DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 filed June 12th 2026 are pending in the current action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With regards towards applicant’s argument that “Wilde does not teach or suggest both an “augmented reality application” and a “payment application,” and therefore does not teach or suggest “transferring, by the augmented reality application, the virtual number information to the payment application responsive to receiving a command” the Examiner must respectfully disagree. Wilde ¶147 states: “Interaction with inanimate objects to access information using an augmented reality device from surrounding environment may be performed by reciting the trigger word sequence “SCAN THIS CARD” 914 to scan the information visible on the credit card 912 using camera 324 of augmented reality system 140. Camera 324 captures images of the card and may pass it to one of the applications 334 to perform optical character recognition to identify card details.” Therefore, there is an application controlling the camera of the augmented reality device (i.e. an augmented reality application) that passes information to the payment application to process the payment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment filed June 12th 2026 resolves the prior 112 rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 12-14, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilde (US2020/0125322) in view of Lee et al. (US2018/0150810)
Consider claim 1, where Wilde teaches a computer-implemented method for generating virtual number information on a mobile device, the method comprising: detecting, by an augmented reality application installed on the mobile device, initiation of a payment transaction at a payment application; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where the user wearing an augmented reality device initiates a “PAY NOW” action) displaying, by the augmented reality application of the mobile device, a real-time view; (See Wild Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where customized user interface allows interaction with information on a credit card 912 when placed in an information window 910 linked with an action element represented by a trigger word sequence “SCAN THIS CARD” 914.) detecting, by the augmented reality application, a payment object within the real-time view; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where an interaction with inanimate objects to access information using an augmented reality device from surrounding environment may be performed by reciting the trigger word sequence “SCAN THIS CARD” 914 to scan the information visible on the credit card 912 using camera 324 of augmented reality system 140.) scanning, by the augmented reality application, the detected payment object to retrieve payment object information and user information associated with the detected payment object; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where camera 324 captures images of the card and may pass it to one of the applications 334 to perform optical character recognition to identify card details.) generating, by the augmented reality application, the virtual number information, wherein the virtual number information comprises at least one of a virtual account number, a virtual expiration date; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where an augmented reality device waiting on payment may identify a 16-digit sequence of numbers as a credit card number. As well as the name and expiration date on the credit card as shown in Fig. 9B) displaying, as an overlay by the augmented reality application, the virtual number information over the detected payment object in the real-time view; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 the information showing information transferred from a physical object to the information window may be associated with an action element. For example, in FIG. 9B, augmented reality device 390 scans inanimate credit card object 912 in the field of view and identifies the type of object to be bank issued credit/debit card and its corresponding information.) and transferring, by the augmented reality application, the virtual number information to the payment application responsive to receiving a command via the overlay. ( See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 the customized user interface 902 displays scanned information in an information window 920 and an associated action element represented by trigger word sequence “SUBMIT THIS PAYMENT” 924 to interact with the card details information in the information window by triggering payment for a service)
Wilde teaches credit card information, and storing information of user accounts (See Wilde ¶69) however Wilde does not explicitly teach wherein the payment object information comprises an actual account number; wherein the virtual number information comprises a virtual account number different from the actual account number. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches wherein the payment object information comprises an actual account number; wherein the virtual number information comprises a virtual account number different from the actual account number. (See Lee ¶36, 32, 40 where the local management system 116 is configured to receive text information 106 of a document 108 from the augmented reality user device 400 and to use the text information 106 to look-up information linked with the document 108 and the user 112 in the account information database 117. The text information 106 may include a source name, a date, a reference number, account number, a balance, a summary, a description, a routing number, tracking number, a barcode number, a gift card number, product information, and/or any other suitable information, or combinations thereof. The transfer management engine 124 is configured to first use the user identifier 114 to locate payment history for the user 112 and then uses the text information 106 to search the payment history for a transaction that corresponds with the text information 106.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the information stored regarding the user accounts of Wilde may store a user identifier to look up payment options for the user as taught by Lee (See Lee ¶109) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of linking other relevant information to improve the user experience.
