Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Catanese, US 9,003,611.
Regarding claim 1, Catanese discloses a band comprising: a first band (8) attached to one end side of a watch body (a watch); a second band (4) attached to another end side of the watch body; and a clasp (1) coupling the first band (8) and the second band (4), wherein the clasp includes a cover member (2) and an adjustment portion (a portion of 2), the adjustment portion includes: a pair of rail portions (14) that are arranged along inner sides of two side walls (12) of the cover member (2) in a longitudinal direction of the cover member and have a plurality of grooves (see the notches between teeth 14) for length adjustment; an adjustment piece (10) coupled at one end thereof to an end portion of the first band (8); a pressing portion (36) that is disposed at an inner bottom surface of the cover member (2) and includes an elastic member (32); and an engagement pin (38) that is inserted through another end of the adjustment piece (10) and is configured to be engaged with the grooves (mesh with 14) of the rail portions (14), and the pressing portion (36) is configured to press the engagement pin (38) against the rail portions (14) in a state where the engagement pin (38) is engaged with the grooves (figures 2 and 3), wherein the pressing portion (36) includes: a lid (lid portion of 36) abutting the bottom surface of the cover member (2); a pressing case (case portion of 36) paired with the lid (see figure 4); and the elastic member (32) disposed between the lid and the pressing case (see figure 5), the lid is provided with a protrusion (protruding from the lid portion and along a length of the portion 36; figure 4) having an elongated hole (defined by in between the protrusions), the pressing case (of 36) has a presser (an exterior surface of the portion 36) that presses the adjustment piece (10) toward a side of the rail portions (14) and a guide hole through which the protrusion (of 36) is inserted, the adjustment piece (10) has a receiving portion (30) that receives a part of the pressing case (figure 5) and a through hole (see figure 4) extending in a lateral direction of the cover member (2), and the engagement pin (38) is inserted through the through hole (figure 5) of the adjustment piece (10) and the elongated hole of the protrusion (of 36) in a case where a part of the pressing case is set in the receiving portion (see figures 3 - 5).
Regarding claim 2, Catanese discloses the band according to claim 1, wherein a top surface of the adjustment piece (10) that faces the cover member (2) abuts the cover member (2) in a state where the adjustment piece (10) is received in the cover member (2).
Regarding claim 3, Catanese discloses the band according to claim 1, wherein the adjustment piece (10) is coupled to an end piece (see figure 3) of the first band (8) via a coupling piece (a link pin), the first band (8) includes a plurality of pieces (links) including the end piece (figure 3), a width of the cover member (2) in the lateral direction is substantially equal to a length of the end piece (figure 3), and a notch (for linking with the piece 10; see element 46 in figure 3) is provided in the two side walls of the cover member (2) at a portion thereof closer to the first band (8).
Regarding claim 4, Catanese discloses the band according to claim 1, wherein the grooves are provided in the rail portion (14) at four positions (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Catanese discloses a watch (inherent feature of a watch bracelet or strap) comprising the band (4, 8) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catanese, US 9,003,611 in view of Kaltenrieder et al., US 9,615,634.
Regarding claim 5, Catanese discloses the band according to claim 1 wherein the elastic member (32) is a V-shaped spring. Catanese does not explicitly disclose the elastic member is a conical spring. Kaltenrieder teaches a watch band wherein the adjustment portion comprises an elastic member that is a conical spring (30). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the V-shaped spring of Catanese with a conical spring taught by Kaltenrieder because both springs are well-known biasing members that perform the same function of elastically biasing a movable component.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for similar art cited.
/R.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677