DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, the claim calls for “acquire coordinate positions inside images of light sources included in an image captured with an imaging device”. The claim language is unclear and indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the feature as to acquire the light source coordinate positions from the captured image.
Claims 2-11 are rejected for their dependency upon a rejected claim.
Claims 12-13 are rejected for the similar reason as of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iizuka (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0092815 A1).
As per claim 1, Iizuka discloses an information processing apparatus (abstract: “a moving body position determination device”) comprising one or more processors (abstract: “processor”) configured to: acquire coordinate positions inside images of light sources (paragraph [0029]: markers/light sources 102a-102c attached to the ceilings) included in an image captured with an imaging device (paragraph [0029]: camera 101) among a plurality of light sources whose coordinate positions in a three-dimensional space are known (paragraph [0030]: “the three-dimensional positions of the markers 102 in the space 500 are known.”), and acquire at least either of a coordinate position and an orientation of the information processing apparatus in the three-dimensional space based on the acquired coordinate positions of the light sources in the three-dimensional space included in the image and the coordinate positions inside the images of the light sources (paragraph [0031]: “calculates the three-dimensional position of the camera 101a in the space 500 as the three-dimensional position of the forklift 100. Here, the light images are obtained by the camera 101a performing chronological continuous imaging”; paragraph [0033]: “ the server 200 calculates the unknown three-dimensional position of the camera 101a on the basis of the known three-dimensional positions of the markers 102 in the space 500”; paragraph [0046]: “The marker 102c is located in the disabled region 603a and, as such, the marker 102c is not used to acquire the three-dimensional position of the camera 101a, and only the markers 102a and 102b are used to acquire the three-dimensional position of the camera 101a”), wherein the one or more processors further are configured to: acquire at least either of the coordinate position and the orientation of the information processing apparatus based on information on light sources in which an angle of a light source from the imaging device to a predetermined direction or a prospective angle between light sources in a horizontal direction satisfies a predetermined condition (paragraph [0047]: “the three-dimensional position of the marker 102a and the three-dimensional position of the marker 102b obtained by referencing the marker three-dimensional position table, and the camera orientation matrix Rz (θ) and the camera placement matrix Rc that express the attitude data and that are stored in the memory 205”).
As per claim 2, Iizuka discloses wherein the one or more processors use information on the plurality of light sources as a combination of two or more light sources including a light source which angle from the imaging device to the predetermined direction is a first threshold value or more, or as a combination of two or more light sources in which a prospective angle therebetween in the horizontal direction satisfies a predetermined condition to derive at least either of the coordinate position and the orientation of the own device (see figures 7-9 for a prospective angles between two markers 102a and 102b is greater than zero).
As per claim 3, Iizuka discloses wherein the one or more processors use information included in the image on a first light source whose elevation/depression angle from the imaging device is the first threshold value or more, and information on a second light source to derive at least either of the coordinate position and the orientation of the own device (as shown in figures 1 and 6, the markers 102a and 102b are placed at different elevations).
As per claim 4, Iizuka discloses wherein the one or more processors use information included in the image on a first light source whose elevation/depression angle from the imaging device is the first threshold value or more, and a second light source whose prospective angle with the first light source in the horizontal direction is a second threshold value or more to derive at least either of the coordinate position and the orientation of the own device (see paragraph [0047]: using 102a and 102b positional information in the captured image to calculate camera position and orientation).
As per claim 7, Iizuka discloses wherein the one or more processors use information on three light sources different in horizontal direction position inside the image from one another to derive at least either of the coordinate position and the orientation of the own device (as shown in figures 1 and 6, markers 102a, 102b and 102c are placed at different horizonal direction positions).
As per claim 11, Iizuka discloses wherein each of the plurality of light sources is to modulate light and transmit identification information on the light source concerned, and the one or more processors detects identification information and a coordinate position of the light source included in an image from the image captured with the imaging device, and acquires a known coordinate position corresponding to the detected identification information in the three-dimensional space (paragraph [0030]: “The markers 102 perform color modulation on the basis of various types of information to be sent, and send that information by chronologically changing the light emission color and emitting”).
As per claim 12, see explanation in claim 1.
As per claim 13, see explanation in claim 1, and the examiner notes Iizuka’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 8-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667