DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 1, 2: the element numbers “136, 138”, “104, 132”, show the same element.
Figures 6, 8, 9: the element numbers “150, 112”, show the same element.
Figure 7: the element numbers “152, 112”, “104, 134”, “154, 108”, “104, 110” show the same element.
Figures 6 and 7: the element numbers “112” and “104” show different elements.
Figures 7, 21: there are four element numbers “104” that show different elements.
Figures 18-25: the element numbers “166, 168”, “104, 110”, “152, 112”, “104, 134”, “154, 108”, “108, 112”, “104, 110”, show the same element.
This is an exemplary of the errors. Applicant should carefully review the entire specification/drawings to fix this issue.
Use consistent phraseology to describe a component, part or element in the specification/drawings.
Please ensure that the remainder of elements referenced in the specification are accurately accounted for in the Drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3: there are no element numbers for the “neutral bus bar” and “a line bus bar” in the speciation. Appropriate correction is required.
The reference character “130” has been used to designate both “plug-on-neutral connector” and “plug-on-neutral connector”.
This is an exemplary of the errors. Applicant should carefully review the entire specification/drawings to fix this issue.
Use consistent phraseology to describe a component, part or element in the specification/drawings.
Please ensure that the remainder of elements referenced in the specification are accurately accounted for in the Drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams et al. (US 7,019,606).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Williams discloses a circuit breaker comprising:
a breaker body housing (101) a circuit and (see the abstract),
a controller (500) for controlling the circuit;
a breaker mechanism (see the abstract) housed in the breaker body (101), operatively connected to open and close a contact of the circuit to an open contact state and a closed contact state based on commands from the controller (500); and
an internal handle mechanism (110) housed inside the breaker body (101) and operatively connected to the breaker mechanism (see the abstract),
wherein the internal handle mechanism and breaker mechanism in combination have three states including: an ON state wherein the breaker mechanism is in the closed contact state and the internal handle mechanism is in an ON position, an OFF state in which the breaker mechanism is in the open contact state and the internal handle mechanism is in an OFF position, and a TRIPPED state in which the breaker mechanism is in the open contact state and the internal handle mechanism is in a TRIPPED position, wherein the controller is configured to drive the internal handle mechanism to reset the internal handle mechanism and the breaker mechanism from the TRIPPED state to the OFF state, then to drive the internal handle mechanism to the ON state to return the beaker mechanism to the closed circuit state (see cols. 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 2, Williams discloses:
the breaker body (101) includes an interface side, a connector side, a first end extending from the connector side to the interface side, and a second end opposite the first end,
wherein the breaker body (101) includes a first compartment housing the internal handle mechanism and a second compartment housing the breaker mechanism, wherein the first compartment is side by side with the second compartment, wherein the first and second compartments extend between the first end and the second end of the breaker body.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Plug-on-neutral connector)][AltContent: textbox (Connector side)][AltContent: textbox (1st compartment housing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Interface side)]
Regarding claim 3, Williams discloses:
the breaker body (101) includes a user interface side (see the drawing above) and a connector side (see the drawing above) opposite the user interface side (see the drawing above),
wherein the connector side (see the drawing above) includes a plug-on-neutral connector for connecting to a neutral bus bar and a line connector for connecting to a line bus bar.
Regarding claim 5, Williams discloses:
a handle of the internal handle mechanism connects to a movable contact member of the breaker mechanism at a movable pivot point (280), wherein a toggle spring (275) connects between a trip lever (270) of the breaker mechanism and the moveable contact member, wherein the toggle spring is configured to over-center relative to the movable pivot point in motion back and forth between the ON state and the OFF state (see col. 8, lines 18-43).
Regarding claim 6, Williams discloses:
the internal handle mechanism is configured to drive the breaker mechanism from the open contact state to the closed contact state to transition from the OFF state to the ON state, and wherein the internal handle mechanism is configured to drive the breaker mechanism from the closed contact state to the open contact sate to transition from the ON state to the OFF state (see cols. 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 17, Williams discloses:
the lockout mechanism is configured to drive the breaker mechanism into the TRIPPED state in passing from the normal position to the locked position (see col. 3, lines 11-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 7,019,606).
Regarding claim 4, William discloses:
the internal handle mechanism includes an indicator with indica (245) including: a first indicum aligned to be visible through a window of the breaker body with in internal handle mechanism in the ON position, a second indicum aligned to be visible through the window in with the interface side of the breaker body in the OFF position, and a third indicum aligned to be visible through the window with the internal handle mechanism in the TRIPPED position (see col. 7).
