DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a printing section” in claim 1, “a first display unit” in claim 1, “a second display unit” in claim 1, “a reflection unit” in claim 1, “an input unit” in claim 10, “a printing section” in claim 13, “a first display unit” in claim 13, “a second display unit” in claim 13 and “a reflection unit” in claim 13.
“a printing section” in claim 1 is read as the item 2070 shown in Fig.3, “a first display unit” in claim 1 is read as the item 2010 shown in Fig.3, “a second display unit” in claim 1 is read as the item 2010 shown in Fig.3, “a reflection unit” in claim 1 is read as the item 2040 shown in Fig.3, “an input unit” in claim 10 is read as the item 2020 shown in Fig.3, “a printing section” in claim 13 is read as the item 2070 shown in Fig.3, “a first display unit” in claim 13 is read as the item 2010 shown in Fig.3, “a second display unit” in claim 13 is read as the item 2010 shown in Fig.3 and “a reflection unit” in claim 13 is read as the item 2040 shown in Fig.3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori’438 (US 2021/0271438), and further in view of Hayashi’317 (US 2005/0123317).
With respect to claim 1, Kanamori’438 teaches an information processing apparatus (Fig.1, item 01) that is capable of communicating with a printing apparatus (Fig.1, item 20) including a printing section (Fig.1, item 23) that prints an image on a sheet and a plurality of sheet holding units that hold the sheets (paragraph 33), comprising:
a first display unit configured to display a size of the sheet used for the printing [regarding to the drop down 45 where the paper size to be selected (Fig.3)];
a second display unit configured to enable selection of a desired sheet holding unit from the plurality of sheet holding units [regarding to the drop down 47 where the paper feed tray to be selected (Fig.3)]; and
Kanamori’438 does not teach a reflection unit configured to reflect, in a case where the desired sheet holding unit is selected on the second display unit, a size of sheets accommodated in the desired sheet holding unit, on the size of the sheet, the size being displayed on the first display unit.
Hayashi’317 teaches that when a paper feed tray is being selected from a paper feed tray selection window, the paper size information associated with the selected paper feed tray is being displayed (claim 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kanamori’438 according to the teaching of Hayashi’317 to display the updated paper size information (Fig.3, item 45 in Kanamori’438) associated with a selected paper feed tray after the said paper feed tray is being selected (Fig.3, item 47 in Kanamori’438) (a reflection unit configured to reflect, in a case where the desired sheet holding unit is selected on the second display unit, a size of sheets accommodated in the desired sheet holding unit, on the size of the sheet, the size being displayed on the first display unit) because this will allow a registered paper size associated with a paper feed tray to be designated with for a print job more effectively.
With respect to claim 10, which further limits claim 1, Kanamori’438 teaches an input unit to which a size of sheets accommodated in the desired sheet holding unit is input (Fig.2).
Kanamori’438 does not teach wherein the reflection unit is capable of reflecting the size of sheets accommodated in the desired sheet holding unit, which is input from the input unit, on the size of the sheet, which is displayed on the first display unit.
Hayashi’317 teaches that when a paper feed tray is being selected from a paper feed tray selection window, the paper size information associated with the selected paper feed tray is being displayed (claim 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kanamori’438 according to the teaching of Hayashi’317 to display the updated paper size information (Fig.3, item 45 in Kanamori’438) associated with a selected paper feed tray after the said paper feed tray is being selected (Fig.3, item 47 in Kanamori’438) (wherein the reflection unit is capable of reflecting the size of sheets accommodated in the desired sheet holding unit, which is input from the input unit, on the size of the sheet, which is displayed on the first display unit) because this will allow a registered paper size associated with a paper feed tray to be designated with for a print job more effectively.
