DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The receipt of Oath/Declaration is acknowledged.
Drawings
5. The receipt of Drawings is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naitoh (US PG. Pub. 2013/0242335 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, Naitoh teaches a printing apparatus (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System, Sect. [0054], FIGS. 1 to 21, as illustrated in FIG. 2, the print system of FIG. 2 includes an email server 100, a print server 200, a rendering server 300, and a printer 400 (See Fig. 43) with an online storage 500, a user terminal 600 and shared user terminal 700.) comprising:
a display (See Naitoh, Fig. 43, Operational Display Panel 315); and
one or more controllers (See Naitoh, Fig. 43, Sect. [0087], Controller 311 with CPU 3111) configured to:
display on the display a login object (See Naitoh, Fig. 42, LOG IN Key) for allowing a user to log in to the printing apparatus, wherein the login object contains a user name (See Naitoh, Fig. 42, USER ID) and a user icon (See Naitoh, Fig. 42, PASSWORD) corresponding to the user (See Naitoh, Figs. 41 and 42, Sect. [0421] lines 1-9, Referring to FIG. 41A, at S901, the image forming apparatus 1013 accepts login data from a user, who intends to execute a print job that is registered, where, the image forming apparatus 1013 displays the login screen 2100 of FIG. 42 to request the user to log in the service provider system 1100 by entering a user ID and a password, or a PIN code, the user presses the "LOG IN" key to request the image forming apparatus 1013 to send a login request to the service provider system 1100.);
display on the display a selection object (See Naitoh, Fig. 42, PIN Code) for receiving, from the user, a selection of a user icon to be displayed on the login object (See Naitoh, Fig. 42, Sect. [0421] lines 10-14, The operation input 1401 of the image forming apparatus 1013 obtains login data, such a PIN code, from the user. A PIN code is one example of password, such as a one-time password that is temporarily assigned with the unregistered user);
display on the display, in a state that the login object is displayed, a first object for displaying the selection object (See Naitoh, Fig. 40, Service List Selection Screen 2001, Sect. [0409], At S805, the authentication processor 1121 sends a login response indicating that login is accepted to the login request 1304 of the terminal device 1300. In response to the login response, the terminal device 1300 displays a service list selection screen 2001 (FIG. 40) to request the request user to select one of the services provided by the service provider system 1100.), wherein the first object contains a character string indicating editing (See Naitoh, Fig. 40, Print Service Screen 2002, Sect. [0414] lines 1-4, At S813, the terminal device 1300 displays the print service screen 2002 of FIG. 40 on a display to request the request user to enter information regarding a print job to be registered.); and
display on the display a user information object in response to a selection of both the first object (See Naitoh, Sect. [0410] lines 3-8, At S806 of FIG. 39, the operation input 1301 of the terminal device 1300 accepts a request for using the print service ("print service use request") from the request user. At S807, the operation input 1301 sends a print service use request to the service use request 1305.) and a target user (See Naitoh, Sect. [0411], At S808, the service use request 1305 sends a print service use request, received from the request user, to the service provider system 1100.),
wherein a second object is displayed on the display in a state that the user information object is displayed (See Naitoh, Fig. 40, Sect. [0414] lines 4-8, Through the print service screen 2002, the request user specifies electronic data to be printed, such as a file name or a URL of the electronic data, by directly entering in a data field or selecting from a list that may be displayed when the "View" key is selected.), and
wherein the selection object is displayed in response to a selection of the second object (See Naitoh, Sect. [0428], at S908 and S909, the print service application 1111 sends the data list to the service use request 1405 of the image forming apparatus 1013, via the session manager 112, wherein the image forming apparatus 1013 displays a screen that lists one or more jobs that are related to the user based on the data list, and requests the user to select electronic data to be output 4).