Regarding claim 4, William teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the indicator with indica including: a first indicum aligned to be visible through a window of the breaker body with in internal handle mechanism in the ON position, a second indicum aligned to be visible through the window in with the interface side of the breaker body in the OFF position, and a third indicum aligned to be visible through the window with the internal handle mechanism in the TRIPPED position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the indicator as taught by Williams’ device with the indica including: a first indicum aligned to be visible through a window of the breaker body with in internal handle mechanism in the ON position, a second indicum aligned to be visible through the window in with the interface side of the breaker body in the OFF position, and a third indicum aligned to be visible through the window with the internal handle mechanism in the TRIPPED position for the purpose of facilitating to detect safety, maintenance, and quick troubleshooting.
Regarding claim 20, William teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the lockout mechanism is isolated from the breaker mechanism and from the internal handle mechanism such that the movement of the lockout tag can never trigger the ON state or the OFF state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lockout mechanism is isolated from the breaker mechanism and from the internal handle mechanism such that the movement of the lockout tag can never trigger the ON state or the OFF state for the purpose of suitability of the design choice, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 7,019,606) in view of Mittelstadt (US 2022/0076912).
Regarding claim 7, William teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the breaker mechanism includes: a solenoid operatively connected to be controlled by the controller; an armature and yoke member biased away from the solenoid and operatively connected to be moved toward by the solenoid by activation of the solenoid to reach the TRIPPED state; a trip lever mounted to a pivot point in the breaker body, configured to be held by the armature and yoke member in the ON state and in the OFF state, and to be released by the armature and yoke member in the TRIPPED state; a movable contact member connected to a handle of the internal handle mechanism at a movable pivot point; and a toggle spring connecting between the trip lever and the moveable contact member, wherein the toggle spring is configured to over-center relative to the movable pivot point in motion back and forth between the ON state and the OFF state, wherein the beaker mechanism is configured to actuate the internal handle mechanism from the ON state to the TRIPPED state upon a command from the controller detecting a fault in the circuit.
Mittelstadt discloses the device comprising:
the breaker mechanism (100, 200) includes: a solenoid operatively connected to be controlled by the controller (110, 290); an armature (262) and yoke member (264) biased away from the solenoid (270) and operatively connected to be moved toward by the solenoid by activation of the solenoid to reach the TRIPPED state; a trip lever (230) mounted to a pivot point (230A) in the breaker body (308, 318), configured to be held by the armature (262) and yoke (264) member in the ON state and in the OFF state, and to be released by the armature (262) and yoke member (264 in the TRIPPED state; a movable contact member (222, 232) connected to a handle (210) of the internal handle mechanism at a movable pivot point (230A); and a toggle spring (232) connecting between the trip lever (230) and the moveable contact member (222, 232), wherein the toggle spring (232) is configured to over-center relative to the movable pivot point in motion back and forth between the ON state and the OFF state, wherein the beaker mechanism (100, 200) is configured to actuate the internal handle mechanism from the ON state to the TRIPPED state upon a command from the controller detecting a fault in the circuit (see para. [0028] – [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the circuit breaker as taught by Mittelstadt above with Williams’ device for the purpose of detecting faults and trigger actions, while the yoke, toggle spring, lever, and armature mechanically force the heavy electrical contacts to snap open or closed.
Since the structure of Mittelstadt’s device is similar with the applicant’s invention, it would produce the same function.
Regarding claim 8, Mittelstadt discloses:
a sensor (180) operatively connected to provide feedback to the controller (110, 290) indicative of state of the circuit, wherein the controller (110, 290) is configured to activate the solenoid to enter the TRIPPED state upon feedback from the sensor (180)indicative of a fault in the circuit, and wherein the controller (110, 290) is configured to activate the solenoid to enter the TRIPPED state and return to the ON state in an absence of feedback from the sensor indicative of a fault in the circuit, (see para. [30] – [45]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 7,019,606) and Mittelstadt (US 2022/0076912) in view of Mittelstadt et al (US 2023/0207244).
Regarding claim 9, William teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the
the internal handle mechanism includes: a motor operatively connected to be controlled by the controller, a worm gear operatively connected to be driven by the motor in rotation about a worm axis; a first gear meshed to the worm gear to be driven by the worm gear about a first gear axis; a second gear mounted for rotation about the first gear axis, wherein the second gear is operatively connected to the first gear to be driven by the first gear with a snap action; and a handle gear fixed for limited rotation relative to the handle of the internal handle mechanism, wherein the handle gear is configured to drive motion of the moveable contact member of the breaker mechanism by moving the moveable pivot point.