Consider claim 2, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the payment application is installed on the mobile device. (See Wilde ¶63-64 where the software modules 334 on the device)
Consider claim 3, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the payment application is a browser. (See Wilde ¶63-64 where the software modules 334 on the device may be an internet browser)
Consider claim 4, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the payment application is installed on a user device separate from the mobile device. (See Wilde ¶63-64 where electronic device 300 can be or can include a handheld device, a multiple-mode communication device configured for both data and voice communication, a smartphone, a mobile telephone, a laptop, a computer wired to the network, a netbook, a gaming console, a tablet, a smart watch, eye glasses, a headset, goggles, or a PDA enabled for networked communication. Thus, including a smartphone networked with the augmented reality device)
Consider claim 5, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the initiation of the payment transaction comprises: identifying a transaction occurring at the payment transaction that requires input of payment information. (See Wilde Fig. 7, 8, 9A, 9B and ¶135-139 where an UPSELL information window 740 provides selections for the user to purchase items and detects when the user has selected an option to purchase an upgrade and then subsequently provide a payment window)
Consider claim 8, where Wilde teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor of a mobile device, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: detecting, by an augmented reality application installed on the mobile device, initiation of a payment transaction at a payment application; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where the user wearing an augmented reality device initiates a “PAY NOW” action) displaying, by the augmented reality application of the mobile device, a real-time view; (See Wild Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where customized user interface allows interaction with information on a credit card 912 when placed in an information window 910 linked with an action element represented by a trigger word sequence “SCAN THIS CARD” 914.) detecting, by the augmented reality application, a payment object within the real-time view; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where an interaction with inanimate objects to access information using an augmented reality device from surrounding environment may be performed by reciting the trigger word sequence “SCAN THIS CARD” 914 to scan the information visible on the credit card 912 using camera 324 of augmented reality system 140.) scanning, by the augmented reality application, the detected payment object to retrieve payment object information and user information associated with the detected payment object; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where camera 324 captures images of the card and may pass it to one of the applications 334 to perform optical character recognition to identify card details.) generating, by the augmented reality application, virtual number information, wherein the virtual number information comprises at least one of a virtual account number, a virtual expiration date; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where an augmented reality device waiting on payment may identify a 16-digit sequence of numbers as a credit card number. As well as the name and expiration date on the credit card as shown in Fig. 9B) displaying, as an overlay by the augmented reality application, the virtual number information over the detected payment object in the real-time view; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 the information showing information transferred from a physical object to the information window may be associated with an action element. For example, in FIG. 9B, augmented reality device 390 scans inanimate credit card object 912 in the field of view and identifies the type of object to be bank issued credit/debit card and its corresponding information.) and transferring, by the augmented reality application, the virtual number information to the payment application responsive to receiving a command via the overlay. ( See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 the customized user interface 902 displays scanned information in an information window 920 and an associated action element represented by trigger word sequence “SUBMIT THIS PAYMENT” 924 to interact with the card details information in the information window by triggering payment for a service)
Wilde teaches credit card information, and storing information of user accounts (See Wilde ¶69) however Wilde does not explicitly teach wherein the payment object information comprises an actual account number; wherein the virtual number information comprises a virtual account number different from the actual account number. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches wherein the payment object information comprises an actual account number; wherein the virtual number information comprises a virtual account number different from the actual account number. (See Lee ¶36, 32, 40 where the local management system 116 is configured to receive text information 106 of a document 108 from the augmented reality user device 400 and to use the text information 106 to look-up information linked with the document 108 and the user 112 in the account information database 117. The text information 106 may include a source name, a date, a reference number, account number, a balance, a summary, a description, a routing number, tracking number, a barcode number, a gift card number, product information, and/or any other suitable information, or combinations thereof. The transfer management engine 124 is configured to first use the user identifier 114 to locate payment history for the user 112 and then uses the text information 106 to search the payment history for a transaction that corresponds with the text information 106.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the information stored regarding the user accounts of Wilde may store a user identifier to look up payment options for the user as taught by Lee (See Lee ¶109) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of linking other relevant information to improve the user experience.
