DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7 objected to because of the following informalities: CDRX = connected discontinuous reception, DRX =discontinuous reception. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, 10 is unclear because claim limitation states “and the current jitter is jitter resulted from congestion generating on the packet”. Examiner is unsure what applicant is trying to say. How can congestion generate on a packet. Is applicant trying to state as a result of generating packets while congestion in the network is occurring causes jitter due to the inconsistence and distortion as seen in [0004]. Based on what applicant claimed, examiner is unsure on what applicant is trying to claim because it is unclear what “congestion generating on the packet” means.
Claim 5 is unclear because claim limitation describes two situations using “when”, but there is no “and”, “or” between the two “when” situation so it is unclear on what applicant is trying to state.
Claims 6, 11, and 12 are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20240022387) in view of Oyman et al. (US20190215729) further in view of Dai et al. (US20250267576).
Regarding claim 1, 7, Li teaches A client-side device comprising: an antenna wirelessly communicating with a server and receiving a packet from the server([0271] “ configuration information of the wake-up signal transmitted by the network-side device is received by the terminal”, [0089] “Step 201. A terminal acquires configuration information of a wake-up signal”) (Examiner’s Note: network side device == server, The terminal == client side device);
a memory ([0339] “The terminal 900 includes but is not limited to at least some components of a radio frequency unit 901, a network module 902, an audio output unit 903, an input unit 904, a sensor 905, a display unit 906, a user input unit 907, an interface unit 908, a memory 909, and a processor 910”)
and a processor connected to the antenna and the memory ([0339] “The terminal 900 includes but is not limited to at least some components of a radio frequency unit 901, a network module 902, an audio output unit 903, an input unit 904, a sensor 905, a display unit 906, a user input unit 907, an interface unit 908, a memory 909, and a processor 910.”)
(Fig. 4 “t0”, “t1” “DRX onduration timer”, “[0191] “ the network-side device configures DRX, for example, a DRX onduration timer and a DRX cycle (t0 to t4). The network-side device configures a wake-up signal, a monitoring start position for the wake-up signal is configured with respect to a DRX start position (for example, the DRX cycle is 160 ms), with the monitoring start position for the wake-up signal configured at a position t1 before the DRX start position t4”,;
wherein, the processor determines whether there is current jitter ([0187-188] “Jitter is present in an actual arrival time of the XR DL video service packet, and jitter=−3 ms as shown in FIG. 3 , meaning that the service packet actually arrives 3 ms earlier than expected. Therefore, after receiving the service packet” …As shown in FIG. 3 , when the terminal has detected that a wake-up signal indicates wake-up at a monitoring occasion of this wake-up signal (that is, a monitoring occasion at a time point t3), the terminal starts to enter a PDCCH monitoring state (performing PDCCH monitoring), and steps include, for example, turning on a radio-frequency transceiver module, a baseband processing module, and the like. Within the monitoring duration (t2 to t6) , (Examiner’s Note: The terminal which is the client device after receiving the wake up signal where a jitter occurs, the terminal adjust it monitoring period, even if the server side device does the configuration for the jitter, the terminal receives the configuration and still makes the adjustments, or turns on if there is a jitter”, and this can be BRI interpreted as “determines”), when the terminal has detected that a wake-up signal indicates wake-up at a monitoring occasion of this wake-up signal ([0188] “that is, a monitoring occasion at a time point t3), the terminal starts to enter a PDCCH monitoring state (performing PDCCH monitoring), and steps include, for example, turning on a radio-frequency transceiver module, a baseband processing module, and the like. Within the monitoring duration (t2 to t6), a monitoring occasion”, [0102] “the monitoring start time point may be the quasi-periodic arrival position of service packet, the DRX onduration start position, a position obtained by combination of the quasi-periodic arrival position of service packet and the jitter range of service packet) ;
when determining that there is the current jitter ([0187-188] “Jitter is present in an actual arrival time of the XR DL video service packet, and jitter=−3 ms as shown in FIG. 3 , meaning that the service packet actually arrives 3 ms earlier than expected. Therefore, after receiving the service packet” …As shown in FIG. 3 , when the terminal has detected that a wake-up signal indicates wake-up at a monitoring occasion of this wake-up signal (that is, a monitoring occasion at a time point t3), the terminal starts to enter a PDCCH monitoring state (performing PDCCH monitoring), and steps include, for example, turning on a radio-frequency transceiver module, a baseband processing module, and the like. Within the monitoring duration (t2 to t6), a monitoring occasion”, [0102] “the monitoring start time point may be the quasi-periodic arrival position of service packet, the DRX onduration start position, a position obtained by combination of the quasi-periodic arrival position of service packet and the jitter range of service packet),
([0187] “Jitter is present in an actual arrival time of the XR DL video service packet, and jitter=−3 ms as shown in FIG. 3 , meaning that the service packet actually arrives 3 ms earlier than expected. Therefore, after receiving the service packet”),
the DRX period corresponding to the current jitter is a target period ([0187] “Jitter is present in an actual arrival time of the XR DL video service packet, and jitter=−3 ms as shown in FIG. 3 , meaning that the service packet actually arrives 3 ms earlier than expected. Therefore, after receiving the service packet”),
and the processor adjusts the wake-up time slot of the target period so that the wake-up time slot of the adjusted target period overlaps a time slot of the current jitter ([0094] “As such, according to step 201 and step 202, the terminal monitors the wake-up signal based on the acquired configuration information of the wake-up signal within the time period in which the first-PDCCH monitoring is skipped. In this embodiment of this application, the terminal monitors the wake-up signal within the time period in which the first-PDCCH monitoring is skipped to implement timely processing of data that will arrive in the time period in which the first-PDCCH monitoring is skipped, thereby reducing packet transmission delay for the data and improving transmission performance”, [0095] “Specifically, XR service packets have jitter, so data may arrive within the time period in which the first-PDCCH monitoring is skipped ... [0102] “the monitoring start time point may be the quasi-periodic arrival position of service packet, the DRX onduration start position, a position obtained by combination of the quasi-periodic arrival position of service packet and the jitter range of service packet, (Examiner’s Note: the terminal adjust it monitoring start time based on the configuration it receives from configuration, the monitoring start time adjusted is based on the jitter range of service packet”).
