DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 3, the phrase “wherein the control logic configured to switch” should be “wherein the control logic is configured to switch”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the
inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his
invention.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-5, 8, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “wherein the first control signal is configured to enable the LO distribution … and disable the LO distribution….” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because a control signal is a transient signal and is not a structural element of the claimed radar MMIC, causing the control signal itself and any subsequent limitation of the control signal to be outside the scope of the invention. The control signal is created by the radar MMIC during operation, and is not necessarily present, nor does it necessarily have any particular “configuration.” Therefore, whether, and to what extent, a limitation of the control signal serves to further limit Claim 1 is unclear. This rejection also applies to the corresponding limitation(s) in Claims 4 and 18.
Regarding Claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “the calibration mode and the monitoring mode” (emphasis added). However, Claim 1 recites “at least one of a monitoring mode or a calibration mode.” Therefore, it is unclear whether Claim 2 requires both modes to be present or only whichever one of the calibration mode or monitoring mode is included in Claim 1. This rejection also applies to the corresponding limitation in Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 5, the claim recites the limitation “wherein the LO distribution is configured to: receive the first control signal … provide the LO signal to the LO output terminal, and … prevent the LO signal from being provided to the LO output terminal.” However, Claim 1 recites the “LO distribution” as the distribution of the LO signal and not as a structural element of the claimed radar MMIC. Therefore, it is unclear which element performs the claimed functions. Examiner interprets the “LO distribution circuit” as performing the claimed functions.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim recites the limitation “the radar MMIC.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim only introduces a “primary radar MMIC” and a “secondary radar MMIC.”
Regarding Claim 18, the claim recites the limitation “the LO signal.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim only introduces a “first LO signal.”
Regarding Claim 19, the claim recites the limitation “the radar MMIC.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 only introduces a “primary radar MMIC” and a “secondary radar MMIC.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a
new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in
which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 18-20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melzer (US 2022/0308161) in view of Nayyar (US 2019/0097651).
Regarding Claim 1, Melzer teaches:
A radar monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC), comprising:
a control logic configured to set the radar MMIC in one of a plurality of operation modes, the plurality of operation modes including a radar operation mode … ([0016]: “The control circuit may be configured to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation”; [0021]: “the radar MMIC is configured to operate its transmitter and receiver circuitry based on the first LO signal during the first mode of operation”);
a system clock terminal configured to receive a system clock signal ([0010]: “the first MMIC includes a system clock input terminal for receiving a system clock signal.”; [0037]: “the system clock signal 111 is input to the first MMIC 110”);
a local oscillator (LO) generation circuit configured to generate an LO signal based on the system clock signal ([0007]; [0037]: “The first MMIC 110 comprises an LO generation circuit (not shown) which is configured to generate a first LO signal based on a system clock signal 111”), wherein the LO generation circuit is configured to generate the LO signal as a frequency ramp signal during the radar operation mode ([0037]: “the LO generation circuit of the first MMIC 110 may be configured to generate the first LO signal as FMCW signal for FMCW radar applications”);
an LO output terminal configured to output the LO signal for LO distribution to another MMIC ([0007]; [0038]: “an LO output terminal 112 coupled to its (internal) LO generation circuit and configured to output the first LO signal during”; “the first MMIC 110 may be considered as a master MMIC providing the first LO signal and the system clock signal 111 to the second MMIC 120”); and
an LO distribution circuit coupled to the LO output terminal and configured to receive the LO signal from the LO generation circuit and enable or disable the LO distribution of the LO signal based on a first control signal indicating whether the LO distribution of the LO signal is enabled or disabled ([0047]: “The reconfiguration of the MMICs may be executed by a system controller (not shown) by properly changing the in- and outputs of the master and slave MMICs used for LO distribution.”; [0052]: “first signal path”; “second signal path”; [0058]: “In the fail-safe mode, the output of the first LO signal via LO output terminal 112 of the MMIC 110 is disabled.”),
wherein the control logic is configured to provide the first control signal to the LO distribution circuit for enabling or disabling the LO distribution, wherein the first control signal is configured to enable the LO distribution during the radar operation mode of the radar MMIC and disable the LO distribution … ([0038]: “In the first mode of operation, the first MMIC 110 may be considered as a master MMIC providing the first LO signal and the system clock signal 111 to the second MMIC 120”; [0047]: “The reconfiguration of the MMICs may be executed by a system controller (not shown) by properly changing the in- and outputs of the master and slave MMICs used for LO distribution.”; [0058]: “In the fail-safe mode, the output of the first LO signal via LO output terminal 112 of the MMIC 110 is disabled.”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach:
the plurality of operation modes including at least one of a monitoring mode or a calibration mode; or
wherein the first control signal is configured to disable the LO distribution during at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC.