Referring to Claim 2, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43),
wherein the user icon is displayed on the selection object distinguishably from other user icons displayed on the selection object (See Naitoh, Sect. [0146], At S58, the printer 400, which receives the job list, causes the operation panel to display information regarding the job list. Further, at S58, the printer 400 receives a user instruction, which instructs to print a specific print job selected from the job list, from the user. At S59, in response to the user instruction for selecting the specific print job to be executed, the printer 400 sends a job ID of the selected print job to the print server 200. At S60, the print server 200 obtains an electronic file to be printed using the received job ID, and sends the obtained electronic file to the printer 400. S58 to S60 correspond to S33 of FIG. 4.),
wherein the other user icons include a first user icon and a second user icon (See Naitoh, Sect. [0450] lines 5-8, the output data management information table of FIG. 27, or the output data management information table of FIG. 28. The first user information and the second user information are stored in association with job identification information.), and
wherein the first user icon is displayed on the selection object distinguishably from the user icon and the second user icon, in a case where the first user icon included in the other user icons is selected (See Naitoh, Sect. [0414] lines 8-20, The request user further enters various print parameter settings such as whether to print one-sided or double-sided, or in color or black. In FIG. 40, when the key "NONE" is selected, the image is printed with default settings. Further, the request user enters one or more shared users, if the user decides to share the electronic data. The request user may determine whether to allow issuance of a one-time password, in case the shared user is not registered, by check box. After entering various settings information, the request user enters the "Send" key to generate a request for registering a print job with various data settings. The operation input 1301 receives the request for registering the print job ("data input request") with various data settings.).
Referring to Claim 3, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1
(See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43), wherein a plurality of candidate user icons in which the user icon and another user icon are included are displayed (See Naitoh, Fig. 40, Sect. [0409], At S805, the authentication processor 1121 sends a login response indicating that login is accepted to the login request 1304 of the terminal device 1300. In response to the login response, the terminal device 1300 displays a service list selection screen 2001 (FIG. 40) to request the request user to select one of the services provided by the service provider system 1100.), and
wherein the user icon is displayed on the selection object distinguishably from the another user icon included in the candidate user icons (See Naitoh, Sect. [0410], In this example, it is assumed that the request user selects the "PRINT SERVICE" key from the service list selection screen 2001 to select the print service. At S806 of FIG. 39, the operation input 1301 of the terminal device 1300 accepts a request for using the print service ("print service use request") from the request user. At S807, the operation input 1301 sends a print service use request to the service use request 1305.).
Referring to Claim 4, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43), wherein the user icon is an image (See Naitoh, Sect. [0089] lines 4-8, an image such as a thumbnail image of image data input to the printer 400, and information regarding an operation state of the printer 400 is display on the display device 315 as user input key.).
Referring to Claim 5, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1
(See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43), wherein the first object contains a character string indicating editing of information corresponding to the user and adding of another user (See Naitoh, Sect. [0255] lines 12-16, The information processing apparatus receives second user information, such as system login data or the destination address, from the data processing apparatus. The information processing apparatus further transmits the electronic data to the data output apparatus, using the second user information.), and
wherein the one or more controllers edit the information or add the another user based on a selection of the first object and an operation of the user (See Naitoh, Sect. [0256], When the second user information, which may be received with the first user information, is different from second user information received from the data output apparatus, the information processing apparatus is provided managing means that manages correspondence information regarding user information. The user information to be managed includes, for example, one-time password to be generated by the information processing apparatus.).
Referring to Claim 6, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1
(See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43), wherein the user information object is a screen enabling editing of information corresponding to the user (See Naitoh, Sect. [0089] lines 8-11, The display device of the operation panel 315 may be implemented by a touch panel screen, which allows the user to input a user instruction through a screen displayed by the display device.).
Referring to Claim 7, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43), wherein the user information object includes a user name corresponding to the user (See Naitoh, Sect. [0075] lines 11-16, The user name is one example of user identification data for uniquely identifying a request user who requests registration of a job. The shared user name is one example of shared user identification data for uniquely identifying a shared user of the job, which is set by the request user.).
Referring to Claim 8, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1
(See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43), wherein the user information object includes a mail address corresponding to the
user (See Naitoh, Sect. [0077] lines 1-3, The shared user information manager 210 is additionally provided with the function of notifying the shared user of the one-time password, for example, by sending email addressed to the shared user.).
Referring to Claim 9, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1
(See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43), wherein the user information object includes the user icon corresponding to the user (See Naitoh, Sect. [0254] lines 2-4, the user may input user information, such as a user name or a one-time password, to request for outputting the electronic data to the data output apparatus.).
