DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Steiner teaches multi-dimensional encoding with separate and different component codes for each dimension, while the claims require decoding the same component code in a first and second iteration.
The Examiner asserts that Steiner is directed to iterative decoding as would be well understood by a person of skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. Applicant is arguing that each of the component codes is decoded exactly once, and that each “iteration” is merely a processing of a different component code of a different dimension. However, paragraph 40 referred to by Applicant explicitly states that iterative soft decoding is repeatedly performed for “each component code in the one or more additional dimensions”. In other words, any given component code is iteratively decoded, which means that at least two decoding attempts are made for each component code regardless of dimension.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a mental process and mathematical concept without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a method for iteratively decoding data. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application for the following reasons.
The revised patent eligibility guidelines requires a two-prong analysis under step 2A. In prong one, it is determined that the claimed limitations are directed to a mental process. For example:
decoding, in a first iteration, each of one or more component codes corresponding to the data by performing a first number of enumerations over hypotheses (paragraph 38, BCH decoding algorithm, for example described in: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BCH_code);
determining, in the first iteration, an extrinsic value output for each of the component codes based on log-likelihood ratios (LLRs) of one or more error bits of a codeword (expressed by Equation 12 in paragraph 74);
determining a second number of enumerations based on the extrinsic value (selecting a particular element from a list as explained in paragraph 124 on pages 41-42: “the circuit may be configured to determine the second number to be an enumeration number at a location of the enumeration list next to the first location”); and
decoding, in a second iteration, each component code by performing the second number of enumerations over hypotheses (paragraph 38, BCH decoding algorithm, for example described in: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BCH_code).
are all steps of a mental process for example that can be performed by a human using pen and paper. In prong two, it is determined whether any additional elements rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The additional elements to the abstract method are as follows: performing a read operation on the non-volatile storage device to obtain a codeword; a non-volatile storage device. The read operation and storage device serve to provide data for the method and is an example of data gathering. Mere data gathering is an example of an activity found to be considered insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05g). Therefore, these additional elements are not indicative of integration into a practical application.
Claims 2-6 and 12-16 (comparing values in a list), 7 and 17 (defining a set of decoding rules accord to BCH), 8 (determining whether a logical condition is met), 9 (comparing a value to zero), and 10 (determining whether a logical condition is met) are further directed to mental processes for the reasons provided. Claim 18 is directed to data gather and is considered insignificant extra-solution activity.
In step 2B, an evaluation is made as to whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself. The analysis is the same as laid out in step 2A above, and therefore the conclusion is the same: claims 1-18 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Steiner et al (US Pat. Pub. 2011/0214039; hereinafter referred to as Steiner).
As per claims 1 and 11: Steiner teaches a system and method for decoding data stored in a non-volatile storage device, comprising:
performing a read operation on the non-volatile storage device to obtain a codeword (paragraph 28), wherein the codeword comprises data encoded by one or more component codes and one or more redundancy bits (Fig. 2);
decoding, in a first iteration (paragraph 133, Table 1), each of the one or more component codes of the codeword corresponding to the data (paragraphs 25 and 31) by performing a first number of enumerations over hypotheses (paragraph 108 and paragraph 34: “For a codeword of k information bits, the number of different possible bit values (for binary (0) or (1) bits) is 2k. Each of the (2k) combinations
of different bit values may be a hypothesis or potential "candidate" error correction for the codeword”);
determining, in the first iteration, an extrinsic value output for each of the component codes based on log-likelihood ratios (LLRs) of one or more error bits of a codeword (paragraph 42, scaled LLR obtained by boosting);
determining a second number of enumerations (paragraph 147) based on the extrinsic value (last sentence of paragraph 42; paragraph 188); and
decoding, in a second iteration, each of the one or more component codes of the codeword corresponding to the data by performing the second number of enumerations over hypotheses (paragraphs 40 and 175).
As per claims 7 and 17:
Steiner further teaches the method of claim 1 and system of claim 11, wherein each component code is a Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem (BCH) code (paragraphs 123 and 217).
As per claim 8: Steiner further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein decoding is successful after the second iteration if a termination condition is reached (paragraphs 179 and 202).
As per claim 9: Steiner further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the termination condition comprises a CRC signature equaling zero (paragraph 80).
As per claim 10: Steiner further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein decoding is declared a failure after the second iteration if a maximum number of iterations is reached (paragraph 130).
As per claim 18:
Steiner further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing a plurality additional reads in connection with the read operation to obtain soft input corresponding to the LLRs (paragraph 111).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111