘227 in order to effective treat desired fat tissues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 6-12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Emery et al. (US 2017/0028227, hereinafter Emery ‘227).
In re claim 2, Emery ‘227 teaches system for treating fat tissue, comprising: at least one ultrasound applicator, comprising: at least one ultrasound transducer configured to generate and direct ultrasonic waves to a selected tissue volume comprising fat tissue (0099, 0100);
a control unit (0099), comprising:
a memory storing at least one fat reduction protocol;
a control circuitry electrically connected to said at least one ultrasound transducer, wherein said control circuitry is configured to activate said at least one ultrasound transducer to heat said selected tissue volume according to said fat reduction protocol (0095, 0096)
In re claim 6, Emery ‘227 teaches wherein said ultrasonic waves comprise unfocused ultrasonic waves (0095, 0102).
In re claim 7, Emery ‘227 teaches, wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer is configured to generate said unfocused ultrasonic waves in a frequency selected from a range of 1-10 Mhz (0007, 0156, 0179).
In re claim 8, Emery ‘227 teaches wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer is configured to generate said unfocused with intensity values selected from a range of 5 - 90 W/cm^2 (0007).
In re claim 9, Emery ‘227 teaches wherein said control circuitry is configured to activate said at least one ultrasound transducer to generate said ultrasonic waves with parameter values selected to heat said selected tissue volume to a temperature between 450C and 700C (0022, 0026, 0148, 0158).
In re claim 10, Emery ‘227 teaches wherein said control circuitry is configured to activate said at least one ultrasound transducer to generate said ultrasonic waves with parameter values selected to heat said selected tissue for a time period of at least 2 seconds (0116, 0148, 0179).
In re claim 11, Emery ‘227 teaches wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer comprises a piezoelectric (PZT) plate configured to generate said ultrasonic waves and a coating disposed on said PZT plate, wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer contacts a skin surface indirectly via said coating (0106, 0127-0129, 0190, note that the coating is on transducer and when couple to the skin, that is indirect).
In re claim 12, Emery ‘227 teaches wherein an overall thickness of said at least one ultrasound transducer is between 0.1 mm and 7 mm (0006, 0107, 0111, 0118, 0119, 0129, 0132).
In re claim 16, Emery ‘227 teaches wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer is configured to generate said ultrasonic waves with parameter values selected to cause apoptosis of fat cells in said selected tissue volume (0095, 0144, 0146).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emery ‘227 in view of Gertner et al. (US 2012/0065492, hereinafter Gertner ‘492).
In re claims 3-5, Emery ‘227 fails to teach: claim 3, comprising a fastener mechanically coupled to said at least one applicator, wherein said fastener is shaped and sized to fasten said at least one applicator and said at least one ultrasound transducer to a skin surface at a treatment region; claim 4, wherein said fastener comprises a strap or a belt; claim 5, wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer comprises a plurality of ultrasound transducers arranged side by side, and wherein said fastener is configured to fasten said plurality of ultrasound transducers arranged side-by-side to the skin surface.
Gertner ‘492 teach: claim 3, comprising a fastener mechanically coupled to said at least one applicator (0437, 0439, 0468), wherein said fastener is shaped and sized to fasten said at least one applicator and said at least one ultrasound transducer to a skin surface at a treatment region (0437, 0439, 0468); claim 4, wherein said fastener comprises a strap or a belt (0437, 0439, 0468); claim 5, wherein said at least one ultrasound transducer comprises a plurality of ultrasound transducers (0319, 0324, array is more than one transducers) arranged side by side (0319, linear array is at least side by side), and wherein said fastener is configured to fasten said plurality of ultrasound transducers arranged side-by-side to the skin surface (0319, 0437, 0439, 0468).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Emery ‘227 to include the features of Gertner ‘492 in order to help stabilize the treatment region.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emery ‘227 in view of DeBenedictis et al. (US 2016/0089550, hereinafter DeBenedictis ‘550).
In re claim 13, Emery ‘227 fails to teach wherein said at least one ultrasound applicator comprises at least one cooling element attached to said at least one ultrasound transducer, wherein said at least one cooling element is configured to cool a skin layer of a tissue contacting the at least one applicator during the generation of said ultrasonic waves, but teaches a cooling device or system can be employed to cool a tissue temperature if a certain temperature is reached. In some embodiments, a temperature sensor is used to modulate an energy dose, for example, via modulation, termination of amplitude, power, frequency, pulse, speed, or other factors (0158).
DeBenedictis ‘550 teaches wherein said at least one ultrasound applicator comprises at least one cooling element attached to said at least one ultrasound transducer, wherein said at least one cooling element is configured to cool a skin layer of a tissue contacting the at least one applicator during the generation of said ultrasonic waves (0069, 0073, 0074, 0075).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Emery ‘227 to include the features of DeBenedictis ‘550 in order to remove heat from the target region of the human subject before, during, and/or after energy delivery to cool tissue to a temperature below normal body temperature to inhibit pain.
In re claim 14, DeBenedictis ‘550 teaches wherein a temperature of said cooling element is in a range of -15°C to -5°C (0047, -10 is between the range).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Emery ‘227 to include the features of DeBenedictis ‘550 in order to remove heat from the target region of the human subject before, during, and/or after energy delivery to cool tissue to a temperature below normal body temperature to inhibit pain.
In re claim 15, DeBenedictis ‘550 teaches wherein said at least one cooling element comprises at least one thermoelectric cooler (TEC), and wherein a cold surface of said TEC is attached to a surface of said at least one ultrasound transducer or to a surface of at least one thermal conducting transducer holder contacting the at least one ultrasound transducer (0069, 0073, 0074, 0075).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Emery ‘227 to include the features of DeBenedictis ‘550 in order to remove heat from the target region of the human subject before, during, and/or after energy delivery to cool tissue to a temperature below normal body temperature to inhibit pain.
Conclusion
/BO JOSEPH PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798