However, Nayyar is in the field of master/slave radar and teaches:
A radar IC ([0018]) with a plurality of operation modes including a radar operation mode and at least one of a monitoring mode or a calibration mode (Nayyar [0022]: “plurality of modes”; “mode control signal”; [0038]: “As described, the software executing on each MCU 6 schedules the calibration, the triggering of radar chirps, execution of BISTs (and/or other software operations) in synchronization (e.g., within about 10 μs) to perform mutual calibration, radar chirps and/or BISTs and to avoid unwanted interference between the various IC chips 2.”); and
wherein the first control signal is configured to enable the LO distribution during the radar operation mode of the radar MMIC and disable the LO distribution during at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC ([0038-0040]; [0045]; [0050]; Examiner note: Nayyar teaches a root timer for synchronizing calibration, radar chirps, and BIST operations across radar IC chips to avoid mutual interference ([0038-0040]). Nayyar further teaches that the root timer and hardware leaf timers control the timing of various activities including “enabling and disabling of various receiver, transmitter and/or LO circuits” and “starting and stopping of a ramp up or down of an LO output signal frequency” ([0045]). The LO can be internal or external, i.e., distributed ([0050]). Additionally, see the 112(b) rejection regarding the claimed “control signal” included hereinabove.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and include at least one of a monitoring mode or a calibration mode, and to disable LO distribution during calibration or monitoring modes, as taught by Nayyar, with a reasonable expectation of success. Melzer teaches LO distribution and conditionally disabling LO distribution, while Nayyar teaches scheduling radar, calibration, and monitoring activities as well as reason to control LO circuitry during those activities. The combination of Melzer and Nayyar yields the predictable result of performing calibration or monitoring activities to ensure the radar system is functioning properly, and enabling LO distribution during scheduled radar modes and disabling LO distribution during scheduled calibration or monitoring modes to avoid mutual RF interference.
Regarding Claim 18, Melzer teaches:
A cascaded radar system, comprising:
a primary radar monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) ([0038]: “the first MMIC 110 may be considered as a master”); and
a secondary radar MMIC ([0038]: “the second MMIC 120, acting as a slave MMIC”),
wherein the primary radar MMIC comprises:
a first control logic configured to set the radar MMIC in one of a first plurality of operation modes, the first plurality of operation modes including a first radar operation mode … ([0016]: “The control circuit may be configured to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation”; [0021]: “the radar MMIC is configured to operate its transmitter and receiver circuitry based on the first LO signal during the first mode of operation”);
a system clock terminal configured to receive a system clock signal ([0010]: “the first MMIC includes a system clock input terminal for receiving a system clock signal.”; [0037]: “the system clock signal 111 is input to the first MMIC 110”);
a first local oscillator (LO) generation circuit configured to generate a first LO signal based on the system clock signal ([0007]; [0037]: “The first MMIC 110 comprises an LO generation circuit (not shown) which is configured to generate a first LO signal based on a system clock signal 111”), wherein the first LO generation circuit is configured to generate the first LO signal as a first frequency ramp signal during the first radar operation mode ([0037]: “the LO generation circuit of the first MMIC 110 may be configured to generate the first LO signal as FMCW signal for FMCW radar applications”);
a clock output terminal configured to output the system clock signal for system clock distribution to the secondary MMIC ([0038]: “a system clock output terminal 113 configured to relay or forward the system clock signal 111 received from the external crystal oscillator circuit 130 to the second MMIC 120”);
an LO output terminal configured to output the LO signal for LO distribution to the secondary MMIC ([0007]; [0038]: “an LO output terminal 112 coupled to its (internal) LO generation circuit and configured to output the first LO signal during”; “the first MMIC 110 may be considered as a master MMIC providing the first LO signal and the system clock signal 111 to the second MMIC 120”); and
an LO distribution circuit coupled to the LO output terminal and configured to receive the first LO signal from the first LO generation circuit and enable or disable the LO distribution of the first LO signal based on a first control signal indicating whether the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled or disabled ([0047]: “The reconfiguration of the MMICs may be executed by a system controller (not shown) by properly changing the in- and outputs of the master and slave MMICs used for LO distribution.”; [0052]: “first signal path”; “second signal path”; [0058]: “In the fail-safe mode, the output of the first LO signal via LO output terminal 112 of the MMIC 110 is disabled.”),
wherein the first control logic is configured to provide the first control signal to the LO distribution circuit for enabling or disabling the LO distribution, wherein the first control signal is configured to enable the LO distribution during the first radar operation mode of the primary radar MMIC and disable the LO distribution … ([0038]: “In the first mode of operation, the first MMIC 110 may be considered as a master MMIC providing the first LO signal and the system clock signal 111 to the second MMIC 120”; [0047]: “The reconfiguration of the MMICs may be executed by a system controller (not shown) by properly changing the in- and outputs of the master and slave MMICs used for LO distribution.”; [0058]: “In the fail-safe mode, the output of the first LO signal via LO output terminal 112 of the MMIC 110 is disabled.”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach:
the first plurality of operation modes including at least one of a first monitoring mode or a first calibration mode; or
wherein the first control signal is configured to disable the LO distribution during at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC.
However, Nayyar is in the field of master/slave radar and teaches:
a radar IC ([0018]) with a plurality of operation modes including a radar operation mode and at least one of a monitoring mode or a calibration mode (Nayyar [0022]: “plurality of modes”; “mode control signal”; [0038]: “As described, the software executing on each MCU 6 schedules the calibration, the triggering of radar chirps, execution of BISTs (and/or other software operations) in synchronization (e.g., within about 10 μs) to perform mutual calibration, radar chirps and/or BISTs and to avoid unwanted interference between the various IC chips 2.”); and
wherein the first control signal is configured to enable the LO distribution during the radar operation mode of the radar MMIC and disable the LO distribution during at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC (Nayyar [0038-0040]; [0045]; [0050]; Examiner note: Nayyar teaches a root timer for synchronizing calibration, radar chirps, and BIST operations across radar IC chips to avoid mutual interference ([0038-0040]). Nayyar further teaches that the root timer and hardware leaf timers control the timing of various activities including “enabling and disabling of various receiver, transmitter and/or LO circuits” and “starting and stopping of a ramp up or down of an LO output signal frequency” ([0045]). The LO can be internal or external, i.e., distributed ([0050]). Additionally, see the 112(b) rejection regarding the claimed “control signal” included hereinabove.).
