DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In response to Restriction Requirement filed 12/15/2025:
Applicant responded (on 03/09/2026) by electing Group I; i.e., Claims 24-41.
Claims 42-46 (Group II) are Withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 24-41 are pending, and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-25 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Favor” et al. (US 6453278 B1) in view of “Fitton” et al. (US 2004/0153679 A1).
Favor discloses claim 24. A power supply for a computer system, comprising: a RAM controller [Favor discloses Memory Controller, see 124, FIG.1]. Favor does not expressly disclose; however, Fitton, analogues art, disclose (or a power supply controller) to provide operational control of the power supply [Fitton discloses, “controlling power supply voltage” (Abstract) with FIG.4 (par.0069)] ;
Therefore, it whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Favor with the power supply control of Fitton for controlling power supply voltage and clock frequency in a receiver to reduce power consumption.
Favor in view of Fitton further disclose,
and a random-access memory (“RAM”) area to store a run-time control code for the RAM controller, wherein the RAM controller has access to the RAM area to obtain the run-time control code [Favor discloses “SMM handler code” (Abstract); and operation codes (FIG.4 with col.11, line 52 to col.12, line 16)], and
wherein upon initialization of the power supply, prior to providing an operational power to the computer system, the RAM area receives the run-time control code from an interface controller of the computer system [Favor discloses “BIOS includes programmed support for SMRAM initialization at boot time” (see FIG.9 with col.33, lines 21-59)].
Claim 33 is rejected for the same rational applied in rejecting Claim 24.
Favor further discloses claim 25/34. The power supply of claim 24, wherein the RAM controller executes the run-time control code exclusively from the RAM area [Favor discloses code running in RAM area (for example, FIGS.8-9)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-32 and 35-41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 26/35. Favor/Fitton fail to disclose The power supply of claim 24/33, wherein the run-time control code is validated by the interface controller of the computer system, using information from a control code validation and update area (“CCVUA”) prior to providing the run-time control code to the RAM area.
Claims 27-32 and 36-41 are objected based on their dependence.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See PTO—892).
For example, US 2013/0152206 A1, which is directed to METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR PREVENTING UNAUTHORIZED ACCESS TO INFORMATION STORED IN A NON-VOLATILE MEMORY
Contact Information
/AMARE F TABOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434