DETAILED ACTION
2. The following is a Final Office action in response to communications received on February 27, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections set forth in the previous Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office Action have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant has amended the claims in such a way that the scope of the claims has been changed. New art is being used to address the newly added claim limitations. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0081262 and hereinafter referred to as Luo) in view of Jeon et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0183772 and hereinafter referred to as Jeon) in view of Wong et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0192600 and hereinafter referred to as Wong).
As to claim 1, Luo discloses a wireless communication method, comprising:
establishing a Bluetooth connection between a first device and a second device (paragraph [0005] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches a mobile device and electronic device establish a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) connection);
sending a first data packet to the second device and receiving a second data packet sent by the second device based on the Bluetooth connection between the first device and the second device, wherein both the first data packet and the second data packet are used for a wireless communication between the first device and the second device (paragraphs [0005], [0030] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches the electronic device transmits first connection information to the mobile device and the mobile device transmits second connection information to the electronic device. The connection information includes Wi-Fi direct MAC addresses of the devices. This connection information is used for establishing a Wi-Fi direct connection. Additionally, the use of BLE necessarily involves using packets);
establishing a wireless connection between the first device and the second device (paragraphs [0005], [0028] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches establishing a Wi-Fi direct connection between the mobile device and electronic device); and
performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the first data packet and the second data packet (paragraph [0025] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches transmitting/receiving data on the Wi-Fi direct connection.). While Luo does not state that a handshake is required for Wi-Fi direct connection establishment, Luo is not expressly clear that the first data packet carries an access point nonce (ANonce), and the second data packet carries a supplicant nonce (SNonce); and the establishing of the wireless connection does not comprise an interaction process of handshake messages as claimed. However, Jeon does disclose
the establishing of the wireless connection does not comprise an interaction process of handshake messages (paragraph [0004], Jeon teaches forming a first connection to obtain session information and then later using the session information to form a second connection without performing a handshake.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Luo with the teachings of Jeon for establishing the wireless connection without an interaction process of handshake messages because this would save time and resources.
The combination of teachings between Luo and Jeon does not specifically disclose the first data packet carries an access point nonce (ANonce), and the second data packet carries a supplicant nonce (SNonce) as claimed. However, Wong does disclose
the first data packet carries an access point nonce (ANonce), and the second data packet carries a supplicant nonce (SNonce) (paragraphs [0032]-[0035], Wong teaches sending an ANonce in one message and an SNonce in another message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Luo with the teachings of Wong for having the first data packet carry an access point nonce (ANonce) and the second data packet carry a supplicant nonce (SNonce) because this would increase security.
As to claim 8, the combination of teachings between Luo, Jeon and Wong disclose the method of claim 1, wherein before sending the first data packet to the second device, the method further comprises: obtaining an internet protocol (IP) address assigned to the second device; and adding the IP address of the second device to the first data packet (paragraph [0034], Luo teaches exchanging IP addresses of the devices.).
As to claim 11, Luo discloses a wireless communication method, comprising:
establishing a Bluetooth connection between a first device and a second device (paragraph [0005] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches a mobile device and electronic device establish a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) connection);
receiving a first data packet sent by the first device and sending a second data packet to the first device based on a Bluetooth connection between the first device and the second device, wherein both the first data packet and the second data packet are used for a wireless communication between the first device and the second device (paragraphs [0005], [0030] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches the mobile device receives first connection information from the electronic device and the electronic device receives second connection information from the mobile device. The connection information includes Wi-Fi direct MAC addresses of the devices. This connection information is used for establishing a Wi-Fi direct connection. Additionally, the use of BLE necessarily involves using packets);
establishing a wireless connection between the first device and the second device (paragraphs [0005], [0028] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches establishing a Wi-Fi direct connection between the mobile device and electronic device); and
performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the first data packet and the second data packet (paragraph [0025] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches transmitting/receiving data on the Wi-Fi direct connection.). While Luo does not state that a handshake is required for Wi-Fi direct connection establishment, Luo is not expressly clear that the first data packet carries an access point nonce (ANonce), and the second data packet carries a supplicant nonce (SNonce); and the establishing of the wireless connection does not comprise an interaction process of handshake messages as claimed. However, Jeon does disclose
the establishing of the wireless connection does not comprise an interaction process of handshake messages (paragraph [0004], Jeon teaches forming a first connection to obtain session information and then later using the session information to form a second connection without performing a handshake.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Luo with the teachings of Jeon for establishing the wireless connection without an interaction process of handshake messages because this would save time and resources.