The rationale to modify Melzer with the teachings of Nayyar persists from Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, Melzer does not explicitly teach – but Nayyar teaches: wherein the control logic configured to switch the radar MMIC between the plurality of operation modes according to an operation mode sequence (Nayyar [0038]: “the software executing on each MCU 6 schedules the calibration, the triggering of radar chirps, execution of BISTs (and/or other software operations) in synchronization (e.g., within about 10 μs) to perform mutual calibration, radar chirps and/or BISTs and to avoid unwanted interference between the various IC chips 2.”). Because switching between the plurality of operation modes according to an operation mode sequence is a feature of Nayyar’s radar IC control, the rationale to modify Melzer with the teachings of Nayyar persists from Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, Melzer teaches: the radar MMIC further comprising:
a clock output terminal configured to output the system clock signal for system clock distribution ([0038]: “a system clock output terminal 113 configured to relay or forward the system clock signal 111 received from the external crystal oscillator circuit 130 to the second MMIC 120”),
wherein the clock output terminal is configured to distribute the system clock signal to a secondary radar MMIC that is configurable into the plurality of operation modes ([0038]: “configured to relay or forward the system clock signal 111 … to the second MMIC 120”),
wherein the LO output terminal is configured to distribute the LO signal to the secondary radar MMIC ([0038]: “an LO output terminal 112 coupled to its (internal) LO generation circuit and configured to output the first LO signal during”; “the first MMIC 110 may be considered as a master MMIC providing the first LO signal … to the second MMIC 120”), and
wherein the first control signal is configured to enable the LO distribution during the radar operation mode of the secondary radar MMIC and disable the LO distribution … ([0038]: “In the first mode of operation, the first MMIC 110 may be considered as a master MMIC providing the first LO signal and the system clock signal 111 to the second MMIC 120”; [0058]: “In the fail-safe mode, the output of the first LO signal via LO output terminal 112 of the MMIC 110 is disabled.”).
Melzer does not explicitly – but Nayyar teaches: wherein the first control signal is configured to disable the LO distribution during at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode of the secondary radar MMIC (Nayyar [0038-0040]; [0045]; [0050]; [0065]: “the radar chip 100 operating in the slave mode and the radar chip operating in the master mode can synchronize calibration of components (e.g., transmitters and/or receivers), BISTs, monitoring and functional radar chirping activity among the various radar chips 100”; Examiner note: see the 112(b) rejection regarding the claimed “control signal” included hereinabove.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and disable the LO distribution during at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode of the secondary radar MMIC, as taught by Nayyar, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination of Melzer and Nayyar yields the predictable result of synchronizing the operation of the primary and secondary MMICs in order to reduce mutual RF interference.
Regarding Claim 5, Melzer teaches: wherein the LO distribution is configured to:
receive the first control signal and enter into an enabled state or a disabled state based on the first control signal ([0016]: “The control circuit may be configured to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation”; [0047]: “The reconfiguration of the MMICs may be executed by a system controller”),
while the LO distribution is in the enabled state, provide the LO signal to the LO output terminal ([0038]: “configured to output the first LO signal during the first mode of operation”), and
while the LO distribution is in the disabled state, prevent the LO signal from being provided to the LO output terminal ([0058]: “the output of the first LO signal via LO output terminal 112 of the MMIC 110 is disabled”).
Regarding Claim 19, Melzer teaches: wherein the secondary radar MMIC comprises:
a second control logic configured to set the radar MMIC in a second plurality of operation modes, including a second radar operation mode and … ([0016]: “switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation”; “the control circuit may be internal to the first and/or second MMIC”);
an LO input terminal configured to receive the first LO signal from the primary radar MMIC during a mode in which the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled ([0044]: “a second LO input terminal 125 for receiving the first the LO signal from the first MMIC 110”);
a clock input terminal configured to receive the system clock signal during the second plurality of operation modes ([0041]: “The system clock signal 111 from the first MMIC 110 may be input to a system clock input terminal 126 of the second MMIC 120.”; [0058]: “the system clock may still be distributed in the fail-safe mode”);
a second LO generation circuit configured to generate a second LO signal based on the system clock signal ([0041]: “The second MMIC 120 comprises a respective LO generation circuit (not shown) which is configured to generate, during the second mode of operation, the second LO signal based on the system clock signal 111”); and
a radar circuit configured to use the first LO signal or the second LO signal based on the LO distribution of the first LO signal being enabled or disabled ([0047]: “the first and the second radar MMICs 110, 120 are configured to operate respective Tx and Rx circuitry based on the first LO signal (from the first MMIC 110) during the first mode of operation and to operate respective Rx and Tx circuitry based on the second LO signal (from the second MMIC 110) during the second mode of operation.”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach: a second control logic configured to set the radar MMIC in a second plurality of operation modes, including at least one of a second monitoring mode or a second calibration mode.
However, Nayyar teaches: a second control logic configured to set the radar MMIC in a second plurality of operation modes, including a second radar operation mode and at least one of a second monitoring mode or a second calibration mode (Nayyar [0065]: “the radar chip 100 operating in the slave mode and the radar chip operating in the master mode can synchronize calibration of components (e.g., transmitters and/or receivers), BISTs, monitoring and functional radar chirping activity among the various radar chips 100”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and set the radar MMIC in at least one of a second monitoring mode or a second calibration mode, as taught by Nayyar, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination of Melzer and Nayyar yields the predictable result of synchronizing the operation of the primary and secondary MMICs in order to reduce mutual RF interference.