Li does not teach comprising a playback latency buffer region; and situated in CDRX, wherein a cycle of the CDRX comprises a plurality of DRX periods, and each of the plurality of DRX periods, the processor controls the playback latency buffer region to perform playback latency buffer processing on the packet.
Oyman teaches comprising a playback latency buffer region ([0130] “he jitter buffer is configured to unpack incoming RTP payloads and to store received media frames (e.g., speech or video). The buffer status may be used as input to the adaptation control logic. Furthermore, the buffer”);
and situated in CDRX ([0077] “ In FIG. 3, UE 101 a is experiencing “good” radio conditions and is configured with 40 ms connected mode DRX (cDRX)”),
wherein a cycle of the CDRX ([0077] “ In FIG. 3, UE 101 a is experiencing “good” radio conditions and is configured with 40 ms connected mode DRX (cDRX)”)
the processor controls the playback latency buffer region to perform playback latency buffer processing on the packet ([0130] “he adaptation control logic (also referred to as “buffer control logic”) is configured to adjust playback delay, and the operation of the adaptation functionality makes decisions on the buffering delay adjustments and required media adaptation actions based on the buffer status (e.g., average buffering delay, buffer occupancy, etc.) and input from the network analyzer”) ([0166] “the UE's 101 delay budget report carrying desired increment/decrement in the Uu air interface delay or connected mode DRX cycle length and for BL UEs or UEs in CE of the RLM event (“early-out-of-sync” or “early-in-sync”) ,
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li to incorporate the teachings of Oyman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce delay.
Oyman does not teach comprises a plurality of DRX periods, and each of the plurality of DRX periods.
Dai teaches comprises a plurality of DRX periods, and each of the plurality of DRX periods (Fig. 3 “On”, “off”, [0178] “firstCycleTimer: a timer or a DRX cycle”, (Examiner’s Note: firstcycletimer ==cycle, shows on and off multiple time in one cycle == plurality of DRX period).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the combination of modified Li, Oyman to incorporate the teachings of Dai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 2, 8, Li teaches wherein the memory stores a preset jitter time slot; when determining that there is no current jitter ([0103] “the quasi-periodic arrival position of service packet refers to an ideal periodic arrival position of service packet, that is, a periodic arrival position without considering data jitter or without data jitter”),
the processor finds the DRX period corresponding to the preset jitter time slot, the DRX period corresponding to the preset jitter time slot is a period to adjust ([0105] “Certainly, the monitoring occasion is configured based on characteristics of services. For example, in terms of a wake-up signal for an XR service, monitoring occasions within a specific time range before and after a quasi-periodic arrival position of the service are more than monitoring occasions outside that specific time range”),
and the processor adjusts the wake-up time slot of the period to adjust so that the wake-up time slot of the adjusted period to adjust overlaps the preset jitter time slot ([0114] “the monitoring period of the wake-up signal may be the DRX cycle, the quasi-period of service packet, or a new period obtained based on the DRX cycle and the quasi-period of service packet. The terminal can periodically monitor the wake-up signal based on the monitoring period configured”).