Consider claim 9, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the payment application is installed on the mobile device. (See Wilde ¶63-64 where the software modules 334 on the device)
Consider claim 10, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the payment application is a browser. (See Wilde ¶63-64 where the software modules 334 on the device may be an internet browser)
Consider claim 12, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the payment application is installed on a user device separate from the mobile device. (See Wilde ¶63-64 where electronic device 300 can be or can include a handheld device, a multiple-mode communication device configured for both data and voice communication, a smartphone, a mobile telephone, a laptop, a computer wired to the network, a netbook, a gaming console, a tablet, a smart watch, eye glasses, a headset, goggles, or a PDA enabled for networked communication. Thus, including a smartphone networked with the augmented reality device)
Consider claim 13, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein detecting the initiation of the payment transaction comprises: identifying a transaction occurring at the payment transaction that requires input of payment information. (See Wilde Fig. 7, 8, 9A, 9B and ¶135-139 where an UPSELL information window 740 provides selections for the user to purchase items and detects when the user has selected an option to purchase an upgrade and then subsequently provide a payment window)
Consider claim 16, where Wilde teaches an augmented reality device for generating virtual number information, comprising: a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory (See Wilde Fig. 3A) and configured to: detecting, by an augmented reality application installed on the mobile device, initiation of a payment transaction at a payment application; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where the user wearing an augmented reality device initiates a “PAY NOW” action) displaying, by the augmented reality application of the mobile device, a real-time view; (See Wild Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where customized user interface allows interaction with information on a credit card 912 when placed in an information window 910 linked with an action element represented by a trigger word sequence “SCAN THIS CARD” 914.) detecting, by the augmented reality application, a payment object within the real-time view; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where an interaction with inanimate objects to access information using an augmented reality device from surrounding environment may be performed by reciting the trigger word sequence “SCAN THIS CARD” 914 to scan the information visible on the credit card 912 using camera 324 of augmented reality system 140.) scanning, by the augmented reality application, the detected payment object to retrieve payment object information and user information associated with the detected payment object; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where camera 324 captures images of the card and may pass it to one of the applications 334 to perform optical character recognition to identify card details.) generating, by the augmented reality application, the virtual number information, wherein the virtual number information comprises at least one of a virtual account number, a virtual expiration date; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 where an augmented reality device waiting on payment may identify a 16-digit sequence of numbers as a credit card number. As well as the name and expiration date on the credit card as shown in Fig. 9B) displaying, as an overlay by the augmented reality application, the virtual number information over the detected payment object in the real-time view; (See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 the information showing information transferred from a physical object to the information window may be associated with an action element. For example, in FIG. 9B, augmented reality device 390 scans inanimate credit card object 912 in the field of view and identifies the type of object to be bank issued credit/debit card and its corresponding information.) and transferring, by the augmented reality application, the virtual number information to the payment application responsive to receiving a command via the overlay. ( See Wilde Figs. 9A, 9B and ¶146-149 the customized user interface 902 displays scanned information in an information window 920 and an associated action element represented by trigger word sequence “SUBMIT THIS PAYMENT” 924 to interact with the card details information in the information window by triggering payment for a service)
Wilde teaches credit card information, and storing information of user accounts (See Wilde ¶69) however Wilde does not explicitly teach wherein the payment object information comprises an actual account number; wherein the virtual number information comprises a virtual account number different from the actual account number. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches wherein the payment object information comprises an actual account number; wherein the virtual number information comprises a virtual account number different from the actual account number. (See Lee ¶36, 32, 40 where the local management system 116 is configured to receive text information 106 of a document 108 from the augmented reality user device 400 and to use the text information 106 to look-up information linked with the document 108 and the user 112 in the account information database 117. The text information 106 may include a source name, a date, a reference number, account number, a balance, a summary, a description, a routing number, tracking number, a barcode number, a gift card number, product information, and/or any other suitable information, or combinations thereof. The transfer management engine 124 is configured to first use the user identifier 114 to locate payment history for the user 112 and then uses the text information 106 to search the payment history for a transaction that corresponds with the text information 106.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the information stored regarding the user accounts of Wilde may store a user identifier to look up payment options for the user as taught by Lee (See Lee ¶109) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of linking other relevant information to improve the user experience.
Consider claim 17, where Wilde in view of Lee Teaches the augmented reality device of claim 16, wherein the payment application is installed on the mobile device. (See Wilde ¶63-64 where the software modules 334 on the device)
Consider claim 18, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the augmented reality device of claim 16, wherein the payment application is a browser. (See Wilde ¶63-64 where the software modules 334 on the device may be an internet browser)
Consider claim 20, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the augmented reality device of claim 16, wherein in detecting the initiation of the payment transaction, the processor is further configured to: identify a transaction occurring at the payment transaction that requires input of payment information. (See Wilde Fig. 7, 8, 9A, 9B and ¶135-139 where an UPSELL information window 740 provides selections for the user to purchase items and detects when the user has selected an option to purchase an upgrade and then subsequently provide a payment window)
Claim(s) 6, 7, 11, 14, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilde in view of Lee as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Reese et al. (US2016/0364723)
Consider claim 6, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1, however Wilde does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: removing the overlay from the real-time view when the detected payment object is not display displayed in the real-time view; and storing the virtual number information in a memory of the mobile device. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Reese teaches removing the overlay from the real-time view when the detected payment object is not display displayed in the real-time view; and storing the virtual number information in a memory of the mobile device. (See Reese ¶34-37 where after interaction with the virtual POS terminal, the payment may be stored in a payment credential database. The payment credentials may be associated with a payment card issued to users for paying for goods and services (e.g., a credit card, charge card, debit card, electronic benefits transfer (EBT) cards, etc.). Also See Reese ¶30 where user device may be an augmented reality device.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the user device of Wilde to further include a payment credential DB as taught by Reese. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of bringing the user experience and transaction security aspects of a physical POS terminal (i.e., card-present transactions) to online, phone-order, and/or mail-order transactions. (See Reese ¶4)
Consider claim 7, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the method further comprises: detecting, by the augmented reality application, a second payment object within the real-time view; scanning, by the augmented reality application, the detected second payment object to retrieve second payment object information and second user information associated with the detected second payment object; (See Wilde ¶122, 137 and Fig. 7 where An alternative selection may result in other options being shown as the selected option. Options include cabin upgrades, lounge access, check bags, thus the device may present a different payment prompt for additional add-ons.)