Regarding Claim 20, Melzer teaches: wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled during the second radar operation mode of the secondary radar MMIC … ([0058]: “the system clock may still be distributed in the fail-safe mode”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach:
wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is disabled during at least one of the second calibration mode or the second monitoring mode of the secondary radar MMIC.
However, Nayyar teaches: wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled during the second radar operation mode of the secondary radar MMIC and disabled during at least one of the second calibration mode or the second monitoring mode of the secondary radar MMIC (Nayyar [0045]; [0050]; [0065]: “the radar chip 100 operating in the slave mode and the radar chip operating in the master mode can synchronize”; [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and control LO distribution based on the synchronized operating modes, as taught by Nayyar, with a reasonable expectation of success. Combing Melzer and Nayyar yields the predictable result of enabling LO distribution during the secondary MMIC’s radar mode and disabling LO distribution during the secondary MMIC’s calibration or monitoring modes in order to avoid mutual RF interference.
Regarding Claim 23, Melzer does not explicitly teach – but Nayyar teaches: wherein the first control logic is configured to switch the primary radar MMIC between the first plurality of operation modes according to an operation mode sequence (Nayyar [0038]: “the software executing on each MCU 6 schedules the calibration, the triggering of radar chirps, execution of BISTs (and/or other software operations) in synchronization (e.g., within about 10 μs) to perform mutual calibration, radar chirps and/or BISTs and to avoid unwanted interference between the various IC chips 2.)”), wherein the operation mode sequence comprises a first time interval during which the primary radar MMIC is set in the first radar operation mode, a second time interval during which the primary radar MMIC is set in at least one of the first calibration mode or the first monitoring mode, and a third time interval during which the primary radar MMIC is set in the first radar operation mode, the second time interval being between the first time interval and the third time interval (Nayyar [0038]: “at specific scheduled time (which can be periodic or asynchronous) a transceiver calibration (labeled in timing diagram 60 as “CAL”) is performed”; Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and periodically switch the primary radar MMIC between the first plurality of operation modes according to an operation mode sequence, with a calibration or monitoring modes at a second time interval between radar modes at first and third time intervals, as taught by Nayyar, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Nayyar’s operation mode scheduling to Melzer’s cascaded radar system yields the predictable result of performing both radar and calibration/monitoring operations while avoiding unwanted interference (Nayyar [0038]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melzer (US 2022/0308161) in view of Nayyar (US 2019/0097651), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Melzer ‘385 (US 2022/0107385).
Regarding Claim 2, Melzer does not explicitly teach: wherein the LO generation circuit is configured to generate the LO signal as a single frequency signal during the calibration mode and the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC.
However, Melzer ‘385 is in the field of interference detection in radar MMICs and teaches: wherein the LO generation circuit is configured to generate the LO signal as a single frequency signal during the calibration mode and the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC (Melzer [0046]; [0069]: “in test mode, the local oscillator 101 is configured to generate the LO signal SLO(t) to have a constant frequency.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and generate the LO signal as a single frequency during the calibration or monitoring modes, as taught by Melzer ‘385, with a reasonable expectation of success. Setting the LO to a constant frequency during monitoring or calibration is an application of a known technique to yield the predictable result of using a fixed, known tone to detect faults or defective operation (Melzer ‘385 [0046]).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melzer (US 2022/0308161) in view of Nayyar (US 2019/0097651), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Starzer (US 2021/0382159).
Regarding Claim 6, Melzer teaches: the radar MMIC further comprising: an LO input terminal configured to receive the LO signal from the LO output terminal during the radar operation mode of the radar MMIC ([0039]: “the first LO signal from its LO output terminal 112 to its own LO input terminal 114 during the first mode of operation (self-feeding)”), and using first and second LO signals ([0047]: “operate respective Tx and Rx circuitry based on the first LO signal … and to operate respective Rx and Tx circuitry based on the second LO signal”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach the LO switching circuitry as claimed.
However, Starzer is in the field of cascaded radar MMICs and teaches:
an LO input terminal configured to receive the LO signal from the LO output terminal (Starzer [0047]); and
an LO switching circuit configured to receive the LO signal from the LO input terminal as a first LO signal and receive the LO signal from the LO generation circuit as a second LO signal (Starzer [0046]: “This LO signal is supplied, on the one hand, to an input of a first RF switch/splitter 110”; [0047]: “The feedback channel FB coupled to the feedback pin PFB in the MMIC 11 is designed to pass the fed-back LO signal sLO(t) to a second input (input a) of the first RF switch/splitter 110.”),
wherein the LO switching circuit is configured to receive a second control signal indicating whether the LO distribution of the LO signal is enabled or disabled (Starzer [0046]: “Depending on the position of the (electronic) switch, the signal applied to the input a or the signal applied to the input b is forwarded to the outputs. The control signals for the electronic switches are not illustrated for the sake of simplicity.”),
wherein the LO switching circuit is configured to output the first LO signal based on the second control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the LO signal is enabled (Starzer [0048]: “the LO signal sLO(t) fed back via the feedback channel FB is supplied both to the RX channels (via RF switch/splitter 110) and to the TX channels (via RF switch/splitter 111) of the slave MMIC 12”), and
wherein the LO switching circuit is configured to output the second LO signal based on the second control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the LO signal is disabled (Starzer [0048]: “the input b is selected in the first RF switch/splitter 110 and the input b is likewise selected in the second RF switch/splitter 111 and the feedback channel FB is inactive.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and use LO switching circuitry to distribute the LO signals, as taught by Starzer, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Starzer’s LO switching technique to Melzer LO signal distribution yields the predictable result of allowing the MMIC to use a first LO signal when distribution is enabled and a second LO signal when distribution is disabled.