Regarding claim 3, 9 Li teaches wherein, when determining that there is no current jitter ([0103] “the quasi-periodic arrival position of service packet refers to an ideal periodic arrival position of service packet, that is, a periodic arrival position without considering data jitter or without data jitter”),
the processor creates a preset jitter time slot based on a receiving time point of the packet and finds the DRX period corresponding to the preset jitter time slot ([0110] “The positive jitter range of service packet refers to a jitter range of service packet following the quasi-periodic arrival position of the service, for example, 4 ms. The negative jitter range of service packet refers to a jitter range of service packet preceding the quasi-periodic arrival position of the service, for example, −4 ms. With reference to the positive jitter range and negative jitter range of service packet, a jitter range of service packet can be obtained, that is, [−4, 4] ms”),
the DRX period corresponding to the preset jitter time slot is a period to adjust, and the processor adjusts the wake-up time slot of the period to adjust so that the wake-up time slot of the adjusted period to adjust overlaps the preset jitter time slot ([0114] “o be specific, the monitoring period of the wake-up signal may be the DRX cycle, the quasi-period of service packet, or a new period obtained based on the DRX cycle and the quasi-period of service packet. The terminal can periodically monitor the wake-up signal based on the monitoring period configured”).
Regarding claim 4, 10, Li teaches wherein the packet comprises XR audio visual images ([0184] “a quasi-periodic arrival position t5 (for example, a service period (t0 to t5) is 16.67 ms) of an XR downlink video (DL video) service packet, with the monitoring start position for the wake-up signal configured at a position t2 of a negative jitter length before the quasi-periodic arrival position t5 of the service packet. A monitoring duration for the wake-up signal is equal to a jitter range of the XR DL video service packet, where the jitter range is ±4 ms”),
Li does not teach and the current jitter is jitter resulted from congestion generating on the packet.
Oyman teaches and the current jitter is jitter resulted from congestion generating on the packet ([0068] “Examples of measured changes in transport characteristics are variations in PLR and delay jitter. Examples of signaled changes in transport characteristics are ANBR and ECN Congestion Experienced (ECN-CE) marking in IP packet headers”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li to incorporate the teachings of Oyman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce delay.
Claim(s) 5, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Oyman further in view of Dai further in view of Dimitrov et al. (US20190164518).
Regarding claims 5, 11 Li, Oyman, Dai does not teach wherein the processor verifies from the server whether there is a still image for long duration in the packet; when verifying that there is the still image for long duration in the packet, the processor transmits an adjusting requirement to the server so that a frame rate of the still image for long duration is reduced; when verifying that there is not the still image for long duration in the packet, the processor receives another packet.
Dimitrov teaches wherein the processor verifies from the server whether there is a still image for long duration in the packet ([0049] “image frame arrival jitter measured at the client, and when it changes, the client device 104 may inform the rendering server 102 so that it can adjust the frame rate as required”), [0080] “If the image frame is late, then the frame may not be ready to be drawn on the corresponding refresh of the display device and therefore the frame is dropped at operation 207. In some embodiments, the late arriving frame is only dropped if there is a newly arrived frame before the current frame is picked up for scanout to the display”);
when verifying that there is the still image for long duration in the packet,
the processor transmits an adjusting requirement to the server so that a frame rate of the still image for long duration is reduced ([0049] “image frame arrival jitter measured at the client, and when it changes, the client device 104 may inform the rendering server 102 so that it can adjust the frame rate as required”);
when verifying that there is not the still image for long duration in the packet, the processor receives another packet (Fig. 1A “146”, [0110] “When the client device indicates that one or more of the frames were late, then the frame rate is reconfigured to be faster, When the client indicates that the frames arrived in time, then the server device does not reconfigure the frame rate”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Li, Oyman, Dai to incorporate the teachings of Dimitrov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a better experience.
Claim(s) 6, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Oyman further in view of Dai further in view of Harviainen et al. (US20250063078).
Regarding claim 6, 12, Li, Oyman, Dai does not teach wherein the processor determines whether the server belongs to a XR server side; when determining that the server belongs to the XR server side, the server receives the packet; when determining that the server does not belong to the XR server side, the processor receives another packet.
Harviainen teaches wherein the processor determines whether the server belongs to a XR server side; when determining that the server belongs to the XR server side, the server receives the packet ([0085] “The process 1000 includes, in response to receiving the request for the new node, advertising 1033, at the second edge node 1009, whether XR service is available. The process 1000 includes, in response to determining that the XR service is available at the second edge node 1009 (1033=“Yes”), advertising 1033 availability of the XR service to the viewing client 1003. The process 1000 includes, in response to receiving, at the viewing client 1003, availability of the XR service, requesting 1036 an upload of session settings from the first edge node 1006”);
when determining that the server does not belong to the XR server side, the processor receives another packet ([0077] “ The edge node becomes available as the user moves to a vicinity of a new edge node. When the viewing client discovers an XR processing service on the new edge node, the viewing client signals the XR processing service. The XR processing service executes an active session to upload the session offloading settings and adaptation settings to the switch service. The XR processing service maintains the state of the settings uploaded to the switch service until the session handover is finalized. When the edge node uploads the settings to the switch service, the edge node receives a session identifier”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Li, Oyman, Dai to incorporate the teachings of Harviainen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a more robust system.
Conclusion
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411