Wilde teaches additional payment selections, however Wilde does not explicitly teach determining, based on at least one of the second payment objection information and the second user information, that the second payment object is the payment objection; retrieving the virtual number information from the memory of the mobile device based on the determining; and displaying the virtual number information as a second overlay. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Reese teaches determining, based on at least one of the second payment objection information and the second user information, that the second payment object is the payment objection; retrieving the virtual number information from the memory of the mobile device based on the determining; and displaying the virtual number information as a second overlay. (See Reese Fig. 7, 10 and ¶81-88 where a Checkout UI includes saved payment credentials 1015A-C that were stored in the payment credential DB) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the checkout UI of Wilde to include the saved payment options as taught by Reese. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of bringing the user experience and transaction security aspects of a physical POS terminal (i.e., card-present transactions) to online, phone-order, and/or mail-order transactions. (See Reese ¶4)
Consider claim 11, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the performing the user authentication occurs after the scanning of the payment object. (See Reese Fig. 11 and ¶91 where Reese teaches inputting passcode authentication after payment) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of bringing the user experience and transaction security aspects of a physical POS terminal (i.e., card-present transactions) to online, phone-order, and/or mail-order transactions. (See Reese ¶4)
Consider claim 14, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, the operations further comprising: removing the overlay from the real-time view when the detected payment object is not display displayed in the real-time view; and storing the virtual number information in a memory of the mobile device. (See Reese ¶34-37 where after interaction with the virtual POS terminal, the payment may be stored in a payment credential database. The payment credentials may be associated with a payment card issued to users for paying for goods and services (e.g., a credit card, charge card, debit card, electronic benefits transfer (EBT) cards, etc.). Also See Reese ¶30 where user device may be an augmented reality device.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the user device of Wilde to further include a payment credential DB as taught by Reese. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of bringing the user experience and transaction security aspects of a physical POS terminal (i.e., card-present transactions) to online, phone-order, and/or mail-order transactions. (See Reese ¶4)
Consider claim 15, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, the operations further comprising: detecting, by the augmented reality application, a second payment object within the real-time view; scanning, by the augmented reality application, the detected second payment object to retrieve second payment object information and second user information associated with the detected second payment object; (See Wilde ¶122, 137 and Fig. 7 where An alternative selection may result in other options being shown as the selected option. Options include cabin upgrades, lounge access, check bags, thus the device may present a different payment prompt for additional add-ons.)
Wilde teaches additional payment selections, however Wilde does not explicitly teach determining, based on at least one of the second payment objection information and the second user information, that the second payment object is the payment objection; retrieving the virtual number information from the memory of the mobile device based on the determining; and displaying the virtual number information as a second overlay. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Reese teaches determining, based on at least one of the second payment objection information and the second user information, that the second payment object is the payment objection; retrieving the virtual number information from the memory of the mobile device based on the determining; and displaying the virtual number information as a second overlay. (See Reese Fig. 7, 10 and ¶81-88 where a Checkout UI includes saved payment credentials 1015A-C that were stored in the payment credential DB) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the checkout UI of Wilde to include the saved payment options as taught by Reese. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of bringing the user experience and transaction security aspects of a physical POS terminal (i.e., card-present transactions) to online, phone-order, and/or mail-order transactions. (See Reese ¶4)
Consider claim 19, where Wilde in view of Lee teaches the augmented reality device of claim 16, wherein the performing the user authentication occurs after the scanning of the payment object. (See Reese Fig. 11 and ¶91 where Reese teaches inputting passcode authentication after payment) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of bringing the user experience and transaction security aspects of a physical POS terminal (i.e., card-present transactions) to online, phone-order, and/or mail-order transactions. (See Reese ¶4)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2624
/WILLIAM LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624