With respect to claim 13, Kanamori’438 teaches a printing system (Fig.1) that includes a printing apparatus (Fig.1, item 10) including a printing section (Fig.1, item 23) that prints an image on a sheet and a plurality of sheet holding units that hold the sheets (paragraph 33), and an information processing apparatus (Fig.1, item 01) that is capable of communicating with the printing apparatus,
wherein the information processing apparatus (Fig.1, item 01) comprises:
a first display unit configured to display a size of the sheet used for the printing [regarding to the drop down 45 where the paper size to be selected (Fig.3)];
a second display unit configured to enable selection of a desired sheet holding unit from the plurality of sheet holding units [regarding to the drop down 47 where the paper feed tray to be selected (Fig.3)]; and
Kanamori’438 does not teach a reflection unit configured to reflect, in a case where the desired sheet holding unit is selected on the second display unit, a size of sheets accommodated in the desired sheet holding unit, on the size of the sheet, the size being displayed on the first display unit.
Hayashi’317 teaches that when a paper feed tray is being selected from a paper feed tray selection window, the paper size information associated with the selected paper feed tray is being displayed (claim 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kanamori’438 according to the teaching of Hayashi’317 to display the updated paper size information (Fig.3, item 45 in Kanamori’438) associated with a selected paper feed tray after the said paper feed tray is being selected (Fig.3, item 47 in Kanamori’438) (a reflection unit configured to reflect, in a case where the desired sheet holding unit is selected on the second display unit, a size of sheets accommodated in the desired sheet holding unit, on the size of the sheet, the size being displayed on the first display unit) because this will allow a registered paper size associated with a paper feed tray to be designated with for a print job more effectively.
With respect to claims 14 and 19, they are claims regarding to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing thereon a computer program. Claims 14 and 19 claim how the information processing apparatus of claims 1 and 10 to execute to provide printing settings. Claims 14 and 19 are obvious in view of Kanamori’438 and Hayashi’317 because the claimed combination operates at the same manner as described in the rejected claims 1 and 10. In addition, the reference discloses a process, the process would be implemented by a processor that requires a non-transitory computer readable medium, e.g., a RAM, to function, thus, the medium is inherently present.
With respect to claim 20, it is analyzed and rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2-6, 11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori’438 (US 2021/0271438), Hayashi’317 (US 2005/0123317) and further in view of Kato’802 (US 2008/0024802).
With respect to claim 2, which further limits claim 1,the combination of Kanamori’438 and Hayashi’317 does not teach wherein the first display unit is capable of displaying a size of the sheet, which is set in document data to be printed by the printing, together with the size of the sheet used for the printing, and wherein the size of the sheet used for the printing is set to a size of the sheet, which is set in the document data to be printed by the printing, in an initial state.
Kato’802 teaches wherein the first display unit is capable of displaying a size of the sheet, which is set in document data to be printed by the printing, together with the size of the sheet used for the printing (Fig.3), and wherein the size of the sheet used for the printing is set to a size of the sheet, which is set in the document data to be printed by the printing, in an initial state (Fig.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438 and Hayashi’317 according to the teaching of Kato’802 to configure the paper size to match with the size of the document for printing because this will allow the document to be printed with high quality.
With respect to claim 3, which further limits claim 2, the combination of Kanamori’438 and Hayashi’317 does not teach comprising a control unit configured to perform, in a case where the size of the sheet, which is set in the document data to be printed by the printing, and the size of the sheet, which is reflected by the reflection unit, are different from each other, control to enlarge/reduce an image to be obtained by printing the document data so as to adjust the image to the size of the sheet, which is reflected by the reflection unit.
Kato’802 teaches comprising a control unit [the computer (Fig.1, items 101 and 102 are inherent disclosed with a control unit to perform their desired functions] configured to perform, in a case where the size of the sheet, which is set in the document data to be printed by the printing, and the size of the sheet, are different from each other, control to enlarge/reduce an image to be obtained by printing the document data so as to adjust the image to the size of the sheet [regarding to the ratio setting (Fig.3).]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438 and Hayashi’317 according to the teaching of Kato’802 to reduce the size of the document data according the configured ratio setting and the size of the sheet associated with selected paper feed tray (a control unit configured to perform, in a case where the size of the sheet, which is set in the document data to be printed by the printing, and the size of the sheet, which is reflected by the reflection unit, are different from each other, control to enlarge/reduce an image to be obtained by printing the document data so as to adjust the image to the size of the sheet, which is reflected by the reflection unit) because this will allow the document to be printed with high quality.