The combination of teachings between Luo and Jeon does not specifically disclose the first data packet carries an access point nonce (ANonce), and the second data packet carries a supplicant nonce (SNonce) as claimed. However, Wong does disclose
the first data packet carries an access point nonce (ANonce), and the second data packet carries a supplicant nonce (SNonce) (paragraphs [0032]-[0035], Wong teaches sending an ANonce in one message and an SNonce in another message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Luo with the teachings of Wong for having the first data packet carry an access point nonce (ANonce) and the second data packet carry a supplicant nonce (SNonce) because this would increase security.
As to claim 18, the combination of teachings between Luo, Jeon and Wong disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the first data packet comprises an internet protocol (IP) address assigned to the second device (paragraph [0034], Luo teaches exchanging IP addresses of the devices.).
As to claim 20, Luo discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a processor (paragraph [0020], Luo teaches a processor);
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (paragraphs [0019]-[0021], Luo teaches a memory storing programs executable by the processor);
wherein the processor is configured to perform:
establishing a Bluetooth connection between a first device and a second device (paragraph [0005] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches a mobile device and electronic device establish a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) connection);
sending a first data packet to the second device and receiving a second data packet sent by the second device based on the Bluetooth connection between the first device and the second device, wherein both the first data packet and the second data packet are used for a wireless communication between the first device and the second device (paragraphs [0005], [0030] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches the electronic device transmits first connection information to the mobile device and the mobile device transmits second connection information to the electronic device. The connection information includes Wi-Fi direct MAC addresses of the devices. This connection information is used for establishing a Wi-Fi direct connection. Additionally, the use of BLE necessarily involves using packets);
establishing a wireless connection between the first device and the second device (paragraphs [0005], [0028] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches establishing a Wi-Fi direct connection between the mobile device and electronic device); and
performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the first data packet and the second data packet (paragraph [0025] and Fig. 2, Luo teaches transmitting/receiving data on the Wi-Fi direct connection.). While Luo does not state that a handshake is required for Wi-Fi direct connection establishment, Luo is not expressly clear that the establishing of the wireless connection does not comprise an interaction process of handshake messages; and the first data packet carries an access point nonce (ANonce), and the second data packet carries a supplicant nonce (SNonce) as claimed. However, Jeon does disclose
the establishing of the wireless connection does not comprise an interaction process of handshake messages (paragraph [0004], Jeon teaches forming a first connection to obtain session information and then later using the session information to form a second connection without performing a handshake.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Luo with the teachings of Jeon for establishing the wireless connection without an interaction process of handshake messages because this would save time and resources.
The combination of teachings between Luo and Jeon does not specifically disclose the first data packet carries an access point nonce (ANonce), and the second data packet carries a supplicant nonce (SNonce) as claimed. However, Wong does disclose
the first data packet carries an access point nonce (ANonce), and the second data packet carries a supplicant nonce (SNonce) (paragraphs [0032]-[0035], Wong teaches sending an ANonce in one message and an SNonce in another message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Luo with the teachings of Wong for having the first data packet carry an access point nonce (ANonce) and the second data packet carry a supplicant nonce (SNonce) because this would increase security.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo, Jeon and Wong as applied to claims 8 and 18 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0319559 and hereinafter referred to as Lee).
