DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is directed towards a method of calibrating a force sensing device, however no steps are recited which are directed towards the calibration process. The claim does include a step of applying a force of a magnitude in excess of a predetermined magnitude to the force sensing device, however this step alone would not result in a calibration of the force sensing device itself, as no calibration is being performed. Rather, it can be interpreted as merely operating the force sensing device in a manner to detect a force with no calibration required and each of the steps will be interpreted as such.
All claims which depend from claim 7 are rejected for the same reasons due to their dependency thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roberts et al. US 2020/0035388.
Regarding claim 1, Roberts teaches, as seen in figs. 1A and 1B, a force sensing device comprising a first electrode (upper contact 101) and a second electrode (lower contact 101), said first electrode and second electrode arranged to provide an electrical output (current via ammeter 104) in response to an applied force (shown in fig. 1B) to determine a magnitude of said applied force (a detected current is measured), wherein said force sensing device further comprises a collapsible structure (upper electrode 106) configured to provide an electrical short circuit in response to said applied force when the applied force exceeds a predetermined magnitude (contact is formed between the two conductors 106 and 108, paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 2, the electrodes of Roberts conduct electricity and therefore would comprise conductive layers as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Roberts teaches a method of calibrating a force sensing device including the steps of obtaining a force sensing device comprising a first electrode 101 (upper) and a second electrode (101 lower) arranged to provide an electrical output in response to an applied force, applying a force of a magnitude in excess of a predetermined magnitude to said force sensing device (the force applied is greater than the resting value), wherein a collapsible structure (upper electrode 106) arranged within said force sensing device provides an electrical short in response to the applied force. Although Roberts does not explicitly teach the calibration, however as all claimed steps are taught, the reference is deemed to read on the claim in its entirety.
Regarding claim 8, the system of Roberts operates to identify a point of collapse of said collapsible structure by means of said change in electrical resistance since the contact between electrodes 106 would identify a collapse.
Regarding claim 9, the system and method of Roberts adjusts an output of the force sensing device in response to the identification of a point of collapse as it generates a signal when contact is made.
Regarding claim 10, Roberts discloses the claimed structure as detailed in claim 1 above. In order to form such a structure the steps of:
arranging a first electrode and a second electrode to form a force sensing device configured to provide an electrical output in response to an applied force; and arranging a collapsible structure within said force sensing device, said collapsible structure being configured to provide an electrical short circuit in response to said applied force when said applied force exceeds a predetermined magnitude
would be performed since they would be required in order to arrive at the final arrangement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts.
Regarding claim 5, Roberts teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the collapsible structure as returning to an initial configuration from a collapsed configuration as claimed. Roberts teaches in fig. 3A for example, a similar device in which a deformable material 7 is provided between the electrodes that would recover to its original shape after receiving a force (paragraph 0052). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined these teachings in order to allow for the sensor to return to its original shape for repeated use and sensing.
Regarding claim 6, Roberts teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the collapsible structure of fig. 1A as configured to expand in cross-sectional area in response to said force. However, as Roberts discloses the addition of an elastomeric material 7 which may be used as a conductive force sensing material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have uses a similar material as the collapsible structure in order to enhance its durability and prolong its lifespan during use by allowing it to expand and contract when contacted.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Williams US 2015/0338303.
Regarding claim 3, Roberts discloses the claimed invention but does explicitly teach the variable resistive layer on the first or second electrode layer as claimed. Williams teaches a force sensor which includes a resistive force sensing layer 208 which can be variably resistive (fig. 7 shows a graph of the varying resistance as the force therein changes, paragraph 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Williams with those of Roberts in order to provide a similar variably resistive layer which would be capable of detecting not only a force, but the magnitude of the force.
Regarding claim 4, Roberts teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the substrates on which the electrodes are provided. Williams teaches a force sensor in which sensing elements are mounted to substates 202 and 212. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Williams with those of Roberts in order to provide substrates to the electrodes to protect them from damage when contacted.
Regarding claim 11, Roberts teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the substrates on which the electrodes are provided. Williams teaches a force sensor in which sensing elements are mounted to substates 202 and 212. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Williams with those of Roberts in order to provide substrates to the electrodes to protect them from damage when contacted.
Regarding claim 12, Roberts discloses the claimed invention but does explicitly teach the variable resistive layer applied on the first or second electrode layer as claimed. Williams teaches a force sensor which includes a resistive force sensing layer 208 which can be variably resistive (fig. 7 shows a graph of the varying resistance as the force therein changes, paragraph 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Williams with those of Roberts in order to provide a similar variably resistive layer which would be capable of detecting not only a force, but the magnitude of the force.
Conclusion
/MARK A SHABMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855