Referring to Claim 10, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43),
wherein the printing apparatus has at least one of a copy function, a scan function, or a print function (See Naitoh, Fig. 40, Screen 2001, Print Service and Scan Service, Sect. [0409] lines 4-7, the terminal device 1300 displays a service list selection screen 2001 (FIG. 40) to request the request user to select one of the services (Print Service and/or Scan Service) provided by the service provider system 1100.).
Referring to Claim 11, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43),
wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to allow, in a case where the user icon is selected on the login object, the user corresponding to the selected user icon to log in to the printing apparatus without accepting an input of a password to be used for the user to log in (See Naitoh, Fig. 41B In the example case of login with PIN code, at S921 of FIG. 41B, the authentication processor 1121 sends a request for obtaining electronic data specified by the PIN code, to the print service application 1111. At S922, the print service application 1111 refers to the output data management information of FIG. 38 to identify electronic data associated with the PIN code. S923 to S929 are performed in a substantially similar manner as described above referring to S914 to S920. Sect. [0433]).
Referring to Claim 12, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43),
wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to cause the display to accept at least a user operation on the selection object displayed on the display (See Naitoh, Sect. [0126], The printer 400, which receives the job list, causes the operation panel of the printer 400 to display information regarding the job list. The printer 400 further receives a user instruction for instructing printing of one or more print jobs listed in the job list. According to the user instruction, the printer 400 sends a request for printing a specific print job, for example, with the specified job ID, to the print server 200.), and
wherein another user icon is displayed on the login object corresponding to the user in a case where the another user icon displayed on the selection object is selected by the user operation (See Naitoh, Sect. [0127], At S33, the CPU 220 of the print server 200 receives the request for printing, which includes information regarding the specified job ID, sends an electronic file that corresponds to the print job having the specified job ID to the printer 400, and the operation ends. For example, the CPU 220 may read out the electronic file to be transmitted, from the job spooler 211, using the specified job ID. S32 and S33 are performed by the data transmit 208.).
Referring to Claim 13, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43),
wherein the selection object is an object for changing the user icon which is used for the user, displayed on the login object, to login to the printing apparatus to another user icon which is different from the user icon (See Naitoh, Sect. [0085] lines 6-15, the password of the system login data may be a one-time password. The printer 400 sends the system login data to the print server 200 to request for authentication through a communication interface. Based on a determination result indicating that authentication is successful, the printer 400 receives an electronic file of the print job, from the data transmit 208 of the print server 200 through the communication interface, and forms an image on a recording sheet based on the received electronic file using an image forming device.).
Referring to Claim 14, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43),
wherein the login object is a screen allowing the user to log in to the printing apparatus (See Naitoh, Sect. [0425] lines 9-15, The authentication processor 1121 determines whether to allow log in by user based on an authentication result indicating whether the user and the image forming apparatus 1013 are both authenticated for allowing login of the user to the image forming apparatus 1013.).
Referring to Claim 15, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43),
wherein the selection object is a screen for receiving a selection of the user icon to be displayed on the login object (See Naitoh, Fig. 42, Login Screen, Sect. [0085] lines 1-6, The printer 400, which is one example of image forming apparatus, is provided with an operation panel, which displays a login screen to a user, and receives authentication information of the user, such as a user name and a password that are respectively input by the user, as system login data.).
Referring to Claim 16, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43),
wherein the first object is a button for displaying the selection object (See Naitoh, Fig. 40, Print Service Button/Key, Sect. [0410] lines 1-3, when the request user selects the "PRINT SERVICE" key from the service list selection screen 2001 to select the print service.).
Referring to Claim 17, Naitoh teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Naitoh, Fig 2, Printing System with Printer 400 as shown in Fig. 43),
wherein the second object is a button for displaying the selection object (See Naitoh, Fig. 40, View Button/Key, Sect. [0414] lines 6-8, by directly entering in a data field or selecting from a list that may be displayed when the "View" key is selected.).
Cited Art
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Ishihara et al. (US PG. PUB. No. 2013/0321861 A1) discloses the service providing device transmits a registration screen to the information processing device upon receipt of a registration request of an image forming device from the information processing device, transmits a command for causing the information processing device to search the image forming device and to respond to the service providing device with a search result upon receipt of an instruction from the information processing device via a registration instruction unit displayed on a registration screen, registers the image forming device depending on information included in the search result responded according to the command, and initiates communication with the registered image forming device.
Conclusion
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683