DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the French Republic on 9/19/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR 2309922 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, both instances of “said body” should be corrected to “said cylindrical body” for claim language consistency.
Regarding claim 5, “the thread” should be corrected to “the reinforcing thread” for claim language consistency.
Regarding claim 7, “pultruding at least one” should be corrected to “pultruding the at least one” for claim language consistency.
Regarding claim 10, the first instance of “an injection needle” should be corrected to “a needle” and the second instance of “an injection needle” should be corrected to “the needle” for claim language consistency. Additionally, the Examiner suggests including the limitation of a needle according to any of the preceding claims before a pump body equipped with an end fitting for adjusting an injection needle for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the thread comprising a rigidified portion and a flexible portion, subject matter of claim 5, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the polyaryletherketone polymer” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clancy (US 20150099995 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Clancy discloses a needle (abstract) comprising a cylindrical body extending along a longitudinal axis (polymer body 100, abstract and [0025] & Fig. 1), at least one end of which is beveled ([0033]), said body being formed at least from a polymer ([0022]), said needle being characterized in that it comprises at least one reinforcing thread adapted to stiffen said body (wires 100, [0025]-[0026] & Fig. 1), said reinforcing thread being formed at least from a shape-memory material ([0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Clancy discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Clancy further discloses the needle characterized in that the reinforcing thread is arranged inside the needle body ([0025] & Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Clancy discloses all the limitations of claim 6. The limitation of “is obtained according to a method comprising a first step of extruding the polyaryletherketone polymer simultaneously with a step of pultruding at least one reinforcing thread within said extruded polyaryletherketone polymer” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. In the instant case, the claimed needle is the same as the needle of Clancy. Clancy discloses the “the polymer body may comprise polyimide, polyethylene, polyurethane, and any other polymer that can be extruded.”([0022]).
The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 8, Clancy discloses all the limitations of claim 6. The limitation of “is obtained according to a method comprising a first step of additive printing of the body from a spool of polyaryletherketone polymer thread around the at least one reinforcing thread” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. In the instant case, the claimed needle is the same as the needle of Clancy.
The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 9, Clancy discloses all the limitations of claim 6. The limitation of “is obtained by a method comprising a first step of subtractive printing of the body in a polyaryletherketone polymer block wherein the at least one reinforcing thread is arranged” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. In the instant case, the claimed needle is the same as the needle of Clancy.
The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geliebter (US 20070179455 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Geliebter discloses a needle (abstract) comprising a cylindrical body extending along a longitudinal axis (barrel, [002] & Fig. 1), at least one end of which is beveled ([0024]-[0025] & Fig. 1), said body being formed at least from a polymer ([0027]), said needle being characterized in that it comprises at least one reinforcing thread adapted to stiffen said body (“the transparent or translucent portion is molded around or otherwise attached to or supported by a scaffold, e.g., of metal. Exemplary shapes of scaffolds include a spiral, a mesh, e.g., random, square grid, or hexagonal, or other continuous, near-continuous, or non-continuous patterns, e.g., multiple vertical or horizontal strands/bars/threads, crisscross, wavy, or zig-zag pattern.”, [0030]; see [0033] & Fig. 2; “By "scaffold" is meant any supporting structure”, [0017]; the scaffold is configured to support, or stiffen, the barrel), said reinforcing thread being formed at least from a shape-memory material (“the transparent or translucent portion is molded around or otherwise attached to or supported by a scaffold, e.g., of metal. “, [0030]; “In addition to the transparent or translucent portion, needles may contain other materials. Suitable materials include metals (e.g., stainless steel, titanium, chrome, shape memory alloy, e.g., nitinol, platinum, or nickel), ceramics, and opaque plastics.”, [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Geliebter discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Geliebter further discloses the needle characterized in that the reinforcing thread has at least one portion in the form of a spiral about said longitudinal axis ([0030] & Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Geliebter discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Geliebter further discloses the needle characterized in that it comprises a plurality of reinforcing threads forming a mesh (“the transparent or translucent portion is molded around or otherwise attached to or supported by a scaffold, e.g., of metal. Exemplary shapes of scaffolds include a spiral, a mesh…”, [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Geliebter discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Geliebter further discloses the needle characterized in that the reinforcing thread is arranged inside the needle body ([0030] & Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Geliebter discloses all the limitations of claim 6. The limitation of “is obtained according to a method comprising a first step of extruding the polyaryletherketone polymer simultaneously with a step of pultruding at least one reinforcing thread within said extruded polyaryletherketone polymer” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. In the instant case, the claimed needle is the same as the needle of Geliebter. Geliebter discloses the “transparent, translucent, or other portion of a needle may be formed by any suitable method. Exemplary methods include molding, photocuring, and machining” ([0030]).
The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 8, Geliebter discloses all the limitations of claim 6. The limitation of “is obtained according to a method comprising a first step of additive printing of the body from a spool of polyaryletherketone polymer thread around the at least one reinforcing thread” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. In the instant case, the claimed needle is the same as the needle of Geliebter. Geliebter discloses the “transparent, translucent, or other portion of a needle may be formed by any suitable method. Exemplary methods include molding, photocuring, and machining” ([0030]).
The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 9, Geliebter discloses all the limitations of claim 6. The limitation of “is obtained by a method comprising a first step of subtractive printing of the body in a polyaryletherketone polymer block wherein the at least one reinforcing thread is arranged” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. In the instant case, the claimed needle is the same as the needle of Geliebter. Geliebter discloses the “transparent, translucent, or other portion of a needle may be formed by any suitable method. Exemplary methods include molding, photocuring, and machining” ([0030]).