Regarding Claim 7, Melzer teaches: the radar further comprising:
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit radar signals; and receiver circuitry configured to receive echoes of the radar signals ([0039]: “Tx/Rx (transceiver) circuitry”),
wherein the LO … circuit is configured to provide the first LO signal or the second LO signal to the transmitter circuitry and the receiver circuitry …, and the transmitter circuitry and the receiver circuitry are configured to operate based on the first LO signal or the second LO signal ([0039]: “The first LO input terminal 114 may be coupled to Tx/Rx (transceiver) circuitry of the first MMIC 110 to operate respective Tx and Rx circuitry based on the first LO signal during the first mode of operation.”; [0047]: “operate respective Tx and Rx circuitry based on the first LO signal … and to operate respective Rx and Tx circuitry based on the second LO signal”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach the LO switching circuit or providing the first LO signal or the second LO signal based on the second control signal. However, Starver teaches the LO switching circuitry and providing the first LO signal or the second LO signal based on the second control signal (Starzer [0046-0048]).
The rationale to modify Melzer with the teachings of Starzer persists from Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 8, Melzer teaches: wherein the LO distribution of the LO signal is enabled during the radar operation mode of the radar MMIC, and wherein the LO distribution of the LO signal is disabled… ([0038]: “configured to output the first LO signal during the first mode of operation”; [0058]: “the output of the first LO signal via LO output terminal 112 of the MMIC 110 is disabled”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach – but Nayyar teaches: wherein the LO distribution of the LO signal is disabled during the calibration mode and the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC (Nayyar [0038-0040]; [0045]; [0050]), and disabled during a calibration mode or a monitoring mode of a secondary radar MMIC that is coupled to the radar MMIC in a cascaded configuration (Nayyar [0065]: “the radar chip 100 operating in the slave mode and the radar chip operating in the master mode can synchronize”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and disable LO distribution during calibration or monitoring modes, as taught by Nayyar, with a reasonable expectation of success. Because Nayyar synchronizes operations across the master and slave chips, the combination of Melzer and Nayyar yields the predictable result of disabling LO distribution during the calibration or monitoring modes of the radar MMIC and the calibration or monitoring modes of the secondary radar MMIC in order to avoid mutual RF interference.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melzer (US 2022/0308161) and (US 2019/0097651), as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Mayer (US 2021/0072349).
Regarding Claim 21, Melzer does not explicitly teach the LO switching circuit as claimed.
However, Mayer is in the field of master/slave radar and teaches: an LO switching circuit (Mayer [0032]: “Switching networks”) configured to:
receive the first LO signal from the LO input terminal, the second LO signal from the second LO generation circuit, and a second control signal indicating whether the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled or disabled (Mayer [0027]: “generate a local oscillator signal, which may be supplied to transceiver unit 20 via a switching network 36”; [0032]: “the local oscillator signal supplied from the outside via oscillator signal network 44 is supplied to transceiver part 20 via HF distributor 42, operating as the synchronization signal input, and switching network 36”; [0033]: “A reconfiguration of the generation and distribution of the local oscillator signals takes place for the measuring operation”),
output the first LO signal to the radar circuit based on the second control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled (Mayer [0032]: “the local oscillator signal supplied from the outside via oscillator signal network 44 is supplied to transceiver part 20”), and
output the second LO signal to the radar circuit based on the second control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the first LO signal is disabled (Mayer [0033]: “the radar sensor is intermittently switched into a measuring operation … The measuring operation differs from normal operation. A reconfiguration of the generation and distribution of the local oscillator signals takes place for the measuring operation.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and use LO switching circuitry to distribute the LO signals, as taught by Mayer, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination of Melzer and Mayer yields the predictable result of using switching circuitry to output an external LO signal when LO distribution is enabled and output and internal LO signal when LO distribution is disabled.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melzer (US 2022/0308161) and Nayyar (US 2019/0097651), as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Li (US 2018/0156890).
Regarding Claim 22, Melzer teaches: an LO … circuit configured to receive a second control signal indicating whether the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled or disabled, … ([0047]: “The reconfiguration of the MMICs may be executed by a system controller (not shown) by properly changing the in- and outputs of the master and slave MMICs used for LO distribution.”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach that the circuitry is LO switching circuitry, or that the switching circuitry is configured to enable and disable the second LO generation circuit based on whether LO distribution is enabled or disabled.
However, Li is in the field of cascaded radar and teaches: LO switching circuitry configured to enable a LO generation circuit when the LO distribution is disabled and disable the LO generation circuit when the LO distribution is enabled (Li [0032]: “master mode where the LO signal 326 from the VCO 302 is used or the slave mode where the external LO signal 332 from the power combiner 306 is used.”; [0044]: “The radar chip 400 is operating in master mode. As a result, the VCO 302 is enabled and generates the LO signal 326.”; [0052]: “The radar chip 500 is operating in the slave mode. As a result, the VCO 302 is disabled.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and use LO switching circuitry to enable the secondary radar MMIC’s LO generation circuit when LO distribution is disabled and disable the LO generation circuit when LO distribution is enabled, as taught by Li, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination of Melzer and Li yields the predictable result of enabling/disabling LO generation circuitry when proper, thereby avoiding unnecessary operation of oscillator circuitry.
Claim(s) 9 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melzer (US 2022/0308161) in view of Nayyar (US 2019/0097651) and Mayer (US 2021/0072349).
