Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on May 13, 2026 has been entered. Accordingly, Claims 21-40 are pending in this application. Claims 21, 29, and 34 are Independent Claims and have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-27, 29-32, and 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimassimio (PG Pub. No. 2013/0024440 A1), and further in view of Moreno (US Patent No. 10,593,003 B2).
Regarding Claim 21, Dimassimio discloses a system comprising:
one or more memories having instructions stored thereon (see Dimassimio, Fig. 2, RAM 14);
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and perform operations (see Dimassimio, Fig. 2, CPU 10) comprising:
receiving a first input, the first input specifying a request to search a collection of documents having a first attribute (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query; see also paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results [it is the position of the Examiner that metadata and facets constitute attributes]);
generating a first query based on the first input, the first query being associated with the first attribute (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query [it is the position of the Examiner that a structured query constitutes searching by attribute]);
applying the first query to the collection of documents to receive a first set of results (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query; see also paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results);
receiving a second input, the second input specifying a refinement for the first set of results (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface … each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including or excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query);
combining the first query and the second input into a refined query different from the first query (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]); and
applying the refined query being associated with the first attribute (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]);
wherein the second set of results generated by applying the refined query to the collection of documents is indexed (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0032], where one or more search indexes (or indicies) may be stored at, or in association with, the server 120; information in a search index may be populated from a set of source information, or document collection; in a web search implementation, content may be collected and indexed from various web sites on various servers 130 across the network).
Dimassimio does not disclose wherein the first set of results generated by applying the first query to the collection of documents is stored and not indexed. Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses wherein the first set of results generated by applying the first query to the collection of documents is stored and not indexed (see Moreno, Claim 21, where the first format of the staging table is unindexed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the unindexed staging table of Moreno to the query refinement system of Dimassimio for the benefit of saving time by foregoing generating an index (see Moreno, column 10, lines 44-47).
Regarding Claim 22, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the system of Claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise causing to present a representation of the first query (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query; see also paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results).
Regarding Claim 23, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the system of Claim 22, wherein the receiving the second input includes receiving the second input associated with the representation of the first query (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]).
Regarding Claim 24, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the system of Claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise causing to present an interactive visual representation of the first set of results (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]).
Regarding Claim 25, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the system of Claim 24, wherein receiving the second input includes receiving the second input based on an interaction by a user with the interactive visual representation, the interaction specifying the refinement (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]).
Regarding Claim 26, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the system of Claim 21, further comprising:
receiving a third input, the third input specifying a request to search the collection of documents for documents having a second attribute that overlap with the second set of results (see Dimassimo, paragraph [0017], where method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results; each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query);
generating a third query based on the refined query and the third input (see Dimassimo, paragraph [0017], where method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results; each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query); and
applying the third query to receive a third set of results representing the documents having the second attribute that overlap with the second set of results (see Dimassimo, paragraph [0017], where method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results; each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query).
Regarding Claim 27, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the system of Claim 21, wherein the collection of documents is indexed (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0032], where one or more search indexes (or indicies) may be stored at, or in association with, the server 120; information in a search index may be populated from a set of source information, or document collection; in a web search implementation, content may be collected and indexed from various web sites on various servers 130 across the network).
Regarding Claim 29, Dimassimio discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform operations, the operations comprising:
receiving a first input, the first input specifying a request to search a collection of documents having a first attribute (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query; see also paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results [it is the position of the Examiner that metadata and facets constitute attributes]);
generating a first query based on the first input, the first query being associated with the first attribute (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query [it is the position of the Examiner that a structured query constitutes searching by attribute]);
applying the first query to the collection of documents to receive a first set of results (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query; see also paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results);
receiving a second input, the second input specifying a refinement for the first set of results (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface … each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including or excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query);
combining the first query and the second input into a refined query different from the first query (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]); and
applying the refined query being associated with the first attribute (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]);
wherein the second set of results generated by applying the refined query to the collection of documents is indexed (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0032], where one or more search indexes (or indicies) may be stored at, or in association with, the server 120; information in a search index may be populated from a set of source information, or document collection; in a web search implementation, content may be collected and indexed from various web sites on various servers 130 across the network).
Dimassimio does not disclose wherein the first set of results generated by applying the first query to the collection of documents is stored and not indexed. Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses wherein the first set of results generated by applying the first query to the collection of documents is stored and not indexed (see Moreno, Claim 21, where the first format of the staging table is unindexed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the unindexed staging table of Moreno to the query refinement system of Dimassimio for the benefit of saving time by foregoing generating an index (see Moreno, column 10, lines 44-47).
Regarding Claim 30, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 29, wherein the operations further comprise:
causing to present an interactive visual representation of the first set of results (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query; see also paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results); and
wherein receiving the second input includes receiving the second input based on an interaction by a user with the interactive visual representation, the interaction specifying the refinement (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]).
Regarding Claim 31, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 29, further comprising:
receiving a third input, the third input specifying a request to search the collection of documents for documents having a second attribute that overlap with the second set of results (see Dimassimo, paragraph [0017], where method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results; each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query);
generating a third query based on the refined query and the third input (see Dimassimo, paragraph [0017], where method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results; each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query); and
applying the third query to receive a third set of results representing the documents having the second attribute that overlap with the second set of results (see Dimassimo, paragraph [0017], where method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results; each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query).