The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zambaux (US 20070073249 A1) in view of Zhao (US 20230364329 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, Zambaux discloses a needle (abstract) comprising a cylindrical body extending along a longitudinal axis (hollow cylindrical body 1, [0040] & Fig. 1), at least one end of which is beveled ([0041] & Fig. 1), said body being formed at least from a polymer, characterized in that the polymer is oxy-1,4-phenylene-oxy-1,4-phenylene-carbonyl-1 ,4-phenylene (abstract and [0043]), said needle being characterized in that it comprises at least one reinforcing thread (reinforcement wires 3, 4, and 5, [0051] & Fig. 1-3) adapted to stiffen said body (reinforcement wires configured to reinforce the needle, see [0051] and [0061]).
However, Zambaux fails to explicitly disclose said reinforcing thread being formed at least from a shape-memory material, and the needle characterized in that the reinforcing thread has at least one portion in the form of a spiral about said longitudinal axis.
However, Zhao teaches a needle (abstract) comprising reinforcing thread being formed at least from a shape-memory material, and the needle characterized in that the reinforcing thread has at least one portion in the form of a spiral about said longitudinal axis (instrument 920 contains “activatable elements that may be activated to cause the instrument to become more rigid. The activatable elements take the form of shape memory alloy (SMA) wires… In this instrument 920, A SMA wire 922 is helically wrapped over the length of the cylindrical body 924.”, [0055]-[0058] & Fig. 9A-9B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reinforcing threads of Zambaux with Zhao to include the reinforcing thread being formed at least from a shape-memory material, and the needle characterized in that the reinforcing thread has at least one portion in the form of a spiral about said longitudinal axis, since Zhao teaches a shape-memory material to be an art effective material for threads configured to stiffen the body of a needle and would yield predictable results pertaining to increased needle body rigidity ([0036]). The modification would provide structure to actively control the rigidity, or stiffness, of the needle ([0055]-[0058]). Zhao teaches a helically wrapped SMA wire over the length of the needle body to be an equivalent embodiment to pairs of SMA wires 902 “distributed evenly around the circumference and length of the exterior of the instrument” (see [0055] & Fig. 9A of Zhao), a configuration synonymous to the longitudinal reinforcing wires of Zambaux.
As combined, reinforcing wires 3, 4, and 5 of Zambaux would be modified to substantially adopt the configuration and properties of wire(s) 922 of Zhao.
Regarding claim 5, Zambaux, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Zambaux, as modified, further disclose the needle characterized in that the thread comprises a rigidified portion (as modified, wire 922 is configured to stiffen upon application of voltage, [0055]-[0058] of Zhao) but fails to explicitly disclose a flexible portion.
However, Zhao further teaches the needle (abstract) characterized in that the thread comprises a rigidified portion and a flexible portion (instrument 900 comprises a SMA wire(s) 922 and shunts 904, [0056]-[0058] & Fig. 9A-9B; “An electrical shunt 904 may be provided for each pair of SMA wires. The shape memory alloy wires 902 stiffen upon the application of a sufficient voltage to the SMA wires 902. The electrical shunts 904 may be made of non-shape memory alloy so that they do not stiffen upon application of electricity to the wires 902.”, [0055]; “electrical shunts 904 may be formed if warranted, depending on the configuration of the SMA wire(s) 902, 922.”, [0057]; shunts 904 may be provided with wire(s) 922).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reinforcing thread of Zambaux with Zhao to include a flexible portion since such a modification would provide structure to divert current and prevent overcurrent. As modified, shunt 904 is being interpreted as the flexible portion as shunts 904 do not stiffen upon application of electricity.
Regarding claim 6, Zambaux, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Zambaux further discloses the needle characterized in that the reinforcing thread is arranged inside the needle body (the reinforcing wires “embedded in the walls made of polyarylethercetone polymer of the formula (1)”, [0052] and claim 1 of Zambaux; “The SMA wire(s) 902, 922 may be embedded in or molded in the material of the cylindrical body 908, 924.”, [0057] of Zhao).
Regarding claim 7, Zambaux, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 6. The limitation of “is obtained according to a method comprising a first step of extruding the polyaryletherketone polymer simultaneously with a step of pultruding at least one reinforcing thread within said extruded polyaryletherketone polymer” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. In the instant case, the claimed needle is the same as the needle of Zambaux. Zambaux discloses the “needle, the syringe and the connector of the invention may be made by any process known to a specialist, such as a process of injection molding, an extrusion process or an extrusion under tension process called the pultrusion process whereby the reinforcement wires are held under tension during their passage, and that of the polymer matrix, in the extrusion die.”([0079]).
The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 8, Zambaux, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 6. The limitation of “is obtained according to a method comprising a first step of additive printing of the body from a spool of polyaryletherketone polymer thread around the at least one reinforcing thread” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. In the instant case, the claimed needle is the same as the needle of Zambaux.
The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 9, Zambaux, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 6. The limitation of “is obtained by a method comprising a first step of subtractive printing of the body in a polyaryletherketone polymer block wherein the at least one reinforcing thread is arranged” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. In the instant case, the claimed needle is the same as the needle of Zambaux.
The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 10, Zambaux, as modified, discloses an injection syringe comprising:
- A plunger;
- A pump body equipped with an end fitting for adjusting an injection needle (“Another object of the invention is an injection syringe made up of a piston (considered as the recited plunger above), a pump body equipped with an end-fitting for fitting of an injection needle, characterized in that it is equipped with a needle according to the invention.”, [0027] and [0059] and claim 8 & Fig. 4);
- An injection needle according to any of the preceding claims (see claim 1 above).
Conclusion
/MARTIN A RADOMSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783