Regarding Claim 9, Melzer teaches:
A radar monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC), comprising:
a control logic configured to set the radar MMIC in a plurality of operation modes, including a radar operation mode … ([0016]: “The control circuit may be configured to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation”; [0021]: “the radar MMIC is configured to operate its transmitter and receiver circuitry based on the first LO signal during the first mode of operation”);
a local oscillator (LO) input terminal configured to receive a first LO signal from outside of the radar MMIC during a mode in which LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled ([0044]: “a second LO input terminal 125 for receiving the first the LO signal from the first MMIC 110 during the first mode of operation.”);
a clock input terminal configured to receive a system clock signal during the plurality of operation modes ([0041]: “The system clock signal 111 from the first MMIC 110 may be input to a system clock input terminal 126 of the second MMIC 120.”);
an LO generation circuit configured to generate a second LO signal based on the system clock signal ([0041]: “a respective LO generation circuit (not shown) which is configured to generate … the second LO signal based on the system clock signal 111”); and
…
wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled during the radar operation mode of the radar MMIC and disabled … ([0038]: “In the first mode of operation, the first MMIC 110 may be considered as a master MMIC providing the first LO signal and the system clock signal 111 to the second MMIC 120”; [0047]: “The reconfiguration of the MMICs may be executed by a system controller (not shown) by properly changing the in- and outputs of the master and slave MMICs used for LO distribution.”; [0058]: “In the fail-safe mode, the output of the first LO signal via LO output terminal 112 of the MMIC 110 is disabled.”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach:
the LO switching circuit as claimed;
the plurality of operation modes including at least one of a first monitoring mode or a first calibration mode; or
wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is disabled during at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC.
However, Mayer is in the field of master/slave radar and teaches:
an LO switching circuit (Mayer [0032]: “Switching networks”) configured to:
receive the first LO signal from the LO input terminal, the second LO signal from the LO generation circuit, and a first control signal indicating whether the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled or disabled (Mayer [0027]: “generate a local oscillator signal, which may be supplied to transceiver unit 20 via a switching network 36”; [0032]: “the local oscillator signal supplied from the outside via oscillator signal network 44 is supplied to transceiver part 20 via HF distributor 42, operating as the synchronization signal input, and switching network 36”; [0033]: “A reconfiguration of the generation and distribution of the local oscillator signals takes place for the measuring operation”),
output the first LO signal based on the first control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled (Mayer [0032]: “the local oscillator signal supplied from the outside via oscillator signal network 44 is supplied to transceiver part 20”), and
output the second LO signal based on the first control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the first LO signal is disabled (Mayer [0033]: “the radar sensor is intermittently switched into a measuring operation … The measuring operation differs from normal operation. A reconfiguration of the generation and distribution of the local oscillator signals takes place for the measuring operation.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and use LO switching circuitry to distribute the LO signals, as taught by Mayer, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination of Melzer and Mayer yields the predictable result of using switching circuitry to output an external LO signal when LO distribution is enabled and output and internal LO signal when LO distribution is disabled.
Further, Nayyar is in the field of master/slave radar and teaches:
a radar IC ([0018]) with a plurality of operation modes including a radar operation mode and at least one of a monitoring mode or a calibration mode (Nayyar [0022]: “plurality of modes”; “mode control signal”; [0038]: “As described, the software executing on each MCU 6 schedules the calibration, the triggering of radar chirps, execution of BISTs (and/or other software operations) in synchronization (e.g., within about 10 μs) to perform mutual calibration, radar chirps and/or BISTs and to avoid unwanted interference between the various IC chips 2.”); and
wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled during the radar operation mode of the radar MMIC and disabled during at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC (Nayyar [0038-0040]; [0045]; [0050]; Examiner note: Nayyar teaches a root timer for synchronizing calibration, radar chirps, and BIST operations across radar IC chips to avoid mutual interference ([0038-0040]). Nayyar further teaches that the root timer and hardware leaf timers control the timing of various activities including “enabling and disabling of various receiver, transmitter and/or LO circuits” and “starting and stopping of a ramp up or down of an LO output signal frequency” ([0045]). The LO can be internal or external, i.e., distributed ([0050]).).
The rationale to modify Melzer with the teachings of Nayyar persists from Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Melzer teaches: wherein the first LO signal is a frequency ramp signal during the radar operation mode ([0037]: “generate the first LO signal as FMCW signal for FMCW radar applications”).
Regarding Claim 13, Melzer teaches: wherein the radar MMIC is a secondary radar MMIC configured to be coupled to a primary radar MMIC in a cascaded configuration ([0038]: “the first MMIC 110 may be considered as a master MMIC … the second MMIC 120, acting as a slave MMIC”),
wherein the LO input terminal is configured to receive the first LO signal from the primary radar MMIC while the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled ([0044]: “a second LO input terminal 125 for receiving the first the LO signal from the first MMIC 110”), and
wherein the clock input terminal is configured to receive the system clock signal from the primary radar MMIC during the plurality of operation modes ([0041]: “The system clock signal 111 from the first MMIC 110 may be input to a system clock input terminal 126 of the second MMIC 120.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Melzer teaches: wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled during a radar operation mode of the primary radar MMIC … ([0058]: “the system clock may still be distributed in the fail-safe mode”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach:
wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is disabled during at least one of a calibration mode or a monitoring mode of the primary radar MMIC.
However, Nayyar teaches: wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled during a radar operation mode of the primary radar MMIC and disabled during at least one of a calibration mode or a monitoring mode of the primary radar MMIC (Nayyar [0045]; [0050]; [0065]: “the radar chip 100 operating in the slave mode and the radar chip operating in the master mode can synchronize”; [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and control LO distribution based on an operating mode, as taught by Nayyar, with a reasonable expectation of success. Combing Melzer and Nayyar yields the predictable result of enabling LO distribution during the primary MMIC’s radar mode and disabling LO distribution during the primary MMIC’s calibration or monitoring modes in order to avoid mutual RF interference.