Mittelstadt (244) disclose a device comprising:
the internal handle mechanism includes: a motor (117a) operatively connected to be controlled by the controller, a worm gear (117b) operatively connected to be driven by the motor (117a) in rotation about a worm axis; a first gear meshed to the worm gear to be driven by the worm gear about a first gear axis; a second gear mounted for rotation about the first gear axis, wherein the second gear is operatively connected to the first gear to be driven by the first gear with a snap action; and a handle gear fixed for limited rotation relative to the handle of the internal handle mechanism, wherein the handle gear is configured to drive motion of the moveable contact member of the breaker mechanism by moving the moveable pivot point (see para. [0043] – [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the worm gear as taught by Mittelstadt (244) with William’s device for the purpose of ensuring the breaker securely locks its position without relying on extra motor power.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 7,019,606) in view of Bernier et al. (US 6,087,602).
Regarding claim 10, William teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the lockout mechanism operatively connected to the breaker body, wherein the lockout mechanism includes a lockout tag mounted to the breaker body, wherein the lockout mechanism is configured to allow the breaker mechanism and the internal handle mechanism to operate in the ON state, in the OFF state, and in the TRIPPED state with the lockout tag in a normal position relative to the breaker body, and wherein the lockout mechanism is configured to lock the breaker mechanism and the internal handle mechanism in the TRIPPED state with the lockout tag in a locked position relative to the breaker body.
Bernier discloses a device comprising the lockout mechanism operatively connected to the breaker body, wherein the lockout mechanism includes a lockout tag mounted to the breaker body, wherein the lockout mechanism is configured to allow the breaker mechanism and the internal handle mechanism to operate in the ON state, in the OFF state, and in the TRIPPED state with the lockout tag in a normal position relative to the breaker body, and wherein the lockout mechanism is configured to lock the breaker mechanism and the internal handle mechanism in the TRIPPED state with the lockout tag in a locked position relative to the breaker body (see col. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lockout mechanism includes a lockout tag mounted to the breaker body as taught by Bernier with William’s device for the purpose of protecting the users from accidental shock, electrocution, or equipment startup during maintenance or repairs.
Regarding claim 11, William discloses:
lockout mechanism is configured to drive the breaker mechanism and the internal handle mechanism into the TRIPPED state in passing from the normal position to the locked position (see col. 3).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, William discloses:
the breaker mechanism includes: a solenoid operatively connected to be controlled by the controller; and a armature and yoke member biased away from the solenoid and operatively connected to be moved toward by the solenoid by activation of the solenoid to reach the TRIPPED state, wherein the lockout tag is configured to force the armature and yoke mechanism toward the solenoid to reach the TRIPPED state without activation of the solenoid as the lockout tag moves from the normal position to the locked position (see col. 1, lines 31-41).
Regarding claims 13 and 19, William discloses:
a switch (260) mounted inside the breaker body (101), wherein the lockout tag is configured to release the switch in the locked position, and wherein the switch is operatively connected to the controller to input a signal to the controller indicative of the locked position of the lockout tag responsive to the lockout tag triggering the switch, wherein the controller is configured to deny movement of the motor with the switch released to prevent movement of the breaker mechanism and of the internal handle mechanism to the OFF state or to the ON state (see the abstract).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 7,019,606) and Bernier et al. (US 6,087,602) in view of Baginski et al. (US 5,477,016).
Regarding claim 14, William and Bernier teach the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fail to explicitly disclose the lockout tag includes a lock receptacle defined in the lockout tag configured to receive a bolt of a lock.
Baginski discloses a circuit breaker comprising:
the lockout tag (38) includes a lock receptacle (66) defined in the lockout tag (38) configured to receive a bolt of a lock (70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the lockout tag configured to receive a bolt of a lock as taught by Baginski with William’s device for the purpose of preventing catastrophic equipment damage, and enforce deliberate manual assessment of electrical faults and providing personal safety.
Regarding claim 15, Baginski discloses:
the lockout mechanism (11) is isolated from the breaker mechanism (12) and from the internal handle mechanism (31) such that the movement of the lockout tag (70) can never trigger the ON state or the OFF state.
Conclusion
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
May 13, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837