As to claim 9, the combination of teachings between Luo, Jeon and Wong disclose the method of claim 8. The combination of teachings between Luo, Jeon and Wong does not specifically disclose wherein the second data packet carries a media access control (MAC) address of the second device; performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the first data packet and the second data packet comprises: configuring an address resolution protocol (ARP) table of the first device to obtain a first ARP table, based on an IP address of the first device and a MAC address of the first device; configuring the first ARP table to obtain a second ARP table, based on the IP address of the second device and the MAC address of the second device; and performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the second ARP table as claimed. However, Lee does disclose
wherein the second data packet carries a media access control (MAC) address of the second device; performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the first data packet and the second data packet comprises: configuring an address resolution protocol (ARP) table of the first device to obtain a first ARP table, based on an IP address of the first device and a MAC address of the first device; configuring the first ARP table to obtain a second ARP table, based on the IP address of the second device and the MAC address of the second device; and performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the second ARP table (paragraphs [0031] and [0039], Lee teaches a first and second terminal establishing an ARP table using IP and MAC addresses.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Luo with the teachings of Lee for configuring an address resolution protocol (ARP) table because this would save time and resources.
As to claim 19, the combination of teachings between Luo, Jeon and Wong disclose the method of claim 18. The combination of teachings between Luo, Jeon and Wong does not specifically disclose wherein the first data packet further carries an IP address of the first device and a MAC address of the first device; performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the first data packet and the second data packet comprises: configuring an address resolution protocol (ARP) table of the second device based on the IP address of the first device and the MAC address of the first device; configuring the address resolution protocol (ARP) table of the second device based on the IP address of the second device and the MAC address of the second device; and performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the ARP table of the second device as claimed. However, Lee does disclose
wherein the first data packet further carries an IP address of the first device and a MAC address of the first device; performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the first data packet and the second data packet comprises: configuring an address resolution protocol (ARP) table of the second device based on the IP address of the first device and the MAC address of the first device; configuring the address resolution protocol (ARP) table of the second device based on the IP address of the second device and the MAC address of the second device; and performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the ARP table of the second device (paragraph [0031], Lee teaches a first and second terminal establishing an ARP table using IP and MAC addresses.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Luo with the teachings of Lee for configuring an address resolution protocol (ARP) table because this would save time and resources.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo, Jeon and Wong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kweon et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0150093 and hereinafter referred to as Kweon).
As to claim 10, the combination of teachings between Luo, Jeon and Wong disclose the method of claim 1. The combination of teachings between Luo, Jeon and Wong does not specifically disclose wherein establishing the wireless connection between the first device and the second device comprises: creating a wireless access point, or creating a group and setting the first device as an owner of the group; receiving an authentication request message sent by the second device; sending an authentication response message to the second device; receiving an association request message sent by the second device; and sending an association response message to the second device as claimed. However, Kweon does disclose
wherein establishing the wireless connection between the first device and the second device comprises: creating a wireless access point, or creating a group and setting the first device as an owner of the group (paragraph [0080], Kweon teaches a mobile Access Point (AP)); receiving an authentication request message sent by the second device (paragraph [0082], Kweon teaches receiving an authentication request message); sending an authentication response message to the second device (paragraph [0083], Kweon teaches sending an authentication response); receiving an association request message sent by the second device (paragraph [0084], Kweon teaches receiving an association message); and sending an association response message to the second device (paragraph [0084], Kweon teaches sending an association response message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Luo with the teachings of Kweon for sending/receiving an authentication/association request/response message because this would increase security.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 recites, inter alia, “generating a first secret key based on the first data packet and the second data packet; and performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the first secret key”. The prior art was not found to disclose these limitations in combination with the other limitations. Therefore, claim 2 is considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art. Dependent claims 3-7 are considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art based on their dependency.
Claim 12 recites, inter alia, “generating a second secret key based on the first data packet and the second data packet; and performing the wireless communication between the first device and the second device based on the second secret key”. The prior art was not found to disclose these limitations in combination with the other limitations. Therefore, claim 12 is considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art. Dependent claims 13-17 are considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art based on their dependency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THADDEUS J PLECHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2438