Regarding Claim 15, Melzer teaches: the radar MMIC further comprising:
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit radar signals; during the radar operation mode and receiver circuitry configured to receive echoes of the radar signals during the radar operation mode ([0039]: “Tx/Rx (transceiver) circuitry”),
wherein the LO … circuit is configured to provide the first LO signal or the second LO signal to the transmitter circuitry and the receiver circuitry …, and the transmitter circuitry and the receiver circuitry are configured to operate based on the first LO signal or the second LO signal ([0039]: “The first LO input terminal 114 may be coupled to Tx/Rx (transceiver) circuitry of the first MMIC 110 to operate respective Tx and Rx circuitry based on the first LO signal during the first mode of operation.”; [0047]: “operate respective Tx and Rx circuitry based on the first LO signal … and to operate respective Rx and Tx circuitry based on the second LO signal”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach the LO switching circuit or providing the first LO signal or the second LO signal based on the first control signal. However, Mayer teaches the LO switching circuitry and providing the first LO signal or the second LO signal based on the second control signal (Mayer [0032-0033]).
The rationale to modify Melzer with the teachings of Mayer persists from Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 16, Melzer does not explicitly teach – but Mayer teaches: wherein the control logic is configured to switch the radar MMIC between the plurality of operation modes according to an operation mode sequence, wherein the operation mode sequence comprises a first time interval during which the radar MMIC is set in the radar operation mode, a second time interval during which the radar MMIC is set in at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode, and a third time interval during which the radar MMIC is set in the radar operation mode, the second time interval being between the first time interval and the third time interval (Mayer [0033]: “the radar sensor is intermittently switched into a measuring operation, which may also be referred to as monitoring measuring operation, between measuring cycles of the normal operation.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and intermittently switch in to the calibration/monitoring mode in between radar operation modes, as taught by Mayer, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Mayer’s operation mode switching technique to Melzer’s cascaded radar system yields the predictable result of allowing monitoring without interrupting ongoing radar operations (Mayer [0033]).
Regarding Claim 17, Melzer does not explicitly teach – but Mayer teaches: wherein the LO switching circuit is coupled to a radar circuit of the radar MMIC and configured to output either the first LO signal or the second LO signal to the radar circuit based on the first control signal (Mayer [0027]; [0036]: the switching network 36 supplies the selected LO signal to transceiver part 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and couple the LO switching circuit to the radar circuit, as taught by Mayer, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Mayer’s switching technique to Melzer’s cascaded radar system yields the predictable result of supplying the radar circuit with whichever LO signal is selected for the current operation mode.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melzer (US 2022/0308161). Nayyar (US 2019/0097651), and Mayer (US 2021/0072349), as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of Cavin (US 2009/0170448).
Regarding Claim 10, Melzer teaches: wherein the LO generation circuit includes a phase-locked loop (PLL) ([0037]: “the first the LO generation circuit may comprise an analog or digital PLL circuit”).
Melzer does not explicitly teach: wherein the LO generation circuit is configured to receive a second control signal indicating whether the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled or disabled; or
wherein the LO generation circuit is configured to enable or disable the PLL based on LO distribution being enabled or disabled.
However, Cavin is in the field of master/slave ICs and teaches: wherein the LO generation circuit is configured to receive a second control signal indicating whether the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled or disabled (Cavin [0009]: “Each RFIC includes a bi-directional port circuit that can be operated to make the RFIC a master, a slave or may be totally disabled when the porting feature is not needed.”; [0018]: “Source select is made by enabling or disabling the appropriate local oscillator and certain components in the bi-directional port as described hereinafter.”),
wherein the LO generation circuit is configured to disable the PLL based on the second control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled (Cavin [0022]: “In RFIC 300 the PLL 340 and all local oscillators 350(1) to 350(N) are disabled so that source 1 is selected which is connected to the RFLO bi-directional port 332”; [0026]: “the slave RFIC disables its PLL, first divide-by-2 circuit, and all local oscillators”), and
wherein the LO generation circuit is configured to enable the PLL based on the second control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the first LO signal is disabled (Cavin [0019]: “RFIC 200 comprises … a PLL 240 and one or more oscillators 250(1) to 250(N).”; [0022]: “either RFIC can be the master or the slave”; “with RFIC 200 being the master, then RFLO A generated by the frequency synthesizer of RFIC 200 is coupled to: (1) the mixers in the transmitters or mixers in the receivers of RFIC 200”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and configure the LO generation circuit to disable its PLL while the LO distribution is enabled and enable its PLL while the LO distribution is disabled, as taught by Cavin, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Cavin’s PLL control technique to Melzer’s LO generation circuit yields the predictable result of enabling/disabling LO generation circuitry when proper, thereby avoiding unnecessary operation of oscillator circuitry.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melzer (US 2022/0308161), Nayyar (US 2019/0097651), and Mayer (US 2021/0072349), as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of Melzer ‘385 (US 2022/0107385).
Regarding Claim 11, Melzer does not explicitly teach: wherein the LO generation circuit is configured to generate the second LO signal as a single frequency signal.
However, Melzer ‘385 is in the field of interference detection in radar MMICs and teaches: wherein the LO generation circuit is configured to generate the second LO signal as a single frequency signal (Melzer [0046]; [0069]: “in test mode, the local oscillator 101 is configured to generate the LO signal SLO(t) to have a constant frequency.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and generate the LO signal as a single frequency during calibration/monitoring mode, as taught by Melzer ‘385, with a reasonable expectation of success. Setting the LO to a constant frequency during monitoring or calibration is an application of a known technique to yield the predictable result of using a fixed, known tone to detect faults or defective operation (Melzer ‘385 [0046]).