Regarding Claim 32, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 29, wherein the collection of documents is indexed (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0032], where one or more search indexes (or indicies) may be stored at, or in association with, the server 120; information in a search index may be populated from a set of source information, or document collection; in a web search implementation, content may be collected and indexed from various web sites on various servers 130 across the network).
Regarding Claim 34, Dimassimio discloses a method comprising:
receiving a first input, the first input specifying a request to search a collection of documents having a first attribute (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query; see also paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results [it is the position of the Examiner that metadata and facets constitute attributes]);
generating a first query based on the first input, the first query being associated with the first attribute (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query [it is the position of the Examiner that a structured query constitutes searching by attribute]);
applying the first query to the collection of documents to receive a first set of results (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query; see also paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results);
receiving a second input, the second input specifying a refinement for the first set of results (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface … each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including or excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query);
combining the first query and the second input into a refined query different from the first query (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]); and
applying the refined query being associated with the first attribute (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]);
wherein the second set of results generated by applying the refined query to the collection of documents is indexed (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0032], where one or more search indexes (or indicies) may be stored at, or in association with, the server 120; information in a search index may be populated from a set of source information, or document collection; in a web search implementation, content may be collected and indexed from various web sites on various servers 130 across the network).
Dimassimio does not disclose wherein the first set of results generated by applying the first query to the collection of documents is stored and not indexed. Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses wherein the first set of results generated by applying the first query to the collection of documents is stored and not indexed (see Moreno, Claim 21, where the first format of the staging table is unindexed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the unindexed staging table of Moreno to the query refinement system of Dimassimio for the benefit of saving time by foregoing generating an index (see Moreno, column 10, lines 44-47).
Regarding Claim 35, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the method of Claim 34, further comprising causing to present a representation of the first query (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface … each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including or excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query).
Regarding Claim 36, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the method of Claim 35, wherein the receiving the second input includes receiving the second input associated with the representation of the first query (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query; see also paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results).
Regarding Claim 37, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the method of Claim 34, further comprising causing to present an interactive visual representation of the first set of results (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0030], where a computer-based information search system includes client computers 110 which communicate through a network 140 with a search engine server 120 to obtain information associated with a search query (which may be a structured query; see also paragraph [0017], where the method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results).
Regarding Claim 38, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the method of Claim 37, wherein receiving the second input includes receiving the second input based on an interaction by a user with the interactive visual representation, the interaction specifying the refinement (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0057], where beside each faceted search result, as shown by way of example in Fig. 4, is a user interface element for including that faceted search result as a search term in a subsequent search (for example, it may use a filter query or optionally perform a Boolean logical AND with the original search query) [emphasis added by Examiner]).
Regarding Claim 39, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the method of Claim 34, further comprising:
receiving a third input, the third input specifying a request to search the collection of documents for documents having a second attribute that overlap with the second set of results (see Dimassimo, paragraph [0017], where method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results; each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query);
generating a third query based on the refined query and the third input (see Dimassimo, paragraph [0017], where method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results; each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query); and
applying the third query to receive a third set of results representing the documents having the second attribute that overlap with the second set of results (see Dimassimo, paragraph [0017], where method entails receiving search results in response to a search query, displaying a list of search results in a search engine interface and displaying a plurality of facets in the search engine interface; each of the facets is derived from explicit editorial metadata or inferred semantic annotations and comprises faceted search results; each of the faceted search results is displayed in association with user interface elements for including excluding the faceted search result as additional search terms to subsequently refine the search query).
Regarding Claim 40, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the method of Claim 34, wherein the collection of documents is indexed (see Dimassimio, paragraph [0032], where one or more search indexes (or indicies) may be stored at, or in association with, the server 120; information in a search index may be populated from a set of source information, or document collection; in a web search implementation, content may be collected and indexed from various web sites on various servers 130 across the network).
Claims 28 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimassimio and Moreno applied to Claims 21-27, 29-32, and 34-40 above, and further in view of Cazemier (PG Pub. No. 2005/0015367 A1).
Regarding Claim 28, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the system of Claim 21, wherein:
Dimassimio does not disclose the first attribute corresponds to a value of a field in each document of the collection of documents, the value of the field being an indexed value. Cazemier discloses the first attribute corresponds to a value of a field in each document of the collection of documents, the value of the field being an indexed value (see Cazemier, [0049], where table CALENDAR contains field MONTHID as a primary key [it is the position of the Examiner that a primary key is an indexed value]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Dimassimio with Cazemier for the benefit of preventing double counting of data in ambiguously defined situations (see Cazemier, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 33, Dimassimio in view of Moreno discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 29, wherein:
Dimassimio does not disclose the first attribute corresponds to a value of a field in each document of the collection of documents, the value of the field being an indexed value. Cazemier discloses the first attribute corresponds to a value of a field in each document of the collection of documents, the value of the field being an indexed value (see Cazemier, [0049], where table CALENDAR contains field MONTHID as a primary key [it is the position of the Examiner that a primary key is an indexed value]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Dimassimio with Cazemier for the benefit of preventing double counting of data in ambiguously defined situations (see Cazemier, Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments, filed May 13, 2026, have been fully considered, but moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Kotcheff (PG Pub. No. 2002/0087535 A1), which concerns a method and apparatus facilitating searching.
Anick (PG Pub. No. 2006/0010126 A1), which concerns interactive search query refinement.
Reddy (PG Pub. No. 2007/0168331 A1), which concerns searching over structured data.
Becker (US Patent No. 6,782,085 B1), which concerns fast database data retrieval using less structured data.
/FARHAD AGHARAHIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161