With respect to claim 4, which further limits claim 1, the combination of Kanamori’438 and Hayashi’317 does not teach wherein the printing apparatus is configured to be capable of performing bookbinding printing as the printing, and wherein the second display unit and the reflection unit are enabled to operate, respectively, in a case where the bookbinding printing is performed.
Kato’802 teaches wherein the printing apparatus is configured to be capable of performing bookbinding printing as the printing (Fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438 and Hayashi’317 according to the teaching of Kato’802 to include the bookbinding option because this will allow the book printing more effectively.
The combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 does not teach wherein the second display unit and the reflection unit are enabled to operate, respectively, in a case where the bookbinding printing is performed.
Since Kanamori’438 has suggested providing the interface to enable a user to select the paper feeding tray and the paper size (Fig.3), Hayashi’317 teaches that when a paper feed tray is being selected from a paper feed tray selection window, the paper size information associated with the selected paper feed tray is being displayed (claim 49), Kato’802 teaches wherein the printing apparatus is configured to be capable of performing bookbinding printing as the printing (Fig.4), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to display the updated paper size information (Fig.3, item 45 in Kanamori’438) associated with a selected paper feed tray after the said paper feed tray is being selected (Fig.3, item 47 in Kanamori’438) in the bookbinding printing configuration (wherein the second display unit and the reflection unit are enabled to operate, respectively, in a case where the bookbinding printing is performed) because this will allow the book to be printed with a desired size of papers more effectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 to display the updated paper size information (Fig.3, item 45 in Kanamori’438) associated with a selected paper feed tray after the said paper feed tray is being selected (Fig.3, item 47 in Kanamori’438) in the bookbinding printing configuration (wherein the second display unit and the reflection unit are enabled to operate, respectively, in a case where the bookbinding printing is performed) because this will allow the book to be printed with a desired size of papers more effectively.
With respect to claim 5, which further limits claim 4, the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 does not teach wherein in a case where the bookbinding printing is performed, the operation of the first display unit is inhibited until the operations of the second display unit and the reflection unit are terminated.
Since Kanamori’438 has suggested providing the interface to enable a user to select the paper feeding tray and the paper size (Fig.3), Hayashi’317 teaches that when a paper feed tray is being selected from a paper feed tray selection window, the paper size information associated with the selected paper feed tray is being displayed (claim 49), Kato’802 teaches wherein the printing apparatus is configured to be capable of performing bookbinding printing as the printing (Fig.4), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize not to display the updated paper size information (Fig.3, item 45 in Kanamori’438) associated with a selected paper feed tray until the said paper feed tray is being selected (Fig.3, item 47 in Kanamori’438) in the bookbinding printing configuration (wherein in a case where the bookbinding printing is performed, the operation of the first display unit is inhibited until the operations of the second display unit and the reflection unit are terminated) because this will allow the book to be printed with a desired size of papers more effectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 not to display the updated paper size information (Fig.3, item 45 in Kanamori’438) associated with a selected paper feed tray until the said paper feed tray is being selected (Fig.3, item 47 in Kanamori’438) in the bookbinding printing configuration (wherein in a case where the bookbinding printing is performed, the operation of the first display unit is inhibited until the operations of the second display unit and the reflection unit are terminated) because this will allow the book to be printed with a desired size of papers more effectively.
With respect to claim 6, which further limits claim 4, the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 does not teach wherein the second display unit is capable of restricting selection of a size of the sheet according to a type of the bookbinding printing.
Since Kanamori’438 has suggested that registering the paper size for each cassette (Fig.2), Hayashi’317 teaches that when a paper feed tray is being selected from a paper feed tray selection window, the paper size information associated with the selected paper feed tray is being displayed (claim 49), Kato’802 teaches wherein the printing apparatus is configured to be capable of performing bookbinding printing as the printing (Fig.4), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to only display the registered updated paper size information (Fig.3, item 45 in Kanamori’438) associated with a selected paper feed tray until the said paper feed tray is being selected (Fig.3, item 47 in Kanamori’438) in the bookbinding printing configuration (wherein the second display unit is capable of restricting selection of a size of the sheet according to a type of the bookbinding printing) because this will allow the book to be printed with a desired size of papers more effectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 to recognize to only display the registered updated paper size information (Fig.3, item 45 in Kanamori’438) associated with a selected paper feed tray until the said paper feed tray is being selected (Fig.3, item 47 in Kanamori’438) in the bookbinding printing configuration (wherein the second display unit is capable of restricting selection of a size of the sheet according to a type of the bookbinding printing) because this will allow the book to be printed with a desired size of papers more effectively.