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melzer (US 2022/0308161) in view of Nayyar (US 2019/0097651) and Li (US 2018/0156890).
Regarding Claim 24, Melzer teaches: A radar monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC), comprising:
a control logic configured to set the radar MMIC in a plurality of operation modes, including a radar operation mode … ([0016]: “The control circuit may be configured to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation”; [0021]: “the radar MMIC is configured to operate its transmitter and receiver circuitry based on the first LO signal during the first mode of operation”);
a local oscillator (LO) input terminal configured to receive a first LO signal from outside of the radar MMIC during a mode in which LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled ([0044]: “a second LO input terminal 125 for receiving the first the LO signal from the first MMIC 110 during the first mode of operation.”);
a clock input terminal configured to receive a system clock signal during the plurality of operation modes ([0041]: “The system clock signal 111 from the first MMIC 110 may be input to a system clock input terminal 126 of the second MMIC 120.”);
an LO generation circuit configured to generate a second LO signal based on the system clock signal ([0041]: “a respective LO generation circuit (not shown) which is configured to generate … the second LO signal based on the system clock signal 111”);
an enabling-disabling circuit configured to receive a control signal indicating whether the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled or disabled, enable the second LO signal based on the control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the first LO signal is disabled, and disable the second LO signal based on the control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled ([0047]: “The reconfiguration of the MMICs may be executed by a system controller (not shown) by properly changing the in- and outputs of the master and slave MMICs used for LO distribution.”; [0052-0054]);
a … circuit configured to receive the first LO signal or the second LO signal based on the LO distribution being enabled or disabled, respectively ([0053]: “splitters 143, 153”);
a radar circuit configured to receive the first LO signal or the second LO signal ([0043]: “operate respective Tx and Rx circuitry based on the second LO signal”; [0044]: “operate respective Tx and Tx circuitry based on the first LO signal”),
wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled during the radar operation mode of the radar MMIC and disabled … ([0038]: “In the first mode of operation, the first MMIC 110 may be considered as a master MMIC providing the first LO signal and the system clock signal 111 to the second MMIC 120”; [0047]: “reconfiguration of the MMICs”; [0058]: “In the fail-safe mode, the output of the first LO signal via LO output terminal 112 of the MMIC 110 is disabled.”)
Melzer does not explicitly teach:
the plurality of operation modes including at least one of a monitoring mode or a calibration mode;
the combiner circuit configured to receive the first LO signal or the second LO signal based on the LO distribution being enabled or disabled, respectively; or
wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is disabled during at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC.
However, Nayyar is in the field master/slave radar and teaches:
a radar IC ([0018]) with a plurality of operation modes including a radar operation mode and at least one of a monitoring mode or a calibration mode (Nayyar [0022]: “plurality of modes”; “mode control signal”; [0038]: “As described, the software executing on each MCU 6 schedules the calibration, the triggering of radar chirps, execution of BISTs (and/or other software operations) in synchronization (e.g., within about 10 μs) to perform mutual calibration, radar chirps and/or BISTs and to avoid unwanted interference between the various IC chips 2.”); and
wherein the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled during the radar operation mode of the radar MMIC and disabled during at least one of the calibration mode or the monitoring mode of the radar MMIC (Nayyar [0038-0040]; [0045]; [0050]; Examiner note: Nayyar teaches a root timer for synchronizing calibration, radar chirps, and BIST operations across radar IC chips to avoid mutual interference ([0038-0040]). Nayyar further teaches that the root timer and hardware leaf timers control the timing of various activities including “enabling and disabling of various receiver, transmitter and/or LO circuits” and “starting and stopping of a ramp up or down of an LO output signal frequency” ([0045]). The LO can be internal or external, i.e., distributed ([0050]).).
The rationale to modify Melzer with the teachings of Nayyar persists from Claim 1.
Further, Li is in the field of cascaded radar and teaches:
a combiner circuit configured to receive the first LO signal or the second LO signal based on the LO distribution being enabled or disabled, respectively (Li [0032]: “master mode where the LO signal 326 from the VCO 302 is used or the slave mode where the external LO signal 332 from the power combiner 306 is used.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and use a combiner circuit configured to receive the first LO signal or the second LO signal based on the LO distribution being enabled or disabled, as taught by Li, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination of Melzer and Li yields the predictable result of enabling/disabling LO generation circuitry when proper, thereby avoiding unnecessary operation of oscillator circuitry.
Regarding Claim 25, Melzer does not explicitly teach – but Li teaches: wherein the enabling-disabling circuit is configured to enable the LO generation circuit based on the control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the first LO signal is disabled, and disable the LO generation circuit based on the control signal indicating that the LO distribution of the first LO signal is enabled (Li [0044]: “The radar chip 400 is operating in master mode. As a result, the VCO 302 is enabled and generates the LO signal 326.”; [0052]: “The radar chip 500 is operating in the slave mode. As a result, the VCO 302 is disabled.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Melzer and use enabling-disabling circuitry to enable the LO generation circuit when LO distribution is disabled and disable the LO generation circuit when LO distribution is enabled, as taught by Li, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination of Melzer and Li yields the predictable result of enabling/disabling LO generation circuitry when proper, thereby avoiding unnecessary operation of oscillator circuitry.
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least Claim 1.
/NOAH YI MIN ZHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648