With respect to claim 11, which further limits claim 1, the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 does not teach wherein the first display unit and the second display unit each display a size of the sheet on a screen different from each other.
Wiegand’367 teaches wherein the first display unit and the second display unit each display a size of the sheet on a screen different from each other [as shown in Fig.3, the sheet size of the original document and the output paper are different according to the user’s selection].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438 and Hayashi’317 according to the teaching of Kato’802 to allow a user designate the desired size of a paper to print a book because this will allow the book to be printed with a desired size of papers more effectively.
With respect to claims 15-18, they are claims regarding to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing thereon a computer program. Claims 15-18 claim how the information processing apparatus of claims 2-4 and 6 to execute to provide printing settings. Claims 15-18 are obvious in view of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 because the claimed combination operates at the same manner as described in the rejected claims 2-4 and 6. In addition, the reference discloses a process, the process would be implemented by a processor that requires a non-transitory computer readable medium, e.g., a RAM, to function, thus, the medium is inherently present.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori’438 (US 2021/0271438), Hayashi’317 (US 2005/0123317), Kato’802 (US 2008/0024802) and further in view of Wiegand’367 (US 2013/0230367).
With respect to claim 7, which further limits claim 4, the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 does not teach wherein the second display unit enables selection of a size of the desired sheet separately for a front cover and for part after the front cover of a printed matter to be acquired by the bookbinding printing.
Wiegand’367 teaches wherein the second display unit enables selection of a size of the desired sheet separately for a front cover and for part after the front cover of a printed matter to be acquired by the bookbinding printing (Fig.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 according to the teaching of Wiegand’367 to allow a user to select the paper size for the printing a cover and the paper size for the book block because this will allow a book to be provided more effectively.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori’438 (US 2021/0271438), Hayashi’317 (US 2005/0123317), Kato’802 (US 2008/0024802) and further in view of Nara’177 (US 2003/0056177).
With respect to claim 8, which further limits claim 4, the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 does not teach wherein the second display unit is capable of displaying a sample of a printed matter to be acquired by the bookbinding printing.
Nara’177 teaches wherein the second display unit is capable of displaying a sample of a printed matter to be acquired by the bookbinding printing [regarding to the bookbinding printing preview (Fig.43)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 according to the teaching of Nara’177 to provide the preview of the bookbinding printing because this will allow a book to be provided more effectively.
With respect to claim 9, which further limits claim 8, the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 does not teach wherein the second display unit is capable of displaying a relationship between the size of the sheet, which is reflected by the reflection unit, and a size of the printed matter as the sample of the printed matter.
Nara’177 teaches wherein the second display unit is capable of displaying a relationship between the size of the sheet, which is reflected by the reflection unit, and a size of the printed matter as the sample of the printed matter (Fig. 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438, Hayashi’317 and Kato’802 according to the teaching of Nara’177 to provide the preview of the bookbinding printing because this will allow a book to be provided more effectively.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori’438 (US 2021/0271438), Hayashi’317 (US 2005/0123317), and further in view of Oh’220 (US 2006/0098220).
With respect to claim 12, which further limits claim 1, the combination of Kanamori’438 and Hayashi’317 does not teach wherein the second display unit is capable of displaying a direction of the sheet and a type of the sheet.
Oh’220 teaches wherein the second display unit is capable of displaying a direction of the sheet and a type of the sheet (paragraph 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kanamori’438 and Hayashi’317 according to the teaching of Nara’177 to provide the paper size and the direction of the paper on a printer driver because this will allow a book to be provided more effectively.
Contact
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUO LONG CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3759. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9am - 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tieu, Benny can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUO LONG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682